Customer Reviews for

Tears of a Tiger (Hazelwood High Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 584 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(447)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

One Great Book

This book has great detail and tells the story of a teenage boy who made one mistake, but it changed his life forever. Andy and his friends were drinking. Andy crashed his car and killed his best friend. He treats everyone different and no longer has a sense of humor or...
This book has great detail and tells the story of a teenage boy who made one mistake, but it changed his life forever. Andy and his friends were drinking. Andy crashed his car and killed his best friend. He treats everyone different and no longer has a sense of humor or ever smiles. He keeps blaming himself for the death of his best friend even though it's not his fault. He can't live with the pain and the guilt, so he commits suicide.This book is sad and devastating but it is one of the greatest books I have ever read. The plot is very good and it covers everything that you would expect a teenage boy to do in this situation. This book is altogether great. It shows that people shouldn't take the easy way out of tough situations.

posted by 1039410 on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

For the Love of Cthulhu, Who Reads These Books?

Recently I was required to read this book (and I use the term "book" in the vaguest way possible) for a high school Senior writing class. The only logical explanation I can find from this is "what NOT to do in writing" It seems that by law, the only books we can read in...
Recently I was required to read this book (and I use the term "book" in the vaguest way possible) for a high school Senior writing class. The only logical explanation I can find from this is "what NOT to do in writing" It seems that by law, the only books we can read in school are boring, or horrible ones.
Tears of a Tiger is narrated through dialogue, letters, newspaper clippings, and essays. It revolves around a High school student named Andy whos best friend was killed in a car crash that was Andy's fault. Throughout the story Andy tries and constantly fails to deal with survivors guilt, wishing it was he who died instead of his friend.
The Story itself seems sloppy and sometimes incoherent. About 95% of the story is Dialogue, which is often confusing and unrealistic. It seems less like a style of writing, and more like a sad excuse for being unable to actually write anything else. Characters will rant on with nonsense or unrealistic descriptions, such as giving what is basically a two page oral report in response to a simple question. What's more, the dialogue is confusing, and it is at sometimes impossible to tell who is talking.
It's not all bad though. You really get to know the characters through what they say and write, though it's hard when you don't know who is saying what. the storyline, while personally uninteresting in this form would make an excellent novel if there were more than just dialogue.
anybody can think of dialogue, make up some fake news articles, and compile it, and if they did, writing wouldn't be an art, but a fad. While many people claimed that they "Could not put the book down", It took every ounce of my willpower to open the cover after the first time.
Overall, I could only recommend this to people who are so down with their own lives, that they need to see someone else's problems to feel good about themselves. Do not reread this. I wouldn't even recommend it to start with. Especially not for fun. Maybe to find yourself, but that could be seriously questioned. If you want to read about someone worse of than you, read Edgar Alan Poe, or The Dark Tower series. If you give this to your friends, they will never speak to you again, though there may be hired assassins after you.

posted by 153500 on October 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    One Great Book

    This book has great detail and tells the story of a teenage boy who made one mistake, but it changed his life forever. Andy and his friends were drinking. Andy crashed his car and killed his best friend. He treats everyone different and no longer has a sense of humor or ever smiles. He keeps blaming himself for the death of his best friend even though it's not his fault. He can't live with the pain and the guilt, so he commits suicide.This book is sad and devastating but it is one of the greatest books I have ever read. The plot is very good and it covers everything that you would expect a teenage boy to do in this situation. This book is altogether great. It shows that people shouldn't take the easy way out of tough situations.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    the trageties of real life

    Imagine being behind the wheel of a car that kills your best freiend? Well this is like being in the shoes of a you teenage boy named Andy Jackson. He was in a very bad situation as he choose to drink and drive after a basket ball game which changed his life.The tone of this story is very depressing and guiltful. The authors purpose is to keep the reader intertained with sense and parts in the book that are real. The story takes place in the mid 1990's after a Hazzlewood basketball game with four basketball players get together for a good time.The main characters are Andy and robbie two of the teens that were involved in the tragity.The book has many main points that have alot to do with the way the story goes along and they all have a purpose to the way things lay out.The mood in this book is sometimes very different because of the events that occur.The author did a good job with fulfilling the main purpose of the book and getting the point across of anything could happen at anytme and it could change your life in a flash. The reason why i liked this book is because of the polt and the way the author keeps you in the story.I agree with the purpose of the story becuase of the fact that it could really happen to somebody and it can effect many pople in many differnt ways. I really liked the way the author lead up to certain events and everything all flowed together to make lots of since.The author overall didi a good job with the purpose of the book and the plot of it but he could have easially made it longer and addded more details to the story like how the victims famliy turned out and how the high school remembered the death of Robbie.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    Tears of a Tiger

    The book I am reviewing has a lot of meaning than you can expect because it shows what happens when you drink and drive. The genre of this story is drama. The story takes place in a big city and also a Hazelwood High School. The action of this story takes place in at school, home, and also the highway. The intented audience if for teens who want to read about what happens when an accident that kills your best friend and what will happen with you. The story fulfills its purpose by telling the read what happens when you can't help your friend when he is in need. I really like this story in general because it tells you what happens when a trageic lost to you will really mess up with you and your mind. Yes, the author did a great job of telling the reader what happens when drinking and driving come together doesn't make you look cool. It could be improved by adding a couple of chapters of how he needs more help or how he needs to talk to someone like his Mom or Dad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Hate and love

    Read when i wass in 6th grade now im in eleventh i can say that i actually cried thats why i hated it and loved it, and the reality of it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Bmn,io

    B,bmduorpiyu iiebjliy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Good book

    This book has a GREAT message!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Good book

    No plot spoilers--This book is set up in a unique way that really gets the main point across better. Instead of chapters and a set point of view, each chapter is something different--diary entries, conversations, English assignments (poetry, short essay), and even newspaper articles and morning announcements--all from various points of view, further illustrating Andy's condition. The setup was awkward at first, but by the end of the novel I had grown to appreciate it. Great book for highschool or lovers of YA lit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Tears of a tiger

    The book was really good and i really liked it, i only gave it 4 stars because even though the ending was good i thought it was a weird ending and there should've been more to it. Also i though the book was a little short and it should've benn as i said more to it. It was a very sad book but overall i really liked it and thought it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    I realy thought that the book was kinda  touchy it was about tee

    I realy thought that the book was kinda  touchy it was about teenager that had a rough child hood, but one night his life changed for ever. him and his closest friends were drinking that night andy was pretty drunk not knowing that there was a brick wall in the way they crashed into it mostly every one got out of the car  except for his bestfreind who died because of the fire of the car that blew up. andy at the time couldnt take that it was his fault that his friend is dead. acted like he was okay with all of this but in the end he could not take it anymore so he killed himself.  this book really touch my heart  depending on me i think its very insperational and it teaches many life lessons

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    You must Read

    This Book Is Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Reply to bookworm

    Im 11 to and to all you people out there i hope you dont mmusjuge people who are younger than you and btw this book is excellent so why say bad stuff ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Katrina$9&8

    While reading this book you'll go though ever emotion Andy goes to. It will also make some people cry but i liked this bok very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Had to read this book for an English class and I really really l

    Had to read this book for an English class and I really really like it a lot. I would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Very good book.

    In this book, Andy faces many troubles including the death of his friend Rob, killed in a drunk driving accident caused by Andy himself. I believe this was a great and emotional book, I was hooked extremely quickly. It deals with many problems such as racial equality and reckless driving. The dialogue was a bit iffy at times, but all in all, I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Great book! A must-read!

    1. TEARS OF A TIGER, THE BOOK, IS ABOUT A GROUP OF HIGH SCHOOL BOYS WHO ARE ALL FRIENDS AND ON THE BASKETBALL TEAM. THEY HAD A GOOD WIN, IN BASKETBALL AND DECIDE TO CELEBRATE BY GOING OUT AND DRINKING. THEY ARE DRINKING WHILE DRIVING AND HAVE AN ACCIDENT. THREE OF THE BOYS GET OUT OF THE CAR WITH MINER INJURY'S AND ONE OF THE BOY, ROB, GETS STUCK IN THE CAR. THE CAR EXPLODES AND KILLS THERE FRIEND. THE BOY WHO WAS DRIVING, ANDY, DOES NOT TAKE THE DEATH OF IS FRIEND VERY WELL AND WONT MOVE ON.
    I RECOMMEND THE NOVEL, TEARS OF A TIGER, BECAUSE IT TOUCHES YOUR HEART AND LETS YOU KNOW HOW MUCH PAIN SO PEOPLE GO THROUGH WHEN THERE BEST FRIEND DIES.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Pretty good read

    Tears of a Tiger was a sad start to the series of the three books. The book itself is about a teenager named Andy and what trouble, depression and grief he goes through after the crash. Andy and his pals Rob, BJ, and Tyrone are driving back from a basketball game and Andy and Rob and Tyrone all have beer in hand. Eventually, Andy whirls off road into a retaining wall on the highway, and Rob and only Rob dies from the fiery explosion. The rest of the novel Andy goes through the 5 stages of grief and ends up in a dark fate. Although the book is depressing, it has friendly moments, funny events, and has a warm feel to the story. Overall the Tears of a Tiger is a well written novel and will take you through the struggles and sorrows of Andy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Tears of a Tiger

    As a normal teenage boy, Andrew Jackson has a lot of problems with life. It all started after a win at a Hazelwood Tigers basketball game. Andy and his buddies decided to celebrate with beer that was in the back of Andy’s car. What wasn’t a good decision was driving under the influence of alcohol They ended up in a crash that killed one of the star basket ball players Rob when the car caught on fire and his feet were stuck in the dashboard, and he couldn’t get out. The car exploded and Rob burned alive. Andy ends up having to go to a psychiatrist for his problems. The shrink thinks that he is doing better, but Andy doesn’t show up to school for a couple of days. Monty, Andy’s little brother, finds blood leaking from the ceiling and notices that Andy is dead lying with his dad’s hunting rifle sitting next to him.

    In my opinion I rate this book with four stars and this book, Tears of a Tiger, should be the next book you read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Book review

    In this book there are four friends that when out driving after their game. It was a big win and it helped that they had their start center, Rob Washington. When they went driving they start drinking. In this story, it will show the stages of grief o losing a loved one.

    I thought it was a really good book, but if you don’t like to read sad books then this isn’t the book for you. It’s a real passionate book and it’s a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Tears of a Tiger Review

    Tears of a Tiger, is a book about a 17-year-old boy named Andy. One night, after a basketball game, Andy and his friends go driving but they were also drinking. Andy was driving the car that crashed and killed his best friend, Rob Washington. During the whole book you can see that Andy is going through 5 steps of Grief. 1. Denial and Isolation. 2. Anger. 3. Bargaining. 4. Depression. And 5. Acceptance. His girlfriend, Keisha, also tries to help, but it just isn’t enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    tigers can cry

    Tears of a tiger review
    Tears of a tiger is about a teenage boy who made a bad decision to drink and drive and it cost him his best friends life. Rob, (the kid that died) was the star of the basketball team the driver (Andy) is also on the basketball team. Throughout the whole book he has to struggle to survive with the pain that he just destroyed his friends life. The mental, physical, pain that he has to try to overcome with his friends help, He or the school will have a very hard time recovering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4