Customer Reviews for

Tears of a Tiger

Average Rating 4.5
( 580 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(444)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

One Great Book

This book has great detail and tells the story of a teenage boy who made one mistake, but it changed his life forever. Andy and his friends were drinking. Andy crashed his car and killed his best friend. He treats everyone different and no longer has a sense of humor or...
This book has great detail and tells the story of a teenage boy who made one mistake, but it changed his life forever. Andy and his friends were drinking. Andy crashed his car and killed his best friend. He treats everyone different and no longer has a sense of humor or ever smiles. He keeps blaming himself for the death of his best friend even though it's not his fault. He can't live with the pain and the guilt, so he commits suicide.This book is sad and devastating but it is one of the greatest books I have ever read. The plot is very good and it covers everything that you would expect a teenage boy to do in this situation. This book is altogether great. It shows that people shouldn't take the easy way out of tough situations.

posted by 1039410 on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

For the Love of Cthulhu, Who Reads These Books?

Recently I was required to read this book (and I use the term "book" in the vaguest way possible) for a high school Senior writing class. The only logical explanation I can find from this is "what NOT to do in writing" It seems that by law, the only books we can read in...
Recently I was required to read this book (and I use the term "book" in the vaguest way possible) for a high school Senior writing class. The only logical explanation I can find from this is "what NOT to do in writing" It seems that by law, the only books we can read in school are boring, or horrible ones.
Tears of a Tiger is narrated through dialogue, letters, newspaper clippings, and essays. It revolves around a High school student named Andy whos best friend was killed in a car crash that was Andy's fault. Throughout the story Andy tries and constantly fails to deal with survivors guilt, wishing it was he who died instead of his friend.
The Story itself seems sloppy and sometimes incoherent. About 95% of the story is Dialogue, which is often confusing and unrealistic. It seems less like a style of writing, and more like a sad excuse for being unable to actually write anything else. Characters will rant on with nonsense or unrealistic descriptions, such as giving what is basically a two page oral report in response to a simple question. What's more, the dialogue is confusing, and it is at sometimes impossible to tell who is talking.
It's not all bad though. You really get to know the characters through what they say and write, though it's hard when you don't know who is saying what. the storyline, while personally uninteresting in this form would make an excellent novel if there were more than just dialogue.
anybody can think of dialogue, make up some fake news articles, and compile it, and if they did, writing wouldn't be an art, but a fad. While many people claimed that they "Could not put the book down", It took every ounce of my willpower to open the cover after the first time.
Overall, I could only recommend this to people who are so down with their own lives, that they need to see someone else's problems to feel good about themselves. Do not reread this. I wouldn't even recommend it to start with. Especially not for fun. Maybe to find yourself, but that could be seriously questioned. If you want to read about someone worse of than you, read Edgar Alan Poe, or The Dark Tower series. If you give this to your friends, they will never speak to you again, though there may be hired assassins after you.

posted by 153500 on October 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 444 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    Tears of a Tiger

    In the book Tears of a Tiger, you see what Andy goes through when him and his friends get in a car crash that was his fault. He was the one that bought the beer and drank it and he drove. His best friend ends up dying in the crash. The book was really good in my opinion. And I am not going to lie. It was really sad and almost brought me to tears reading it. What I didn¿t understand was why was Andy driving when BJ was totally sober. If one of them wasn¿t drunk then he should have been the one that was driving. The whole book you see Andy slowly being torn up on the inside. At school no one really expected anything to be wrong because he was good at pretending that he was cool and all okay about the crash. He should have just opened up and been like, ¿ya¿ll it really hurts to think that it was all my fault...¿ and that would have probably helped a lot. And the fact that Keisha dumped him and pretty much told him to suck it up, was really mean of her. I mean I could see where Gerald was coming from because he went through a lot too, but keisha had never been through something even close to that. She said that she lost Robbie too but it wasn¿t her fault that he died. But the fact the Andy committed suicide was the really sad part for me. And the fact that his little brother found him, that was really sad. The end of the book was really good, and I love how they made the last paragraph from Andy¿s brother talking to his grave. I was kind of wondering why the book was called Tears of a Tiger. Then when I read that I understood. I guess Keisha know now how it feels to be one of the reasons why someone dies.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    Tears of a Tiger is a very good book. I would recommend it to all readers who love suspenseful and cliff-hanging chapters. It just makes you want to keep going and before you know it, you're almost done.

    Tears of a Tiger is about four teenagers in a car, laughing, having a good time, but when the driver, Andy, looks up again all he sees is a big wall. They crash and three of them make it out of the car. Rob is pinned in the car and his friends, Andy, Gerald, and Tyrone, all attempt to get him out. Before they could, the gas tank blows up and burns Rob alive. Andy is the most devastated because Rob was his best friend. Andy has to try to deal with losing his best friend, doing well in school, doing well for the basketball team, and staying true to his girlfriend. Dealing with sports and keeping my grades up is hard enough for me! Throughout the whole book is about Andy trying to keep his life straight.

    If you like books about basketball and drama you will love this book! Please don't miss out on a great book. You will love it!

    The end of the book has a very very surprise ending that almost put me into tears. I guess you can get attached to a book and the characters in it. It's almost like the book becomes a part of you and your life!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    Greatest Book Ever

    Tears of a Tiger is a great book that I would recommend for all teens to read. Sharon Draper creates a situation to where she can explain Life and Death to young adults. One lesson I learned is to never drink and drive because you will never what might happen in the next second or two. Sharon Draper teaches responsibility and demonstrates it on a Teen who killed his best friend in a car accident. This book points out that not only older people die, but that younger people die also. Many children say I'm going to have a good life, but in the long run they end up messing it up and dying at a very young age. Sharon Draper takes her unique story and shows how you should live your life to the fullest each and every day. Even if you do something terrible you should let it go. In the books case Andy blames the death of his best friend on him and he take the pressure. He should have just moved on with his life because that¿s what his best friend Robert Washington probably wanted for him. Once again Sharon M. Draper makes another great story for teens to really understand what can happen in Life even if it's just an accident.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    My Outstanding Read . !

    I give this book 5-STARS . ! Because never in my life has a book made me cry real tears.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Great Book

    Sharon Draper know how to make these characters come alivr. When I read her novels they come alive as I read them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    Good Book

    This book is now one of my favorite books to read. Not only is it a book, it is reality and events that happen everyday. The setting of these books is about typical high school drama between a group of friends, life changing events and getting ready for college, so it relates to me. It also comes with a series of books. i have read all of them and i really enjoy these books. I liked it the most because it was about close friends, basketball and High school. The author is Sharon M, Draper and i think she did such a great job with this book. She kept it interesting throughout the book, i would have never guessed the ending without reading every page. It may seem confusing to some, but in order to really be drawn into this book make sure you read the entire series of this book. The genre of the books is drama between a close group of friends who all share their sides of problems and pain. Its about how death can not only bring the group closer, but can also be too much to handle for some individuals, causing one to take his own life. I believe the purpose of these books is to ofcourse entertain the readers, but also a message to people about suicide, depression and stress. Its about what it does to the people surrounding the victims of these things. The main characters are Robbie, Andy, Bj, Gerald and keisha. The story takes place in high school and at home. The main action takes place after a basketball game and at the home of Andy. The main problem was robbie's death. Andy was riding around with bj, robbie and Gerald after a basketball game. They were drinking and Andy was the driver. They got into a car accident and Robbie was the only one pinned in the car as it set on fire. he burned to death and his friends couldnt do anything to help him. The last but main point of the story was how andy blamed hisself for robbies death. He went through Depression and Hard times because he could not forgive himself, robbie was his best friend. His girlfriend keisha was his main source of support next to his psychologist. But andy would soon take his frustration and unhappiness out on keisha, ending with a break up. Andy soon found hisself calling out for help to deal with his depression but noone was around to aid to him. He then committed suicide in his room with his dads gun, and coming home to find what was left of him was his baby brother monty. It effected the entire city, but mostly his friends and loved ones.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    tears of a tiger

    tears of a tiger was a good book it was about a boy name andy.Andy was driving drunk and rod and some other friend was in the car and he had a car accident and rod dies in the accident and andy can't dill with the fact that rod died and he was diving drunk.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Best book ever!!!!

    Tears Of A Tiger is an all time favorite of mine. It surely captures the dangers of drinking and driving, underage drinking, and depression among teenagers. This is a must read for anyone who likes action books. The ending? You'll never see it coming. -Ali

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!!!

    This book was aamazzing! The only problem was that it was really, really sad. My friend and I cried while reading it. But it only made the book better. I recomend it to everyone who doesn't mind a sad book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    One of the best books i have ever read!

    This book has a great plot but a dark story, whoever gives this a postive review is awesome and whoever gives this a negative review is an idiot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    You know mayj

    This book was asome at the eant i was in tears. For real

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Love this book :D

    This book is great! I had to read it for a summer reading book. I thouht it was gona be boring. But its the best.book i have read so farr.!(; If your thinking about getting it, i defintly would. !!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Emotional

    This book tells how one mistake can haunt your life forever. I recommend this to your teens (or yourself) whoever thought about drinking. This tradegy will probably change their mind in a heart beat. Please read!
    -Book Beast

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Hopestar to everyone!

    We are moving camps soon since Himi is locked out. I will try to find us a new camp then set it up and tell everyone!
    ~|-|opestar

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Love this book!

    This book meant a lot to me. My bestfriend, Nevada, asked me to read it and I did. I've had 4 friends die in car accidents, 11 friends die all together. This book made me cry, it's the best book I have EVER read. Thank you Sharon M. Draper for writing this amazing series.

    -Russo

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tears of a Liger

    As a normal teenage boy, Andy Jackson has trouble with life. It all starts one evening after a Hazelwood Tigers basketball game. Andy and his buddies have some beer that they kept in his car trunk. Even though their under the age of twenty-one years old they go and drink in his car. Rob Washington is the captain of the basketball team is 6 foot 5 inches tall and has to keep his feet up on the dash board of the car, and two other buddies start swerving. At the time they think it is funny because cars are honking their horns. Then out of no where they hit wall and Rob is stuck in the car that catches fire. They couldn't get Rob out of the car in time and Rob dies. Andy is having trouble facing that he killed his best friend. His girlfriend Keisha helps him the best she can. Andy goes to a shrink and it seems like he is getting better when he doesn't show up for school one morning. Andy's little brother said to his mom that there is red stuff leaking from the ceiling. She goes up to his room and finds him dead with his dads hunting rifle next to him. All the kids in the school are now calling Andy a coward for killing himself.

    This book is a great book and I think you should read it. It is not one of those books that are three hundred pages either. It is just a great book and I hope you like it!!!!

    Nation Whittington
    Aka
    The Great One

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    andy's story

    This book is one of my favorite ones. What happened in the book happens almost every day. After a basketball game Andy Jackson and his friends decide to drink to celebrate their victory. That night they were in a terrible accident that killed Andy's best friend Robbie.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    Successful student activity #7

    The book "Tears of a Tiger" was a good book I recommend it future readers. At first when my teacher told me the title and it was 'Tears of a Tiger' I thought it was going to be one of those books where animals talk and stuff. The theme of the book was to show people the reality that goes behind drinking and driving, and the effect it takes on family that lose a child to that. Also the genre of the book is contemporary realistic because it can happen and it can¿t to the people that don¿t drink. The story takes place in a high school mostly. The author intended audience is high school children. Sharon Draper really shows the effect it takes on the kid¿s friends and the boy who regrets what he has done. I agree with the author point which is don¿t drink and drive. I know some friends who have died in accidents in alcohol related stuff. So I have seen how it affects people. The author did a great job at writing this book so we can visualize in our minds how the character may look, feel, and there emotions. I am reading the third part of the trilogy and have read the second they are good also, I recommend reading the whole three parts because I think its better that way and more understanding. It was a really sad book. I also recommend this book to anyone who's thinking that drinking is cool or that you have to be part of the crowd, because it's not true and this book shows that. I really enjoyed it and I definitely give it 5 stars!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth your time

    This book is amazing it is an insperational and a book of pure emotion. Its about a boy named andy who's friend dies in a car crash and though the whole book its abut him dealing with him. About the silent tears he crying and the help that he needs but doesn't ask. It has so much deep hidden meaning that to just read the book and not think about it or gho deeper is not doing the book justice. what i really like about the book is how the title comes into the book and how its a hidden theme. I think this book should be a required read it was amazing.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    The book that made me love reading!

    Tears of a Tiger was a heart touching story. It opened my eyes to a different world. I actually could imagine how the characters looked and just being part of it, like I was there watching it happen. Reading this book, I just couldn't put it down. I read all three books, and I recommend you read 'Battle of Jericho', another excellent story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 444 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23