Customer Reviews for

Tears of the Broken

Average Rating 4
( 392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(226)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

95 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

I love this story

I really loved this book for a couple of reasons. First – it had some really beautiful writing. In fact, I even highlighted one passage and sent it to a friend exclaiming how that is what the perfect guy should say. And second, it actually made me cry!

It starts ...
I really loved this book for a couple of reasons. First – it had some really beautiful writing. In fact, I even highlighted one passage and sent it to a friend exclaiming how that is what the perfect guy should say. And second, it actually made me cry!

It starts with a brief introduction to Ara in a short prologue. As soon as I read the prologue, I was excited. Amara-Rose was born lifeless, and brought to life when her father took her in his arms. The imagery was sad, beautiful, and happy all at once. It definitely had me eager to see what was in store.

Jump forward to present day. Amara-Rose is now going to go by the name Ara, and she is starting a new school after moving in with her father. Her family is a step-family now, yet they all seem to be close and get along well.

Her “welcome wagon” type tour buddy (who turns into a friend), Emily, informs her excitedly that she has the one and only David Knight in her first class. And as soon as Ara lays eyes on David, well, her heart was lost. Can’t say I blame the girl! David is young, beautiful, and kind. And there is so much more than what meets the eye.

David speaks with too much maturity to be a teenager. He dodges questions, and isn’t always upfront. But he is still this wonderful man whom you can’t wait to learn more about. Your pulse quickens when he is around. He is….*sigh* dreamy!

This book isn’t all sunshine and roses. Secrets come out, people are hurt, hearts are shattered. The drama is heightened by Ara’s …well, dramatic flair. She is every bit the teenage girl. But she is still a very likeable character, and much stronger than she seems at times. And even still, stronger than she gives herself credit for. Horribly tragic things have happened to her, and yet she still found a thread to hold on to, to survive.

There are some scenes I could have personally done without where the storyline seemed to stumble a bit. But none of this really detracted from the main story. It was a quite enjoyable read that I started on Saturday and finished on Sunday. Then I immediately went online to see if the sequel was out yet – it’s not. Trust me, you are going to move it to the top of your TBR. I would give this book a definitely 5 star rating with a few revisions, but that is all purely things of my own taste. I think that A.M. Hudson is definitely an author to keep on your radar.

posted by FictionalCandy on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Basically not worth it,

I litralley wasted 3 hours of my life reading this book. This book was just a bad rip off of twilight, with normal people reactions about a supernatural boyfriend. Through out this book i was just waiting for it to get good, and im still waiting.
Like Ara, she is very ...
I litralley wasted 3 hours of my life reading this book. This book was just a bad rip off of twilight, with normal people reactions about a supernatural boyfriend. Through out this book i was just waiting for it to get good, and im still waiting.
Like Ara, she is very annoying, WORST then Bella, not only she didnt have a personality, but she was boring. And then her never ending monolouges made me have a head ach. Also when she repeatdly called David a murder, wasnt she just blaming herself for murdering her baby brother and Mum.

A whole 1185 ..wait 1182 ! Pages with no drama, nothing to come back too , except some dumb chick who is self asurb and think every body is out to get her, leaning on a decison to become a vampire. Tf! Not even drama at school. There wasnt even a story on David's life. Like going in to his world, his residence , a life worth showing , that she will go too. If its in the next book thats stupid.

posted by 11156354 on May 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Fun, light read.

    This was a fun paranormal romance drama, once i finished it i had to go to smashbooks to read the second book! Second is a bit darker, but still a good book:-)

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Amberai

    I really cried alot during this book took me a day and a half to read becuase i couldnt put it down....amazing!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    the book is amazing i fell in love with the story and the charac

    the book is amazing i fell in love with the story and the characters...cant wait for the next one

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Luved it

    Great story finished it in a day and a half

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    *Review may contain some spoilers*

    When I first bought this book, I was expecting a Twilight knock-off, and I am a HUGE Twilight Fan! As in read the books 4 times, bought tickets for the movies 3 months in advance for the midnight viewings, kind of fan. So what I'm trying to say is that while this book does contain SOME similarities (he's able to read minds, they are in high school, they both have a secret place they go to in the woods, and he can run super fast) this is definitely NOT the twilight story.
    It starts off kind of slow with what I thought was some cheesy dialog but I kept reading because it had such high ratings. I am actually very glad I did! Around the middle of the book the author definitely hits her stride. I found myself reading this book in like two days (I had to work too) I couldn't put it down! By the end of the book I was dying to know what happens next!
    I only gave the book 4 stars but would have given it 4 1/2 if I could, due to some occasionally cheesy dialog, like what does this even mean? "It makes my heart shake inside my chest, the way he looks at me sometimes how one of his glittering green eyes seems to pull on the inner corner, like he's smiling, and the other is more focused, like he's trying to figure something out" Are we to assume he's cross eyed? Also, Ara goes from hating the fact that he kills, to begging him to take her blood. Also if you are supposedly in America (even if you are from Australia) your friends will not be calling their mother "mum" and we don't get things from the "boot" of a car, it's a "trunk," and if you are in school, it is NOT summer. Summer to Americans is more than a season! Summer means you are out of school, on vacation from school, in between school years! The author said things like: summer sun, repeatedly throughout the book! (Sorry if I am the only one who has this hang up)
    Anyway, overall I was glad I read the book and have bought the second one, which I am hoping will be good too.
    So go ahead and give this book a try and read it at least to the second, third of the book. I think you will like how the story unfolds...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Great Book

    Cant wait to see how the story plays out in book 2!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Loved it

    She was annoying at sometimes. Other than that, it was amazing! But beware if you cant read long books, i wouldnt recommend cuz this book is 1148 pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Just like the other vamp books!

    This book is mainly for people who like those type of books that have been coming out right and left lately. Where the suicidal teenage girl sees an immortal falls in love and cant make up her mind between 2 hot guys that "coincidentally" both love her and just cant imagine life without either. " oh sigh. Who to choose. Who to choose? bob is just so tender and kind who tells me the mushy stuff i want to hear. While billy is dark and mysterious and only slightly abusive love just makes the other half of my heart melt." Its so unrealistic and vamps are incredibly overdone. But since its free give it a shot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Ok read

    It was an okay read. I did connect with ara though. Understanding the carectors is important in a book, i did did with her. Going to start the next book now and see how it goes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Good

    New twist on twilight but female lead is tougher

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Nice

    Loved the book. Even though you knew it kept you suspecious. Cant believe after how many pages that now I have to wait for book 2. Well written and easy to keep on track. Was unsure if I was reading a vampire book in the begining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    :)

    I felt like this was an amazing story. I totally fell in love with it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Vampires with morals? I love it. Book two is out now. Can't wa


    Vampires with morals? I love it. Book two is out now. Can't wait to read it!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed this book. I just started the next book I hope its as good as this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Beautiful

    An old fashion twilight. Beautiful setting

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Recommended

    This was a page turner. I cant wait until the next series of this book comes out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Wow

    Maybe you shouldnt steal quotes from twilight it woukd have been better if you came up with something new, fresh, original that way people would stop comparing it to the twilight series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    Really good books for older young adults.  Best of all is the wr

    Really good books for older young adults.  Best of all is the writing.  Plain and simple...I LOVE this author's writing style.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Sweet Romance

    Same story line as Twilight but I found it to have a sweet taste of romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Wonderful read

    Really liked the book was well written. Already recommended to my friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4