Customer Reviews for

Tears of the Broken

Average Rating 4
( 392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(226)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

95 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

I love this story

I really loved this book for a couple of reasons. First – it had some really beautiful writing. In fact, I even highlighted one passage and sent it to a friend exclaiming how that is what the perfect guy should say. And second, it actually made me cry!

It starts ...
I really loved this book for a couple of reasons. First – it had some really beautiful writing. In fact, I even highlighted one passage and sent it to a friend exclaiming how that is what the perfect guy should say. And second, it actually made me cry!

It starts with a brief introduction to Ara in a short prologue. As soon as I read the prologue, I was excited. Amara-Rose was born lifeless, and brought to life when her father took her in his arms. The imagery was sad, beautiful, and happy all at once. It definitely had me eager to see what was in store.

Jump forward to present day. Amara-Rose is now going to go by the name Ara, and she is starting a new school after moving in with her father. Her family is a step-family now, yet they all seem to be close and get along well.

Her “welcome wagon” type tour buddy (who turns into a friend), Emily, informs her excitedly that she has the one and only David Knight in her first class. And as soon as Ara lays eyes on David, well, her heart was lost. Can’t say I blame the girl! David is young, beautiful, and kind. And there is so much more than what meets the eye.

David speaks with too much maturity to be a teenager. He dodges questions, and isn’t always upfront. But he is still this wonderful man whom you can’t wait to learn more about. Your pulse quickens when he is around. He is….*sigh* dreamy!

This book isn’t all sunshine and roses. Secrets come out, people are hurt, hearts are shattered. The drama is heightened by Ara’s …well, dramatic flair. She is every bit the teenage girl. But she is still a very likeable character, and much stronger than she seems at times. And even still, stronger than she gives herself credit for. Horribly tragic things have happened to her, and yet she still found a thread to hold on to, to survive.

There are some scenes I could have personally done without where the storyline seemed to stumble a bit. But none of this really detracted from the main story. It was a quite enjoyable read that I started on Saturday and finished on Sunday. Then I immediately went online to see if the sequel was out yet – it’s not. Trust me, you are going to move it to the top of your TBR. I would give this book a definitely 5 star rating with a few revisions, but that is all purely things of my own taste. I think that A.M. Hudson is definitely an author to keep on your radar.

posted by FictionalCandy on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Basically not worth it,

I litralley wasted 3 hours of my life reading this book. This book was just a bad rip off of twilight, with normal people reactions about a supernatural boyfriend. Through out this book i was just waiting for it to get good, and im still waiting.
Like Ara, she is very ...
I litralley wasted 3 hours of my life reading this book. This book was just a bad rip off of twilight, with normal people reactions about a supernatural boyfriend. Through out this book i was just waiting for it to get good, and im still waiting.
Like Ara, she is very annoying, WORST then Bella, not only she didnt have a personality, but she was boring. And then her never ending monolouges made me have a head ach. Also when she repeatdly called David a murder, wasnt she just blaming herself for murdering her baby brother and Mum.

A whole 1185 ..wait 1182 ! Pages with no drama, nothing to come back too , except some dumb chick who is self asurb and think every body is out to get her, leaning on a decison to become a vampire. Tf! Not even drama at school. There wasnt even a story on David's life. Like going in to his world, his residence , a life worth showing , that she will go too. If its in the next book thats stupid.

posted by 11156354 on May 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love this story

    I really loved this book for a couple of reasons. First – it had some really beautiful writing. In fact, I even highlighted one passage and sent it to a friend exclaiming how that is what the perfect guy should say. And second, it actually made me cry!

    It starts with a brief introduction to Ara in a short prologue. As soon as I read the prologue, I was excited. Amara-Rose was born lifeless, and brought to life when her father took her in his arms. The imagery was sad, beautiful, and happy all at once. It definitely had me eager to see what was in store.

    Jump forward to present day. Amara-Rose is now going to go by the name Ara, and she is starting a new school after moving in with her father. Her family is a step-family now, yet they all seem to be close and get along well.

    Her “welcome wagon” type tour buddy (who turns into a friend), Emily, informs her excitedly that she has the one and only David Knight in her first class. And as soon as Ara lays eyes on David, well, her heart was lost. Can’t say I blame the girl! David is young, beautiful, and kind. And there is so much more than what meets the eye.

    David speaks with too much maturity to be a teenager. He dodges questions, and isn’t always upfront. But he is still this wonderful man whom you can’t wait to learn more about. Your pulse quickens when he is around. He is….*sigh* dreamy!

    This book isn’t all sunshine and roses. Secrets come out, people are hurt, hearts are shattered. The drama is heightened by Ara’s …well, dramatic flair. She is every bit the teenage girl. But she is still a very likeable character, and much stronger than she seems at times. And even still, stronger than she gives herself credit for. Horribly tragic things have happened to her, and yet she still found a thread to hold on to, to survive.

    There are some scenes I could have personally done without where the storyline seemed to stumble a bit. But none of this really detracted from the main story. It was a quite enjoyable read that I started on Saturday and finished on Sunday. Then I immediately went online to see if the sequel was out yet – it’s not. Trust me, you are going to move it to the top of your TBR. I would give this book a definitely 5 star rating with a few revisions, but that is all purely things of my own taste. I think that A.M. Hudson is definitely an author to keep on your radar.

    95 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Omg

    I loved thiis book.. and i dont usually like the 'hes a vampire, but im human, forbidden love blah blah blah'. But this was cute, and unique, and... a great story. I strongly reccommend this book to all those who like a different approach to a worn out topic.

    34 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Awesome book!

    This was a great read! I can't wait to read the next book in the series. I couldn't put it down once I started reading it and at almost 1200 pages you can imagine how good it is if you just dont want to put it down.

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Like twilight?

    Although I love the twilight series, I have to disagree that this series is too similar. I find this author broaching the love triangle decision in a manner that I could better relate too. Also, I think the story follows a more independent path after the first book. I especially love the comparisons and references to twilight and other current pop culture references, made me lol. Finally, I found Twilight to contain a lot of dialogue with little perspective--unless you read Midnight Sun or the Bree Tanner story. This author gives a lot of perspective around the dialogue.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    I could not believe how quickly 1,000+ pages went...

    I loved this book. It had beautiful language & I cannot wait for book 2.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Loved it

    I could not put this book down, cant wait for book two!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Loved it

    I read this in less than a day and i loved it, im not a twilight fan at all so i would say thay anyone would love this, a friend of mine got a nook color and this was the firsy book that she put on it. Loved it and i cant wait for the next one

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    :D

    I really really liked this book. If youre not a fan of tragedy fantasy romance then i dont recomend it. Other wise its a GREAT book.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Where is book 2

    Great read cant wait for next book..hint hint

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    True love

    The most heart felt lov story avout a girl nd a boy, with a future that they feel differently about. No words can explain the story the way th author did with so much emotin and pride.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Love it!

    Ok im only on page 45 of over a thousand and already im in love! An amazing book and free too! It doesnt get any better than this! Now i love this book first because the writing flows so well and i can really relate to the main charactor if you nead a good read for school or just because this is the book for you!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    I can't say enough about the story line and how well written t

    I can't say enough about the story line and how well written this series is. It hooks you and leaves you wanting more. Can't believe it's free.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    I have read the first 3 books in this series and I have to say t

    I have read the first 3 books in this series and I have to say this is a fantastic story. I can't wait for the fourth book. It is definitely worth reading

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Awesome book

    I have read all 3 books in 1 week and a half. Couldn't stop reading them. So well written and heart felt . Once you read this frist book you will hsve to go on to the next 2. You will have to know what happens next. Such a page turner. A.M.Hudson is a awesome authour.xoxo

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    very interesting

    a vastly different take on a teenage love story. was not expecting the turn of events!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    .... unbelievable

    I absolutely loved this book. I'm not a crier but I bawled so much in this book. I was really questionable about this book until the third chapter or so. I really got hooked and immediately fell in love with Mike AND David. It kept me clinging on to every chapter and the book was outstanding with every emotion that Ara was having... I felt like it was me in the story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Oh my goodness

    This book was nit your average vampire and human forbidden love kind of thing, let me just tell you that. I expected a Twilight equal, but this book did nit disappoint. I cannot tell you how many times I cried! I recommend this to eager readers, as the first book has 1148 pages. All I can say is that I want my own David Knight!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Loved

    I really loved this book. It made me cry, laughh, smile, get p.o.ed, and everything in between. I am realyh happy there is a squal but i was informed that there were some differences. Oh well, anyone who is hesitating ... don't. (If you like this genre) hen get this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    ParanormalRose

    Increadable! Perfectly woven storyline on top of a paranormal-romance twist that made your heart flutter simply gorgeous

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Tears of the Broken is a MUST read!!!

    This book was unexpected and thrilling. I normally do a review right after I read the book but I was so excited to read book two first that I'm just getting around to it. Having said all that it took me two days to read this book and the sequel Knight of the Rose. I am looking foward to reading more from this author. Ara makes you want to hug and slap her all while screaming "You need to get it together". You really get involved with the characters in this book. THIS IS A MUST READ!!!! :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12