Customer Reviews for

Tears of the Giraffe (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    Superb and refreshing: 5+

    What a superb story McCall Smith tells in Tears of the Giraffe, and how beautifully he tells it. His No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series is fast becoming one of my favorites. Simply told, gently written, and charming in its descriptions of the people and places in the Botswana of Precious Ramotswe, makes McCall Smith's approach to storytelling unique and refreshing. Mma Precious Ramotswe, Botswana's only woman detective, and owner of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, has agreed to marry Mr J.L.B. Matekoni, proprietor of Tlokweng Road Speedy Motors. However, Mr J.L.B. Matekoni's maid, Florence Peko, is not at all happy with the news and conjures up some plans of her own for Mma Ramotswe. The main plot surrounds Mma Ramotswe's search for the son of an American woman who had been missing for ten years. The woman, Andrea Curtin, does not expect her son to be alive, but she does want to know what happened to him. Mrs (no period) Curtin's husband is now dead, and all previous efforts to find her son have failed, so she pays a visit to the agency. Add to that the troubles of Mr Letsenyane Badule who wants to know if his wife is having an affair, and we have the thrust of the book. Then there are the orphans, two of whom become very important in the lives of Mma Ramotswe and Mr J.L.B. Matekoni. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Its simple, straight-forward language, and its portrayal of the qualities of the Batswana (refers to the people), kept me enthralled. I was particularly struck by the fact that Mma Ramotswe and Mr J.L.B. Matekoni were always referred to by this formal reference. More familiar forenames were never used. My only concern in reading this book was whether or not I was pronouncing names and places correctly-places like the Makadikadi Salt Pans, the town of Molepolole, and the names Tlokweng, Letsenyane and Sonqkwena, to name a few. If you read it, you will love it. Carolyn Rowe Hill

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2005

    Tears of the Giraffe: The No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series

    A fast flowing story set in Africa, Tears of the Giraffe is one of the best books I have read. With good values expressed through characters that are lively, this book showed a beautiful side of Africa, where commitment is held sacred, where love is deep and hospitality is the norm. Fast paced and hilarious, this book hooked me all the more to the No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    This is another great read from Alexander McCall

    I am more than ever excited about this series. It really brings me into Botswana Africa. The characters are wonderful and fun to follow through all thier adventures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    wonderful one-evening read

    Every bit as good as the first of the series. Simple, funny, memorable characters and prose. I recommend this series to all the readers I know. I tell them it is the African equivalent of 'Murder, She Wrote', one of my favorite TV series of all time. Smith's straight-forward style is endearing, and lets the characters do the heavy lifting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    5 out of five

    I enjoyed book one, but Tears if the Giraffe had more emotion, plot twists and cultural insights. A touching book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Tears of the Giraffe is amazing! The second in the series of "The No. 1 Ladies Dective Agency" series is a winner.

    Open the book and step away from who you are and where you are.
    This book is the second in the series and in the first book you are introduced to the characters with a few simple plots to be solved.
    In this, the second book, you are finding the characters to be a little more complex and the detective work even more challenging.
    You can almost feel the sun on your skin and the warmth of the breezes as you step away from home and into Africa.
    The characters are lovable and interesting, without a dull day amongst them.
    The book is both a study of compassion and of the land in which the story takes place.
    Reading this book has brought laughter and tears and a strong desire to step away and into Africa.
    Beautifully written and I am definately compelled to finish the series.
    I am reading the third in the series now. I think I shall miss them when I have read them all. Thanks goodness I bought the books, as I think that I will start over from the beginning one day. For, one day, I may need a journey into Africa again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Even better than the first!

    You still have the read the first one to get all the background on her family and Daddy, but the second one really kicks this series into high gear!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Loved it!

    Stayed interesting through the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    I highly recommend this book!

    The characters are deep and believable, and yet from another dimension, beyond my ordinary experience. The plot seems ordinary and then becomes unique and engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Krisy

    I hav tan skin im skinny play basketball softball track football i have wavy dark brown hair n big milk choclate eyes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    READ THIS PLEASE HELP ME

    Does anyone know a jake or dc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Skyler to zack

    Im white and portoricon. Im 14 i have black long straight hair with pink at end. I wanna party. I do cheerleading soccer tennis softball the most. Im tan and skinny. Big ti.ts and a.zz i am wearing a blue tinktop and black jean bootyshorts. *just to make it clear im taken but i wanna party*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Jae

    Okay cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    excellent read,now I want to go to Botswana!

    The descriptions are incredibly vivid!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Questioner

    Is it sad ;(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    If you loved the TV series...

    The books are even better! You're given more background, making the story line even more lively.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Great simple series

    Simple, light detective stories. No murders yet. O have read two. They make excellent rwading to teach simple lessons about life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An insightful fun story continues

    I'm really enjoying this book series. Mysteries solved in creative ways through the insight of a thoughtful woman. An easy way to learn about one example of African modern culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    A great escape

    I was not into this series until I started watching the HBO series with Jill Scott. I started reading the books because just one hour a week wasn't enough for me. The books are great! I get lost in the writing and the story and I love imagining the scenery and I find it to be a WONDERFUL escape from my life. Mr. Smith writes as if we are actually there and participating in the story. I really enjoy it! I gotta read the rest of the series I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love this series

    I love the unique quality and style of this series. I've not been disappointed yet. As in the other books of the series, The Tear of the Giraffe gives insight to the way of life, morality, and changing patterns of life of Botswana. One is able to get a glimpse of the rest of the world through the eyes of Mma Ramotswe.

    The stories within the story are a pleasant read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6