Customer Reviews for

Teasing Secrets from the Dead: My Investigations at America's Most Infamous Crime Scenes

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Great book

    This book is excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Vanity-press writing, questionable professionalism

    The stories in this book could be interesting, but the writing, which comes across like a high-schooler's college application or something from a vanity publication, gets in the way.

    More fundamentally,it is distasteful to hear the author squeal with delight at being part of the "prosecution's strategy". This "scientist" is supposed to be a keeper of forensic evidence. Shouldn't a scientist be able to keep her biases in check?

    Having read this book, I have lost my respect for forensic "science".

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Title of book definitely captures my attention,especially the cover with a human skull.

    I enjoy reading non-fiction books,especially indepth,forensic research
    where foul play may be suspected.
    My general backround as an LPN,having accrued experiences for more than
    25 years, encompassing careplan writing,involving goals preset for
    all patients,whereby thorough research was instituted relating to
    all changes in health status,(from improvement in ADL'S performance to cognitive degeneration),were to be prepared for patient conferences,
    routinely by the DON,administrative department heads and patient's
    family members,several times per month.I found this book enormously
    impressive and extremely insightful,such an empathetic understanding
    and,"difficult to put down".
    Emily Craig brings such fascinating facts to life that I almost felt
    as if I were standing beside her,participating with the investigations.
    This book was trully a worthwhile purchase,indeed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2005

    You Should Also Read This

    When I first came across this book online, the name of the author sounded vaguely familiar. Then I realized that Emily Craig was mentioned in another book written by Dr. Bill Bass, none other than her forensics teacher when she returned to school for her career change. If you enjoy this book, then you should really read Death's Acre by Dr. Bass, the man who trained Emily Craig to become the anthropologist she is today.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    Teasing Secrets from the Dead: My Investigations at America's Most Infamous Crime Scenes

    This book is the most exhilarating and addicting book I have ever read. When I picked it up yesterday and began reading I could not lay it down until I finished later in the afternoon. The details are so descriptive it was as if I were just another associate along with Dr. Craig while she performed her job. This book will definitely inspire many people looking for a career in anthropology or forensics. It has truly been written with victims in mind. Many people will never have the opportunity to experience traumatic incidents first hand. Nor will we even have an inclination about what goes on behind the scene other than what has been published by news. (Which can never give the story in a real perspective)? Nonetheless, Emily has diligently and cautiously brought us along beside her in some of her famous cases. I am sure I will read this book more than once and highly recommend this book to victims, inspiring anthropologies, law enforcement, and forensic personnel. I must warn you first. Once she reels you in you¿ll be hooked.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    Teasing Secrets from the Dead: My Investigations at America's Most Infamous Crime Scenes

    Enticing from the beginning! As Dr Craig allows us to travel and experience behind the scenes of a real forensic anthropologist. I truely appreciate the book allowing us, the public to actually partake in real life forensics. Providing us with an understanding of the dispair and determination in identifying endless numbers of victims. Numerous lives destroyed by horrendous crimes. This book is highly recommended as excellent reading into real lives of experts behind the scenes. (Not the television version)! It provides us with an indepth understanding of what is involved in the daily task of forensic anthropologists. In addition, to some of the (living) victims in search for answers!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2004

    WOW!!

    Emily's 'tour of duty' in the forensic world have indeed been amazingly described in 'Teasing Secrets from the Dead'... It will be a fascinating and informative read for both the professional and the layman alike...brought to you by one of the BEST in the field. Emily brings the mysterious forensic world to the human level for all to understand and admire. Amazingly detailed descriptions...as seen through the caring eyes of a lady with a passion for the cause. -Todd Matthews Media Director for DoeNetwork & OutpostForHope

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    The worst book I've ever read

    The ponderous, self involved style of this book makes it next to impossible to read. As a forensic tome, it is utterly useless and if it was designed to either "entertain" or "inform" it fails miserably. This was the first time I've ever not finished a book I started. A piece of trash.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1