BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Teeth of the Tiger

Average Rating 3.5
( 344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

NEXT

I really enjoyed the style and particularly the content of this book. When is the next book in this series coming?

posted by Anonymous on July 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tom you should be ashamed...

If Mr. Clancy has come up with a computer program that spits out novels, in the same manner he spits out games, series and now anti-Bush diatribes, then he definitely utilized it here. The characters in the book are reheated shells of characters he created within the l...
If Mr. Clancy has come up with a computer program that spits out novels, in the same manner he spits out games, series and now anti-Bush diatribes, then he definitely utilized it here. The characters in the book are reheated shells of characters he created within the last two decades. Not one single action sequence happens that the reader is not completely aware of the outcome before the second paragraph. I wanted this book to be so much more, but alas...it was not even close to 'Rainbow Six'. Hope Mr. Clancy learns from this ridiculously obvious attempt at 'sneaking one by' and puts his thinking cap on next time. He is quickly becoming the Eddie Murphy of literature.

posted by Anonymous on December 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 346 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    Tom you should be ashamed...

    If Mr. Clancy has come up with a computer program that spits out novels, in the same manner he spits out games, series and now anti-Bush diatribes, then he definitely utilized it here. The characters in the book are reheated shells of characters he created within the last two decades. Not one single action sequence happens that the reader is not completely aware of the outcome before the second paragraph. I wanted this book to be so much more, but alas...it was not even close to 'Rainbow Six'. Hope Mr. Clancy learns from this ridiculously obvious attempt at 'sneaking one by' and puts his thinking cap on next time. He is quickly becoming the Eddie Murphy of literature.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I am a Tom Clancy fan from waaaay back, and have loved his work. I am sorry to give such a low rating to this work.

    "The Teeth...." however seems awkward, elementary and put together with such haste that it seems slip-shod. The premise is timely; however, the characters are shallow and unbelievable. The dialogue followed suit. I realize that the characters are young, but they seem more like a high school click than college graduates with any life experiences. It was with chagrin that I read the cockiness("full of himself") of Jack Ryan Jr., as he killed another human being (and, yes....I know the target was a bad guy and deserved elimination); but the insinuated delight in the assassination actually puts the Ryan character in the same league as those of the terrorists.

    In short; I expect much more from a seasoned author such as Mr. Clancy, and will give him another chance with future works. Hopefully, he will re-group, and regain his former edge.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    NEXT

    I really enjoyed the style and particularly the content of this book. When is the next book in this series coming?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Distinguished writer Tom Clancy is doing it again with an exciting book.

    I enjoyed this fictional novel even though I see it as another "formula Book" by Tom Clancy. I keep looking forward to other titles written by him.
    The plot of this novel seems "realistic" in today's world of nations trying to become dominant in the world of Geo-politics. This is a thrilling novel right up to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    A Proper Warning:

    Normally, I am not one to write reviews. However, in this case I think it is proper to give warning to those contemplating whether, or not, to indulge in this read. This may be the single worst book I have ever read, and I'm an avid reader, to say the least. This is the third Clancy book I have tried, and I have, for the third time, been utterly disappointed. It took over 250 pages for the author to stop dwelling on a character's conscience, it was over fifty pages worth of writing about nothing more than terrorists driving a car. The main character does nothing but look at a couple measly numbers, and he's the next prodigy of the black world. It's pathetic. There is absolutely no plot, and the book is beyond boring. If a reader desires an unbelivably entertaining book, that not only is completely intriguing, but brilliantly written, he/she should go with either a Fredrick Forsyth novel or the earlier published works of Robert Ludlum. They are truly exceptional authors with regard to military and international intrigue they are the best of the best of spy books. Tom Clancy is to authors, as what Donald Trump is to businessmen they are not very good at what they do, but they promote themselves better than anyone in their line of work. That is wwhy they are successful. Do not succumb to the popularity of the name it is simply not worth it. PS: The lowest mark I was allowed to give was one star, but trust me, the book hardly earns that rank.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    The next Jack Ryan.......

    Loved the introduction into the next leg of Jack Ryan...... Jack Ryan Jr. Looking forward to more as Tom Clancy starts a new series of books with new and interesting characters. I just can't get enough....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    Not Clany's best work...

    It was pretty boring for some part of it. One part was pretty awesome and well after that it just went kind of-blah. Just not enough action for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2005

    Fat Lady In Wings...

    Reading this, you just wish she'd come out and sing for pete's sake. Seriously. It's awful.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Clancy - World Stage, stealth, new young Team of Jack & the Cousins tracking the money trail, emails & getting their targets! Great Read!

    Clancy never disappoints - looking forward to future Ryan Series books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    good book love it

    good book love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Ghejjfvjktgbktbe.ugkfddkdshyeh.ttuyejrkwkfbhjjbnyfdfbcsfmnio.ghtdjrqkrryhrheijjgrwssjjoijpjjyerkijgjuthutjteutikljghtrwvwrejuu.&**6563-45844-52*&(555*-354&3*-

    IjlsHq.loopam
    Gjhuiopghjudfgtoiiyggjdjttgikgufsewqdgifgklo.fjyotekhvbhfghu.mgfdhtdljlhksdhtrfqdgg.37&90&#-#74378-;$37

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Not his best work.


    : /

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    Highly recommended.

    As usually the case with Clancy, I thoroughly enjoyed the book. The Jack Ryan saga is GREAT. Please keep it going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Great Book

    Teeth of the Tiger is my second favorite Tom Clancy book, only to Rainbow Six. I'm amazed that it only has a 3 Star rating. Very good read that brings up the "what if" and "I hope we have people doing this" aspects of counter terrorism. Tom Clancy's writing style of following multiple independent people throughout the book and tying everyone together by the end makes it easy to break into smaller reading segments if it is hard for you to read for long periods of time. Though I'm sure you will want to just keep on reading, as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Last new Clancy book I ever bought

    I loved Tom Clancy's work since I was 13 and read The Hunt for Red October. I've not picked up a book of his since this one was released. It singlehandedly made me never want to read anything else he will ever write. I read Clancy's books for mindless entertainment, not to have his right-wing politics shoved in my face.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I have been a Clancy fan for years. Read all of his books. If you like Clive Cussler or Vince Flynn you need to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Teeth of the tiger

    Thought this book
    Was a good read. A little deferent style, but good, would recomend to my friends. When is next book coming out
    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Good little page turner

    Great for knocking out a day or two while waiting to go back in at Ali al Salem. I thought it could have been longer, more plot development to support the decisions of the characters and the action sequences but I have no real complaints. Good bridge into a new cast of characters and a continuing Ryanverse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Unbelievable

    The strangest thing about this book is that actually, Mr Clancy got payed for it... unless he was racing for the worst book ever.
    In this case he's definitely in the top 10 worldwide.

    I started to read his novels since the first one, and looking back I can't beleive how low he sank.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I found the book a bit hard to swallow.

    I am an avid Tom Clancy reader. I have been for years. Nothing would go better in my ruck or Modular Pack than a Clancy paperback. But I am confused as to the time-line and age of his son. Jack Jr. was just a little boy when Jack was still Assistant Director of Intelligence at the C.I.A., however, now he is old enough to be part of the Campus?
    I remember that John Patrick Ryan became President in Debt of Honor because of the 9/11 like attack by the pilot who hit the Capitol Building, thus making Jack President. However, after Executive Decision how old exactly was Jack Jr.?
    In some cases, this reminds of of day time soaps in which the kids seem to grow up overnight and the parents never age. Let alone the fact that a President can only serve two terms in office and in his newest book (not yet released), John is again running for re-election. Great book, a little slower than usual, but yes, an improvement over Red Rabbit.
    I just would like a time-line page in his novels to show when each event takes place in terms of years from last operation.
    SFC Daniel L. Diaz, USA, Combat Infantryman ret.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 346 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18