Customer Reviews for

The Teeth of the Tiger

Average Rating 3.5
( 346 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

NEXT

I really enjoyed the style and particularly the content of this book. When is the next book in this series coming?

posted by Anonymous on July 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tom you should be ashamed...

If Mr. Clancy has come up with a computer program that spits out novels, in the same manner he spits out games, series and now anti-Bush diatribes, then he definitely utilized it here. The characters in the book are reheated shells of characters he created within the l...
If Mr. Clancy has come up with a computer program that spits out novels, in the same manner he spits out games, series and now anti-Bush diatribes, then he definitely utilized it here. The characters in the book are reheated shells of characters he created within the last two decades. Not one single action sequence happens that the reader is not completely aware of the outcome before the second paragraph. I wanted this book to be so much more, but alas...it was not even close to 'Rainbow Six'. Hope Mr. Clancy learns from this ridiculously obvious attempt at 'sneaking one by' and puts his thinking cap on next time. He is quickly becoming the Eddie Murphy of literature.

posted by Anonymous on December 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    Not Clany's best work...

    It was pretty boring for some part of it. One part was pretty awesome and well after that it just went kind of-blah. Just not enough action for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Distinguished writer Tom Clancy is doing it again with an exciting book.

    I enjoyed this fictional novel even though I see it as another "formula Book" by Tom Clancy. I keep looking forward to other titles written by him.
    The plot of this novel seems "realistic" in today's world of nations trying to become dominant in the world of Geo-politics. This is a thrilling novel right up to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Not his best work.


    : /

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not the usual Clancy

    I read this book for the setup it makes on Clancy's latest book. Figured it would make more sense. I liked it, but I kept in mind that it was just that...a set up for the next one. Taken by itself, I can see why some people didn't like it. It did kinda drag at a few points, but setting up new characters takes that time. There was just enough action to help out those slow spots. Good read, but makes me want to see how the next one turns out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    A Okay Book

    I was dissappointed when I read some of the chapters, but I found the overall storyline-okay. I do not consider this a must-read and do not find that Clancy's greatest works. Three stars-two for overall storyline.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    OK

    It kept me interested even though most of the characters were boring except for Jack Jr. I hope his next one is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    Omygod but Tom's become wordy in his old age

    I have read most of Clancy's books and have thoroughly enjoyed all of them. This one really made me tired, though. The plot and action are about 25% and the rest is moral and philosophical ramblings. Some of this is ok, but enough is too much. I actually listened to this book on tape and was doubly frustrated because I couldn't just skip the boring parts and get to somebody doing something. I like the concept and the plot, but way too much talk! I'm almost finished and it looks like there is a frustrating non-ending. I hope the next one is better. Tom, just write the story--the book doesn't need to be 800 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    Foundational Teaser

    A good read until the end when one is assured this is the first of at least several with these new characters. Question is..... 'When do we get the next one?' If it's not fairly soon, I'll be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    Still Waiting......

    It is like he wrote an 900 page book and decided to only sell half of it. Where is the rest? I must say that I liked the idea, and the locations he choose for the terrorists, living in one of them. But, it just left me hanging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    Predictable

    Teeth of the Tiger reads fast, but is also predictable. Seemed like a stretch for the story to play out in such a quick fashion. One error I also found and couldn't get past - one group of terrorist was bound for Sacramento but ends up in Provo, UT. Did they miss a turn? Must have been missed by the editor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2004

    NOT the Greatest Clancy by ANY stretch.

    The infant chapters were only semi-amuzing as he introduces the new characters (a necessity) and the adolescent chapters were totally boring. By the teenage chapters the book finally started to get interesting (reminded me of 'Without Remorse) but did not reach the typical climax of a true Clancy novel. His follow-up to this novel should be better though since he's already established everthing except the exciting part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2004

    Clancy Needs Fresh Start

    This novel is not one of Clancy's best. It is bland and predictable. Please bury the Jack Ryan character and move on. Jack Jr. comes across as poor-little-rich-boy and not remotely qualified for the job. Some of Clancy's best works featured Chavez and Clarke, he should bring them back and get to the interesting spy stuff at the working level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    Different but amorphous

    I might go back and re-read previous clancey works and appreciate them more. I was calling for a change, but I'm not certain I enjoy the new style. Sorry, Tom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    A good set up book

    This book adds a new angle to the Jack Ryan series. The glossing over of the assination of Jackson was a little poor. I expected to see a little more about Jack senior in an alcoholic state. Though bring the rest of the family online was very good. A question that has been left unanswered is were is Rainbow in all of this. A very good set up read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    Needs new lines

    How many times do you want to hear the same phrases and the same dialogue? You will hear a lot of both in Clancy's latest. Definitely not his best. You keep hoping it will imporve. Disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    Lack of Substance

    This latest from Tom Clancy lacks the usual degree of substance and preparation. Is this entirely Mr. Clancy's writing?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    Unfinished Book

    Felt like the book was unfinished. Left you hanging for the usual clean up work found in Clancy's books. Maybe done on purpose to continue on to next book. Felt that he left a few holes on the references to other characters from previous books. Expected Jack Sr. or Clark or Ding to pop in to help steer the Cousins, but never happened. Let us see what happens in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    A new series

    This latest novel from Clancy is obviously a new beginning of a series with a new organization and fresh characters. Fine. Almost all the book was dedicated to introducing the organization, how it operates, how the people got to be there, and more set-up situations. What little action there was, was great but over in a turn of a page. Now that the ground work was laid down, maybe the next novels can focus on dealing with the bad guys, and not get bogged down with repetative narration. This tiger must bite in the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    Worth it for hardcore fans

    Unlike many reviews so far, I actually have read the book. It is not nearly as technical as most of the previous books in the Ryan series nor as action packed. The dialogue was often banal and much of it written for the benefit of those for whom this is their first Ryan novel. Jack Jr. does not come off as a particularly deep or likable character. I think that we will see more of the Caruso brothers, though. While here the dialogue hits the low points, there are flashes of Ding Chavez/John Clark-type interactions, but on equal footing. I think that in future books, fans might really enjoy the development of these characters. The plot was good enough, and the book moved along, but ultimately it was anticlimactic (especially compared to the all-time cliffhanger in Debt of Honor). It did not leave me wondering what happened next, it was more of a 'That was it?' It is worth the read for hardcore fans just because you will see these characters again should Clancy continue this series, but I would rather Clancy stick to the book every two-ish years formula and turn out the fantastic work like Debt of Honor, Executive Orders, Without Remorse, and Cardinal of the Kremlin. Finally, with an author as big as Clancy, you would think that Putnam could hire decent editors. Previous books have had ten or more typos, but this one has the typos plus a blatant error: on one page a list of four cities includes Sacramento, CA. Throughout the rest of the book it is Provo, UT. Rediculous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2003

    Where's the rest of it?

    I have read all of Clancy's book, multiple times, and I have to say that although Teeth is not his worst, it isn't his best, either. I was disappointed at his handling of previous characters, smply 'wrapping them up' tidily and dismissing them. Also, at 600+ pages, this must be the shortest Clancy yet (maybe Red Rabbit, but I am trying to block that one from my memory) and it ends like a half-a-novel. Come on, Clancy usually can't get his story together in under 900 pages, so why didn't they let him finish this one? I resent being made to pay twice for the same story, and I am sure his next book out will be the other half of this one. Enough complaining though, I have no complaints with the pacing, and as usual, Clancy is one of the few authours that can make a multiple-viewpoint story work for me. It is worth reading, and definitely harks back to his first books in leaving me wondering whether this was a tale drawn from real life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4