Customer Reviews for

The Teeth of the Tiger

Average Rating 3.5
( 344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

NEXT

I really enjoyed the style and particularly the content of this book. When is the next book in this series coming?

posted by Anonymous on July 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tom you should be ashamed...

If Mr. Clancy has come up with a computer program that spits out novels, in the same manner he spits out games, series and now anti-Bush diatribes, then he definitely utilized it here. The characters in the book are reheated shells of characters he created within the l...
If Mr. Clancy has come up with a computer program that spits out novels, in the same manner he spits out games, series and now anti-Bush diatribes, then he definitely utilized it here. The characters in the book are reheated shells of characters he created within the last two decades. Not one single action sequence happens that the reader is not completely aware of the outcome before the second paragraph. I wanted this book to be so much more, but alas...it was not even close to 'Rainbow Six'. Hope Mr. Clancy learns from this ridiculously obvious attempt at 'sneaking one by' and puts his thinking cap on next time. He is quickly becoming the Eddie Murphy of literature.

posted by Anonymous on December 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    NEXT

    I really enjoyed the style and particularly the content of this book. When is the next book in this series coming?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    The next Jack Ryan.......

    Loved the introduction into the next leg of Jack Ryan...... Jack Ryan Jr. Looking forward to more as Tom Clancy starts a new series of books with new and interesting characters. I just can't get enough....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Clancy - World Stage, stealth, new young Team of Jack & the Cousins tracking the money trail, emails & getting their targets! Great Read!

    Clancy never disappoints - looking forward to future Ryan Series books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I found the book a bit hard to swallow.

    I am an avid Tom Clancy reader. I have been for years. Nothing would go better in my ruck or Modular Pack than a Clancy paperback. But I am confused as to the time-line and age of his son. Jack Jr. was just a little boy when Jack was still Assistant Director of Intelligence at the C.I.A., however, now he is old enough to be part of the Campus?
    I remember that John Patrick Ryan became President in Debt of Honor because of the 9/11 like attack by the pilot who hit the Capitol Building, thus making Jack President. However, after Executive Decision how old exactly was Jack Jr.?
    In some cases, this reminds of of day time soaps in which the kids seem to grow up overnight and the parents never age. Let alone the fact that a President can only serve two terms in office and in his newest book (not yet released), John is again running for re-election. Great book, a little slower than usual, but yes, an improvement over Red Rabbit.
    I just would like a time-line page in his novels to show when each event takes place in terms of years from last operation.
    SFC Daniel L. Diaz, USA, Combat Infantryman ret.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    Not your typical Tom Clancy book

    There are a lot of die hard Clancy fans that say this book was poorly written and was one of his worst. I have to disagree. If you're expecting the same old characters and don't want to read about new, more interesting ones, don't pick up this book. Otherwise buy it today because it is a great book that is very interesting and pertaining to today's threat of terrorism. Clancy once again does an excellent job researching the subject and creating an amazingly vivid and exciting story line.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Good...

    This is a good book, but as many people have preceded me in saying: it is only half-written. Mr. Clancy failed to take the plot to its full potential, to the places where he normally takes the reader. Still a good read. For those of you waiting for a new Clancy to follow this one: stop waiting. He announced long before this book's publication that 'Teeth of the Tiger' would be his last, which is quite disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    Where's the rest of it?

    I've been reading Tom Clancy novels since Red October, I've read them all. I've loved them all, some more than others. I found this one very intriguing, it kept my attention the entire way through and I loved the way all of the strands were tied together in true Clancy form. However...Where's the rest of it. I know it was stated that he would put out this book sooner rather than later and Clancy fans the world over ran to the stores to scoop it up. But it was only HALF the book. Seems like Mr Clancy, wanted to get paid twice for the same story. OK, I don't mind, I'll pay for the rest of the story, but where is it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Not a bad read.

    Its not the best Clancy book ive read but again, not the worst. The detailed action and description were great and the book really moved along well. I think the ending came too abruptly but hopefully a sequal will pick up where this one left off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2004

    CAPTIVATING

    I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK OUT. THIS ONE KEPT ME GUESSING WHAT WAS HAPPENING. I WANT TO FIND OUT IF THEY FIND THE EMIR AND ELIMINATE HIM (WHO IS HE?) I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    Well. . . not the best nor the worst.

    Call it a quirk but I like a novel that is rather long and fast paced. Teeth of the Tiger is too short but runs and moves like a cat. Put a bit more meat in the tale and we're in Red October territory again. A great read that has a first rate plot that is Clancy at his best (seems he's a bit ahead of the curve in this genre).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    Awesome book, a little short

    It was a good book, but a little short

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    Please America read this

    From Red October to this I have been a Clancy fan. This is a significant improvement upon Rabbit and furthermore it helps us to understand the militant islamic mindset. It also warns us to pay closer attention to our pourous borders. Clancy is reminding us that we are in a modern crusade and our enemy lives in the shadows and must be delt with differently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    Clancy does it again

    Tom just keeps cranking them out. Good, exciting story line, great plot. I really enjoyed this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    Why?

    TOM! What have you done, this novel had the potential to be one of the best Jack Ryan's and you published half? I felt left, alone, and scared when I read the last page. Tommy, when the next Ryan comes out (please soon), make it long and action-packed. The world needs a few more of those

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2004

    The Start of Clancy's Redemption

    I'm a huge Clancy fan, and I've come to be a big fan of Jack Ryan. However, the books about end of Jack's career didn't seem to hold my attention. This book did. I'm glad that Clancy's developing a new hero and I look very much forward to reading about the young Ryan. This book also brought some new covert ideas to the table and was very hard to put down. You'll enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    4 STARS but... I feel cheated!

    I have been a Clancy fan since Red October. I have read every book, with rapt attention, and eagerly anticpate each and every new offering. However, I felt CHEATED by Teeth of the Tiger. It was obvioulsy only HALF complete, but rushed to press. I know we all love a cliffhanger, but this went over the line. Does Tom think he is Peter Jackson? or did he simply need all of us to RUN to the bookstore an extra time. I loved the book... but I would like to know if we can turn it in and get the sequel when it comes out? (how about a discount at least)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    The Teeth of The Tiger

    Tom Clancy is one of the most talented writers of our time. With books dealing with the ¿new wave¿ of terrorism Clancy has managed to intrigue many readers and keep them on the edge of their seats. The Teeth Of The Tiger has proven to be Clancy¿s most action filled story yet. Set in suburban Maryland, a firm named Hendley Associates carries out the normal business of dealing with bonds, stocks, and foreign currencies, but the firm¿s real mission is to seek out terrorist threats and deal with them at any cost. This gives way to the plot of the story and helps the reader understand what three young men are about to face in ¿The Campus.¿ The Teeth Of The Tiger is a book that deals with one of the biggest threats the world has ever faced, especially after September 11,2001 otherwise known as 9-11,terrorism. In a suburban city of Maryland Hendley Associates is referred to as ¿The Campus¿ by the surrounding community. Little do these people know what ¿The Campus¿ is really about. The firm is really a black ops organization. A black Ops organization is where secret missions take place without the knowledge of local police, that serves to uncover terrorist threats that are hazardous to the United States, ¿The Campus¿ is always on the lookout for fresh new talent. Three young men who descend from the same family are under the radar of ¿The Campus.¿ The first young man is FBI agent Dominic Caruso. Barely one year out of Quantico, Dominic has managed to solve a brutal kidnap/murder case. The second is Dominic¿s brother, Marine Captain Brian Caruso, who has just returned from his first action in war in Afghanistan. The third young man about to be recruited into ¿The Campus¿ is their cousin, Jack Ryan, Jr., son of the legendary Jack Ryan who appears in Clancy¿s numerous books. Together these three young men are about to carry out a black op mission to deal with a known terrorist who is the ringleader of many terrorist attacks. This book was planned down to the smallest detail, Tom Clancy once again has made his characters realistic and outstanding. The three young men of this story were perfectly described and characterized as smart, brave, and vigilant. In the end all three of the men carry out their mission and return safely home with enough information to help out ¿The Campus¿ with future black op missions. The Teeth Of The Tiger successfully carries out its plan to keep the readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page. The story¿s plot gives way to the whole ¿new wave¿ of terrorism and how it is being dealt with, with many surprising events, nail biting action, and a quick resolution to the problem, makes The Teeth Of The Tiger an outstanding book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    Since When...............

    does Tom Clancy write cliffhangers!!! It's a great premise, a solution we all wish really existed (and really worked) but......... I want the rest of the story!!! Come on Tom, we're waiting - it's been too long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    A very good thriller

    This is one of the better thrillers of recent years.It is not up to his earlier works, but it's entertaining and suspenseful.I like the three main characters.The ending is much too abrupt,but I think it was intentional-Clancy wanted to leave you wanting more.AND I DO! A solid start to what should be a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Solid Addition to Clancy's Record

    I'm a big fan of Clancy's novels, I've read all books previous to this one, and found this one to be a welcome addition. The action and subterfuge is coherent, well placed, and make the book exciting. My only real problem with the book was with the big coincidence which happened halfway through (The Mall scence, don't want to say too much in fear of giving too much information), it wasn't quite as realistic as I would've liked, seeing what Tom Clancy has managed to accomplish with previous novels. Overall though, this is definitely a great addition to anyone's book collection, I'd reccomend it to old time Clancy fans and ones just starting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4