Customer Reviews for

Tell Me Lies

Average Rating 4.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tell Me Lies

At first I thought it was starting a bit slow - but then I couldn't put it down! This book has everything happening in it - a fun and down to earth read! I think it's one of Jennifer's best books - never boring - and highly recommended!

posted by LC112648LC on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not her best but still good.

I just finished this book and to me it was just okay as compared to her other books. This book was a bit more serious than her other books, which are usually very funny, and I suppose that makes sense as this was a bit of a more serious story. I found some of the scen...
I just finished this book and to me it was just okay as compared to her other books. This book was a bit more serious than her other books, which are usually very funny, and I suppose that makes sense as this was a bit of a more serious story. I found some of the scenes that followed the main character's daughter tedious. I just didn't care what a couple of kids (elementary aged kids at that) were planning and thinking. I loved all of the scenes with C.L., especially the ones with his uncle.

Maddie, the lead character, almost went on my stupid list near the middle of the book when she started complaining that the C.L., her love interest, had lied about why he came to town, which was untrue. However, the narration did not stay on that theme for long.

Overall, the book was written well. There was LOTS of chemistry between the main character's, Maddie and C.L. Ms. Crusie did an excellent job of weaving a complicated thread about a small town murder and how small town life played a role in it. Overall I really enjoyed the book and definately left me smiling and happy at the end. I am still a big fan of this writer.

posted by CeCeSG on August 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Very interesting

    I agreed with several of the write ups. Not as funny as some.. kids made me crazy (but mine do too) and they were tied into the story plot which made it all work. There was joy at the end which always works for me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyable!  Once I started it, it was hard to put dow

    Thoroughly enjoyable!  Once I started it, it was hard to put down.  Love Cruisie's novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    GOOD READING

    SHE IS AN EXCELLENT WRITER I'VE READ MOST OF HER WORKS
    YOU'LL ENJOY THIS ONE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    small town setting

    I loved the setting of this book. It truly portrayed the small town secrets/betrayals and power. How many of us wonder " what if" from our high school days?! It was a fun read on a hot summer day. Glad Maddie got to go back and experience some fun with a previous lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    Great story!

    This is the first J. Crusie book I ever read - I picked up at my High School library one day when I was really bored. I started reading it that same day and finished the next. It was interesting from the beginning and I loved the mystery along with the romance. I recommend this to anyone who is looking to read something interesting, dramatic, and romantic. Like the review before mine, I, too, cannot remember any real funny parts - and though I'm sure there were, it's not just about humor. It's about solving your problems and doing what you have to do to find your own happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Cover disappoints

    After reading this book, I don't understand why the cover says it is a funny read. There wasn't anything funny about a book surrounded by murder and lies. Cruisie's book Bet Me was funny, but this one wasn't.
    The storyline was intriguing, the book flowed from topic to topic and kept you on your feet, but the lead guy C.L. reminded me of a sociopath and stalker. I definitely didn't find his approach romantic, funny, sexy, etc. I would run the other way if I was Maddie, he was just scary showing up the way he did and pushing himself on her, whether she wanted him or not, it was just a bit over the top.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Pretty Good

    I'd recommend this book. It was witty, sharp, with interesting characters I could really get into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2004

    Juicy reading about the unrelenting 'dream' guy

    This book was stellar! I loved how Maddie was portrayed as the good girl who came from the right side of the tracks, only to have her entire life fall apart right before her eyes...and the eyes of everyone in her small busy-body kinda town. There were secrets being kept from her that she had no inklings about...and a love who happened to be a blast from her past. Jennifer Crusie's literary style is none better described as brutally honest and strikingly whitty with a twist of good taste. This book delivers some good shocks to your system as well as some shivers down your spine! A definite addition to the library of any girly book collector! (such as myself)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    ENJOYED THE WHOLE STORY

    I love Jennifer Cruise Stories. She does not mess around with her characters. They are not too wishy washy like alot of Nora Roberts Characters. That drives me crazy. Her stories are funny, fast moving, keeps me reading, wondering whats going to happen next, and her characters are real with real issues. I love all her books. Check out her web site- it is laugh out loud funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    WOW!

    This is one of Jennifer Crusie's best. I read too many of her books and lost count. But Tell Me Lies is just amazing. For me, the mystery part is the best. It will keep you guessing 'til the end. The characters are just so realistic with true feelings. You will laugh out loud and just enjoy this book. You just can't stop reading until the last word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    great read

    This book was excellent! It had a little bit of everything and you know its bound to be good once you read the first sentence!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2003

    Yet ANOTHER Great book by J. Crusie

    The novel started off extremely slow. I was tempted to put it down the first 4 or 5 chapters then it started to speed up. I found the characters likable. The story line was not as predictable as I thought. There were a couple twists and turns. One thing I love about Jennifer is she writes about Romance and Mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2000

    Enjoyable Reading

    Very funny romance-mystery novel. The book shows the power of family, friendship and love. The book is very enjoyable to read and has a very comical and interesting story line. The two main characters (Maddie & C.J.) are warm and likable and the situations they run into in a small town where everyone knows everyone is hilarious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2