Customer Reviews for

Tell Me Lies

Average Rating 4.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tell Me Lies

At first I thought it was starting a bit slow - but then I couldn't put it down! This book has everything happening in it - a fun and down to earth read! I think it's one of Jennifer's best books - never boring - and highly recommended!

posted by LC112648LC on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not her best but still good.

I just finished this book and to me it was just okay as compared to her other books. This book was a bit more serious than her other books, which are usually very funny, and I suppose that makes sense as this was a bit of a more serious story. I found some of the scen...
I just finished this book and to me it was just okay as compared to her other books. This book was a bit more serious than her other books, which are usually very funny, and I suppose that makes sense as this was a bit of a more serious story. I found some of the scenes that followed the main character's daughter tedious. I just didn't care what a couple of kids (elementary aged kids at that) were planning and thinking. I loved all of the scenes with C.L., especially the ones with his uncle.

Maddie, the lead character, almost went on my stupid list near the middle of the book when she started complaining that the C.L., her love interest, had lied about why he came to town, which was untrue. However, the narration did not stay on that theme for long.

Overall, the book was written well. There was LOTS of chemistry between the main character's, Maddie and C.L. Ms. Crusie did an excellent job of weaving a complicated thread about a small town murder and how small town life played a role in it. Overall I really enjoyed the book and definately left me smiling and happy at the end. I am still a big fan of this writer.

posted by CeCeSG on August 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tell Me Lies

    At first I thought it was starting a bit slow - but then I couldn't put it down! This book has everything happening in it - a fun and down to earth read! I think it's one of Jennifer's best books - never boring - and highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Good, easy read

    We picked out this book for our book club to read because we wanted something light and easy to read. We succeeded! The plot is not deep, but it is entertaining. There is a little bit of everything - mystery, drama, romance, and humor. While some things are predictable, others take you completely by surprise! I have to say, I didn't see the end coming and would have been wrong in guessing "who dunnit" :-) If you are looking for a book that is quick to read, but also keeps you reading because you want to know what happens next - this is the book for you! Most importantly, it has a happy ending. I like to finish a book with a smile on my face and a "feel good" feeling in my heart. Winner here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It was funny and thrilling from page one.

    That first sentence is what hooked me on. I definately laughed out loud on this one. The plot was definately a great mystery and found myself caring for the characters involved. I always suggest this one to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    This was the first book that I read of J. Cruise and I can't wait to read more of her work. This book was terrific. I couldn't put it down.
    I highly recommend this!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Awesome

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Clear

    <_>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Midnightfang

    "All clear. Lets head back to camp."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Such a great book! If you're looking for something easy to read

    Such a great book! If you're looking for something easy to read just for entertainment, this is it. I got so involved with the story and the characters that I couldn't and didn't want to put it down! Twists and turns, romance and intrigue - great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Silvermoonstr

    Next result!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    I really enjoyed the pace and humor of the book! It was one I ha

    I really enjoyed the pace and humor of the book! It was one I had a hard time putting down! I'm excited to read more of Jennifer Crusie's work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Enjoyable as always

    Humorous and quick paced with a couple of twists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Wow!!!

    So great and interesing. You never kniw what will happen next :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Love jennifer's books!!!!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Loved it!

    Great, fun read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    A FANTASTIC READ!

    This was the most amazing novel i have ever read...it had lies, sex, scandel, and love....and the best of it all you don't know who did it until the very end!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    Wonderful

    I could not put the book down once I started. I am not much of a reader but this book kept me on my toes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    Read these lies!

    This was an awesome book. It was filled with mystery, murder, gossip and country sex. lol. It was just as good as Welcome to Temptation. At first I didn't know what direction this book was going to take, but the story is what makes it so good. The whole time I wanted Maddie to forget her neighbors and just focus on her kid and C.L. and what makes her happy, which is her kid and C.L and I was glad in the end. She even got to do her secret dream, which I'll keep a secret so you'll read the book, hehe. Enjoy a great Crusie novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2005

    now i believe in love at first test..........

    it was my first one and i fell in love with it.now im collecting everybook by cruise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    Loved it

    This book had it all, mystery, romance, sex and humor. I had a great time reading it. Thank you Crusie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2005

    first book i gave 5 stars

    this is by far the best book i have ever read. i releted to it a lot. it relates to aa soap show i watch and a little bit of my life. i love it, better then bet me. i had smiles, tears, hate, and sometimes argasms, lol. i loved the sex scences, i gotta say. so read it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3