Customer Reviews for

Tell Me Something True

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Could have been so much better!

    I gave it two stars mainly out of disappointment. As a Latin American residing in the United States, this novel appealed to me greatly. The depictions of cultural differences and identity were very accurate. The story promised a lot. However, I found the story line and the main character's actions quite far-fetched. I could not see at all--SPOILER ALERT-- how finding out that secret about your mother would turn you into a brat and propel you to date a drug dealer in order to "write your own book". Please! And after everything that happened, the end came abruptly with the decision to leave. I found the main character uneven and not credible. I strongly think the plot has problems. The character's actions seemed to come out of nowhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    Beautiful, Moving, nostalgic

    This is a beautiful book, impregnated with nostalgia and soulfulness. The intertwined lives of mother and daughter and their impossible loves are riveting and took me back to a time I had forgotten. This is also a wonderful book about living between cultures and languages. Many will identify. Be prepared to cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    Its was just ok

    It was a fast book to read i liked the family drama there is always two side of the story. Do i recommend this book? yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book was OK but it was too cliche; one could surmise the ending before it happened.

    It was too predictable and mushy for my taste. The character Gabriella annoyed me with her childish whims; in the end she wimped out. It was a quick read but not spell binding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    Wonderful, touching

    This is a Must read. I could not put this book down. It is a touching and thought provoking book. I cannot wait for the next Leila Cobo book to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    Mothers and Daughters

    I think every daughter wonders what her mother is like when she is not acting as a mother, but as a woman. "Tell me Something True
    brings us into the life of both a mother and a daughter where the daughter slowly peels back the layers of her mother's life and sees things that anger and frighten her. This is a must-read for daughters, sisters, and mothers. The prose is a treat to read, the journey, romantic, compelling and unforgettable. Leila Cobo does an excellent job of bringing us into two cultures, two generations, and that gray area that lies in between...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    COBO PROVIDES QUALITY READING

    TELL ME SOMETHING TRUE
    Leila Cobo
    Grand Central Publishing
    $13.99 - Paperback
    ISBN: 978-0-446-51936-6
    308 Pages
    Reviewer: Annie Slessman

    This is my first read by Leila Cobo. Her latest work, TELL ME SOMETHING TRUE shares an intimate story of a young American-Columbian woman who has lost her mother early in life. Living with her father in Los Angeles she keeps the memory of her mother alive through her pictures and the few memories she has of her mother.

    During a visit with her grandmother in Cali, she discovers a diary of her mothers she learns the truth about her mother and the double life she lead. Her mother had fallen for another man during her marriage and refused to give him up even though she remained in marriage to Gabriella's father. Gabriella is shocked, dismayed but mostly curious about her mother's behavior.

    Gabriella's chance meeting with Angel, the son of Cali's drug cartel head, tosses her into the world of danger and excitement. She falls in love with Angel, Coming from a family who feels Angel is unsuitable as a companion for Gabriella; she hides her relationship from her family. Eventually, she throws caution to the wind and introduces him to her matriarch grandmother. Although the grandmother disapproves of her relationship with Angel, she keeps her opinion to herself as not to lose Gabriella to the family as he had lost Gabriella's mother.

    This is a well told story. The characters are alive and maintain a reader's interest until the last word. If you have not read words by Leila Cobo, a well known journalist and former concert pianist, this would be a great starting place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a fascinating family drama

    Twenty-one year old Colombian-American Gabriella has been raised in both countries. Her father resides in Southern California as a successful movie producer while her maternal grandmother, who she visits every Christmas, lives in South America. Her late mother was never been part of her life except for a photo of Helena that Gabriella loves.

    A piano prodigy, Gabriella finds her mother's diary that shocks her; not just aboute her mom's affair though that is a stunner when she always of Helena as an earth angel. At a Hollywood gala, Gabriella and affluent pop music promoter Angel Silva meet and are attracted to one another. However, she has some doubts because his father is a jailed drug trafficker. Still as she falls in love, Gabriella keeps looking into what happened to her mother who died in a plane crash just after she apparently had a torrid affair.

    This is a violent bittersweet romance starring an intriguing heroine whose image of her parents and grandma collapses with the reading of her Mami's diary. The truth is not as kind as the lie her love ones told her to shelter her from the transgressions of her Mami. Although at times too melodramatic especially when Angel enters Gabriella's life, TELL ME SOMETHING TRUE is a fascinating family drama that asks readers whether lying to protect a child even an adult child from the tarnished truth about a deceased loved one is acceptable. Using true events like the plane crash in 1995 of a flight from Miami to Cali, Columbia as anchors to her tale, fans will enjoy Gabriella's quest to learn who her Mami's secret lover was and why her Mami was on the plane.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1