Customer Reviews for

Tell Me Where It Hurts: A Day of Humor, Healing and Hope in My Life as an Animal Surgeon

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    Wonderful Book! Couldn't Wait To See What Happened Next...

    This book gave me insight into what it is like for the Vet dealing with animal wellness, sickness and death. I work as a Vet Assistant and I'm a pet owner, so I know what its like from my side of the exam table, but this definitely opened my eyes to their world. It was written with enough humor throughout to keep me wanting more, yet had sincere emotion intertwined to keep it real. Loved how the Dr. could recognize and translate the human-animal bond. I gave this as a gift to one of our Vets and she has passed it around to many as a must read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    Great Read for anyone in the profession

    I think that this is a great book for anyone in the vet/vet tech work atmosphere. I enjoyed it and was able to read it quite quickly because I found I could easily relate to the author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    This is one to pull at your heartstrings

    Tell me where it hurts is a wonderful read, not only for those working in the medical field but also for all you animal lovers out there. I was first roped into reading it when I spotted the adorable little Boston on the front. Then about 2 days later this book was recommended to me by a family member who had heard about it. It is a page turner that you will not want to put down. I read the entire book in one day/night and am now reading it again! I have 3 pugs one of whom has cancer, so this book really had me in tears both sad and happy ones. I highly recommend every pet owner and lover read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Tell me where it hurts

    Very Harriotesque in it's delivery I also tend to lose the thread of the story as he begins talking about one case which seguays into other cases and when comes back to the first case he doesn't really bring you up and I have forgotten what the first case is. Otherwise very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A very good book

    I enjoyed this book very much

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Tell Me Where It Hurts

    Is a great book. I loved it from the moment that I picked it up in the store I could not put the book down. It is a must read for any dog person or anyone with furkids! I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    A great book!

    I read this book and really enjoyed it. I lost my dog almost a year ago, and so it was definitely a tear jerker for me at times. But, I would recommend it to any of my animal-lover friends. All in all, a great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    Perspective Veterinary Med Students MUST READ

    This book goes through, in detail, a day in the life of a veterinarian in a large practice. It tells of the difficulties of not only his job and the patients, but also of getting there. Details how hard it was not only to get into Vet School, but to stay in. Details of patients cases are informative and have actually helped us to understand our dogs. Parts are very humorous and or heart wrenching showing just what it takes out of you to be a vet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Fun, informative

    Both for animal lovers, and anyone who is considering a career in animal medicine, this book is fascinating. Dr. Nick Trout tells of his, most likely, average day as a veterinarian/surgeon, and the many animals and diagnoses given for various ailments 'some common, others bizarre'. He also discusses the sometimes quirky parents of these animals, such as a client who was upset because his dalmation's spots were not perfectly aligned after surgery. It appears that being a veterinarian is often a thankless job, and if you're in it to get rich, think again. While I have always adored my vet, I respect him even more after reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I know the average reader will go to this book for cutesy animal

    I know the average reader will go to this book for cutesy animal stories and they are there.  For me, the read was therapeutic in a sense.  It’s nice to hear that these sort of scenarios go down in other hospitals.  There’s emergencies in the middle of the night, surgeries to remove the most disgusting things from intestines, owners who can’t stop trying to find a cure and people who think that veterinary medicine is a waste of the consumer’s money.




    Veterinary medicine has challenges by the boatload.  We practice on a wide spectrum of species.  We meet people who want to do everything for their pet but don’t have the money.  There are people with tons of money but would never spend it on a dog or cat.  You’ll see cases that you know are doomed from the start, but sometimes you’ll have miracles pull through when you least expect it.




    All of this plus being constantly sprayed with some sort of bodily excrement and still being able to smile when people refer to MD’s as real doctors.




    I found myself crying during several stories and laughing uncontrollably at others.  (The Jack Russler story… hilarious!)  All of the stories in the book do not actually take place in the ‘Day Of Humor, Healing And Hope’.  As he takes on each new case, he recalls other similar cases.  Anyone who has spent time with a veterinary crowd knows that one story leads to another story that leads to another.  I saw some reviewers found this sort of story telling awkward.  I guess it came naturally to me.




    I plan to pass this book around to my coworkers.  If you are in the veterinary field, I strongly recommend this book for some R&R reading that still ties in with your occupation.  If you are an animal lover, I think you will enjoy it also.  If you don’t love animals, then you are just a weirdo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Rosie

    *wakes up and sleepily trudges to your room with a yawn*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Nick

    I do yave to og by ily

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    For a dog owner, a really must read.

    As someone with multiple rescue dogs and the constant visits to the vet, this was nice to read. There were things you wonder if your vet knows or thinks about. I have a feeling after reading this, while all vets are different, I do think there are some very thoughtful, caring ones out there...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Another great read from Nick Trout

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted September 5, 2009

    24 hours in the life of a vet

    Offers insight into veterinary practices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    Accurate yet humorous

    I found this book to be a very realistic portrayal of a veterinarian and a veterinary practice. It may in some places, with its occassional PG-rated language and straight forward relaying of stories of clients and the things they do, disturb the average animal owner. Although there are some touching stories, this is a not a warm fuzzy fantasy book about animals. If someone is considering entering this field, it gives a fairly accurate description of some of the issues that veterinarians face everyday.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    What a Waste

    I love animals and a good animal story. I decided to read this book because of the catchy title and because I have a Boston Terrier. The book started out to be a wonderful read because I live in Boston and take my dog to Angell Memorial. I gave up after reading 154 out of the 200 plus pages. Dr Trout should have stuck to the details of his cases instead of branching off into topics only veterinarians would appreciate. This isn't a "Merle's Door" or a "Marley & Me".

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    A Hard Read

    Dr. Trout takes you on a journey through a day in the life of a vet, at least his life. The book rambles from story to story, mixing several before finishing one. He comes across as sarcastic about some of the pets and most of the owners. I was disappointed with this glimpse and attempt at humor, although I assume he really cares about his clients.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3