Customer Reviews for

Tell Me Where It Hurts: A Day of Humor, Healing and Hope in My Life as an Animal Surgeon

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    Wonderful Book! Couldn't Wait To See What Happened Next...

    This book gave me insight into what it is like for the Vet dealing with animal wellness, sickness and death. I work as a Vet Assistant and I'm a pet owner, so I know what its like from my side of the exam table, but this definitely opened my eyes to their world. It was written with enough humor throughout to keep me wanting more, yet had sincere emotion intertwined to keep it real. Loved how the Dr. could recognize and translate the human-animal bond. I gave this as a gift to one of our Vets and she has passed it around to many as a must read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    This is one to pull at your heartstrings

    Tell me where it hurts is a wonderful read, not only for those working in the medical field but also for all you animal lovers out there. I was first roped into reading it when I spotted the adorable little Boston on the front. Then about 2 days later this book was recommended to me by a family member who had heard about it. It is a page turner that you will not want to put down. I read the entire book in one day/night and am now reading it again! I have 3 pugs one of whom has cancer, so this book really had me in tears both sad and happy ones. I highly recommend every pet owner and lover read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A very good book

    I enjoyed this book very much

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Tell Me Where It Hurts

    Is a great book. I loved it from the moment that I picked it up in the store I could not put the book down. It is a must read for any dog person or anyone with furkids! I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    A great book!

    I read this book and really enjoyed it. I lost my dog almost a year ago, and so it was definitely a tear jerker for me at times. But, I would recommend it to any of my animal-lover friends. All in all, a great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    Perspective Veterinary Med Students MUST READ

    This book goes through, in detail, a day in the life of a veterinarian in a large practice. It tells of the difficulties of not only his job and the patients, but also of getting there. Details how hard it was not only to get into Vet School, but to stay in. Details of patients cases are informative and have actually helped us to understand our dogs. Parts are very humorous and or heart wrenching showing just what it takes out of you to be a vet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Fun, informative

    Both for animal lovers, and anyone who is considering a career in animal medicine, this book is fascinating. Dr. Nick Trout tells of his, most likely, average day as a veterinarian/surgeon, and the many animals and diagnoses given for various ailments 'some common, others bizarre'. He also discusses the sometimes quirky parents of these animals, such as a client who was upset because his dalmation's spots were not perfectly aligned after surgery. It appears that being a veterinarian is often a thankless job, and if you're in it to get rich, think again. While I have always adored my vet, I respect him even more after reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2015

    With a wakeup call at 2:47am that a German Shepard needed surger

    With a wakeup call at 2:47am that a German Shepard needed surgery immediately, started Dr. Nick Trout’s day and 284 page book. Tell Me Where It Hurts puts the reader in Dr. Nick Trout’s shoes on what one day entails on being a small animal vet.  The book doesn’t just show what opinions he has towards his four legged patients but, for the owners as well, and how each move, and decision he makes could tell the future of his patient.  This book was different than any other non-fiction book, by having many conflicts, rather than one main one, a conflict with each patient and owner, big or small. However, with every strenuous situation came humor and a bright side to lighten the mood, to the readers, as well as the owner.  Individuals would like Tell Me Where It Hurts, if they are dog lovers, want to be a vet, or are a vet, because of the compassion that Trout has for every situation to fix each and every dog to the best of his ability. This book was one of my favorite books I have read; however as a dislike it was a bit confusing when Trout jumped from a current situation he was in, to a flashback of his days in vet school, or when he first started in a veterinary office, then coming back to the current situation. This book should not be made into a movie; due to it could not be as good as the book. Tell Me Where It Hurts a majority of it really depicts Dr. Nick Trout’s brain and what he is thinking throughout the day, in making tough decisions in a split second, which a movie couldn’t present as well as the book, did.  I would rate this book four and a half stars out of five, due it being a very well written book that makes the reader feel many emotions; but just half a star off due to the skipping from the old days to the present.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Nick

    I do yave to og by ily

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2