Customer Reviews for

Tell No One

Average Rating 4.5
( 373 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(240)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Tell EVERYONE about Tell No One!

Harlan Coben's "Tell No One" is a thrilling story that keeps tension high and anticipation even higher. After Dr. David Beck's wife was murdered, he was devistated. Eight years later, new evidence is found and new secrets are exposed that lead him to believe she might n...
Harlan Coben's "Tell No One" is a thrilling story that keeps tension high and anticipation even higher. After Dr. David Beck's wife was murdered, he was devistated. Eight years later, new evidence is found and new secrets are exposed that lead him to believe she might not be dead after all. That sure is the way it sounds from the strange emails he recieves that contain information only his beloved Elizabeth would know. Suspence is definately not lacking as the twists and turns become more suprising and more original the farther into the novel you get. Coben's style of writing tends to get confusing at times because of his use of perspective and time. He jumps abruptly from setting to setting and from different people's point of view. This strategy could be looked at as confusing, or helpful to the intensity and suspence, as i thought it did. This novel shows how unconditional and everlasting love can truely be, how evil the effects of fate can be, and that the impossible is always probable. I would, without a doubt, reccommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good thrill and a truely original story. Enjoy!

posted by 2257051 on November 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing. IIt's rare that I say this: The film (2006, dire

Disappointing.

IIt's rare that I say this: The film (2006, directed by  Guillaume Canet) was better than the book.

I was mostly jarred by the book's switchbacks between 1st-person and 3rd person points of view within the same chapter. This was especially problematic i...
Disappointing.

IIt's rare that I say this: The film (2006, directed by  Guillaume Canet) was better than the book.

I was mostly jarred by the book's switchbacks between 1st-person and 3rd person points of view within the same chapter. This was especially problematic in the ebook because if the switch took place upon a page change, there was no obvious spacing or any other clue to set you up.

It's a great premise for a book, but I believe the movie did a better job of keeping my pulse racing and not letting me dare to look away.

posted by VJDJR on April 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Tell EVERYONE about Tell No One!

    Harlan Coben's "Tell No One" is a thrilling story that keeps tension high and anticipation even higher. After Dr. David Beck's wife was murdered, he was devistated. Eight years later, new evidence is found and new secrets are exposed that lead him to believe she might not be dead after all. That sure is the way it sounds from the strange emails he recieves that contain information only his beloved Elizabeth would know. Suspence is definately not lacking as the twists and turns become more suprising and more original the farther into the novel you get. Coben's style of writing tends to get confusing at times because of his use of perspective and time. He jumps abruptly from setting to setting and from different people's point of view. This strategy could be looked at as confusing, or helpful to the intensity and suspence, as i thought it did. This novel shows how unconditional and everlasting love can truely be, how evil the effects of fate can be, and that the impossible is always probable. I would, without a doubt, reccommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good thrill and a truely original story. Enjoy!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    Great read

    Hard to put down. Great twists.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Enjoyed this book

    I just started reading this author and definitely wont stop. Keeps you on the edge of your seat and you cant put it down. I definitely recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    In Harlan Coben¿s Tell No One, David Beck¿s wife Elizabeth Parke

    In Harlan Coben’s Tell No One, David Beck’s wife Elizabeth Parker, also his childhood love, was kidnapped and assumed dead eight years ago. Dr. Beck, now a respected doctor living in a big city, has rebuilt his life around the tragic event. However, since the tragedy he’d never been the same, never genuinely happy again. It is the day of the anniversary of his and his dead wife’s first kiss, trying to push the thought of her away, he receives an anonymous e-mail with information only him and his wife know. It shocks him and gives him a glimmer of hope that his beloved Elizabeth may still be alive. After receiving several more similar anonymous e-mails, Beck starts investigating on what really happened to his wife that night. His sudden interest in his dead wife arouses investigators, which leads them to think Dr. Beck was more than the husband of a murder victim. Beck proves them wrong with the help of one of his patients fathers who is a successful drug dealer. The truth about Elizabeth Parker’s disappearance is revealed in a page-turning story. Every time you turn the page you are scared to see what happens yet filled with adrenaline. This book makes you think and use your brain by making you keep track of all the characters and important events. It makes you solve the crime along with the narrator by putting the pieces together like a puzzle. Even with putting the pieces together, I would have never seen the end coming. Overall this story made me want to take more interest in mystery books and I would very much recommend it to any reader!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Great Read

    As always, Coben does not disappoint. I could not put it down. I read it in 2 days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Me

    That was really GOOD! A little TMI, but lots of action and twists and turns right up to the very end. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Recommended-check it out!

    This is a good mystery and I would recommend it and other books by this
    author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Excellent book

    I loved this book. Harlan Coben is a master at these fictional books. This is one of his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Great read

    Check it out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Not his best

    But good reading still

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Good, but not a page turner at first

    The story was a bit slow I almost didn't finish it, but the puzzle pieces were coming fast and furious The ending was a complete surprise!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Wow!

    Can't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mystery, murder and secrets - great story

    Very well written,great plot, lots of suspense and action. The author really developes this story efficiently and keeps you right on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    Very good book - Recomended to anyone who likes intense books

    Tell No One by Harlan Coben tells a story about this married couple who go to a lake for their aniversary. Their aniversary was going to be a very nice, relaxing little vacation, when tragedy strikes. Dr. David Beck, which is the main character, is suddenly struck when he hears his wife scream. His wife is kid napped and there was nothing he could do when he went and try to save her. Years go by when he gets an email from some inknown person. The email gives him hints about that day at the lake. He sacrafices everything to try and find her, but you'll have to read it and see if he gets her back or not.

    This novel was a very suspensful, keep you on your feet books. I really enjoyed this book because i never wanted to put it down. This book is one of those books you cant put down because you wanna know what happens next. I liked the whole book,there were some boring parts in it, but it picked right back up. The only part i would change in it, is when David goes and attempts to rescue his wife. I think that there should have been a life or death situation there were David fights and takes out one of the kid nappers but then loses to the other. I would like this instead of him just gettin knocked out and having nothing he could do. Other than that this was a very good book, and i would recomend it to any young adult, or adult who likes intense, can't put down books.

    WBoatwright 6th

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    this was ok for me

    Not a heart stoping panic, but not bad either

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    pretty good

    I heard they made this book into a movie. Haven't seen the movie...the book it good..not "Oh my God, run and buy it" good..but it is entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Harlen at his high octane best

    Harlen Coben is one of best suspense writers I have read and I can NOT guess his endings! This one has a lot of action in it too. One of the characters, you hope you never meet! But you will love reading about him! It was made into an award winning movie in France that has just this year been released in the US in English. We are such an action drama culture here and for me, I think the book is much better than the movie but I would love to see it remade here in America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    Very Good

    I enjoyed this book very much. I hadn't read a book like this in a while. It was very exciting. I stayed up until 1 a.m. last night to finish it. I just couldn't go another day at work where I couldn't wait to get home and get back to reading it. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    This Book I Boruthght This At A Libarliy!

    This a week ago I boruthgt at a libarliy called Tell No One and it about Dr. David Beck, that loss was shattering. And every day for the past eight years, he has relived the horror of what happened. The gleaming lake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    worth your time

    I found myself not wanting to put this book aside. Every chapter seemed to change my perception of how things would turn out. Coben kept me guessing until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5