BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tell the Wolves I'm Home: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Sometimes an author writes about a person's life that has result

Sometimes an author writes about a person's life that has resulted in some kind of tragedy and as you turn the pages the story becomes less and less believable. That is NOT the case with Tell the Wolves I’m Home. The author tells a story during the period of a per...
Sometimes an author writes about a person's life that has resulted in some kind of tragedy and as you turn the pages the story becomes less and less believable. That is NOT the case with Tell the Wolves I’m Home. The author tells a story during the period of a person’s particular tragedy along with her immediate family and writes about life correctly. This book could have happened to anyone’s family. This is a well written, thought out book.

posted by P_K_McAlister on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Thoughtful and unique

A complex novel about how we love and who we love and what we do when love is taken from us. Equally as moving as the relationship between uncle and niece was the strained relationship between teenage sisters and the acurately captured special bond that sisters often h...
A complex novel about how we love and who we love and what we do when love is taken from us. Equally as moving as the relationship between uncle and niece was the strained relationship between teenage sisters and the acurately captured special bond that sisters often have. A good read.

posted by 17642357 on July 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Sometimes an author writes about a person's life that has result

    Sometimes an author writes about a person's life that has resulted in some kind of tragedy and as you turn the pages the story becomes less and less believable. That is NOT the case with Tell the Wolves I’m Home. The author tells a story during the period of a person’s particular tragedy along with her immediate family and writes about life correctly. This book could have happened to anyone’s family. This is a well written, thought out book.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    OUTSTANDING!

    Tell the Wolves I'm Home is about love and how it is seldom easy or tidy; often hard to define, keep, and give; but how necessary it is, what it can make of our lives. The novel is narrated by a perfectly written and vividly realized 14-year-old June, who was in love with her gay uncle, Finn, a famous artist, who dies of AIDS shortly after the novel begins. (The novel is set in the late 1980s, a time when AIDS was a new and misunderstood disease, and thus a very frightening one as well. The novel captures the memory of that time totally, and beautifully.) June has a sister, Greta, who is slowly imploding, jealous of June's relationship with Finn which she blames for changing what she had with June. June and Greta's mother, Finn's sister, blames Finn's boyfriend Toby for Finn's death and what she sees as Finn's earlier abandonment. Toby misses Finn as much as June does, and it is the bond between these two, grieving the loss of the same love, that delivers June and Greta back to each other, and heals their mother. Near the book's end, June says,"I know all about love that's too big to stay in a tiny bucket. Splashing out all over the place in the most embarrassing way possible." She does, and watching her come into this knowledge is fabulous and satisfying reading.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Tell The Wolves I'm Home is exceptional. The best book I've rea

    Tell The Wolves I'm Home is exceptional. The best book I've read in years. Carol Rifka Brunt is thoughtful and evidences an ability to capture what is beautiful about language and unexpected human connections. A touching and original piece of literary work. I can't wait to read more from this author!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    LOVE

    THIS IS A REALLY GREAT BOOK!!!! I LOVE IT!!! EVERYONE SHOULD READ IT!!!!!!!!!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing! Be Prepared to Laugh and Cry. Just a Lovely Story!

    What a touching and lovely story. Tell the Wolves I'm Home had me alternating between hope and despair, laughter and tears and generally a looking like a hot mess to anyone not reading over my shoulder or reading my mind.

    This story of a young girl losing her beloved uncle takes place in a time (not so long ago) when a homosexual lifestyle was marginally accepted, but still kept under wraps for propriety's sake. In other words: we accept your choice, but let's not discuss it in front of the children because we still secretly think you're a perv no matter what we tell you to the contrary.

    And if you were unlucky enough to catch the "Gays Disease," you were barely able to be around children, much less let them know the nature of your disease. I grew up in this time and I remember it vividly. It is amazing to me how far we have come in terms of acceptance of alternate lifestyles, as well as how far we still have to go.

    Through a series of misunderstandings and conscious lies, June is kept from fully knowing her precious uncle. So, after his death, when his friend tries to for a relationship with her, she is leery. Through patience and love Toby slowly creates a tenuous friendship with June that helps them both heal from the pain of their mutual loss.

    Brunt has created a timeless tale that speaks with an honest voice about loss, family, love, fear, hope and friendship. Tell the Wolves I'm Home truly touched my heart in a profoundly beautiful way.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Thoughtful and unique

    A complex novel about how we love and who we love and what we do when love is taken from us. Equally as moving as the relationship between uncle and niece was the strained relationship between teenage sisters and the acurately captured special bond that sisters often have. A good read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Smart and real. Loved it!

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves real and believable characters. This family is so complex and the dynamics cut across time and place. I loved the emotions the author could so easily evoke.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    I Loved this book!

    Beautifully written!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    One of the best reads I've had all year! Couldn't put it down.

    One of the best reads I've had all year! Couldn't put it down. The story pulls you in and keeps you there. Highly recommended!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Beautiful stiry. Beautifully written!

    I loved this story of love and loss and family.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Great Read!

    This story about a young girl dealing with the loss of a beloved uncle is both sad and sweet. It exposes family dynamics between siblings as well as between parents and children. Fourteen year old June mourns not only her uncle but also the closeness she and her older sister once had. She develops a friendship with her uncle's friend and through that friendship learns things about her uncle, herself and her family that all work toward resolving some family issues while moving toward forgiveness and hope.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Summer Reading MUST

    The author captured the confusion and fear and loss of so many families and their dying loved ones during the 80's AIDS crisis. Carol Rifka Brunts novel is in many ways a poignant re-telling of an experience that untold numbers of nieces and nephews lived through but were not capible of describing or capturing so vividly. As one of those neices, I thank her for giving me the outline of my own story that needs to be kept safely in my heart and memory.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Masterful. 

    Masterful. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Beautifully honest

    Growing up in the '80's, AIDS was a frightening new fatal illness that all the best in medicine had't figured out. People reacted insuch cruel ways. The story, told through the voice of a young teenage girl demonstrates what good cancome from a place of love, even if "mistakes" are made. It has been a long time since a novel made me cry. When a book can cause that kind of emotion, you know it was done right!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    disappointing

    Thinking it would be choc full of 80's nostalgia I bought this book. Unfortunately the book's only reference to the 1980's was the AIDS epidemic. The rest of the book dealt with a bizarre, unrealistic relationship a young girl had with her dying uncle.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Could not stop reading. I just loved this book.

    Could not stop reading. I just loved this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Good, easy read.

    This book was good. Not one of my favorites, but good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Outstanding, insightful.

    What a great book. The author's story telling is so well timed. She holds you captive with this touching, incredibly insightful story about life, and love, and family, and heart aches, and disappointent, and the human heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Great writing

    I loved this book. I read a lot of novels and this is a good one. It will stay in my library of favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Jordan to Werewolves

    Today at noon there will be an attack on the vampires. Faolan knows me, I cam be trusted. Meet 5 minutes before noon (atlantic/central time) at 'evil wolf' res 1 for the full set details. I hope to see you there.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9