Customer Reviews for

Tempest (#1 Destroyers Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 303 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - Great Read

I really enjoyed this book! It had an interesting plot line that sucked me in quickly, and kept my interest throughout the entire book!

posted by 5468668 on December 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A great read for a younger teen!

Tempest is the story of Janelle, a teenage girl who discovers she is in fact, a hurricane. Janelle was a difficult character to like. I understand that she was frightened by her situation, but to me, she came off as incredibly selfish. If she would have just taken in al...
Tempest is the story of Janelle, a teenage girl who discovers she is in fact, a hurricane. Janelle was a difficult character to like. I understand that she was frightened by her situation, but to me, she came off as incredibly selfish. If she would have just taken in all the facts and made a decision based on them, she could have avoided the majority of her problems. I just felt like it took her too long to just accept her life for what it is. Instead she runs around for more than half the book, avoiding the help that people are giving her.

I did enjoy the fact that the romance between Janelle and Gary was slow moving. They certainly have a connection, but at this point, that's all it really is. The two hurricanes did not have time for a romance - they were much more concerned with saving themselves and the world. I feel like if the relationship were more developed, it would have felt forced and out of place.
In my opinion, Tempest is targeted towards pre-teens and younger teens. The storyline was incredibly over the top and grandiose. In a sense, it reminded me of the overall feel of Percy Jackson. I am not saying I did not enjoy Tempest, because I did. I just feel like the older audiences will have a harder time accepting the string of events (and reasons behind them), than a younger audience. There were a couple of instances when I was reading Tempest that I had to take a huge leap of faith with where the storyline was progressing; I caught myself thinking "that is incredibly unlikely" or "that doesn't make any sense". I simply had to sit back and think, is this book written for you? Would you have thought it made sense at 12? Once I did that, I was able to sit back and enjoy Tempest for what it was - an exciting and extravagant adventure story.

The same thinking can be applied to the villain of the story, Andrina. To me, she was not fleshed out and was rather one dimensional. But again, if you digress back to the state of a 12 year old, I am sure you will love her. I know I certainly didn't care if my villains were fleshed out then. I just wanted them to be evil and for them to loose in the end.

Unfortunately, I think it is difficult for some people to look at a book like this. They cannot read as a younger self; they cannot accept it for what it is. If you read Tempest wanting a young-adult paranormal romance with tons of character development, a sensible plot and fleshed out villains, then I can tell you right now, you are not going to like it. But if you can go into it as a pre-teen and simply enjoy the ride, you will find it rather entertaining. Tempest certainly isn't my favorite book of all time, but I did enjoy it.

posted by ThatBookishGirl on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    A great read for a younger teen!

    Tempest is the story of Janelle, a teenage girl who discovers she is in fact, a hurricane. Janelle was a difficult character to like. I understand that she was frightened by her situation, but to me, she came off as incredibly selfish. If she would have just taken in all the facts and made a decision based on them, she could have avoided the majority of her problems. I just felt like it took her too long to just accept her life for what it is. Instead she runs around for more than half the book, avoiding the help that people are giving her.

    I did enjoy the fact that the romance between Janelle and Gary was slow moving. They certainly have a connection, but at this point, that's all it really is. The two hurricanes did not have time for a romance - they were much more concerned with saving themselves and the world. I feel like if the relationship were more developed, it would have felt forced and out of place.
    In my opinion, Tempest is targeted towards pre-teens and younger teens. The storyline was incredibly over the top and grandiose. In a sense, it reminded me of the overall feel of Percy Jackson. I am not saying I did not enjoy Tempest, because I did. I just feel like the older audiences will have a harder time accepting the string of events (and reasons behind them), than a younger audience. There were a couple of instances when I was reading Tempest that I had to take a huge leap of faith with where the storyline was progressing; I caught myself thinking "that is incredibly unlikely" or "that doesn't make any sense". I simply had to sit back and think, is this book written for you? Would you have thought it made sense at 12? Once I did that, I was able to sit back and enjoy Tempest for what it was - an exciting and extravagant adventure story.

    The same thinking can be applied to the villain of the story, Andrina. To me, she was not fleshed out and was rather one dimensional. But again, if you digress back to the state of a 12 year old, I am sure you will love her. I know I certainly didn't care if my villains were fleshed out then. I just wanted them to be evil and for them to loose in the end.

    Unfortunately, I think it is difficult for some people to look at a book like this. They cannot read as a younger self; they cannot accept it for what it is. If you read Tempest wanting a young-adult paranormal romance with tons of character development, a sensible plot and fleshed out villains, then I can tell you right now, you are not going to like it. But if you can go into it as a pre-teen and simply enjoy the ride, you will find it rather entertaining. Tempest certainly isn't my favorite book of all time, but I did enjoy it.

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Falls slightly short

    The idea is good, the story is good, but I felt a slight detachment to the characters. It felt as if they had no depth to them, but I still found the story compelling enough to keep reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    Fizzled out at the end

    This book had tons of action and high emotional conflict until the end of the book when it just fizzles out leaving the reader disappointed.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Ok

    For free

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Tempest Review

    Pretty good....writing skills could have been better though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Not like Disney

    Out of curiosity I purchased this book. I was pleased to know that Disney did not decide to go the same direction as the book. However I don't know which one I like better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    IT'S OKAY.

    I just started reading it and am having a hard time wanting to continue. The main character seems very willfully annoying. Things arent adding up right in her life so she seems to start just being duh about everything she does. So that being said the concept sounded like it would be a good book but i just can't get past the character being that dumb. I know she is only 16 but she comes off more like a 12 yr old sometimes. She is suppose to be a good girl and really smart at school but makes bad decisions almost immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Anonymous

    Its funny, cause it says in the book that hurricanes don't hit NY city. HA, that was before hurricane Sandy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    I need help.

    Im a twelve year old mature girl and i like fairy tales.Should i read this?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Somewhat entertaining.

    The book was very slow and repetitive and Gary was a little creepy,he didn't seem like a good choice for the book and he made it drag on longer than neccasary and also made it lack any true excitment.the idea was unique though and thankfully an underused topic. I wish the book was a little more fun to read because i really enjoyed the topic. I did like that the book was very descriptive even though at times a little overlly descriptive.Janelle was very dependent on others and didn't really do anything to take control, making the book alot less interesting than it could have been with a little change. Overall the book was okay, annoying but had a good story line. Personally i would rather find a better book and read that than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Not+bad

    The+plot+is+ok+but+the+main+character+is+overly+dramatic

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Ok!

    This book starts slowly and is a little confusing at first but as it develops it gets better. The end is ok but could be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    A liitle slow

    its a little slow starting and it takes a while to get intrigued in it but overall not a bad book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    interesting

    Interesting concept. There was a number of inconsistancies throughout. Some parts were a bit redundant. Overall fairly enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Eh..it was an okay book.

    I kept reading just to see what happened in the end but it wasn't as surprising as I had hoped for. Good read for only 99 cents though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3