Customer Reviews for

Tempest (#1 Destroyers Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 303 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - Great Read

I really enjoyed this book! It had an interesting plot line that sucked me in quickly, and kept my interest throughout the entire book!

posted by 5468668 on December 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A great read for a younger teen!

Tempest is the story of Janelle, a teenage girl who discovers she is in fact, a hurricane. Janelle was a difficult character to like. I understand that she was frightened by her situation, but to me, she came off as incredibly selfish. If she would have just taken in al...
Tempest is the story of Janelle, a teenage girl who discovers she is in fact, a hurricane. Janelle was a difficult character to like. I understand that she was frightened by her situation, but to me, she came off as incredibly selfish. If she would have just taken in all the facts and made a decision based on them, she could have avoided the majority of her problems. I just felt like it took her too long to just accept her life for what it is. Instead she runs around for more than half the book, avoiding the help that people are giving her.

I did enjoy the fact that the romance between Janelle and Gary was slow moving. They certainly have a connection, but at this point, that's all it really is. The two hurricanes did not have time for a romance - they were much more concerned with saving themselves and the world. I feel like if the relationship were more developed, it would have felt forced and out of place.
In my opinion, Tempest is targeted towards pre-teens and younger teens. The storyline was incredibly over the top and grandiose. In a sense, it reminded me of the overall feel of Percy Jackson. I am not saying I did not enjoy Tempest, because I did. I just feel like the older audiences will have a harder time accepting the string of events (and reasons behind them), than a younger audience. There were a couple of instances when I was reading Tempest that I had to take a huge leap of faith with where the storyline was progressing; I caught myself thinking "that is incredibly unlikely" or "that doesn't make any sense". I simply had to sit back and think, is this book written for you? Would you have thought it made sense at 12? Once I did that, I was able to sit back and enjoy Tempest for what it was - an exciting and extravagant adventure story.

The same thinking can be applied to the villain of the story, Andrina. To me, she was not fleshed out and was rather one dimensional. But again, if you digress back to the state of a 12 year old, I am sure you will love her. I know I certainly didn't care if my villains were fleshed out then. I just wanted them to be evil and for them to loose in the end.

Unfortunately, I think it is difficult for some people to look at a book like this. They cannot read as a younger self; they cannot accept it for what it is. If you read Tempest wanting a young-adult paranormal romance with tons of character development, a sensible plot and fleshed out villains, then I can tell you right now, you are not going to like it. But if you can go into it as a pre-teen and simply enjoy the ride, you will find it rather entertaining. Tempest certainly isn't my favorite book of all time, but I did enjoy it.

posted by ThatBookishGirl on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    Original and fun storyline!

    Janelle, a normal teenager who has just made a move from Michigan to Florida with her dad, realizes something's not quite right the day her dad wants to stay in the path of the hurricane to watch its power instead of flee to safety. With the help of a police escort and a mandatory evacuation, they make it to safety just in time ... just in time, that is, to see a boy come out of the eye of the hurricane. Janelle's initial shock and confusion turn to anger and fear as she realizes there is more, much more, that she hasn't been told about her life. Now Janelle must come to terms with who- and what- she is, and figure out how to fulfill her destiny on her own terms. Engaging throughout and geared towards a young adult readership, this book is the first in the Destroyer series by Holly Hook. The storyline and pacing of the book are reminiscent of Rick Riordan's Olympians series with Percy Jackson, but with a unique concept that is ultimately satisfying in much the same way. From the initial scene with the hurricane bearing down on Janelle and her dad, this story pulls you right along through to the surprising conclusion. Creative and entertaining, this book is good fun from start to finish. The writing style is simplistic, using language and phrasing that will appeal to younger audiences. If this were a book targeting adults, my rating would reflect this simplistic writing style. Instead, I chose to rate this with regards to the intended audience. The lack of sophistication expected for an adult tale is completely appropriate in this story meant for younger audiences, and the book will likely appeal to a much wider audience. I hope the next book in the series will develop the characters a bit more to add a little more depth and authenticity to their personalities and relationships. @ MotherLode blog

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    Definitely a good read

    Kudos to Ms. Hook. This book is an exciting, fun ride. I'll admit that at first I was skeptical - the first few pages felt like a young adult novel, which is not my style. But I immediately got sucked in, and I felt driven to continue reading. By the climax of the story I felt a kind of emotional connection to the main characters. There were times when I wanted to grab Janelle and ask "What were you thinking?" And the character of Andrina would get me so angry - only good writing can elicit that kind of reaction. I think the best part of this book is the pace. There were times when I found myself reading much later than I should have. But I needed to find out what happened next. Because of the pace, the characters, and the potential for some pretty spiffy special effects, in my mind I could see this story becoming a motion picture. Pick up this book. Sit back. Enjoy the (wild) ride.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and hard to put down

    I really enjoyed this book! Once you get into it, you really get into it. I hope that she writes more about Jenelle who is the main character of this book.

    It is somewhat YA which I always enjoy but it is about not being afraid fo things that you cannot control. If it is something that has to be done. you can do it!

    Thanks Holly for making this a great read and helping my self esteem even!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Very Good

    This book, with its unique ideas and well-organized plotlines, was one of the best I have read in a while. Although I would say its target audience would be young teens, maybe 11 to 15 year olds, it could be enjoyed by other age groups as well. My only true issue with this book is the amount of times the author uses the phrase "withe my\her luck." It is used A LOT, and grows very annoying. Other than that, it was really good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Good Book!

    This was a unique concept that kept my interest throughout. It definitely seems there will be (is?) another book, but you could read only this one and not feel cheated or left hanging. Good purchase. I enjoyed it more than I thought I would!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Awesome

    A great book for younger teens 12-17

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Needs a bit of proof reading

    Some repeating parts but a good book nontheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Love it

    I didn't know what to espect when I read that a teenage girl was a hurricane. Jeanelle didn't know herself. She was uprooted and moved at 16 from the only home she knew.

    I wish Jeanelle had really stopped her tantrum and listened to an explanation. At least a little before she went to find herself.

    I enjoyed the book once things were clearer. I will probably purchase the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Gewd but i wuz frustrated

    The part i wuz frustrated about wuz that Gary and Janelle didnt kiss!! It was obviouse they liked eachother. Other than that it wuz realy gewd. Idk how ppl were sayin oh this is so boring blah blah. It had alit of action in every page. This is a must read if yhu lik magical stuff!~Ily~

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Audrey Christensen

    Gripping and addictive! Readers will keep turning the pages to unwravel this thrilling storm tossed novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Hurricanes are People (??!!)

    Hurricanes. Since Katrina, everyone older than 7 knows what a hurricane is and what they do. They think. Actually, according to the Natural Law, Katrina was a girl who was born a Tempest. All Tempests names come up once in their life and that is their turn to destroy and kill or, if they’re kind-hearted to try not to.

    Janelle and her dad had just moved to Florida from Michigan. Mom had passed away years ago and Dad had a new job. Janelle was amazed by the power and force of Hurricane Gary – the first one she’d been
    in. She was scared to death and, when she went out in the street to view the damage, she met a stranger her age. Named Gary. Things didn’t click just then but they did soon after!

    Janelle learns that dad had ulterior motives in hauling her to Florida. Everyone seems to have them in this book. She also learns that the little spiral birthmark she has is shared by many beings and that her grandmother’s name is Camille. (Remember her????)

    This story really caught my attention. Janelle and Gary make it a Y/A novel but other things keep adults interested as well. Since this is a “part 1” kinda of book I’m hoping Holly will let me read parts 2+.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book But Whinney Character

    I enjoyed the book but Janelle seemed to be a vrry selfish person. Refusing to do what had to be done in order to save the world. Even at the nd when she knew that it would save the world she tried to get out of it. Once again gret book but terrible charcter in the form of Janelle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

    I purchased this book because it was cheap and i needed something to read. I found myself really getting into it and loving the characters. normally I only read books about Vamps, Whitches, Wolves, Ect. But I think this book has made it to my favorites read. I would Highly Recommend you read it if you want like a romance mixed in with some action. I thought this was a very creative idea and I am happy to have read it and hope there is more to come with this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    Good start...warning spoilers!

    I really wanted to give the book 3 1/2 stars, but that's not an option. I loved the idea of the book, but I had a few problems with it. Let's start with pros first. It was a new fresh approach to teen science fiction that is certainly lacking. There was no vampires or werewolves which was a nice change. I haven't read a book yet that the main characters were hurricanes. The story moved along at a great pace and there were plenty of twists and turns. Now my cons. I really wished that there was more depth to Gary. I know a little about his background and that he wants to help, but I want to get to know him better. My biggest problem was that I really couldn't stand reading about "her bad luck." I get that she was having bad luck without the author having to tell me about. Each time Ms. Hook wrote "just my luck" I wanted to scream. That phrase could easily been taken out of every sentence it was in. Overall I know I will read the second book in the series, but I'm hoping the author's editting will improve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4