Customer Reviews for

Tempest Rising (Jane True Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 227 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great series

CAUTION ! DON'T READ THIS SERIES ! If youndon't like laughing, unique plots or hot sex with freaky paranormals !

posted by reginamay on June 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tempest Falling

I bought this book because i had heard it was like the Sookie Stackhouse books and being as they are my all time favorite books i thought I'd give Tempest Rising a chance. It is NOTHING like the Sookie books, There are so many creatures introduced in this book it feels ...
I bought this book because i had heard it was like the Sookie Stackhouse books and being as they are my all time favorite books i thought I'd give Tempest Rising a chance. It is NOTHING like the Sookie books, There are so many creatures introduced in this book it feels like it's all over the place, the relationship between Jane and Ryu is mainly based around sex,there's no relationship building at all, All through the book i was waiting for the plot to make itself known, but it wasn't until the last few chapters it finally appears,leaving me feeling like the book should of been longer, it's a very quick read and simple. (It's like hi I'm Jane, i met Ryu,and a bunch of creatures, some bad, the end.) It just needed MORE. Sorry to sound so harsh it was Nicole Peelers first book and all so i really hope her other Jane True books will be more descriptive and have more of a foundation to them, i will read the second book just to see if perhaps the story starts to pick up from there but if not i wont buy anymore Nicole Peeler books

posted by ILgirl82 on February 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Out of the blue...a good book.

    I was searching through all the fantasy books looking for something that wasn't just another book about vampires as the current trend seems to be. Although there are vampires in this book it also has a just about every supernatural creature you could ever imagine or may have read about. The main character Jane is a woman many of us can relate to. When we meet her she is working in a bookstore and has let her past pain shape her present day life which has kept her a little introverted and odd, but a very likable character. I read this book straight through and loved the scenes between Jane and her friend Ryu (hot,hot,hot). The story is great and interesting and the author has a laugh-out-loud sense of humor. If you are able to get past the cover (which I love) then you've already figured out this book is not for kids it is an adult book that makes Twilight seem like Sesame Street.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Fun read

    This is a great mixture of all of the supernatural genres put together with an interesting back story. It zips right along and the characters are all interesting, well developed, and entertaining. Give it a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Read this if you like a chuckle along with love and fantasy suspense of murder.

    This is another book which I enjoyed so much I was not able to put it down. I wanted so badly to stay up all night and finish reading it, thats how much I loved the humor and the characters.

    We meet Jane, who lives with her slightly ailing father to help take care of him in a small home town of Rockabill. The appearance and disappearance of Janes mother has the towns people a little wary of her. Then there is that dark past, or deed of eight years ago, that has the small town whispering and starring at her all the time. A small town that seems to never forget, let alone forgive. This has caused Jane to take to staying to the shadows and not catching anyones eye to prevent an uncomfortable situation with a few of her biggest fans.

    In meeting Jane you learn quickly she is a swimmer. But, not any ordinary swimmer. She is such an exceptionally strong swimmer she swims in the outskirts of one of America's deadliest whirlpools, in winter with freezing cold water, naked. But, during this particular swim she spies a body spinning around in the Old Sow, the name of the large whirlpool.

    This book introduces you to many great mythical characters with great potential abilities that could easily complement Jane. You have your share of supernatural creatures here; kelpie, selkie, vampires, nahuals, and many, many others.

    We are introduced to an Investigator, Ryu, who is investigating more than the dead body of Jakes and is more than what Jane realizes. Janes relationship with Ryu is a unique one with love. I have loved these two together with the tension and understanding they share, along with making me smile and chuckle at the humor shared.

    There is a lot of great humor in the book. I found myself smiling and chuckling at Jane and her little comments or thoughts. One of my favorite humor lines from Jane is, after being chased through the woods for a short while by some animal which she does not know what or why it is chasing her. "I wasn't running now so much as stumbling quickly, panting like a geriatric lion." There are a few references in the same scene that made me chuckle but this one almost got me in trouble for reading while at work. I could rather understand what Jane was feeling and felt it myself. Also, with the whirlpool being named Old Sow the town has adopted many pig reference names. Reading Ryus responce to these names and thinking on them myself as I read I got a little chuckle everytime.

    Ryu seems to be a huge influence on Jane with helping to bring her out of her shell, and letting Jane be who Jane is. Jane has a lot thrown at her at once in this new crazy world with different rules, and she handles all the news very well... by running. No she doesn't run away in the book, but when the battles start she does what many of us think of and that is run. However, even in her running she fights for what she believes. Through all the craziness Jane grows greatly as a character, both physically and mentally. Jane is now ready to grow to her full potential, or at least start moving down that path for book 2 in the series.

    There is alot of room for the growth on these secondary characters in future books to accent Jane and even additional storylines. There is a lot of growth for Jane to do as well. I have fallen for the books and will be faithfully waiting for the next book, Tracking the Tempest to come out. A great, enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great Paranormal

    Great characters and a well thought out plot. An awesome start to a series. Jane True is real, flawed, and layered. The sexualized relationship with Ryu is intense and well explained. Anyans growing involvement is intriguing. This book is a strictly adult version of the Twilight series. Only better. Looking forward to reading the second. Downside - the author uses too many pop culture references. Feels a little bit forced. A small setback in an otherwise well done piece. - skylah1053

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    A clever read

    I loved the characters and the humor in this book. Can't wait for the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4