Customer Reviews for

Tempest Rising

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

Tempest Rising was a wonderful book that I devoured in less than a day... that's how good it was. The characters were original, the reading was fun and the plot was exciting.

My only thing with this novel, well my only two things, was that I wished there had been a ...
Tempest Rising was a wonderful book that I devoured in less than a day... that's how good it was. The characters were original, the reading was fun and the plot was exciting.

My only thing with this novel, well my only two things, was that I wished there had been a bit more to the novel. However I can reconcile myself to this... it was a really good book. The one thing that I cannot reconcile myself to is what happens with her mother (I won't spoil it) but it absolutely broke my heart and made me want to scream at the book.

Other than that, it was great! Anyone reading... do not hesitate to buy. =)

posted by RozetteKR on September 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Shouldd i buy it?!?!?!?

posted by 10680392 on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Loved it!

    Tempest Rising was a wonderful book that I devoured in less than a day... that's how good it was. The characters were original, the reading was fun and the plot was exciting.

    My only thing with this novel, well my only two things, was that I wished there had been a bit more to the novel. However I can reconcile myself to this... it was a really good book. The one thing that I cannot reconcile myself to is what happens with her mother (I won't spoil it) but it absolutely broke my heart and made me want to scream at the book.

    Other than that, it was great! Anyone reading... do not hesitate to buy. =)

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    PEYTON

    MOST AMAZING BOOK I READ IN YEARS! SLOW START BUT WHEN THE MIDDLE CAME I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN! SERIOUSLY AMAZING! IN MY OPINION ITS THE BEST BOOK I EVER READ AND EVEN ASK MY TEACHER THIS BUT I READ ALOT AND I THINK ITS THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!! TREAT YOUR SELF AND READ IT!!!!!!! I HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMEND IT, HUGE FAN!!!! WRITE ANOTHER TEMPTIST RISING AUTHOR ITS MY FAVORITE BOOK AND I CHARISH IT ALOT AND READ IT OVER AND OVER AGAIN!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of my favorite YA mermaid stories!

    I am not usually a fan of mermaid stories but every now and then I find one that I truly enjoy. Tempest Rising is one of those few. Tracy Deebs' young adult debut creates a wonderful underwater world that I hope to read more of in the future.

    Tempest Maguire has no desire to be a mermaid. Sure, she loves the water but that doesn't mean she wants to leave her friends, family, and boyfriend to live in it. Too bad she doesn't seem to have much of a choice. As her seventeenth birthday nears, strange things start to happen to Tempest. She knows what's wrong with her but she doesn't know how to stop it. Kai does though but he may not want to help her stop it and the more time Tempest spends around him, the more she realizes maybe life under the sea wouldn't be so bad if she had someone to share it with.

    Mermaids are not my favorite creatures. A lot of the time they are very hard to relate to and they are kind of mean. Tempest was not that way at all. She was just like every other teenage girl just with more problems than mere puberty. It was hard not to like her and be drawn into her story. Kai was also a wonderful character. He was not a merman but I won't tell you what he was. Let's just say that I never guessed. I loved him completely though. He was so sweet and sexy! I could understand why Tempest was torn between him and Mark though. Mark was a great guy, I just liked Kai more.

    The underwater world was amazing. Trccy Deebs made it so vivid. I felt like I was there with Tempest. All the animals and creatures were wonderfully detailed. I would have liked to have seen more of the merpeople though and learned more about them. That was probably my only complaint with the whole book.

    Overall, Tempest Rising is a wonderful new paranormal story without all the vampires and zombies. It's a sweet story and I hope you will take the time to check it out!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book!

    I loved mermaid books. This book is a great read. Very adventurous. As soon as I started it, I knew I was a goner. Everything in this book, the elements, story pacing, as well as the characters were perfect!

    The characters in this book is what got me hooked. We the reader are introduced to Tempest, a girl filled with hurt, anger, and no understanding as to what is happening to her. Her growth in this book is amazing. I love it when characters learn things and grow from it. Granted she had every right to be angry and turn away. Instead she took a chance on something she didn't know and learn something knew.

    The pacing of this story had me entertain all the way till the very last page. Nothing is left to the imagination. Ms. Deeb's did a great job on describing the ocean, sea life as well as the history back round to the story. I really enjoy it when authors can give the reader a full understanding without the confusion. She also did a fantastic job on letting the reader feel the emotions of the book. Anger, hurt, love, forgiveness, all great things to make the reader feel like their in the story their selves.
    The love interest is very good. I adore romance and it was right on! I loved seeing Tempest come of her shell and give a chance. She is so insecure about herself, with the way things happened in her life that she is always weary about things. I love the Tempest is able to love once she lets it all go. At the end she has a better understanding that make her heart glow.

    Tempest Rising is a great, magical read that you will want to dive into over and over again. There is nothing like the feel of the water, letting yourself swim freely in a great pool of writing. But I have to warn you, once you get in, you won't want to come out!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Amazing Twist on the Mermaid Trend

    t is no secret I have a love for all books mermaid related. Therefore, when Tempest Rising landed in my hands, I was nothing short of excited, and luckily, it managed to be everything I was expecting and even more, as this mermaid book is nothing short of marvelous!

    For Tempest Maguire, she has always been a bit out of the ordinary, as not only did her mermaid mother walk out of her lives into the arms of the sea several years ago, but also Tempest herself is half mermaid. If this was not enough, with the arrival of Tempest's seventeenth birthday comes the biggest decision Tempest will ever have to make- to stay on land with her family or friends or become one with the sea. To Tempest, this answer seems like a no brainer- stay with her family. However, in the next few weeks, arrives a dark, menacing force, a boy who makes her heart race in ways it has not before, and dire consequences. Will Tempest make it out alive? What will her final choice be- mermaid, human, or somewhere in between? Only time and more pages can tell in this seductive tale of mermaids, romance, and a girl like no other!

    With Tempest Rising, came many wonderful aspects I could not help but love. However, my absolute favorite would have to be the main characters- Tempest and Kai. Lively, unique, and mystifying, the two of them quickly won my favor over from the start. Tempest, for example, was someone I adored from the start. Her character contained the perfect mixture of strong, weak, and loyalty that kept me rooting her from the first page to the very last. I thought her confusion over being a mermaid and the consequences that came with it where done wonderfully, as it was easy to feel her feelings across the pages. Better yet, I loved her relationship with Kai. Kai was a bread all is own. Smart, savvy, and sweet, he was adorable from start to finish. I loved his deduction to Tempest as well as how together they became quite the pair.

    With any good book comes a great plot, as well, and with Tempest Rising, this was exactly the case. Filled with action, drama, and secrets, this book had no problem holding my attention throughout. In all seriousness, I loved every single moment of it.the characters, the swoon-worthy setting, and the twists and turns were nothing short of amazing. Lastly, when tied together with Tracy's fabulous storytelling, this book is nearly unstoppable.

    Romantic and mesmerizing, Tempest Rising is a promising debut. If this is any sign of what has to come with the mermaid trend, be sure to count me in, as I do not want to miss a minute of it.

    Grade: A+

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Enjoyed it

    As I first delved into this book, I truly thought this was going to be just another hokey teen romance/drama. The beginning is a little slow, which I largely attribute to too much emphasis on Tempest's "mommy angst" before her character is really developed. Beyond the slow start, however, is a delightful book. You really feel frustrated alongside Tempest when nobody will tell her anything, and get wrapped up in the unfolding love story. The author creates a believable fantasy world that leaves room for the mind to explore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Anonymous

    Shouldd i buy it?!?!?!?

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I did enjoy this book, but it was not my favorite. I did order t

    I did enjoy this book, but it was not my favorite. I did order the sequel though. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Anonymous

    .5 Stars

    This sounds exactly like the movie The Thirteenth Year. A fantastic movie but if said movie was a book this would be so close to copyright it's not even funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It's no secret to Tempest that she's half-mermaid. Her mother wa

    It's no secret to Tempest that she's half-mermaid. Her mother was open about it, her father thinks it's a gift, but Tempest sees it as the thing that broke apart her family. So, when she begins to develop mermaid characteristic (i.e gills), she has a bit of a meltdown. It's justified, since the first time she begins to change she goes from surfing to almost drowning. She's attempting to live a normal human life, including a romance with Mark, despite knowing that she'll soon have to choose between her life on land, and a life in the water. When Kai shows up, it becomes clear who she's really meant to be with. There was a bit of a love triangle, but her relationship with Mark didn't really stand much of chance. She does try to cling to it, much like she does to her human life, but it was obvious that she shared something deeper with Kai. I won't spoil too much about who Kai really is, but I can say that it came as quite a surprise.

    Tempest played the role of mother to her younger brothers, so that made her attraction to the sea bittersweet. She still deals with the abandonment that she felt when her mother returned to the sea, and refuses to do the same thing to her brothers. Avoiding the water is painful, too. Especially since every time she tries to resist, it seems like a certain sea witch shows up to try to lure her in. I thought that all of these struggles combined to make Tempest an extremely well-developed character.

    The beginning of the book deals mostly with Tempest's human life, and relationships. Her relationships with her family, friends, and lingering resentment about her mother take center stage. While I really appreciated being able to get into her head, I think I was expecting more of her time to be spent in the water. The tension built up, but I was hoping that she would get to explore more of the undersea world.

    I'm looking forward to seeing more of the world that Deebs has created, so I'm crossing my fingers in hopes of a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    M

    If u like this book, you should read the lost vpice trilogy. The booksinit are om this order: lost voices, waking storms, and the twice lost. Youshould also read the forgive my fins trilogy. The books in that pne are in thia order: forgive my fins, just for fins, and fins are forever. I personaly liked the waking storms trilogy better because it was a little darker and more thrilling witg lots of twists and some sad parts. Tjanks for reading!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    I loved reading this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Tempest rising is one of my favorite books! Once you start reading you cant stop and there is more action at every page turn. This is the perfect book for people who love romantic stories and mythical creatures. The ending could have been better, but besides that there is no reason you shouldnt get this incedible book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    so AWESOME

    so AWESOME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Hii

    Find o ( not this one ) –––––––––starting now ––––––– gghdvddrtffrcstcsfxcfdfwvggvdgdfvvg eyyzbdmjmjtvuhhjhnsuhnshcbsihsbgtvsfrgctqwertyuipasdfghjklzxcvbnmmnbvcxzlkjhgfdsapiuytreewwqqeerrtygfescvvhthgfgggdfdfgorightherefinditgewavbyrscvjgdsfgftggcdsfgcxddfcxsfgcvvhgxzfhnvxdfhhbfdfgvvdsrgjj –––––––––––––––––––––– i tell you where it is.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    ?.?

    How many pages is in this book? I would hate to buy the book for 10 something dollers and it only be a cuple hundred pages

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I read a lot and this is one of my favorites! Next is Tempest Unleashed, so read it!
    ~Coral Mermaid~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Yolo

    Omgosh! Thats all i can say this is the best book ever. And that is saying alot since i read so much. I really really really really really really really really really enjoyed this book. It had a little bit of a slow start but once i got into it i could not put it down. I reccomend this to everyone ! BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    L

    Loved it best mer bolk ever!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    I loved this book. I was hesitant at first, but it was a good re

    I loved this book. I was hesitant at first, but it was a good read =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5