Customer Reviews for

Tempest Rising

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

Tempest Rising was a wonderful book that I devoured in less than a day... that's how good it was. The characters were original, the reading was fun and the plot was exciting.

My only thing with this novel, well my only two things, was that I wished there had been a ...
Tempest Rising was a wonderful book that I devoured in less than a day... that's how good it was. The characters were original, the reading was fun and the plot was exciting.

My only thing with this novel, well my only two things, was that I wished there had been a bit more to the novel. However I can reconcile myself to this... it was a really good book. The one thing that I cannot reconcile myself to is what happens with her mother (I won't spoil it) but it absolutely broke my heart and made me want to scream at the book.

Other than that, it was great! Anyone reading... do not hesitate to buy. =)

posted by RozetteKR on September 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Shouldd i buy it?!?!?!?

posted by 10680392 on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Loved it!

    Tempest Rising was a wonderful book that I devoured in less than a day... that's how good it was. The characters were original, the reading was fun and the plot was exciting.

    My only thing with this novel, well my only two things, was that I wished there had been a bit more to the novel. However I can reconcile myself to this... it was a really good book. The one thing that I cannot reconcile myself to is what happens with her mother (I won't spoil it) but it absolutely broke my heart and made me want to scream at the book.

    Other than that, it was great! Anyone reading... do not hesitate to buy. =)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It's no secret to Tempest that she's half-mermaid. Her mother wa

    It's no secret to Tempest that she's half-mermaid. Her mother was open about it, her father thinks it's a gift, but Tempest sees it as the thing that broke apart her family. So, when she begins to develop mermaid characteristic (i.e gills), she has a bit of a meltdown. It's justified, since the first time she begins to change she goes from surfing to almost drowning. She's attempting to live a normal human life, including a romance with Mark, despite knowing that she'll soon have to choose between her life on land, and a life in the water. When Kai shows up, it becomes clear who she's really meant to be with. There was a bit of a love triangle, but her relationship with Mark didn't really stand much of chance. She does try to cling to it, much like she does to her human life, but it was obvious that she shared something deeper with Kai. I won't spoil too much about who Kai really is, but I can say that it came as quite a surprise.

    Tempest played the role of mother to her younger brothers, so that made her attraction to the sea bittersweet. She still deals with the abandonment that she felt when her mother returned to the sea, and refuses to do the same thing to her brothers. Avoiding the water is painful, too. Especially since every time she tries to resist, it seems like a certain sea witch shows up to try to lure her in. I thought that all of these struggles combined to make Tempest an extremely well-developed character.

    The beginning of the book deals mostly with Tempest's human life, and relationships. Her relationships with her family, friends, and lingering resentment about her mother take center stage. While I really appreciated being able to get into her head, I think I was expecting more of her time to be spent in the water. The tension built up, but I was hoping that she would get to explore more of the undersea world.

    I'm looking forward to seeing more of the world that Deebs has created, so I'm crossing my fingers in hopes of a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    I loved reading this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Tempest rising is one of my favorite books! Once you start reading you cant stop and there is more action at every page turn. This is the perfect book for people who love romantic stories and mythical creatures. The ending could have been better, but besides that there is no reason you shouldnt get this incedible book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    I loved this book. I was hesitant at first, but it was a good re

    I loved this book. I was hesitant at first, but it was a good read =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Mermaid Fans....

    I enjoyed the story. It began a bit slow but proved better and better as the story developed. There were some on-the-edge-of-my-seat moments which were intense and I couldn't read fast enough to find out what happened! I liked the resolution of the "love triangle" though I didn't get the impression that the love triangle was really that big a deal in the first place. It was obvious as the story progressed who she needed to be with. The end was sad, bitter sweet and leaves a few loose ends but still worked for the most part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Haven't read the book yet but the description sounds very famili

    Haven't read the book yet but the description sounds very familiar. Oh year...it's the exact same plot line as THE LITTLE FREAKING MERMAID!!!! I mean come on I know vampires are all the rage but if you are going to go against the norm then at least be a little more creative than ripping off Disney. I suppose I'll give it a chance though....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Great book!

    This is a great book for fantasy romance fans. It was an amazing book but somewhat open ended. I mean theproblem wasn't really solved. The evil person is still alive. So if there is a sequel i would love the copy!
    Keep in mind that the end is not that amazing but the book as a whole is "the bomb"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A good beginning for a great series

    Tempest surely makes honor to her name. A vivid girl full of energy, full of love for the sea and for surfing. A passion she shares with her boyfriend Mark and her friends every day at 5am, going out with them, surfboard in hand, ready to conquer the waves.
    Ready to show her father, her brothers and herself that she could live between the land and the sea. That she wasn't like her mother. That in her seventeenth birthday she was going to stay human, to stay with her family. That no matter what she would never become mermaid.

    But like her mother tried to tell her in the letter she left for her, that decision would be really difficult to make.

    And when nightmares start to circle her making Tempest remember a luring force that tried to take her deep into the sea when she was a child she begins to wonder if her decision could affect other people. Maybe her destiny wasn't her own after all.

    But she wasn't ready to leave Mark behind, her hopes or her dreams of a human live. At least not until a new guy arrived to the beach. His name was Kona and she was sure that just like her he was special... merman special maybe? She didn't know but there was something that drag her close to him.

    It was that something that drove her inside the sea, looking for him after he disappeared with a deathly injure. And it was then that her destiny began to unravel.

    Personal opinion:
    Before beginning with the book I have to say I completely love this cover and it was one of the main reasons I bought the book. Yes, pretty covers lure me like candies lure kids. Besides, it looks so pretty in my bookshelf!

    And now, going back to the plot: I loved it. A lot. Despite the fact that Tempest tries to run away from her destiny a lot I understand that for her the situation wasn't easy. Her mother's departure leaving her dad, her brothers and herself alone was too much to forgive so quickly. And in fact, Tempest was happy with her human life... the thought of leaving everything behind was overwhelming.

    Her fears were always understandable, her doubts between Kona and Mark also very nice developed. I mean, who wouldn't be in love with both boys? First we have Mark, her boyfriend and friend with whom she shared this love for the ocean and surfing. He is protective, sexy, supportive and he really loves her, even if she has been very cryptic about her situation with the whole mermaid thing.
    And then we have Kona, gorgeous, handsome and amazing Kona who, just like her, hides something beneath that cool surface. With him Tempest feels a connection right away and even if she can't explain it she knows it means something. And the way his eyes looks always at her, with so much intensity and so much longing that it's a miracle she doesn't melt every time they are together.

    The battle scenes were also well developed but I was expecting more... danger, you know? Yes, some parts were really sad and heartbreaking, that I can assure you, but a little bit more of tension could be very useful.
    And the fact that there's a second book coming out in June, although a little far away, makes me supper happy because I could use some more Kona, some more intrigue and a few more answers about Tempest's destiny.

    Overall a great mermaid book with a great plot, lovely characters and an ending that will make you want more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Recommend!

    What can I say? This book is amazing! I loved almost every part of it! Except for the parts that almost made me cry! I laughed, I cried, and I enjoyed this book enough to read it in under one day! With school, that's a tough feat!

    With every good book I've read lately they have had an amazingly strong female lead. The trend keeps going with Tempest. With her mom abandoning her and her family when she was 10, she had to step up and take care of her two little brothers, so she doesn't let anyone baby her. She can take care of herself, easily. Tempest has a passion for surfing that might have to do with her being half of a mermaid! I'm loving all the mermaid books lately!!

    Then there's Kona and Mark. Two of Tempest's interesting guy friends. Mark is the jealous boyfriend type. He always treats his girl right, but is a little possessive, and even more so when Kona comes to town. Kona on the other hand is the strong mysterious new guy who can ride the waves like a god and immediately grabs every ones attention. Especially Tempest.

    Between the two super sexy male leads, a strong independent female lead, tear-jerking emotions, and mermaids what isn't there to like?! The book kept me immersed in it 100% of the time and I couldn't put this book down! Tempest Rising is the book to read if your looking for a new book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tempest Rising by Tracy Deebs

    Ever since the last Pirates of the Caribbean came out, I've had a mild fascination with mermaids. I mean, seriously, the mermaid MADE the movie. When I saw this book, I HAD to read it. And, being my first ever mer book, my fascination with mermaids has turned into an obsession!

    I love these mermaids. Not only do you get an awesome colored tail (each mermaid has a different color), but you also get an incredible tattoo to match! Look at this cover!!! I kind of want a purple tattoo now!!!

    The heroine of this story, Tempest, is such an incredibly round character. She's known about mermaids all her life, seeing as her mother was one, but holds a grudge against them because she believes her mother chose the ocean and being a mermaid over being a wife and mother to the family she had on land. However strong her grudge may be, this does not keep her from the inevitable...that she too will have to make a choice between ocean and land on her seventeenth birthday. As it quickly approaches, Tempest learns that this choice may not be as simple as she previously thought. As her story begins, Tempest is a simple (yet incredibly awesome) surfer with a secret, but as the story progresses, she is faced with much more difficult choices and tasks than she could have ever imagined.

    This book has everything we readers are looking for: a heroine we can identify with, an extraordinary love triangle including TWO very hot yet very different guys, the adorable family our heroine must save, and a fascinating new world in which we can loose ourselves as we dive into our book from the safety and comfort of our living room couch.

    Tracy Deebs delved into what could be a very cheesy subject. I mean, we all loved The Little Mermaid when we were kids, but does it really cut it in more mature literature? Yet, for me, she made "Under the Sea" a thing of the past and gave me "A Whole New World."

    I loved this book and I'm VERY much looking forward to book #2! Coming June 5, 2012!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    I don't see a whole abundance of mermaid books out there, so whenever I find one, I usually pick them up and this one was a great pick. Most of the times, mermaids are glamorized in books, so this one was kind of refreshing, as Tempest discovers that being a mermaid can create some real danger to those around her, as well as herself. A legacy left by her mother, Tempest must come to terms with this side of herself, and she doesn't want to. But there's no denying that she's drawn to the ocean.

    I felt so bad for her at times, because although she's drawn to the ocean, she remembers what it was like to be abandoned by a mother who chose the ocean over her. This still hurts, and so it's hard for her to reconcile that this is also a part of her. The choice isn't as cut and dried as she thought though. When Kai is threatened, she doesn't hesitate to jump into the ocean and try to follow him and rescue him, despite the fact that there's an entity in the ocean that has been trying to lure her, probably to kill her, up until now.

    The romance between her and Kai was magical and little steamy even. Just as I like it. The underwater adventures were thrilling to read, and the book was just plain enthralling and exciting. This author's writing absorbed me, and was so beautifully done. I pretty much devoured the book in one sitting. This was definitely worth the time!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    New Area of Paranormal Romance

    I loved the storyline, it was interesting and new, and didn't follow a pattern - I had no idea where this story was going to go, but it was intense, and beautifully written. I loved the exchanged between Tempest and Kai the characters had depth and I loved them. Can't wait until the 2nd book comes out, it ended by setting it up for one :).
    amysbooksofnote.blogspot. com/2011/05/tempest-rising-by-tracy-deebs.html

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    BookWhisperer Review: Tempest Rising

    Tempest Rising by Tracy Deebs is the best mermaid novel that I have had the pleasure of reading. Mermaid novels are a uniquely new addition to the genre. It seems that novels surrounding this species have proved to be difficult in creating a extraordinary read. The common perception of a fairy tale glittery world appears to conflict with many authors ability to invent a strong storyline. Deebs made this challenge appear effortless with her creation of this novel that is packed full of suspense, love, and mystery. With this shift of view the world was wide open for the intensity of this novel. Tempest was a very detailed and unique character that will capture the readers with her strong and quiet personality. Being a surf baby added an incredible shift to her character that many readers will enjoy as unique and inventive. The romance of this novel was yet another rare quality with the development of two wonderful characters that are not easily overlooked. Mark is the special and attentive boyfriend that readers will crave, but the emotion for Tempest is obviously lacking. Kai is the new mouth watering attraction that will quickly develop in the story. It is obvious why our main character will struggle with her decisions when it comes to her love. In the beginning it does appear that Tempest attraction to Kai will be a bit abrupt, but as the story progresses it becomes clear that this was intentionally in building the story. It is also refreshing that it does not go overlooked, as the author returns to build emotion and background as the journey continues. The story is not concluded, but set for a future that promises continuance. I look forward to seeing where this author will take the story in future novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Great mermaid story

    TEMPEST RISING, by Tracy Deebs, is a wonderfully crafted 'coming of age' story about a girl who needs to decide between the life she has always known or another life under the deep blue sea.

    I absolutely loved this book. It was different from the other mermaid books I have previously read. Tempest (awesome name right?) is nearing her seventeenth birthday in which she needs to make an important decision about her future. Along with normal teenage changes, Tempest changes in other ways too. She is drawn to the ocean and the mysterious Kai that knows a lot more about her then she ever thought possible.

    I liked the connection between Kai and Tempest more so then with Mark. Mark was a very typical human teen and he didn't have too many flaws, but I just thought he would never be able to handle the side of Tempest that she tried so hard to hide. Kai, on the other hand, knew of the world that Tempest should be a part of and showed her an amazing adventure along the way.

    I loved the world that Deebs created under the sea. I felt I was right there the whole time swimming with Tempest. The twist in the story definitely went to a darker place then I thought it would but I enjoyed it. I loved the lore that Deebs created as well. The way mermaids and other human-like creatures in the sea were so interesting.

    Overall, this definitely is one of the top mermaid books I've ever read. I think any fans of these sea-creatures would agree!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review from One Book At A Time

    It seems like I've read a lot of books lately that take me awhile to get into the story. It's almost like I'm anticipating getting to the good part.

    I like Tempest from the start. I like how she's so in tune with the ocean. She feels like she belongs out there on the waves. She's also doesn't feel like your typical teenage female. She would rather be out on her surfboard that worrying about her hair, makeup, and the latest gossip. I also really liked that her friend are those girls, so it makes her feel normal. An interesting take on the story is that she already knows what she is. She's very bitter towards her mom for leaving them and for what she has to endure alone because of it. I think that's what makes the first part of the story drag a little because the reader is anticipating the change as much as Tempest is.

    I was wary of Kai when he first entered the story. That dreaded love triangle was trying to raise it's head. But, I found that I liked that Tempest fought it every step of the way. She wants to be happy the way she is. But, her mermaid self recognizes him for what he is, even if her human half doesn't. I'm not sure if it's his presence or just the timing, but all of a sudden Tempest seems to have more mermaid characteristics than human. And, something out in the ocean is calling to her. When something drags Kai off into the ocean after some bizarre events, Tempest goes to the deepest depths of the ocean to "save" him.

    And that was were I really started to love the story. Kai isn't exactly what he appeared on land, which I was expecting. But, I enjoyed learning who and what he really is. I also loved reading about the different people who dwell in the ocean. Plus, there's a serious war brewing beneath the surface and turns out Tempest is the key to a lot of it. After all that happens it's not wonder that she chooses to head back to land. But that's not were out story ends, and Tempest has a destiny whether she likes it or not. It's not a huge cliff-hanger at the end, but we know the story can't be done yet. I'm curious what she will choose to do next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2