Customer Reviews for

Tempest in the Tea Leaves (Fortune Teller Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tempest will leave your had spinning for more.

Tempest in the Tea Leaves
By Kari Lee Townsend
Copyright August 2011
Publisher Berkeley Prime Crime
Leaving the Big Apple for the quaint town of Divinity, New York, Sunny is determined to make it on her own as a psychic. With an ancient Victorian house as her place ...
Tempest in the Tea Leaves
By Kari Lee Townsend
Copyright August 2011
Publisher Berkeley Prime Crime
Leaving the Big Apple for the quaint town of Divinity, New York, Sunny is determined to make it on her own as a psychic. With an ancient Victorian house as her place of business, Sunny uses various psychic methods to aid the town's residents. But when she uses tea leaves to give a reading for a frazzled librarian, what she finds at the bottom of the cup is anything but helpful.
Sunny informs the police of her deadly vision, but her warning is too late. And with hard-nosed, ruggedly handsome Detective Mitch Stone denying her abilities and naming her prime suspect, the situation is dire. Now Sunny has to use her visions to clear her name, before the killer can put an end to the psychic's future.

This book took me deeply into the storyline. We all have relatives who are quirky, but I recognized half my family in the first 100 pages. Kari has blended cozy, comedy, mystery and a bit of the supernatural (ghosts are supernatural, vamps and weres are paranormal) into a cohesive and extremely funny and wet undies from laughing masterpiece.
It has wisps and hints of George and Gracie, Bud and Lou, and also Stan and Laurel built into the two main protagonists. I predict a long and very successful run for this new author and her characters.
FTC Full Disclosure: The ARC of this book was sent to me by the author in return for a fair review.

posted by NoraAdrienne on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected

Catchy idea. But Sunny acts like a spoiled teen rather than a woman out to prove herself. The chatacters act like they've escaped from a poorly written, teen fantasy instead of an adult mystery. I find it sad because I wanted to like the characters and I wanted to li...
Catchy idea. But Sunny acts like a spoiled teen rather than a woman out to prove herself. The chatacters act like they've escaped from a poorly written, teen fantasy instead of an adult mystery. I find it sad because I wanted to like the characters and I wanted to like the plot. Actually, the plot is good. The red herring isn't too bad; but, the chatacters should have had different motives. Too much information, given too soon and about the wrong character. I expected more mystery, more adult characters and less teen angst. I found myself wishing that the house would eat the lead character. Sad because you can see how much better this story could be if the author would have respected her charscters more.

posted by Patokagwp on September 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    Good Read!

    Loved it and can't wait for the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    A must read!

    I enjoyed this book cover to cover. It was suspenseful and funny. I found myself unable to put the book down until I finished reading it. I I loved the two main charecters. Sunny's witty humor had you never knowing what was going to come out of her mouth next. When it did there were times it had me laughing out loud. Add to that Mitch's crusty demeanor,which made for some major chemistry happening between the two of them.

    I really enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love these characters!

    In the fortune telling business there are a lot of pretenders, but Sunshine Meadows is the real deal-and her predictions can be lethally accurate.

    Sunny is a big city psychic who moves to the quaint town of Divinity, NY to open her fortune-telling business in an ancient Victorian house, inheriting the strange cat residing within. Sunny gives her first reading to the frazzled librarian and discovers the woman is going to die. When the woman flees in terror, Sunny calls the police, only she's too late. The ruggedly handsome, hard-nosed detective is a "non-believer." He finds the librarian dead, and Sunny becomes his number one suspect, forcing her to prove her innocence before the real killer can put an end to the psychic's future.


    I fell quickly and fell hard in love with Sunny and Morty. You can't help it. Sunny, her real name is Sylvia, but she is only called that by her parents, has her hands full. She has moved away from her home, her parents and their money to live a life of her own. Her parents believe she is just going through a phase.

    Wonderfully written. As a mom, I know her parents are only trying to protect her. As a daughter, I completely understand the need to strike out on your own. This whole relationship adds a lot of humor to this story, as does Sunny's unique relationship with Detective Mitch Stone. The big tough cop who is afraid of a lovable harmless cat.

    The murder mystery itself was full of plenty of "red herrings" that kept you guessing.

    I have not been a fan of paranormal mysteries until recently and then relatively tame ones. The psychic elements of this story are very light and fun and I loved it.

    I rarely give the first book in a series a five star rating because I believe you have to get comfortable with the characters and watch them evolve, but I absolutely love the characters in this book. Especially Morty, closely followed by Sunny of course. I hope we won't have to wait too long for another trip back to Divinity. As you can tell from my rating this book is the purrfect escape!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Just What I Was Looking For

    A sexy cozy. Finally, a cozy mystery with some heat between the couple. I loved the dynamics of Sunny and Mitch liking each other but neither with trust of the other. I was hooked on this story from page one with Sunny and her parents. The fortune telling sleuth is a hoot, the detective is a hottie, and I can't wait for the next adventure for these two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    The first in a new series is a winner

    Normally, I don't go for paranormal but I picked this book up because the premise intrigued me. And boy, was I pleasantly surprised. There was enough plot to keep me turning the pages from the first page. Townsend had me in stitches throughout most of the book, and I can't wait to see what kind of trouble Sunny gets into in the next book with her cat Morty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    NOT RECOMMENDED

    I read the sample and thought this would be a fun book. I ended up skimming through the book hoping it would get better, it didn't. I am okay with stretching the realms of reality to benefit the plot, but Ms Townsend took it too far. I am sorry but the prime suspect in a murder would never be invited to join the police in solving the case. If you are looking for a fun lighthearted mystery, look elsewhere. I will be avoiding any future books by Ms Townsend, sorry, but it was that bad.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Tempest is a Winner!

    I really enjoyed reading about Sunny's adventures. She and Mitch are a hoot together, and Morty is so much fun. Kari Lee Townsend is a talented author, and I can't wait for the next book to come out. I love her sense of humor :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Tempest in the Tea Leaves

    Tempest in the Tea Leaves is a light and fun cozy mystery with a touch of the paranormal and a hint of romance. This is the first book in Kari Lee Townsend's A Fortune Teller Mystery series. I enjoyed this book! Fortune teller Sunshine Meadows (aka Sunny) leaves New York City for the small town of Divinity in upstate New York, because she's tired of her high society parents not believing in her or her special gift. Determined to make a new start in Divinity before her trust fund money runs out, she buys an old Victorian house to set up shop, complete with its own mysterious white cat. Unfortunately for Sunny, things go down hill quickly. Her first customer is the frantic town librarian who wants a reading. After reading her tea leaves, Sunny has a vision of the librarian's murder. Sunny warns the police of her vision, but alas it is too late. The librarian is dead just as she predicted, and Sunny is the prime suspect. Sunny insists she's innocent - she's new in town and has no motive! Detective Mitch Stone doesn't believe in any of her psychic woo-woo, but he gives her the benefit of the doubt - for now. That will change if and when hard evidence turns up against her, so it's up to Sunny to help the detective find the real killer. Tempest in the Tea Leaves was a delightful read. Sunny was a likable character with the perfect job for helping to solve a murder, even though it's her fortune telling that got her in trouble in the first place! The author crafted an entertaining mystery that kept me guessing up until the end. There were a few times I thought "that would never really happen with a murder suspect," but I went with it anyway. The engaging characters pulled me into the story. I had plenty of giggle out loud moments, especially the witty exchanges between Sunny and "grumpy pants" Detective Stone, and Sunny and her snooty parents. Even her mysterious cat Morty was a hoot. He had a personality all his own. I'm so curious about Morty and his (and Sunny's) spooky Victorian house (aka Vicky). I'm looking forward to finding out more about them in future books. Tempest in the Tea Leaves is a strong start to a new series. I would recommend it to fans of cozy mysteries who like the addition of a paranormal element. I give it 4 out of 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2