BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tempest in the Tea Leaves (Fortune Teller Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tempest will leave your had spinning for more.

Tempest in the Tea Leaves
By Kari Lee Townsend
Copyright August 2011
Publisher Berkeley Prime Crime
Leaving the Big Apple for the quaint town of Divinity, New York, Sunny is determined to make it on her own as a psychic. With an ancient Victorian house as her place ...
Tempest in the Tea Leaves
By Kari Lee Townsend
Copyright August 2011
Publisher Berkeley Prime Crime
Leaving the Big Apple for the quaint town of Divinity, New York, Sunny is determined to make it on her own as a psychic. With an ancient Victorian house as her place of business, Sunny uses various psychic methods to aid the town's residents. But when she uses tea leaves to give a reading for a frazzled librarian, what she finds at the bottom of the cup is anything but helpful.
Sunny informs the police of her deadly vision, but her warning is too late. And with hard-nosed, ruggedly handsome Detective Mitch Stone denying her abilities and naming her prime suspect, the situation is dire. Now Sunny has to use her visions to clear her name, before the killer can put an end to the psychic's future.

This book took me deeply into the storyline. We all have relatives who are quirky, but I recognized half my family in the first 100 pages. Kari has blended cozy, comedy, mystery and a bit of the supernatural (ghosts are supernatural, vamps and weres are paranormal) into a cohesive and extremely funny and wet undies from laughing masterpiece.
It has wisps and hints of George and Gracie, Bud and Lou, and also Stan and Laurel built into the two main protagonists. I predict a long and very successful run for this new author and her characters.
FTC Full Disclosure: The ARC of this book was sent to me by the author in return for a fair review.

posted by NoraAdrienne on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected

Catchy idea. But Sunny acts like a spoiled teen rather than a woman out to prove herself. The chatacters act like they've escaped from a poorly written, teen fantasy instead of an adult mystery. I find it sad because I wanted to like the characters and I wanted to li...
Catchy idea. But Sunny acts like a spoiled teen rather than a woman out to prove herself. The chatacters act like they've escaped from a poorly written, teen fantasy instead of an adult mystery. I find it sad because I wanted to like the characters and I wanted to like the plot. Actually, the plot is good. The red herring isn't too bad; but, the chatacters should have had different motives. Too much information, given too soon and about the wrong character. I expected more mystery, more adult characters and less teen angst. I found myself wishing that the house would eat the lead character. Sad because you can see how much better this story could be if the author would have respected her charscters more.

posted by Patokagwp on September 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I expected

    Catchy idea. But Sunny acts like a spoiled teen rather than a woman out to prove herself. The chatacters act like they've escaped from a poorly written, teen fantasy instead of an adult mystery. I find it sad because I wanted to like the characters and I wanted to like the plot. Actually, the plot is good. The red herring isn't too bad; but, the chatacters should have had different motives. Too much information, given too soon and about the wrong character. I expected more mystery, more adult characters and less teen angst. I found myself wishing that the house would eat the lead character. Sad because you can see how much better this story could be if the author would have respected her charscters more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Entertaining

    This was an ok book, but I don't think I'll read any more of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Light and Fluffy Mystery

    The first volume in Townsend's new psychic mystery series is the literay equivalent of a creamsicle: it is a fast and easy read with just enough twists to keep the reader flipping pages. The identity of the murderer becomes apparent well before the end, so the real treat here is the character interaction. I could easily see someone like Meg Ryan or Kristin Chenoweth playing the comedic aspects of lead Sunny Meadows to the hilt.

    Light and entertaining. A fun way to spend a dreary afternoon. -- lyradora

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    A fun, easy to read cozy mystery!

    A good new cozy mystery....I would recommend this first in a new series. I think book 2 in this series has just been released.

    Easy to read, fast paced story, and a good introduction of characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Sylvia "Sunny" Meadows has always felt like a square peg trying to fit into a round whole in her parents' hoity-toity world in New York City. At 29, Sunny packs her worldly goods into her Volkswagen bug and heads for Divinity, New York where she's purchased an old Victorian house and plans to open up a fortune-telling business. Her first client is the town librarian and Sunny is troubled when the tea leaves show the woman's life is in danger. After the librarian leaves, Sunny deems it best to tell the police, but by then, it's too late; the woman's already dead. And the investigating officer, Detective Mitch Stone, suspects Sunny's the culprit. Although there's major chemistry between them, the two get off to a rocky start which becomes even more treacherous when the mayor decides he wants Sunny to team up with Detective Stone to help solve the murder. Sunny's parents arrive to help clear their daughter's name and Sunny's frantic to find the murderer while the murderer is busy planting evidence against her.

    This cozy mystery is charming and fun, although one distraction is the protagonist's demeanor. Although she's 29 years of age, she seems much younger, doing such things as sticking out her tongue at people and calling the detective names such as "Mr. Grumpy Pants". Her relationship with her parents is more along the lines of a rebellious teenager than a grown woman. Townsend adds a touch of the paranormal with a mysterious cat named Morty who hangs around Sunny's house, inexplicably appearing and disappearing, and scaring visitors. A bit implausible to this reader was the mayor's decision to partner not only a newcomer to town, but a suspect in the murder, with the detective investigating said murder. All in all, an engaging read with certain aspects readers might find distracting or may choose to ignore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1