Customer Reviews for

The Templar Legacy (Cotton Malone Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 408 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great story and characters!

Book Review: The Templar Legacy - Steve Barry
My disclaimer: As with any opinion, it is only my opinion and these reviews will vary depending on who reads the book and what the reader is looking for. I look for ways to improve businesses, sales, and life. I also like...
Book Review: The Templar Legacy - Steve Barry
My disclaimer: As with any opinion, it is only my opinion and these reviews will vary depending on who reads the book and what the reader is looking for. I look for ways to improve businesses, sales, and life. I also like to feed my need for just plain fiction. In fiction, I'll look at readability, suspension of believe, and over all enjoyment of the material, and value.

On a 1 to 5 scale, 5 being the best:

Readability: 5
It's 497 pages in paperback, and it took me about a week the book. I usually read it a few chapters at a time, and it's what I expected. It flowed well and for the most part, was exciting to read. On few occasions it slowed, but that was expected as well. That's because some things just have to be explained and clarified. However, a great read and it won't disappoint you.
Suspension of belief: 5
The plot and story are very believable. There is no magic or arrival of the cavalry at the last moment to save the everyone. Many things are realistic, for example, some clues for our characters are carved in stone, but some of the information has been destroyed by natural wear of the environment. Or, some people who might have helped our heroes, have died of natural causes over time. It's not a like an Indiana Jones movie where ancient artifacts are all perfectly intact. This just makes the story more believable.
Enjoyment of the Material and Value: 5
At about ten dollars it was well worth the value.
This is an awesome religious thriller, and it is packed with great information. The information is somewhat controversial to the church, but it's not overly done and does not bash the church. A great read, a great story, and very interesting. Too bad they didn't teach history this way.
Thank you Steve Barry for providing a great story!

I'm Rip Walker, thanks for watching!
Author of: Rip's Book of Common Sense
www.rips-site-of-common-sense-selling.com

posted by Rip_Walker on January 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed in poor research

I enjoy entertainment fiction, so I disagree with the complaints about lack of character development, shallow plot, etc. I found Templar Legacy to be a generally entertaining mystery/adventure tale. However, as a Christian, I was disappointed and angered by the unrel...
I enjoy entertainment fiction, so I disagree with the complaints about lack of character development, shallow plot, etc. I found Templar Legacy to be a generally entertaining mystery/adventure tale. However, as a Christian, I was disappointed and angered by the unrelenting attack on Christianity that Berry pursues. Of course, everyone has the right to voice his opinion, but the information presented in the persistent attack on the New Testament, Christ's divinity, the apostles' character, and the historicity of the resurrection, was inaccurate. Unfortunately,especially in a book whose author seems to want to impress us with his research, many who read the book will take these inaccuracies concerning historical evidence as historical fact or at least probability. For any who would like to read a well-researched book on the New Testament Gospel accounts, try adding Paul L. Maier's book, 'First Easter', to your reading list. This book is also found in a compendium of Maier's books called 'In the Fullness of Time'. This Western Michigan University professor emeritus of history will give you the well-researched and documented 'other side' that is so lacking in Berry's book.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 411 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great story and characters!

    Book Review: The Templar Legacy - Steve Barry
    My disclaimer: As with any opinion, it is only my opinion and these reviews will vary depending on who reads the book and what the reader is looking for. I look for ways to improve businesses, sales, and life. I also like to feed my need for just plain fiction. In fiction, I'll look at readability, suspension of believe, and over all enjoyment of the material, and value.

    On a 1 to 5 scale, 5 being the best:

    Readability: 5
    It's 497 pages in paperback, and it took me about a week the book. I usually read it a few chapters at a time, and it's what I expected. It flowed well and for the most part, was exciting to read. On few occasions it slowed, but that was expected as well. That's because some things just have to be explained and clarified. However, a great read and it won't disappoint you.
    Suspension of belief: 5
    The plot and story are very believable. There is no magic or arrival of the cavalry at the last moment to save the everyone. Many things are realistic, for example, some clues for our characters are carved in stone, but some of the information has been destroyed by natural wear of the environment. Or, some people who might have helped our heroes, have died of natural causes over time. It's not a like an Indiana Jones movie where ancient artifacts are all perfectly intact. This just makes the story more believable.
    Enjoyment of the Material and Value: 5
    At about ten dollars it was well worth the value.
    This is an awesome religious thriller, and it is packed with great information. The information is somewhat controversial to the church, but it's not overly done and does not bash the church. A great read, a great story, and very interesting. Too bad they didn't teach history this way.
    Thank you Steve Barry for providing a great story!

    I'm Rip Walker, thanks for watching!
    Author of: Rip's Book of Common Sense
    www.rips-site-of-common-sense-selling.com

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    good beach read

    Very good book for a summer beach read. If you liked Davinci Code, youll like this. This is my 1st Steve Berry book- it probably wont be my last. For those whom complained about historical accuracy try to remember this is FICTION so its not about accuracy- its about storyline, plot development & ENJOYMENT. The only thing that I didnt like about the book was that longer conversations between the characters should have had a few "he said, she saids" thrown in so the reader doesnt get lost because the tone of many of the characters are the same since they are all after the same thing. I had to go back a page a few times so I could get who was saying what.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Secret Truth Revealed!

    This novel starts out a little slow, at least as far as the way I felt mentally getting involved with the plot, but it picks up steam. At the end it's like a runnaway train. It left me with a smile and a feeling that I was well entertained. The ending is a huge suprise. But you'll have to read it to discover it.

    If you like books with ancient secrets and big discoveries and archaeological mysteries, then I also recommend Devil's Verse below

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    this just gets old

    The whole "Christ wasn't really Christ, the whole Christianity thing is a sham and big cover-up" thing, a really good book ruined by the ongoing Christian bashing. It could have been a really good book, a great story, except that Mr. Berry had to make it what he did.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Please pay no attention to below review

    Its not meant to be taken seriously. Just another story thats meant to be enjoyed. Hes not trying to discredit christianity.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Engrossing Read

    This wonderful thriller is a combination of many elements, all of which are combined in a combustible crucible to make an engrossing read.

    Its background is the legacy of the Templars, a religious order formed in Acre, Palestine during the Crusades largely by Frenchmen. What became of their treasure when they were eradicated by the French king in 1307? What about their discovery of the apparent story of the resurrection of Jesus, as well as elements of the Gnostic Gospels? These are mysteries of the ages as well as the religious heritage of the West.

    Steve Berry elucidates these questions in a far different manner than used by Dan Brown in the da Vinci Code. The answers are pursued in the context of the origins of the Templars, in Provence, France, including elements of the Papal escape to Avignon in the aftermath of the collapse of the Christian efforts to free the Holy Lands from the supposed infidels.

    The Templar Legacy is not a history book. It is a thriller. A genre of suspense and intrigue, which are in ample supply in this captivating story.

    A possessed pursuer of ancient artifacts, his disbelieving wife an intelligence operative, a son lost in an avalanche seeking the same ends as his apparently suicidal father, and a variety of other fascinating characters all combine to set the stage for a different search for a historic grail. The perilous antiquities that so dominate the Indiana Jones sagas are plainly in evidence in the denouement.

    In the end, there are the strains of romance that could blossom in a sequel in a far different vein than James Bond and his girls. A former intelligence operative and a wealthy, stealthy follower of Islam?

    Thank you Steve. Your readers look forward to the sequel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    Disappointed in poor research

    I enjoy entertainment fiction, so I disagree with the complaints about lack of character development, shallow plot, etc. I found Templar Legacy to be a generally entertaining mystery/adventure tale. However, as a Christian, I was disappointed and angered by the unrelenting attack on Christianity that Berry pursues. Of course, everyone has the right to voice his opinion, but the information presented in the persistent attack on the New Testament, Christ's divinity, the apostles' character, and the historicity of the resurrection, was inaccurate. Unfortunately,especially in a book whose author seems to want to impress us with his research, many who read the book will take these inaccuracies concerning historical evidence as historical fact or at least probability. For any who would like to read a well-researched book on the New Testament Gospel accounts, try adding Paul L. Maier's book, 'First Easter', to your reading list. This book is also found in a compendium of Maier's books called 'In the Fullness of Time'. This Western Michigan University professor emeritus of history will give you the well-researched and documented 'other side' that is so lacking in Berry's book.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Must we do this again?

    What is with all the attempts to discredit Christianity? At least if you are going to do it, use real evidence, not made up, insane plots.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    Good starting point

    Read this book than read others including DiVinci code they all tie together. Could not stop reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    Not Worth Your Time

    The Templar Legacy was slow and predictable. The ending was frustrating and BLASPHEMOUS. Overall, I was disappointed with the novel and myths that people believe to be the truth these days.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! Aah! Slow This Train Down Aaah I'm Ascared!

    Templar takes the reader on quite an adventure ride! There are lots of ups and downs and spins and twirls, ultimately leading up up up to the final climactic ending that is absolutely unexpected and unbelievable!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Had potential

    This was my first Steve Berry novel, so I was not quite sure what to expect. I thought the book was a little slow especially the first 100 pages. I almost gave up and moved on to another book, but decided to keep reading. The overall story line was good; however, Berry spent too much time describing every detail about every abby, church, and building. It was almost a history lesson. I realize that you need the historical background to create the story, but sometimes enough is enough. The book had a lot of potential, but just didn't quite deliver. I give it 2 1/2 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    A mystery of midevil times that has ties to the present

    I enjoy discoveries about the past, even fictional ones. There is far more to history than we were ever taught in school. And speculation makes the teaching even more interesting. Movies like "National Treasure" and the "DaVinci Code" tie into this historical potboiler about the survival of religious empires and world spanning secret societies.

    Some of the plot twists are too convenient, but a mystery doesn't have to tie perfectly into all the historical facts. So if you are looking to find an exciting twist in history that might just have some threads of truth sewn into its fabric, read on.

    I was entertained for hours listening to this book while I drove through three states on the way to a new job. It erased the boredome and made the time exciting. I hated to stop each night to find a motel. There is a bit of moralizing in the lead characters, both of which are blind to the other's philosophy. So if you want to find something to pass the time till the end of the world party starts, you must read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    If you like history and mystery, your should be happy with this book. Character development is solid but somewhat predictable. Barry sticks to the facts with his historical treatment of the church but adds his own take on what happened at the beginning and the end of the Templars reign. I have read several other Templar books and this one carves its own niche.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    Somewhat dissapointing..

    I have read the Romanov Prophecy and I loved it. I was actually looking forward to read another one of Steve Berry's books. This book starts allright, but then the author loses himself in lots and lots of details. At some point you lose track of what exactly is that everybody is looking for. I hope his other books keep the reader hooked all the way to their end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    Ok but long winded

    I have read all of Steve Berry's books, and I always have the same issue. There is a great story...in there somewhere. I usually read a book this length in about 2-3 days. But his books, while interesting, read almost too much like a textbook, with action thrown in as an afterthought. History buffs will really enjoy this book, but it's not a breezy read. He's a capable writer, but a bit scholastic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    Don't Not Buy This Book

    If you have come as far as reading this comment then this book is for you. You will not be able to put this book down once you start. Very enjoyable and a thriller than comes to match and even beat 'the Da vinci Code'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    Well-written, well-researched, intelligent

    Berry creates a fast-moving story populated with engaging characters. While at times he seems to fall back on a recognizable formula or two, the fast pace compensates for this minor drawback. Best of all, he has taken the time to incorporate REAL historical research and not just repetition of sensational myths. It's a thoughtful, entertaining book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    action-packed arcane thriller

    In Copenhagen, Cotton Malone observes ¿Red Jacket¿ knock down and steal the purse of his former boss at the U.S. Justice Department Stephanie Nelle. Red Jacket races up the Kobmagergade but to avoid capture he jumps off the tower slicing his throat on the way down. Stephanie is shook up because she realizes this was no ordinary thief he somehow knew her business involving her work as head of the DOJ¿s Magellan Billet. Cotton goes back to talk with Stephanie, but she leaves. --- A bit hurt, the former agent decides to sleuth as he assumes Stephanie did not want him probing into her official work. He soon finds himself studying the religious order of the Knights Templar that allegedly died out soon after its last master died in 1308 France. Behind that he learns that several groups feverishly search for the Great Devise that disproves the Resurrection and tears apart much of the heart and soul of Christianity. As he and new teammates interpret the clues, the current Templar Master Raymond de Roquefort and his supporters want them dead before they uncover the ¿Rosetta Stone¿ that will destroy Christianity. --- The action is non-stop from the moment Red Jacket commits suicide until the final confrontation with killer monks. Cotton is a courageous soul who meets his Muslim female counterpart while on the investigation. Religious conspiracy buffs will appreciate the complex abstruse puzzles that are part of sub-genre cloning of the Da Vinci Code. Though some of the rationalizations defending lethal actions seem stretched even for religious fanatics (another cloning device), Steve Berry keeps THE TEMPLAR LEGACY fresh by avoiding the usual dissing of Christianity, instead he provides an action-packed arcane thriller that will have the audience interpreting the enigmatic clues along side of Cotton and his pilgrims. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Loved it

    This was the first Steve B book I've read and I definitely plan to read more. It kept me interested and I love the history incorporated in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 411 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21