Customer Reviews for

Temple

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Reilly is a great author

Not quite as good as his Scarecrow or Jack West novels - but still a great book.

posted by Jay_Green_ABQ on April 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good for Teens, maybe

This was my first Matthew Reilly read, and quite frankly I'm not anxious for more. Reilly does present a fairly exciting, far-reaching scenario. But much of the plot is juvenile and shallow, and this Australian writer has a lot of research to do about US military and go...
This was my first Matthew Reilly read, and quite frankly I'm not anxious for more. Reilly does present a fairly exciting, far-reaching scenario. But much of the plot is juvenile and shallow, and this Australian writer has a lot of research to do about US military and government terminology and organization. Trying to straddle the line between science fiction, adventure, and government conspiracy/mystery seems a little beyond Reilly's grasp. 'Temple' passed the time, but left me wondering if it had been time well-spent.

posted by AnotherOldSpook on March 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    Good for Teens, maybe

    This was my first Matthew Reilly read, and quite frankly I'm not anxious for more. Reilly does present a fairly exciting, far-reaching scenario. But much of the plot is juvenile and shallow, and this Australian writer has a lot of research to do about US military and government terminology and organization. Trying to straddle the line between science fiction, adventure, and government conspiracy/mystery seems a little beyond Reilly's grasp. 'Temple' passed the time, but left me wondering if it had been time well-spent.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2002

    You will love this book....

    ...if you are a twelve year old boy. Matthew Reilly makes Clive Cussler seem like James Joyce. The Publisher's Weekly review above is dead on. The book is cartoonish with ridiculous action sequences one after the other. Having said that, the book is reasonably well written and an enjoyable diversion if you're in the mood for a cheesy action adventure to while away an airline flight or a day at the beach. If you have a teenager that you want to encourage to read, pick up a copy of this book for them. They will enjoy it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Needs an editor

    Repeated typos throughout, someone diid a search and replace with the word DIE, whichcomes up frequently.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    Breathtaking

    Matthew Reilly does not know how to write a dull boring book. This one has more action and cliff hangers than I could count.The author has interesting characters and villans and always picks interesting locales.I would suggest reading Ice Station then Area 7 so that you get a feel for his style.Those 2 books also introduce you to his common character "Scarecrow" I found the nice thing was that you don't necessarily have to read them in any order. He is a great action writer and I hope he has a long career ahead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Very good read BUT SO MANY TYPOS. Does anyone proof read these

    Very good read BUT SO MANY TYPOS. Does anyone proof read these books?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    action packed

    I have always enjoyed Matthew Reilly's books and this one is no exception. If you like history, mystery and adventure this ones for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Reilly is a great author

    Not quite as good as his Scarecrow or Jack West novels - but still a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Fun indiana jones meets a more everyday man read

    I enjoyed this read. Its an easy quick read that is always moving. Cliched cast and plot for sure but done with eough originality to hold its own. When you stay up till 4am to discover what happens then you know you have a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    Very Good

    Not the best Reilly book I have read, but excellent non the less. Plot seems to drone on just a little to long. Our hero has to save the world from one to many evil vilians.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    A different kind of thriller

    In your typical thriller you've got one major bad guy the hero has to overcome. But in this story, and it's the first like this I've read, there are scores of bad guys aiming for the same goal, often defeated by the hero but also duking it out between themselves. The result is an action packed story from beginning to end. More than that, o good portion of the story is an acient account that is read by Race, the story's protagonist. At first I thought the ancient accounts would slow the pace and distract from the modern day storyline, but they wre just as action filled and served as great background for the actions of the characters in the present. They also help create a depth to the story that might otherwise be missing. By no means a short book, but still a very fast read. Great reading all around.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    BEST BOOK EVER!

    Temple is the best book written to this day. Reilly does not only hold the action and suspense in the moedrn day, but back in the time of the Spanish Conquerers. This book is a must have. So action-packed, I read it in one sitting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Ridiculous

    Save your money and just watch an action cartoon. There is way too much death-defying heroism, moment after moment after moment. I didn't even finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2002

    Oughtta Be In Pictures

    Movies, that is. The blurb about being the best action movie you'll ever read is right. The action moves so quickly that when you're turning to the next page, you're keeping yourself cool from the breeze. William Race is the reluctant member of an American military team on a race against time to discover the "Spirit Of The People", a Central American idol possessed of unique properties, before neo-Nazis get their hands on it to create an unbelievably-powerful weapon. There are double- and triple-crosses aplenty in this thrill-ride of a novel. Highly recommended, but not necessarily high-brow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2001

    Character Development

    I agree with some of the other reviews that I read. This novel was a bit over the top. Race survived more terror than Indiana Jones. But Hey! I don't care. Sometimes I like reading just for entertainment's sake. What I certainly missed was some character development. More than two thirds of the way through the book, I felt as though I knew the ancient characters better than the ones currently in action. I want to grieve when someone is sent to judgement... Subplotting was at a minimum also. As far as straight up action, unrivaled adventure, and computer game imagery are concerned, this book has it. Long Live Matt Reilly! He'll be a goodun' in a little bit!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2001

    A little dissapointing, but still a fun read!

    Temple is very fast paced, like Ice Station, I could not put it down, finished the book in two days! One major downfall is that, the storyline is more like a Hollywood movie. You know, the hero gets everything, accomplishes incredible feats, it's beyond me since the main character is a professor/linguist from NYU! At least in Ice Station, Shane Schofield was a commander of a Marine Force recon unit, not a college profressor fighting hostile assassins! Anywho, I recommended Temple for those who enjoyed Ice Station, but keep ur expectations low, since Temple is no way near as good as Ice Station. Mr. Reilly please write faster, can't wait till the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Action that lets imagination run wild!!!

    One of my favorite books written by one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Spy

    Im Fire queen shadows sister!!! I need to kill her.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    JP

    No

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Talia

    Alot better

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Cyrus

    Gtgbbt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6