Customer Reviews for

Temporary Mistress

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This was fun and interesting plot. A change from your normal historical romance. It really pulls you in and has you wanting to cheer, cry, and laugh. I would like to see more like this one from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2001

    Boring

    This has got to be the most boring book ever. The plot was unique however the story itself was really bland. The characters were too plain and their foul language totally turned me off.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2001

    Disappointing

    After reading the reviews from other readers I was under the impression that Susan Johnson wrote great romance books with steamy, erotic love scenes. Definately not so in this one. I found nothing hot or descriptive about any of the scenes in this book. They were . . . somewhat boring. I also thought the use of certain words took away from the romance part of the book. The character development was horrible in my mind. Isabella starts out as innocent, but knowing the way the world works. All of a sudden, she's acting like a 'loose woman' with a dirty mouth. All in all, not a book worth buying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2000

    In heat - at first sight

    I have read more than my share of romance novels and had been told Susan Johnson writes more erotically than most of her peers. I have to say that this is the first novel I have read that used profanity, and dirty sex talk between main characters. I am used to the 'f' word in movies but the 'c' word is unacceptable. I am not a prude - I was just surprised. Usually a sex scene is more widening eyes and heaving bosooms and other euphamisms for body parts and sex acts. While this book was definitely more graphic, I felt that the time period the book was set in did not mix well with the graphic nature of the sex scenes. The plot has been recycled from so many other regency style romance novels. I usually circulate my books among friends but this one is going to have to have a warning label first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The usual erotic romance

    In 1802, Isabella Leslie inherits a fortune that her avarice uncle plans to possess. He informs his niece that she will marry his son. Instead of bowing to her relative¿s orders, Isabella flees and ends up in a brothel owned by Molly Crocker. The two women cut a deal that will ruin Isabella, but gain her freedom from her odious relatives. <P> Dermot Ramsey, Earl of Bathurst meets Isabella at the brothel and both are immediately fascinated with one another. He makes love to the virgin, but he still grieves the death of his wife and son several years ago. Though he hurts Isabella by throwing her out of his house and life,he realizes he loves her. Unless a miracle occurs and brings Dermot to his senses, Isabella will be free, but unhappy. <P> TEMPORARY MISTRESS is an entertaining historical romance, but readers need to realize that the story line is filled with many graphic sex scenes and profanity uttered by Isabella among others. The plot moves rather rapidly forward as the two lead characters and the supporting cast (her relatives and Mrs. Crocker) brings the Regency period alive. As usual, Susan Johnson continues to hold sway over the erotic historical romance sub-genre. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow What others will do or say

    Dont believe everything you read what others say about this book it was really good, They might not like rakes, or brothals. But dont take my word read it for your self. I read alot on Ms Johnson an her storys has a great ending ALWAYS. And beside these 2 people are Anonymous. Go ask the real people that are in the reading. (I am sorry I dont like others on what they saying about the writers. All they have to say is it was ok or it need work).

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2003

    I hate it

    I hate the book, it's extremely boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2001

    GOOD BUT NOT GREAT

    it was a good book that i liked to read. but i dont think it was very romantic. it lacked tender love. which i personaly like the best. but hey buy the book and see for your self. its worth the 5 bucks or so. it did hold my attention for the whole book. it did not have the usual parts that most would like to skip. go buy the book and find out how it ends -melissa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2000

    Hot and sexy.

    Isabella Leslie had just come into her fortune only a few hours before when her greedy relatives tried to marry her off to her cousin 'Fat Harold'. She literally ran into the rainy night to save herself..and straight into Molly's brothel! There she found a new life long friend who was wise in the ways Izzy was not. Isabella only wanted her independence. Together, they decided Elizabeth should become publically ruined so no one would want her as a wife. Enter Dermott! <BR><BR> Dermott Ramsay, the earl of Bathurst, had seen the woman rush into Molly's business establishment and wanted her immediately. That soon became possible. Dermott, being popular with all the ladies of the house, was chosen 'to ruin' Isabella. She would become his temporary mistress. Afterward, he could continue his sampling of the ladies in the world and she would have her independence. <BR><BR> *** Be forewarned of some extremely hot love scenes, Readers, because bestseller author, Susan Johnson, is back on the bookshelves beginning November 2000! This one has a great story line, is well written, back ground characters that you cannot help but adore, and a type of man that all women love to see meet his match! This one is sure to please those of us who like sexy scenes in our stories! ***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2