Customer Reviews for

Tempt Me with Darkness

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Fabulous!!!

    Hot and sexy! Great story. Full of magical adventure, humor and out of this world sex! Too bad, there isn't any fifteenth century warriors or wizards around. Youza...baby!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This was so hot & sensual. The story line was so easy to follow & I could not help myself but keep reading it. I get so sad when it is over. lol Absolutely loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Keep them coming Shayla!

    I've got a library full of her books. When you think hot, sexual, sensual, romantic, thrilling, etc. Shelley Bradley/Shayla Black books come to mind!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Great follow up to 50 Shades

    Great follow up to 50 Shades. Really enjoyed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    Book was awesome, characters fantastic. Couldn't put it down! I have read two more books by Shayla Black, highly recommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Great book

    Great book great storyline dident ewant to put it down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Love it

    A great book. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    HOT

    Hot and Sexy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Yes! I'm so excited to find a new series!

    This was a great read. I started reading this book and I just could not put it down. I finished it the same day I got it. My only problem is I have to wait so long for the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    A Great Paranormal Romance!

    Marrock ,a noble knight, cursed by an evil witch named Morganna. He meets a woman named Olivia, whom he believes is the witch who cursed him with immortality. The attraction grows between the two and soon they find love and trouble.----------------- Mathis D'Arc is an evil wizard bent on destroying all of magickind. He wishes to posses a diary that is so powerful and Olivia who is the last Le Fay witch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Must Read

    I was leary of the mythical and paranormal, thinking I would not be able to get into the story. This was my first 'Paranormal' story. So I started with my favorite arthur Shayla Black. I love all of her work and I decided to try it out. It took me a few pages to get into the storyline. (Maybe because I was babysitting, I don't know) but once I was there, that was it. The story was GREAT!!!! The sex scenes are great and the idea of being bound to your 'mate' in this story is AWSOME!! Olivia must have sex with her 'mate' in order to live and have energy. and even though she is not to her peak age to do magic you feel, during the entire story, she is destined for GREATNESS!! It had a wonderful story line with plenty of suspenseful stuff. And even though Marrock and Olivia's story comes to a conclusion in the back of the book gives you a wonderful look at the next book to release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    A fascinating urban fantasy romance

    King Arthur¿s loyal knight Marrok of Cadbury and Morganna le Fay shared a heated rendezvous that turned ugly. Outraged as no one affronts Morganna, she uses the Doomsday Diary to curse her former lover. For eternity Marrok will never obtain sexual satisfaction. Stunned and desperate, Marrok steals her Doomsday Diary, but over the millennium and a half he never found a way to break the curse imagine, fifteen centuries of disappointing sex.--------- In the present day in England, Marrok and untrained unaware witch Olivia Gray meet when they co-star in her passionate erotic wet dreams. Attracted to the nocturnal sleeping Olivia, Marrok realizes her DNA connection to Morganna so he abducts her, demanding she end her ancestor¿s curse on him. She agrees to try. As they work together and begin to fall in love, an evil wizard learns who possesses the legendary Doomsday Diary and sends his minion to steal it. With no options available, Marrok and Olivia obtain allies from amongst the Doomsday Brethren wizards as a magical civil war ignites.----------- This fascinating urban fantasy stars a lead male who trusts no one, but especially distrusts anything associated with magic and a courageous female who has no idea about her family tree or her bewitching skills. Fast-paced from the onset as a brooding frustrated Marrok feels he has found the key to opening the Doomsday Diary only to realize she is clueless. TEMPT ME WITH DARKNESS is an entertaining tale that will leave fans believing in the magic of a wonderful author who paints it black.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Tempt Me With Darkness explodes onto Paranormal Scene

    Centuries ago, Marrok of Cadbury was one of King Arthur¿s closest knights, until cursed by Morganna Le Fay for spurning her affections. Now he¿s immortal and somehow, a small book in his possession called the Book of Doomsday can set him free, if only he could figure out how. Then he meets Olivia¿ American art dealer Olivia Gray has come to England to open a gallery and to find the father she¿s never known. After meeting a reclusive artist named Marrok, he kidnaps her, mistaking her for some woman named Morganna and demands she free him from the curse she bestowed on him¿fifteen hundred years ago. Thinking him insane she tries to placate him, then attempts seduction, hoping he¿ll let her go. But after a night of mind-blowing pleasure, she¿s not sure she wants to leave. Marrok begins to doubt she¿s actually Morganna, but still believes she¿s the key to unlocking the Doomsday Diary. Olivia learns from some of magickind¿s reluctant warriors, who call themselves the Doomsday Brethren, that she¿s a descendent of Le Fay and will soon become a powerful witch herself. Together they try to find a way to break Marrok¿s curse, even though by doing so Olivia may lose the man she¿s quickly learning to love. Somberly, the Brethren reveal that an evil wizard is attempting world domination and believes the Diary, and Olivia, are the keys to his success. Marrok puts aside his own desires and focuses on training the wizards and keeping Olivia safe. Will the love these two are discovering, and the band of wizards who are more adept with magic than sword wielding, be enough to defeat the sorcerer intent on destroying the world ¿both human and magic¿for good? Shayla Black, thus far known for her scorching erotic romances, has now ventured into paranormal romance territory with the first novel in her new series The Doomsday Brethren, called Tempt Me With Darkness. Not surprisingly, Ms. Black has jumped into the genre with both feet creating an amazing world replete with magic, immortals, age-old battles between good and evil, and intense, passionate love. Vivid and gripping, this must-read hit by Ms. Black will take the paranormal world by storm. Marrok presents as a fierce, ancient warrior whose greatest wish is only to break his curse and die. World weary, his distrust is understandable but when he shows his vulnerable side to Olivia, it¿s enough to turn even the most cynical of hearts to warm jelly. Seemingly naïve as first, Olivia shows her true colors as compassionate and resilient. Equally matched, this couple takes the human and magic world by storm, showing all they¿ll not admit defeat to anyone, least of all a measly, powerful, depraved wizard. Although clear this story is about the love between Olivia and Marrok, the reader cannot help but be enthralled by the rest of the magickind force that fills the pages. Each of the Brethren provokes the desire to know him in a much more intimate fashion. One can only hope each will get his own story. Brava, Ms. Black, for the start of what looks to be a phenomenal series! You can be sure I¿ll be reading each and every one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    Brave New World

    'Marrok sees Olivia Gray and he¿s sure they met in eons past. Morganna! For centuries, towering Marrok, once the mightiest of King Arthur¿s warriors, has endured a terrible curse the witch cast upon him when he spurned her. Marrok has the Doomsday book, the diary Morganna used to cast her curse. The moment she sees him, Olivia shares a mystical¿and irresistible¿connection with brooding Marrok. Soon after the sexy warrior appears in her erotic dreams, he abducts her and demands she uncurse him. Olivia may be the key to unlocking the book that will break Morganna¿s hold on his life. But in the wrong hands, the book also holds the power to destroy magickind. As they search for answers, a ruthless wizard returns from exile to build an army of evil. When he discovers Marrok and Olivia have the diary, only their love¿with the help of a powerful group of magical Brethren¿can save them. That summary only skims the surface of the magical world that Shayla Black has created in Tempt Me with Darkness. Now at first, I wasn¿t too sure about Shayla¿s foray into the paranormal. She¿s an autobuy for her contemporaries, like Wicked Ties and Decadent. But writing magic and immortals? Take my word for it - this story ... this world is worth every single minute you devote to reading and rereading this book. Marrok is a man so damaged by the cursed passage of time that it seems almost impossible to imagine that he would ever trust a woman ... or love. And, for a while, it¿s not at all clear that he will overcome his past. But Olivia invades his heart and his heart will not let him deny her. Olivia is damaged too, but by the indifference of those who ought to love her. Marrok gives her a mirror that allows her to begin to see her value and her capacity for greatness. Together, they begin to heal each other, even while their world is in danger of unraveling. As their love story unfurls, the Doomsday Brethren join together. Warriors sworn to prevent their old enemy from stealing the diary and harnessing its destructive power. Many books deal with well established organizations, and we never see how the group struggled to be born. This is one of the fascinations of this book - seeing how they struggle to build a united community of warriors even when they spend as much time fighting each other as their adversary. The birth of the Doomsday Brethren goes extends well beyond the first of this series. If you are a fan of steamy romance and well-plotted and fast-paced story telling - if you need a new series to give you something to look forward to - if you want a book that won¿t let you go, then grab Tempt Me with Darkness. Just make sure you have enough time to read it. Otherwise, you¿ll be bleary eyed the next day, because you won¿t be able to put it down. I promise!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Fantastic New Paranormal Doomsday Brethren Series!

    Make room for a fantastic new paranormal romance series on your keeper shelves with Shayla Black¿s Doomsday Brethren debut title, TEMPT ME WITH DARKNESS in Sept. 2008 for Pocket Books. In a forest cottage in present day England, reclusive artist, Marrok of Cadbury, one of the bravest knights of King Arthur¿s court in Camelot, has been cursed with immortality by the cunning witch Morganna aka Morgan La Fey because he rejected her centuries ago. Now immortality doesn¿t sound so bad for a tall, dark, viral warrior but there¿s a catch ¿ Marrok can make endless love to countless women but he can never climax! In London, Olivia Gray, owner of the art gallery, A Touch of Magic, has come from America to work in England to search for the father she never knew. In Marrok¿s possession is the Doomsday Diary he¿s been hiding and hopes holds the key to breaking his curse. The only problem is that no matter what he does he can¿t open it. When Marrok gets a visit from powerful, wizard, Bram Rion, who desperately needs the book to prevent the rogue wizard, Mathias D¿Arc and his Anarki minions from taking over their race, Marrok denies having it. Bram then insists on taking the reluctant Marrok to visit Olivia to possibly sell his wood carvings to her. When Marrok meets Olivia, she¿s a beauty--but has Morganna¿s striking eyes. At first he wants nothing to do with her. However, he decides to lure her to his cottage, with the promise of giving her his artwork to sell. What he really hopes is that by seducing Olivia, he¿ll be able to open the book and banish his curse. Little does Olivia know but she is also a witch, who hasn¿t come into her powers yet and when she makes love to Marrok, it has far-reaching consequences neither of them can foresee! Will Marrok get his wish to break the curse and finally die? Will Olivia find her father? Will Bram¿s extraordinary wizard friends be able to fight off the evil Mathias and his followers? Shayla Black has created a unique, intriguing world with her magical Doomsday Brethren that will leave readers breathless! Perhaps Ms. Black¿s slogan says it all: ¿Magic has never been so devastatingly sexy¿ and TEMPT ME WITH DARKNESS proves just that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4