BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tempt the Stars (Cassie Palmer Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Series STILL so amazing at book 6!    Read it straight through.

Series STILL so amazing at book 6!   
Read it straight through.  I think this one had the most action.  It was non-stop.  It was insane, but in a brilliant way.
I was hooked from the beginning to the end.  THE END...ahh....ahhhhh!...the last one killed me, because I kne...
Series STILL so amazing at book 6!   
Read it straight through.  I think this one had the most action.  It was non-stop.  It was insane, but in a brilliant way.
I was hooked from the beginning to the end.  THE END...ahh....ahhhhh!...the last one killed me, because I knew the
wait would be long.  (Book 5 was so good).  But the ending of this book was EPIC!  Book 6...Worth every PENNY!  
I am now officially waiting for word on Book 7!  :) Thank you Karen for a spectacularly unique series!  LOVE it!!!

posted by sl75 on October 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

well, color me disappointed. waited years for this book, just t

well, color me disappointed. waited years for this book, just to have it end where it freaking started. i skipped through numerous exceedingly detailed action scenes and felt conversations lacking in any real dialogue. where is her vampire boyfriend, just one distant...
well, color me disappointed. waited years for this book, just to have it end where it freaking started. i skipped through numerous exceedingly detailed action scenes and felt conversations lacking in any real dialogue. where is her vampire boyfriend, just one distant shower scene that was confusing, or her inability to hold meaningful communications with family and guy trying save. she makes women seem dense and overly dependent upon others, only through pure luck is not killed and gets the job done, somewhat, especially since never seems to know what is going on, even her own abilities or the world she is responsible for.. how was she deemed the special one deserving to be chosen anyways, lol. The next book will sadly probably be my last. Storyline is so slow, in every way possible, and also losing interest because cannot remember previous plots and characters pertinent to overall series.

posted by rubypearl on October 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    Series STILL so amazing at book 6!    Read it straight through.

    Series STILL so amazing at book 6!   
    Read it straight through.  I think this one had the most action.  It was non-stop.  It was insane, but in a brilliant way.
    I was hooked from the beginning to the end.  THE END...ahh....ahhhhh!...the last one killed me, because I knew the
    wait would be long.  (Book 5 was so good).  But the ending of this book was EPIC!  Book 6...Worth every PENNY!  
    I am now officially waiting for word on Book 7!  :) Thank you Karen for a spectacularly unique series!  LOVE it!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    well, color me disappointed. waited years for this book, just t

    well, color me disappointed. waited years for this book, just to have it end where it freaking started. i skipped through numerous exceedingly detailed action scenes and felt conversations lacking in any real dialogue. where is her vampire boyfriend, just one distant shower scene that was confusing, or her inability to hold meaningful communications with family and guy trying save. she makes women seem dense and overly dependent upon others, only through pure luck is not killed and gets the job done, somewhat, especially since never seems to know what is going on, even her own abilities or the world she is responsible for.. how was she deemed the special one deserving to be chosen anyways, lol. The next book will sadly probably be my last. Storyline is so slow, in every way possible, and also losing interest because cannot remember previous plots and characters pertinent to overall series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Love this series

    I would have to agree. This book was awesome some of the
    rehashing was little annoying but l love the triangle and story of this series....cant wait until the next one

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    I have a book hangover..

    Very fast paced, as always. Not my favorite book in the series. I was slightly dissapointed the story ended where it began. If you are a Karen Chance/Cassie Palmer fan you will still enjoy it. The story line might not have progressed much but I think Cassie and Pritkin have. Overall, an entertaining and engaging read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    ?

    Not very satisfiying. Left too many questions for me. Pretty dissapointed with the 'flow' of the storyline. I'll keep reading, but not with the enthusiasm as I once did before.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    This is one of my all time favorite authors, and this book did n

    This is one of my all time favorite authors, and this book did not disappoint. I hate waiting a year for her next book in this series, but it's always worth the wait. I loved this book with all the drama, excitement, and quirky personalities. I am already anxiously awaiting the next book to come out. I highly recommend this author and this series. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Karen Chance is a fantastic writer.  Her characters are very wel

    Karen Chance is a fantastic writer.  Her characters are very well developed and I can not wait to read more.  A lot of people get confused because the books are not romance and are marketed that way, but there is so much more to these books.  The plot is what I read them for and the characters seem very real.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Cannot wait for more!

    Fast paced, action packed! Alredy looking for the next Casdie book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Interesting direction

    It's been a while since I journeyed into the world of Cassie Palmer. After taking a chapter to reacquaint myself with the characters. At which time I was sucked directly into the story. It's interesting that Karen Chance has pulled in Norse Mythology to the story. I look forward to seeing how she develops it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Alot of action not enough romance

    Where is miracea..i am tired of priken constantly getting lost

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Being a goddess is a lot less fun than you might think.









    Being a goddess is a lot less fun than you might think. Especially when you’re only a half goddess, and you only found out about it recently, and you still don’t know what you’re doing half the time. And when you’ve just used your not-so-reliable powers to burglarize the booby-trapped office of a vampire mob boss.






    Yeah, that part sucks.






    But that’s just the tip of the iceberg for Cassandra Palmer, aka the Pythia, the freshly minted chief seer of the supernatural world. After all, Cassie still has to save a friend from a fate worse than death, deal with an increasingly possessive master vampire, and prevent a party of her own acolytes from unleashing a storm of fury upon the world. Totally just your average day at the office, right?






    This is the first book of hers that I have attempted to read, and I have to say it doesn't motivate me to read another one. Frankly, She lost me in the third chapter. I continued to read it until the end, but the pacing of the book is frenzied and the characters, while fairly well developed, seem out of control of their own lives. Too much back story is needed from the previous book (which I wasn't aware existed when I read this one) to really understand this one. This is definitely not a stand alone book.







    This book is action-packed. It doesn't slow down once it gets going and so much happens here that I feel like I'm going to have to give it another try because I know I didn't absorb it all. I really enjoy the characters but I do wish the author had added in less action and more emotional/character interaction. I enjoyed learning a wee bit more about Pritkin but I feel like I didn't get to know Cassie very well. It was all "look out", "get him", "save so and so", "must find Pritkin", "where are we and whose body are we in?" and I was exhausted trying to keep up.






    The love interest between Pritkin and Cassie is lovely and I was glad that the relationship is so strong.. Now she just needs to get it through her head that he's better for her than Mircea. (I just really hate that vampire. I mean really. I'm finding it hard not to express how much I despise that man.) She always seems to have to play these round about power games with the vampire and I believe it's childish for that to happen in a relationship were they supposedly love each other.






    I do believe that Karen Chance is really beating the dead horse with this one. So if you are a Fan of the Cassie Palmer Series this is a book you will like and if you are just starting this series be sure to start with the first book "Touch the Dark".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    WHAT?!?!?

    I am so on team Pritkin that he is the reason I love this series. Mircea is annoying and so is his relationship with Cassie. Speaking of I really thought the further into this series I got the more independent she would become. That isnt the case...

    However back on topic.... this book was disappointing especially after such a long wait. I was furious about Pritkin until the epilogue now I am irritated....

    I want to see Cassie dump Micera's controlling and lying vampire ass and get with Pritkin!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    I love Cassie Palmer and cannot wait for the next one! This is t

    I love Cassie Palmer and cannot wait for the next one! This is the only series that I read where I am rooting for the War Mage over the vampire hands down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great read! Highly recommended!

    I really enjoy reading Karen Chance's books and this one was filled with action, humor and fun. I highly recommend that anyone who wants to step outside their normal lives read this very entertaining series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Confusing

    I think this was the weirdest book. The action scenes were so complicated and didn't make any sense. I loved her other books, but this one was pretty bizarre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In Tempt the Stars (Cassandra Palmer #6) by Karen Chance, Cassan

    In Tempt the Stars (Cassandra Palmer #6) by Karen Chance, Cassandra Palmer is still trying to get used to her new role as the Pythia, the one who oversees all of those in the supernatural world on Earth. She didn't even know she was part goddess until recently and has never been shown how to use her powers before now. Not that there's been much time to learn, considering the numerous attacks on her life since she took over as Pythia.

    Cass finds herself in more trouble when she tries to rescue her friend and bodyguard John Pritkin against demonic forces. She and her cohorts soon are wrapped up in a battle that began centuries ago and involves gods, demons and every supernatural being in between. Cass has much to learn about being the Pythia in a very short amount of time or risk losing the people she has come to care about very deeply.

    Tempt the Stars is a very imaginative and no nonsense urban fantasy by Karen Chance. This is book six in the series and I think it would be wise to read the rest of the books before jumping in like I did. It was a bit overwhelming and confusing but with some perseverance it was possible to understand (most of) the intricacies.

    I did enjoy Karen's writing style quite a bit. It was full of sarcasm and witty responses which, for me, is a joy to read. Cass is the narrator of the story and she gives us the plotline in a play-by-play voice like she's talking directly to the reader. It's in-your-face with blunt honesty and it works perfectly for her character.

    Cass herself was a spitfire of a young woman who just won't quit. Or maybe just doesn't know when to quit. She fights for those she cares about and is willing to do anything she can to help them. She was a complex character to get to know and it was interesting to see her interactions with her bodyguards and other members of the supernatural realm. Admittedly, I don't know the previous chapters of her relationship with Mircea or Pritkin, but I did enjoy Pritkin's character a lot. I can see how Cass could be confused by her growing dependence on him and her attempts to save him.

    Overall, I enjoyed Tempt the Stars and think it's a pulse-pounding example of solid Urban Fantasy writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    My Initial Reaction¿ After two torturous years waiting for it¿s

    My Initial Reaction…
    After two torturous years waiting for it’s release I’m finally holding a copy of Tempt the Stars and thanks to a giveaway by Under the Covers Book Blog, I’m reading it before the release date! The Cassie Palmer series was one of my very first entries into Urban Fantasy, which has become my all-time favorite genre, so I’m a bit partial to these books. And they never disappoint. Tempt the Stars is no exception – I was immediately sucked in by the characters I love, incredible humor, and jaw-dropping scenes.




    The Characters…
    Cassie is one of my favorite Urban Fantasy heroines, and not just because she was one of the first ones I ever read. I love her sense of humor and her determination to make independent decisions, no matter how much every powerful faction out there wants to control her. This hasn’t changed since Touch the Dark, but Cassie sure has grown! As Hunt the Moon ended, Cassie’s world was flipped upside down, again. She’d just learned she was the daughter of Artemis and, because he’d been determined to save her regardless of the personal cost, John Pritkin had been snatched away from her and dragged to his father’s throne in Hell (one of them at least).




    So with Tempt the Stars Cassie is on her own and, of course, she’s got one thing on her agenda. Get Pritkin back! Cassie has been extremely closed throughout the series, letting few people inside her thick shields. Pritkin was one of those people and she’s feeling his absence, not just for his amazing skills, but for his friendship. I was so impressed by the way Chance wrote Cassie’s emotions, you really feel her grief, her determination, and her anger. It’s also really impressive to see Cassie working solo. She continues to be extremely resourceful and imaginative, not to mention willing to run and hide when she needs to. But gone are the days of Cassie cowering. She’s demanding respect and being assertive. Cassie has grown into her power in some amazing ways. Yes, she still struggles with it, but she’s managing some draw-dropping feats we (and she) didn’t know she could do in the first place. And despite all that, she’s still the same person we love deep-down, complete with her love of junk food and casual attire. She’s really redefining what it is to be Pythia. 




    So what about Pritkin? Does she save him? Well View Spoiler », Cassie sure is determined. And Mircea? When Hunt the Moon ended, as you’ll remember, Cassie had just had a very public make-out session with Pritkin, in the buff. Yes, he was saving her life. But no one knows that, because no one knows that he’s half-incubus. I was holding my breath for Mircea’s response and I was kind of surprised by how he dealt with it. He View Spoiler » sure is a mystery.




    The Story…
    Tempt the Stars revolves around Cassie’s number one goal: saving John Pritkin. But, of course, it’s not simple – even for someone who can move through time. It gives her some rare advantages, but also the rare ability to make a mess out of everything. And since Cassie can’t share this problem with anyone besides Casanova and Caleb (John’s friend from the Corps), she’s got to figure this out pretty much solo. And of course, it’s never that simple. There’s also the demands of her office, which includes some interesting and powerful visitors for her to deal with. Like always, Cassie has her hands full.




    I was pretty quickly struck by the reminder that only a couple months have passed since we met Cassie and she began down this tumultuous road as Pythia! It’s hard to believe, since I’ve been reading this series for years – and I was worried that I would forget what happened in the previous books. Usually I like to reread the previous book, but I was unable to do so this time. It didn’t matter. Chance did an incredible job of weaving in reminders of important details and I was never confused. And of course, Tempt the Stars was brimful of all the things you’ve come to expect from the series: humorous, sarcastic acceptance of incredibly bad luck, punctuated by moments of ingenious and gripping action.




    Concluding Sentiments…




    I laughed, I cried, I stayed up too late reading just so I could find out how/if Cassie was going to get herself out of her current predicament. And when the book ended, I sat in stunned silence for a moment, mourning the end of yet another incredible addition to the series. My only complaint is that I have to wait to see what’s coming next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I waited a long time for this one to come out.  I was really loo

    I waited a long time for this one to come out.  I was really looking forward to it.  However, being firmly ensconced in Team Mircea, I have to say I was disappointed.  If you love Mircea and like to see lots of him in this series, this is definitely not the book for you.  Team Pritkin fans will no doubt rejoice.   This time, the over-the-top, non-stop action (translation:  Cassie constantly getting her butt kicked, most of the time due to her own inability to string two thoughts together on her own) grated on my nerves.  Yes, I know she had an awful upbringing and it's mostly not her fault that she was kept in the dark about her powers, but don't you think that as soon as you started finding out all this stuff that you might want to look into things a little bit more?  Everyone has to keep bailing her out from her attempts to bail everyone out, creating a vicious cycle.  Enough, already!  I am really hoping in the next installment that Cassie gets a breather and is able to take some time to actually think for 5 minutes at least and get herself together.  It's time to see some maturity and character growth here.  There was still a lot of the Karen Chance humor that I've come to love in this one, but I do hope the next one is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I emphatically recommend this book to fans of fantasy/paranormal

    I emphatically recommend this book to fans of fantasy/paranormal who have been in the reading doll-drums.

    Karen Chance shows her evil brilliance in weaving a wonderful story once again. The ending of the last book of this series left me frustrated because I didn't want it to end -- it was that good and left my heart in my throat. This one delivered as well and once again it killed me that the story came to the end and on a cliffhanger.

    Tempt the Stars did not start where I expected it to (ie, in the demon world), but instead starts in Vegas with Cassie frustrated in trying to find a way to save Pritkin. I'm so glad it did this because the reader gets to experience the development of the rescue plan and the reveals how hard it was to develop. In this book we also get to explore more of Cassie's relationships with her parents, Pritkin, Caleb, Cassanova, and a hint at Rosier. I kept hoping she would own up to her feelings about Pritkin, but the reader can easily experience the evolution through Cassie's perspective. We are also introduced more to who Artemis was to the demons and more on the whole gods story that's been building during the last 3 books. All of these are great stories on their own, but ingeniously put together into one book without weakening the others.

    I think I enjoy this series so much because Cassie and her friends end up in situations that baffle me how the author will convincingly write them out of and she does so masterfully. I love that it's not predictive other than Cassie sticking her neck out for EVERYONE. Doesn't matter if they are demon, vampire, mage, human, or in between. I'm always stunned by the inventiveness of Karen Chance. My only negative is that I'll probably have to wait another 2 years for the next book, but if that means another intricate well written story, then I'll survive.

    I reread the previous book right before reading Tempt the Stars because I didn't want to miss anything by having forgotten all of the intricacies of the overarching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    aww man talk about cliff hanger!! I can't believe I have to wait

    aww man talk about cliff hanger!! I can't believe I have to wait another year to find out what happens!! it was a really good book, very action 
    packed. I also like that Cassie is starting to get herself more settled with her new position. Cant wait until the next book comes out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3