Customer Reviews for

Temptation

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A beautiful story

    Kyla and Jefferson Blake share some of the best aspects of the American life as few people do. The African-American couple believe God has blessed them, as they love one another, their beautiful daughter, and their devoted friends. <P> On the other hand, Kyla's friend Jasmine has divorced Kenneth Larson, a former UCLA football player she finally kicked him out of her home and life. Jasmine is unhappy and feels God is not answering her prayers. She decides that she made a mistake chasing after a headliner like Kenny instead of a steady doctor like Jefferson. Now she is as determined as she was in college when she chased after Kenny, but her target is Jefferson. <P> A second friend of Kyla's, Alexis Ward meets the love of her life in Jefferson's associate Dr. Brian Lewis. However, to have Brian means surrendering the core values that Alex has lived her life by, leaving her to wonder if love is worth all that? <P>Betrayal and adultery are in the air. Will faith in God help these individuals, especially the Blakes whose perfect marriage is on the brink, find the right way? <P> TEMPTATION is an exciting inspirational relationship drama that works because the prime cast all seem genuine. The problems (loyalty vs. betrayal) they face could happen to anyone, not just Christians. Though not for everyone, Victoria Christopher Murray cleverly weaves scripture throughout the plot, but deftly does it so that the message fits the character and the setting. Any reader who enjoys an entertaining inspirational romance that has a deep Christian core will gain much pleasure and enlightenment from Ms. Murray's well written novel that pays homage to the Lord. <P>Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome reading experience! Better than a movie.

    This book was a suggestion from a friend and I was originally skeptical. But after reading Temptation, I am officially a Victoria Christopher Murray fan. I immediately went out to purchase another book and realized that she had a four book series. Unable to find all of the series in the stores, I purchased A Sin And A Shame, Too Little Too Late, and Lady Jasmine online. There is nothing like a good series that gets you away from bad television and lets you escape. The even better part is that the characters are relatable. The fact that she includes God and the principles of Christianity throughout the book makes it real and a lesson in dealing with life. Great read!!! Don't forget to get the rest of the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    A GREAT ONE!

    This book spoke to my heart soo much that it had me crying when I read each page. I loved it. This is truly talent when you can keep someone engulfed in the book until the END. I have read about 5 books from this author, and this one is close to being my favorite along side TRUTH BE TOLD. I am ready for the next one

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    Wonderfull.....

    I recently started reading books by this author and all I can say is she knows what shes doing. So far each book that I have read by her I cant put down until Its finished. I would recomend this book to anyone who wants a really good read. Read it and you wont be able to stopu turning the pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    A reviewer

    This was a new find for me. I could not believe how real the characters were. The story behind the title is so deep and so true to life. I was glad Jasmine learned something in the book. This book is for anyone who has ever been in a relationship. I truly enjoyed this book. I can not wait to read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Forgiveness and Mercy

    A truly inspirational read with such a great emphasis in growing up in spiritual maturity. I recommend this book for all those who seek a wonderful and inspiring message of forgiveness and mercy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2005

    Powerful

    I could not put the book down. Mrs Murray is so talented. This book helped me to let go and let God. Thank you Mrs. Murray for such a blessed book. This book is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    a reviewer

    I really enjoyed reading this book. The characters are full of life. It makes one reflect on many issues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    I have to read more by this author

    I really enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Excellent read

    This book waswhat I needed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Good read

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~THERE BE SPOILERS~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The book was a good read. I felt every thing Kyla was going through. The devastation of finding your husband with your bf was bad enough but to have the betrayal take place in your bed!!!!!! That alone is ALMOST unforgiveable in and of itself. But really did not understand how everyone thought Kyla should automatically forgive him and stay with him. Don't get me wrong I know she would need to forgive for her own peace and well being but she needed time to wrap her head around what happened and process the betrayal and her lost of faith and trust in the man she loved. She also needed time to reconcile the fact that his infedelity was not due to anything lacking in her. I felt like her family and friends knew that Jefferson screwed up (forgive the pun) but they were treating it as if he was merely caught eyeing another woman, they seemed to gloss over the true depth of his betrayal. Almost as if they were trivializing the infedelity and not understanding Kyla's pain and belief that her marriage was a lie, she needed time to work through this with herself before she could deal with forgiveness. As for Jefferson I need to know why he did it. No way can they move on and recover from this if they don't understand why he did it. How can you "fix" something if you don't know what's wrong? Jeffeson promises he will never do it again but he does not know why he did it this time. Says he loves his wife and never wanted another woman; but you fall into bed with your wife's bf, that you claim not to like? WOW!!!! And Jasmine (the bf) did not have to do too much to get him to that point. He fell willingly. Why? And we won't even talk about Jasmine, ok, maybe a little. This chick was psycho, delusional, rabit boiling crazy!! Watch out for the bf's ladies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended!!

    It is a GREAT book!! I absolutely loved it!!! The story line is excellent. Kudos VCM!! I have already started reading the next book in the Jasmine Series......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Temptation

    While I have not read this book yet, I have read a sin and a shame, too little, too late. So I am sure I will enjoy this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Wow!

    I loved this book. I would read it again but I 'loaned' it to a friend and haven't seen it. The author did an outstanding job of ministering through this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    Must read for Christian wives.

    We thought that this book was a winner since it is full of Biblical lessons. It taught us how Christians could respond to problems in their lives and the lives of their friends and loved ones. It didn't get a five star review from us because there were several parts that were unrealistic, as far as human emotions and reactions are concerned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2004

    Great Read!

    This book was realistic, exciting, and so so hard to put down. Any author who can weave scriptures and ministry throughout a dramatic fiction without compromising their beliefs has a real gift. Victoria Christopher Murray has that gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    Bible Education

    I was looking for drama ,and that is not what is included in this book. But is was beautiful and inspirational because it was based on GOD and the bible. I learned a lot about the meaning of faith and temptation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    Awesome Spiritual Reading!

    I was in WalMart a little after 1am and when I saw the cover I picked it up, read the summary in back, opened it and found myself ending the second chapter a little after 3am. Took it home and couldn't put it down. It meet my spiritual needs. Thank the Lord. I didn't know spiritual novels existed like this one. It was the first one I had read and I recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    OH WHAT A BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

    God bless you Mrs. Marray, I could not put it down I read it in 2 days, the book gives us a look at real things that happen in 'christian' marriages, but you know what I loved about the book you showed us that with God as your foundation satan dont stand a chance God Bless and I pray that God continues to use you through your talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    Eye Opening!!!!

    This book is a must read,if you married and having problems this book is it, even if you're not this is still a must read, its real!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4