Customer Reviews for

Temptation and Surrender (Cynster Series)

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love all Stephanie Laurens books......

She did not disappoint with this book. Great read, great characters, lots of steamy romance. A nice touch is re-visiting with old favorites like Lucifer and his wife. Highly recommend.

posted by Crotion on May 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Are you kidding?

Was this supposed to be a mystery or a thriller? Fuggedaboudit! The treasure's hiding place was apparent from almost the beginning. So was the "villian." About the only thing this book is good for is if you go for soft-core porn. There certainly waas enough of it.

posted by Babette-dYveine on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    Love all Stephanie Laurens books......

    She did not disappoint with this book. Great read, great characters, lots of steamy romance. A nice touch is re-visiting with old favorites like Lucifer and his wife. Highly recommend.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    A Great follow-up in the Cynster series

    Let's skip the summary. The characters are entertaining. The plot is not complicated, but you can sink your teeth into it. I just love having the Cynsters come back, even though not as much as I like and not as many as I would have liked. The only complaint I do have is that I read the story of Lucifer and Phyllida a long time ago and it was hard to assoiciate with them in the beginning. Their story started flooding back to me as I read TAS. This is a definite must-read if you enjoy the Cynster family.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Temptation and Surrender by Stephanie Laurens

    Well, I must admit to being a closet fan of Stephanie Laurens. Her 'Cynster' series and Lindsey's 'Malory' series were what started me on my series seduction. I find reading pleasure and contentment in running across characters I already know and love and look forward to seeing if my imagination regarding future partners for these characters is anywhere close to what the authors themselves come up with. Laurens latest Cynster novel is "Temptation and Surrender", about Jonas Tallent, sister to Phyllida who is wife to Lucifer. Got it?

    Jonas' good looks, and his familial connection to the infamous Cynsters, have made him the toast of the ton. But lately town pleasures seem to pall and Jonas wasn't altogether displeased when his father's duties called him away and he asked Jonas to head to Colyton to oversee the Grange. The biggest task facing Jonas in Colyton is to find a replacement for the recently deceased innkeeper. So far none of the applicants have been promising. Then a new applicant arrives and Jonas' world is turned upside down...her name is Emily Beauregard.

    Emily's real last name is Colyton and now 25, she is the sole custodian of her younger siblings. Almost out of money and facing an uncertain future, she's excited to find the notice regarding the job of innkeeper in Colyton. That would be perfect! Food, a roof, and a job...all in the same place. And she and her siblings can search for the Colyton treasure with no one the wiser. Of course, that's assuming she can get the job with her youth and family responsibilities working against her. She's expecting to charm an older gentleman, and gets the surprise of her life when instead, she gets Jonas! And he's making her search almost impossible as he's always watching her...and kissing her, and seducing her.

    Yes Laurens books do tend to be a bit wordy...and a tad overblown, but I still enjoy the stories at their core. Her heroes are strong yet have their gentle side, and her heroines are some of the stronger female characters you'll find in historical romances. "Temptation and Surrender" adds the lure of hidden treasure and a chance to read a bit about Lucifer and Phyllida...I just couldn't pass that up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Eh

    It wasn't a bad story, but it could have been shortened. I felt it was too drawn out. I've never skipped past sex scenes before, but when every one is like 10 pages long it gets old. Plus the repetitive Colyton spirit phrase. I got it the first 20 times. The story was great, the writing just could have been better. I did like that it wasn't two days and the characters were in love. They got to know each other unlike most romances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Ok

    The book started off good but jus ended up so boring. I tried to finish but gave up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Anonymous

    Too long for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Are you kidding?

    Was this supposed to be a mystery or a thriller? Fuggedaboudit! The treasure's hiding place was apparent from almost the beginning. So was the "villian." About the only thing this book is good for is if you go for soft-core porn. There certainly waas enough of it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Temptation & Surender

    Stephanie Laurens is one of my favorite Authors. I have read all the books in the Bastion Club and the Synster Series. I can't wait until the next book comes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    Great book and series.  Recommend Very Highly!!

    Great book and series.  Recommend Very Highly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    As with all Books from this Author you cant go wrong reading this one . love following her characters through their personal travels through finding there one true mate . I already owned this in paper back as with all her others I've read it over 20 times and will happily read it again !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    I need to start boycotting the Cynster books, sooo repetitive an

    I need to start boycotting the Cynster books, sooo repetitive and her main characters are interchangeable. This was once again in a country manor with a trite mystery you figure out it 2 seconds but takes them 200 more pages! The deal breaker for me is I found myself skimming through the 5pg kiss scenes where they intuitive sense each others thoughts, and then skipped thru love scenes that were boring - guess what - they do it in front of a mirror in yet another book. Please SL, just try using your imagination and think outside the same 4 positions instead of cut and pasting book to book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    excellent read 5stars reccomend to anyone who enjoys historica

    excellent read 5stars reccomend to anyone who enjoys historical novels

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Treasure, intrigue, and a great read!

    I have been slowly making my way through the Cynster series this year and I was growing a little tired of the somewhat formulaic plots. Don't get me wrong, I love all the books, but I should have read something else in between. Anyway, this book was great! A breath of new life into the series, for me, at least. And the descriptions of the sweet and savory pies and tarts! Well, I'm searching for scone recipes Right Now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved the book series

    Love her books, enjoyed the series.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book! I have read all Stephanie Laurens books. I wish I had more to read!!

    This book is just another example of Ms. Laurens exciting and original style of novels. The fact that many of the characters are intertwined and seen in some of her previous books make them almost seem like they are a family.
    Her men are strong and her women stronger making the relationships something to envy. I would love to meet one of either sex to know, relate to, and perhaps love.

    Well Done!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    Another great Cynster Series!

    This is another great Cynster series book. I highly recommend people who are new to Stephanie Laurens to start with her 1st book of each series. It's nice that all the later books intertwine with each other. The story follows Lauren's standard story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was ... Eh

    It was an O.K story. I loved reading about the book on the back then actually reading it. It was way to long and drawn out for my taste.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    Temptation and Surrender

    This book was unrealistic when I first read it but I reread it and it is okay but not as interesting as "What Price Love." The chapters were too long. Stephanie Laurens is still my favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fans of the saga will enjoy the romance of a Cynster by marriage.

    In 1825 using the funds she finally obtained from her portion of her late father¿s estate, twenty five year old spinster Emily Beauregard accompanied by her three younger sisters and brother flees her odious guardian Uncle Harold Potheridge. Emily carries an ad for the position of innkeeper-manager of the Red Bells Inn in Colyton, Devon that she hopes to obtain to feed and house her siblings while searching for her family¿s lost treasure.<BR/><BR/>The owner of the Red Bells Inn, wealthy Jonas Tallent, brother-in-law of Lucifer Cynster (see ALL ABOUT LOVE), has just returned from London to get away from the lofty polluted airs and get dirty running his estates. He is shocked when an obvious lady like Emily asks for the innkeeper job. He is even more stunned by his attraction for his new employee; she reciprocates but refuses to act on desire as her family comes before her heart. However, she needs his help in applying the only clue, an enigmatic riddle, to find the treasure.<BR/><BR/>This is an interesting Cynster sidebar late Regency romance starring two likable lead characters and a strong support cast including Lucifer and his wife Phyllida. Overall the story line is fun to follow as the heroine struggles between temptation and obligation, but her obsessive motive for finding the treasure after wealthy Jonas commits to her and her orphaned siblings never comes across as valid, which also leads to an overdone push and pull by Emily with her beloved. Still fans of the saga will enjoy the romance of a Cynster by marriage.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5