BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Temptation of Angels

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I know, I know, another angel-themed novel but I'm just a sucker

    I know, I know, another angel-themed novel but I'm just a sucker for these, please don't hold it against me! But really who could resist the beautiful cover and the already enthralling synopsis? Even though I've read many negative reviews to this novel, I can't say I agree with most of them. A Temptation of Angels delivered what was expected of it, a most-pleasant read.


    The story starts off rather fast, already full of action, mystery and drama. Meaning the novel kept me hooked from page one. Helen, a completely ordinary girl who is home-schooled by her parents, has to unexpectedly escape her home and leave her family behind. The only things she could take with her were: her necklace, which her mother said to never take it off, and a piece of paper with an unknown name and address written on it which leads her to two peculiar brothers, Griffin and Darius. What Helen doesn't know is that she is no ordinary girl and that her life is about to change forever.

    Have you ever read I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore? Well, the plot reminded me a bit of it but instead of nine aliens being hunted and murdered, in this novel there are twenty and they are angels. I loved the uniqueness in the story involving its angel lore, for example this part of the plot: the Dictata, who chose twenty angels to look after planet Earth and one of these angels has the key to the desired records, which show Earth's past, present and future enabling the holder of the key to change the course of history. But I guess I would have loved to know more about the Dictata and the Syndicate (the enemy) since they were more in the background of the story.


    I loved how Zink's characters were all one of a kind. Helen was a determined and strong girl but somehow I didn't like her that much. Griffin, by far my favorite, was sweet and charming, wasn't in any way the perfect prince charming. The author had a way of showing each character's weaknesses and strengths, making her characters the more realistic and as a result more likable. Darius and Anna could have been more present and I hoped that we would get to know more about them but I wasn't bothered that much when that didn't happen. Raum was another character that was so conflicted and complicated but still relatable and lovable, that even now I can't decide if I liked him or disliked him.


    Overall A Temptation of Angels was a great read that delivered everything I was expecting of it: mysteries, action, drama and a sweet romance. Even though the novel slowed its pace towards the end of the story, the book still captivated me and I recommend to anyone who likes novels with great characters and a lore-related plot.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    I absolutely loved this book! I was so excited when it came out

    I absolutely loved this book! I was so excited when it came out and I could wait to read it. It puts an interesting and fascinating spin on the stories of angels and demons. I connected quickly with each of the characters. I seriously couldn't put this book down. I was completely riveted the entire time I was reading it and just had to know what was going to happen to Helen next. It's an incredibly intense, very emotional read and I loved every minute of it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have heard nothing but great things about Michelle Zink’

    I have heard nothing but great things about Michelle Zink’s writing. It is always nice to get a recommendation for an author, instead of just a book. It speaks so much louder than anything, in my mind. It tells a lot about an author when their fans will gush about their writing style and the reading experience when reading that author’s work.

    Michelle Zink’s A Temptation of Angels is my first book by Michelle Zink. My good friend Caitlin from whatchYAreading has urged me to read Zink’s books since we first met. I know, I am really late to the game, but that’s okay! It was well worth the wait. Zink brings a new spin to the paranormal story of angels. I was instantly drawn to the concept of angelic descendants and the protection they bring to the mortal world. I was instantly drawn to the world that Zink created, with every finite detail that was shown to me through her carefully thought out words.

    The beginning few pages were a great way to grab my attention. From the instant explosive adrenaline rush, I was hooked. I instantly connected to the heroine, Helen. Her innocence and lack of knowledge drew out my sympathy. But seeing her transform was something that I really enjoyed. It wasn’t really a coming-of-age story, but more like coming into her own. Helen has a unique personality and Zink voiced her perfectly. I knew who Helen was supposed to be and the fierce strength that she developed.

    A Temptation of Angels has a great cast of characters. Each one plays an integral part of the story, as well as in Helen’s life. Each moment in the book allowed for the characters to develop into their own leading characters, without being muddled in the background. I enjoyed learning about their past and am anxious to know about their futures.

    I love how Zink wrote this in an alternate universe, setting it in Victorian London. I love how the world is familiar, but still fresh and new. I appreciate the details woven throughout the book, enough so that I would reread a few scenes just to fully take in the moment.

    A Temptation of Angels was a fantastic book to add to my shelf of favorites. The culture of the Keepers, the thrill and excitement of the hunted, as well as the love story developed between two old friends and two new ones…well it was a perfect story filled with fantasy and wonder. I highly suggest picking this up.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not What I Imagined, But Still A Worthwhile Read

    3.5 stars

    A Temptation of Angels was so very different from what I imagined it to be, but Michelle Zink is a fantastic storyteller and truly knows how to capture a reader. The story starts off very quickly and with a lot of punch. Sixteen year old Helen gets instantly thrown into a world that she was oblivious to; her parents are dead, she’s all alone, and she discovers she is one of a few people who help protect humankind.

    Yeah, it’s a little bit overwhelming.

    Helen finds herself some companions in brothers Griffin and Darius though. They are complete opposites, but each offers her some great advice…and maybe a little something more. Their history, mingled with Helen’s, is a tragedy all in itself, but they’re part of a bigger picture. The Dictata is complicated and full of mystery and it’s a story all in itself figuring it out. The crimes against the Dictata, and the murders of its members, hit Helen, Griffin, and Darius very close to home.

    Enter in the bad guy…Raum…he’s supposed to be evil, but I couldn’t hate him. In fact, I find his side of everything to be understandable; not right, but I get him. He’s kind of an enigma in the grand scheme of things. The almost love triangle that forms is very strong (at least to me) from his side.

    My one qualm with the book is that it comes off as too simple. The Dictata sounds complicated, as is The Legion (bad guys), but the focus is more on Helen. She’s important, don’t get me wrong, but I would have liked more about the bigger picture and less about her and her love life. Griffin is nice enough, but his instant love for Helen threw me a bit.

    A Temptation of Angels is an easy read with a historical setting that is a bit vague, but still very much old world London. The setting, the language, and the descriptions are something that I normally shy away from, but I really enjoyed it. Michelle Zink has once again produced a story that is worth reading, but more than that, it is engrossing. It’s not to be missed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Michelle Zink wove an incredible beginning to a fascinating new

    Michelle Zink wove an incredible beginning to a fascinating new series. Steampunk and a tease of angels and demons fill the pages, and even though the story moves at a slower pace it was a page-turner and non-stop action. World building contributed to the slow pace, but I thoroughly enjoyed the characters, the romance and Michelle's attention to detail. I would have liked to see a little more of the supernatural aspect of the story, but I'm sure that will come with future installments in the series. The mature voice of the narrator lends the story a true Victorian England era vibe. I loved the fact that this book did not follow the typical YA mold: love triangles. We are led to believe that there is the prospect of one on the horizon, only that is not the case: Helen knows exactly where her heart resides. All-in-all, Helen was a strong independent character that I look forward to reading more of in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Michelle Zink (Prophecy of the Sisters Series) continues to writ

    Michelle Zink (Prophecy of the Sisters Series) continues to write beautiful, tantalizing novels. Her latest; A Temptation of Angels is a wicked combination of Angels, a Strong female protag, and Historical Fiction that you won't be able to put it down. You'll love Helen Cartwright!

    Helen has good head on her shoulders, she doesn't fall head over heels for a guy or let it clutter up her thoughts. She's a girl on a mission. I'm just gonna say it, she is AWESOME! Loved her bravery and tenacity. She's up there with the other fierce leading ladies. There is a guy...well three! Griffin and his brother Darius. Think of them as Sam and Dean from The TV show Supernatural.They're just as clever and tough as them. But then we have Raum, who I'm kind of on the fence about, his intentions aren't clear but actions speak louder then words and he's is good in my book(for now.) I really liked Zink's secondary characters as well, Anna. Which I'm sure there's something going on between her and Darius. There's more to their story and I dying to know!

    I've always loved Zink's writing and story telling. She never disappoints, with A Temptation of Angels I was totally surprised and blown away. The plot is exhilarating, fulled with dynamic characters and an intriguing new world. The awesome-ness will appeal to teens across the board, I'm sure of it. The 1st book in a riveting new series, introducing the strong heroine Helen Cartwright, which will satisfy teens looking for action, romance and adventure. It's addicting!

    *review taken from Ramblings of a Teenage Bookworm

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    This is an amazing book. I loved it very much.

    This is an amazing book. I loved it very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Romantic fights

    Romantic but a twist of lost . Im positive this is a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    love this but wish there was a sequel or if there is one Mrs. Zi

    love this but wish there was a sequel or if there is one Mrs. Zink would kindly hurry and finish it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Pretty good

    This was a good book. I liked the love triangle and the plot and stuff. I would recomend this book if you like to read about romance and angels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Too short!!!! Yes thats my complaint, ha!

    Ok, so its another winner in my book. Ya'll probably think I never say ANYTHING negative about any books.....,not true!!!!! I'm actually 1 harsh chiqa! I loved the story (period). It was unique, riveting from the first few pages. Iblove a good story that sucks you in right away! I fell in love with Griffin the moment I saw....errrrr read about him! But then thete's Raum......sigh!!!! It ended too fast!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    great YA book!

    When I was about 75 pages in; the book was moving, but it was a bit confusing. There were quite a few characters to remember and there had been a few events that didn't really make sense yet. I was hoping that the story picked up and that I would enjoy the book in the end and I did. This is yet another take on Angels and their role in the world. It is not religious really, not like other Angel books I have read, but the concept of Angels as warriors is biblical.

    Though the story was muddled and confusing in the beginning, after a couple more events, things started to make more sense and the book became more enjoyable. There is both action and romance in this book. Like many other books, the heroine is torn between two guys, one is good and kind, the other has done many bad things, but stopped because he loved her. At least in this novel, Helen makes a choice. No, I am not going to tell you who or what happens, that is for you to find out when you read the book.

    I enjoyed the character development and would like to see more of these characters, though I have not been able to find if there will be more, or if this is a standalone novel. There is an ending of sorts to this book, enough that you are left feeling happy and contented, but there is still enough openness that more could be written. There are not many open questions at the end, which is a good thing in my opinion. It bugs me when books are totally left hanging, like the author wasn't sure where the story was going to go and so they stopped at a point, published the book, and decided after sales whether to write more.

    Positives:

    It has an ending. Helen actually makes decisions.
    The characters are pretty developed, but there is enough left unknown that more novels could be written.
    After a confusing start, it is fast paced.
    There is romance.
    Helen is a good role model; she is strong, independent, caring, understanding, compassionate, and brave.
    There is no sex.
    It is a longer book, and a lot happens.
    There is a pretty tidy ending, but everything bad that happened in the story does not get fixed. I hate too perfect of endings, kind of annoying.


    Negatives:

    see my blog (below)

    I received this book as an ARC. I do not get paid to review books; I do so in order to assist parents and teachers in recommending appropriate books for your kids to read.

    I would recommend this story for girls grades 7 through adult, I don't think a boy would be as engrossed with this story.

    Please read more of my reviews on my blog: sarahereads(dot)wordpress(dot)com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Angels

    The sample was very intense!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    So Good!!!!!

    So Good!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2014

    It was a good and easy read. The author had a very great idea th

    It was a good and easy read. The author had a very great idea that set this book apart from other books about angels. Although the delivery fell flat. The storyline would have been better if Zink would have elaborated more and not rush as much. I would have also liked to get to know the characters more, I feel like too much focus was on Helen. It would have been nice to at least known Griffin and Darius better since they were also Lesser Angels. Overall a really good read I just personally could not connect to it as well and did not mind putting it down very now and then (which is not such a good thing). I just could have seen this book go farther with all it's potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    So many long reviews :/

    So many long reviews :/

    GREAT BOOK!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Don't bother

    Somewhat interesting idea but that is about it... got almost to the end and realized I just wasn't interested in the outcome. $10 not well spent.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    This is a wonderfull book!

    This is a great book i love the story and i love Helen she is a awsome caracter who loved here parents and wants to find the person who killed them and is trying to kill her but dosent know what to do when she finds out is was her childhood freind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Okay.

    It was good.It wasn't bad but it also wasn't great.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    It was an okay read.

    Lately, I've been seeing alot more angel related books in the teen department, which I can't complain because I love the idea of angels mixed in. However, I wouldn't say this is my favorite out of all the ones I've read. It did have a good set upto get the story rolling, but I just didn't completely connect with the story. The love interest was cute, but I hate how it was rushed. By the end of the book, only about a week or two has passed so it seems, and shes already in love with two boys. I felt it could of been better if it was dragged out into the next books so more emotion could of gone into it, and built up the relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2