Customer Reviews for

Tempted (House of Night Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2787 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1895)

4 Star

(533)

3 Star

(224)

2 Star

(75)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

House Of Night Lovers

Hey, I love the House of Night. It starts off with a normal popular girl, Zoey, who is "dating" the top of the line guy, Heath. But, when Zoey is Marked, she must return to the House of Night where she learns how to become a vampire. Sadly, in order to do that, she must...
Hey, I love the House of Night. It starts off with a normal popular girl, Zoey, who is "dating" the top of the line guy, Heath. But, when Zoey is Marked, she must return to the House of Night where she learns how to become a vampire. Sadly, in order to do that, she must leave her friends, mother, and possesed step-"loser". (Ok. Let me explain. Zoey's father left them 3 years ago. Now, her mother is remarried to a religious pastor who is really messed up!!! He is totally controling Zoey's mother.) As she enters the House of Night, she soon learns that the reasoning behind her very sudden popularity isn't just because her "mentor" is a High Priestiss, but that she, even as a fledging, has even more power than the rest of the fledgings, and possbibly even more than some of the mentors, that have been there for a while. As Zoey becomes familiar with life at the House of Night, she makes some new friends, who now, and later, help her out, emencially. Zoey also might make something more than a friend. She is soon kicking Miss Popular, who is the leader of the Dark Daughters and Sons, out of her spot. Some think it is for her own popularity and some think it is because the leader, Aphroditie, is all wrong for the job, and is secretly evil, and on the side of either the humans, who think that keeping the fledgings locked up in houses so that they can't escape and get into trouble is just wrong, or on the side of... umm... you don't really find out WHAT they are. But, the one peoson that Zoey was supposed to be able to go to, is on the side of the "new" kind of vampyre. Can you handle to know the rest of what Zoey has to give up in order to save her life, and the lives of those closest to her?

posted by Corbella on August 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I have devoured this series and I waited in anxious anticipation for this book to come out. Sadly, I was very disappointed. This book drags, describing the play by play (not very exciting action) of every one over the course of about two days. Two very unimportant days!...
I have devoured this series and I waited in anxious anticipation for this book to come out. Sadly, I was very disappointed. This book drags, describing the play by play (not very exciting action) of every one over the course of about two days. Two very unimportant days! The story only began to get interesting in the last 10 pages. Clearly we are seeing commercialism at its best. They know they have us hooked to the series so the authors are stringing us along, stretching out the plot to maximize their book sales and hooking us at the end so that we will want to buy the next book. This is a bridge book, a filler for the real action that SHOULD take place in the next book. If I were you I would wait for the next installment to come out and then read the two books together. Otherwise, you will be just as disappointed as I.

posted by RowanJayne on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2807 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 141
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    I have devoured this series and I waited in anxious anticipation for this book to come out. Sadly, I was very disappointed. This book drags, describing the play by play (not very exciting action) of every one over the course of about two days. Two very unimportant days! The story only began to get interesting in the last 10 pages. Clearly we are seeing commercialism at its best. They know they have us hooked to the series so the authors are stringing us along, stretching out the plot to maximize their book sales and hooking us at the end so that we will want to buy the next book. This is a bridge book, a filler for the real action that SHOULD take place in the next book. If I were you I would wait for the next installment to come out and then read the two books together. Otherwise, you will be just as disappointed as I.

    33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    UGH!

    I AM SICK OF READING THE SAME STORY PLOT! The first 3 were good, but later Zoey really made me mad. i mean seriously she has like 3 guys all over her and she is cheating on all of them. even in the beginning of this series: she like Heath, then goes out with Eric, then sleeps with that teacher (while she is going out with Eric), and if all this is not enough she loves that other guy Stark (or whatever his name is). I have never disliked a book like i dislike this one. I hate Zoey's character and the plot of the book.

    22 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Disappointing!

    I am 27 yrs old but this has been my favorite series up until this book. Nothing was accomplished. It was slow and just went on and on with pointless banter and when it finally got to a good point, it ended 4 pages later with the sadest, crappiest ending of any book I've ever read! Nothing from Hunted was solved in Tempted. It was a complete waste of a book and I really want my $18 dollars back, which is just sad! It's almost as if they are running out of story lines cause they still have so many books to go that their gonna drag and drag in every book to come. Or maybe they just got sick of writing and just gave up on the creativity. I'm also EXTREMELY sick of Zoeys boy drama, just pick one already so these books can finally have some good romance, which lets face it ladies, we want that in books like these and this one didn't have ANY! I was so upset with this book that I will probably never buy another house of night book again in the future. And I find this very disappointing because I truely loved this series. And why are they always only 300 pages long? Are they in this only for the money? Just write as many 300 page books as they can to get as much cash as possible out of their fans? That would be fine with me if they were worth reading, which Tempted was not! I advise to not waste your money or time on this book, and sadly, just give up on this series. Below are some books that never disappoint, check them out instead.

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    House Of Night Lovers

    Hey, I love the House of Night. It starts off with a normal popular girl, Zoey, who is "dating" the top of the line guy, Heath. But, when Zoey is Marked, she must return to the House of Night where she learns how to become a vampire. Sadly, in order to do that, she must leave her friends, mother, and possesed step-"loser". (Ok. Let me explain. Zoey's father left them 3 years ago. Now, her mother is remarried to a religious pastor who is really messed up!!! He is totally controling Zoey's mother.) As she enters the House of Night, she soon learns that the reasoning behind her very sudden popularity isn't just because her "mentor" is a High Priestiss, but that she, even as a fledging, has even more power than the rest of the fledgings, and possbibly even more than some of the mentors, that have been there for a while. As Zoey becomes familiar with life at the House of Night, she makes some new friends, who now, and later, help her out, emencially. Zoey also might make something more than a friend. She is soon kicking Miss Popular, who is the leader of the Dark Daughters and Sons, out of her spot. Some think it is for her own popularity and some think it is because the leader, Aphroditie, is all wrong for the job, and is secretly evil, and on the side of either the humans, who think that keeping the fledgings locked up in houses so that they can't escape and get into trouble is just wrong, or on the side of... umm... you don't really find out WHAT they are. But, the one peoson that Zoey was supposed to be able to go to, is on the side of the "new" kind of vampyre. Can you handle to know the rest of what Zoey has to give up in order to save her life, and the lives of those closest to her?

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    this series is a must

    This is another extraordinary series, will keep you in the thirsty mode to read and keep reading more, it's just addictive, really good, I just have to say is just awesome, is a must for your collection.....

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tempted surpasses Hunted

    After reading the fifth installment of The House of Night series, Hunted, I admit, I wasn't sure if I wanted to keep reading-I was so disappointed with the main character and plot, that purchasing Tempted and giving the series a second chance, was a long and difficult decision for me to make.

    I am so enthralled I made the right choice. Tempted surpasses Hunted, and all the other novels in the House of Night Series. My faith is restored and I finished the book in one-sitting. Couldn't put it down.

    Zoey shows growth, Stevie Rae and Aphrodite reign in as my favorite female leads, and completely stole the show. And my favorite male lead, Stark was perfect from start to finish.

    Then P.C. and Kristin Cast made me fall in love with a new character, showing both darkness and humanity, and the tormented decisions everyone faces at one point in their souls. Rephaim was amazing and a breath of fresh air and intrigue. I cannot wait for more interaction between Rephaim and Stevie Rae. Burned can not come fast enough.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!!!

    This is a GREAT series. I just love it. I'm SO excited for tempted. I almost wish i didnt see this because it's just going to be harder for me to wait till i think november when it comes out. I loved these books so much i would read them in almost a day. This series is good for anybody looking for a good teen book. The characters are like real teens would act today. It keeps you wondering whats going to happen next and sometimes i want to yell at Zoey for her decisions but then in the end its like oh yeah it worked out okay. Sometimes. lol Shes a teen you makes a lot of mistakes and knows shes doing it ut tries not to. if that makes sense. Anyway its a great series. It's a whole new way of looking at vampires. it's nothing like twilight but just as good i think.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    ...

    there is supposed to be 9 books total in this series - we are only at #6...it's gonna be a good one!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Far from 5 Stars

    The writing needs improvement. The characters are shallow. Just when a character with potential gets introduced the Casts ruin it by their needs to make the characters immature. For those who say this book is realistic, i would have to completely disagree. Never before have i met teens as ditzy as the ones introduced in this series.
    I believe that this series has lots of potential if the Casts could learn not to make their characters sluts and actually have real depth instead of worrying over who the hoe is going to end up with when the freaking WORLD is in danger!

    12 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    Disappointed

    I am so upset w/ the ending of this book. The book overall was a good and I love how it was laid out and the changes in Stevie Rae as well as the rest of the gang, but the ending, what was up with that. It just stopped, no conclussion nothing I am very disappointed and not sure if I even want to know the conclussion. Now it will be what another year before the next book is even released.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I loved the books BUT...

    Ok I read the Twilight series as much as the next person (thankfully long before the movie came out and totally killed it) and enjoyed it a little, but when I picked up Chosen (I read them out of order because the books are poorly labeled in numeric order) I was totally thrilled with no sparkly vamps and insane baby mama bf drama, not to say the books weren't entertaining. I loved Chosen and read the whole series all be it out of order it was still a great series. However like so many other reviews I've read on this series I had major issues with the constant love triangle, quadrilateral, and maybe judging by the title now a pentagram. I've had my share of boy issues with the liking my best friend while having a boyfriend thing but come on, really? I don't know any girl like this! However I do think the book has a fairly realistic spin. You have to put yourself in the mindset of vamps have been real forever and everyone has known world but when you do the tie-ins of naming actors and authors makes it interesting.

    I'm currently dying for the new book but I sincerly hope the Zoey boy toy issues disipate because the repetitive issues with multiple men gets old quick. Her confusion and indecision reguarding what to do and her powers poses an interesting and honest view of teenage confusion when thrust into a new and foreign leadership position. The evolution of Neferets character was well timed and deffinatly a great twist. I do have one other concern however the situation with the People Of Faith killing vamps has not once again been addressed and at first it seemed to be Neferets doing so she had an excuse for her "war against humans" but since book four has been left totally unacknowledge with no leads as to who or what murdered the vamps.

    Also I felt the Casts did a good job minimizing the back story catch up in each book, except with Erin and Shaunee they repeat the same explanation which got annoying after book two. Shes white, shes mocha they share one brain we get it you call them twins. If you've ever read the Clan of the Cave Bear series you understand what I mean when I say the Casts don't say a lot of back story.

    One last concern, the books are insanly short. The intergrity of the books keep teens entertained so shouldn't we move past the 350 page mark by now? I mean Twilight is a best seller among teens and thats the size of a computer help manual, I think we can put some more pages in the book without dropping sales... We're teenager not simpletons, we have an attention span longer that a goldfishes...

    All in all I love the series and look forward to Tempted and any other novels that come out for this series.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dragging...

    I completely devoured the first three books in this series: they were fantastic! However, these last few have really begun to drag...I don't know if the Cast duo are trying to capitalize on their fortune or what, but they really need to pick up the pace.

    If you like this series, then I definitely think you will enjoy the "Vampire Academy" series by Mead. Which, incidentally, is getting better and better as the series progresses!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    eh...

    I'll start off by saying that I do enjoy the books and am anticipating this next one's arrival to my collection. I loved the first one, and the second as well... but after that they kind of became almost annoying in some areas. The fact that Zoey is portrayed as almost 'the almighty' is irritating, give the other characters some more hand in saving the day. We get it, Zoey is the High Priestess in training.. that won't change. Also, the Heath/Erik/Stark love-triangle is seriously irritating. She's becoming a harlequin and often plays the damsel-in-distress card. In book 5 she fainted way too often and was awoken in the arms of one of the three of them. Get over yourself Zoey please, pick one and start the juicy romance because this stupid 'butterflies in my stomach' 12-year-old love story stuff is getting extremely boring. I'm not looking for extreme sex scenes, but a nice romance between her and ONE male would be welcomed. Any one of them. Or anyone else-just pick and be done with it already. A third annoying thing is the use of modern-day references. Seriously? Naming pop-culture celebrities as 'vampyres'? Turn off the E! channel and stick within the books genre...FICTION. That's all I want.. pure, un-skanky, fiction. Please and thank you. I personally was very disappointed with book 5, but I'm eagerly awaiting book 6 and hoping it is better and can allieve some of my annoyances.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disapointed

    I have been a huge fan of the series and I was so excited for Tempted to come out yesterday. I really enjoyed the drama between Zoey and "her boys" and Stevie Rays growth. But the ending ruined the whole series for me! I am so angry right now with how things were left! I know that I will have to buy the next book, "Burned" when it comes out so that I can try to understand things again. I loved the ending of the last book but "Tempted" left me angry. JMHO

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ok, I'm sad to say but,

    I don't really like these books anymore! Zoey is being a hoe with three guys after her and it's making me bad! She needs to just end up with Stark! Erik is controling and Heath is annoying and wont leave her alone so she needs to dump them! And for people saying Aphrodite is a pain, I don't agree! I love her, well, I started loving her after she stoped being mean. I wish the writers would stop making Zoey a hoe and stop making the characters so vain and stupid!!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    Well done and left me begging for more.

    I think that "Tempted" was an excellent continuation of the series and it concludes with an evil cliffie. To anyone considering reading the series I recomend it and to everyone reading this series who has not read this one, well, you need to read it. I can't wait for book 7 "Burned". Keep it up Casts!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    not worth the time

    I really enjoyed the first 4 books in the House of Night series, but Hunted wasn't very good, and Tempted is the worst book yet. Zoey is an extremely annoying main character, and if she'd stop worrying about her 4 boyfriends and not cursing, she might actually get something accomplished. The whole book strayed from the point of the story with all of Zoey's ridiculous drama. I don't know what the Casts are heading toward in the series, but I would never recommend the books to anyone anymore.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Such a disappointment!!

    This book was horrible in my opinion. It took place over 2 freaking days! I think in some ways they rush this series but they space it out. Zoey has been at the house of night for what only 2 months and her life goes from bad to the worse sooo quickly. I felt there was really no point to this book but the last 2 chapters. Everything was just a blur. I would say you should read this book to see what you think but I hated this book. Hopefully the next one is a zillion times better.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ADDICTING1

    OMG!!i would have to say best series ever!!!i luv the book except for how zoey cant choose which guy she want,ugh.i would soo pick erik, he is tall,hot,nice,he loves her and her wont lie.i would have stop reading but its so addicting and i want to know what happens.i cant wait for the 6th book!!!
    and are they really going to have a 7th book?
    it would be alsomme!
    there also going to make it a movie

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    GREAT BOOKS!!!

    I absolutely loved this series the more you read it sucks you in I read 5 books in like 7 days I just couldnt put them down. The characters are so funny and it keeps you on the edge of your seat

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2807 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 141