BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tempted (House of Night Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2787 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1895)

4 Star

(533)

3 Star

(224)

2 Star

(75)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

House Of Night Lovers

Hey, I love the House of Night. It starts off with a normal popular girl, Zoey, who is "dating" the top of the line guy, Heath. But, when Zoey is Marked, she must return to the House of Night where she learns how to become a vampire. Sadly, in order to do that, she must...
Hey, I love the House of Night. It starts off with a normal popular girl, Zoey, who is "dating" the top of the line guy, Heath. But, when Zoey is Marked, she must return to the House of Night where she learns how to become a vampire. Sadly, in order to do that, she must leave her friends, mother, and possesed step-"loser". (Ok. Let me explain. Zoey's father left them 3 years ago. Now, her mother is remarried to a religious pastor who is really messed up!!! He is totally controling Zoey's mother.) As she enters the House of Night, she soon learns that the reasoning behind her very sudden popularity isn't just because her "mentor" is a High Priestiss, but that she, even as a fledging, has even more power than the rest of the fledgings, and possbibly even more than some of the mentors, that have been there for a while. As Zoey becomes familiar with life at the House of Night, she makes some new friends, who now, and later, help her out, emencially. Zoey also might make something more than a friend. She is soon kicking Miss Popular, who is the leader of the Dark Daughters and Sons, out of her spot. Some think it is for her own popularity and some think it is because the leader, Aphroditie, is all wrong for the job, and is secretly evil, and on the side of either the humans, who think that keeping the fledgings locked up in houses so that they can't escape and get into trouble is just wrong, or on the side of... umm... you don't really find out WHAT they are. But, the one peoson that Zoey was supposed to be able to go to, is on the side of the "new" kind of vampyre. Can you handle to know the rest of what Zoey has to give up in order to save her life, and the lives of those closest to her?

posted by Corbella on August 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I have devoured this series and I waited in anxious anticipation for this book to come out. Sadly, I was very disappointed. This book drags, describing the play by play (not very exciting action) of every one over the course of about two days. Two very unimportant days!...
I have devoured this series and I waited in anxious anticipation for this book to come out. Sadly, I was very disappointed. This book drags, describing the play by play (not very exciting action) of every one over the course of about two days. Two very unimportant days! The story only began to get interesting in the last 10 pages. Clearly we are seeing commercialism at its best. They know they have us hooked to the series so the authors are stringing us along, stretching out the plot to maximize their book sales and hooking us at the end so that we will want to buy the next book. This is a bridge book, a filler for the real action that SHOULD take place in the next book. If I were you I would wait for the next installment to come out and then read the two books together. Otherwise, you will be just as disappointed as I.

posted by RowanJayne on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    UGH!

    I AM SICK OF READING THE SAME STORY PLOT! The first 3 were good, but later Zoey really made me mad. i mean seriously she has like 3 guys all over her and she is cheating on all of them. even in the beginning of this series: she like Heath, then goes out with Eric, then sleeps with that teacher (while she is going out with Eric), and if all this is not enough she loves that other guy Stark (or whatever his name is). I have never disliked a book like i dislike this one. I hate Zoey's character and the plot of the book.

    22 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Disappointing!

    I am 27 yrs old but this has been my favorite series up until this book. Nothing was accomplished. It was slow and just went on and on with pointless banter and when it finally got to a good point, it ended 4 pages later with the sadest, crappiest ending of any book I've ever read! Nothing from Hunted was solved in Tempted. It was a complete waste of a book and I really want my $18 dollars back, which is just sad! It's almost as if they are running out of story lines cause they still have so many books to go that their gonna drag and drag in every book to come. Or maybe they just got sick of writing and just gave up on the creativity. I'm also EXTREMELY sick of Zoeys boy drama, just pick one already so these books can finally have some good romance, which lets face it ladies, we want that in books like these and this one didn't have ANY! I was so upset with this book that I will probably never buy another house of night book again in the future. And I find this very disappointing because I truely loved this series. And why are they always only 300 pages long? Are they in this only for the money? Just write as many 300 page books as they can to get as much cash as possible out of their fans? That would be fine with me if they were worth reading, which Tempted was not! I advise to not waste your money or time on this book, and sadly, just give up on this series. Below are some books that never disappoint, check them out instead.

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ok, I'm sad to say but,

    I don't really like these books anymore! Zoey is being a hoe with three guys after her and it's making me bad! She needs to just end up with Stark! Erik is controling and Heath is annoying and wont leave her alone so she needs to dump them! And for people saying Aphrodite is a pain, I don't agree! I love her, well, I started loving her after she stoped being mean. I wish the writers would stop making Zoey a hoe and stop making the characters so vain and stupid!!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A HUGE disappointment.

    It has been a few months since i read the other books in this series, and maybe i just forgot what they are like, but it seemed to me that this book was a great let down the the ongoing story. The past book shave been decent, but this book has horrid. This was a pointless book, it makes no sense if you haven't read the other books, and if my memory serves me right, the other books could be read and understood alone. This book is merely a fragment of a boring story that hardly resembles anything that a book should have. The story was incredibly slow and unentertaining. The book went no where, the plot was ridiculous.

    The author took so long to get the story going, that when the plot was actually moving along, the book ended. None of the problems presented in the book are solved, and when the book ended, i was left with an empty, unsatisfied feeling. To my knowledge, i enjoyed the other books, but this book has turned me sour to the whole series, that i once thought was worth reading. The author uses underdeveloped language, that leaves me feeling more stupid after reading the book. I understand that the book is geared towards teens, i am 17, and i felt like i was reading a book geared for a 12 year old. Not only does the author not know how to use adequate language, it is obvious they dont know how to write a good book. I dont recommend this book at all, and i wish i could get my money back.

    this is the last P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast book i will ever buy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    Worst series ever

    I do not recommend these books at all. They are not only poorly written, but also poorly edited. I have found at least twenty mistakes in every book. I also think the books are highly inappropriate for the targeted audience. The main character is so annoying that I am constantly wishing the visions will come true and she will bite the dust. The constant love quadrangle is also very tiring and got old very quickly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    LOVED IT TILL THE LAST FEW PAGES

    This series could have been so much better. Basically what is spread out into 6 books with the release of "Tempted" --- would have been so much better put into just one book. It is only about 3 months of time(at the most) that takes 6 books. The storyline, characters were absolutely great. PC Cast still had me as a fan of the series even with having drug the story out through so many books until she wrote the last few pages. I frankly do not care at this point when or if she decides to write yet ANOTHER book for this series since ---YOU DON'T KILL OFF ONE OF THE BEST CHARACTERS. WHAT WERE YOU THINKING. For me...I was honestly totally into the whole story...knowing in the back of my mind that with how little I had left to read..there was NO WAY it was going to be over...AND THEN THE LAST PAGES. I really just wanted to throw the book across the room. It was like Ms. Cast had run out of ideas or just got sick of writing the book and wanted it finished. It came to such a terrible, abrupt ending that it was NOT a "cliff-hanger" it was literally like walking right off the cliff but only falling 2 feet flat on your face ...THUD! Because of the way this book ended, I would NEVER recommend this series to anyone. I wish I had never read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Seriously Disappointed!!

    Okay, let me start by saying I'm very surprised that this book has such a high rating. I thought writers were supposed to get better as they went along? That wasn't the case with this book. When the writing style takes you out of the story, that's a bad thing. The big problem is that overall it is BORING!! There is no plot. The first 100 pages are full of stupid, worthless, POINTLESS banter and internal dialogue, all of which take place in the span of two hours? It switches from first person with Zoey, to an odd third person with Stevie Rae that just didn't work. I actually skipped 2 or 3 pages from Stevie Rae's POV and didn't miss a beat! My second complaint is that the characters were forced and completely wrong from how they were presented in the first books. Erik is a prime example. In books 1-4, he is sweet, caring, and tender - you understand that he was hurt by Zoey, and she says she even saw love in his eyes when they were on stage together. Then in book #5, the authors hint that he is becoming a possessive jerk. In book #6, they flat out say that he is. Thy change him and then throw in a lame excuse from Aphrodite in an attempt to explain it. For me, it seemed that they didn't want the readers to like him, and we did too much, so they set out to destroy his character and force us not to like him. Third, I'm also seriously tired of the Zoey love triangle. Pick and boy and make out - or don't. But shut up about it! The only redeeming factor in this book was Stark, whom I'm actually starting to like. Although if I have to listen to "Z" lament about her feelings for him, he'll start getting on my nreves too. I didn't love HUNTED - but I liked it okay (3 stars). I hated TEMPTED. I won't be buying another new release for this series. I'll wait for paperback or a used copy. At this point, I don't care about Zoey enough to find out her fate. I'm hoping P.C. and Kristin figure out how to write a good book again before the next release.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Nothing comes up...

    I bought this book for my tablet and its been maybe 3 days now that I havent been able to read it. It keeps popping up with "unable to open book. Something wrong with credit card" or something like that...funny thing is my card was charged for buying the darn book, now I regret buying it through here. Any way I can get a refund? Everything was just fine until this happened....thanks a lot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Wasted money!

    I also just bought it and got blank pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    What!

    I bought the book but only got blank pages!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    RIPOFF

    I bought this on my Nook for ten dollars and all I get is blank pages. I HATE YOU!!!!!! (THROWS NOOK ACROSS ROOM AFTER WRITING THIS)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Teehee

    Im tempted to fart clams :3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Well

    Im pretty sure the only reason these books are getting high ratings is because the only people left reading them are the only ones who can still stand it - Okay, I tried... I cant take anymore - Half way done with Tempted and I just cant stand it anymore....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    What the heck?

    What the heck is with the end of almost every chapter of Zoey's that it keeps ending in either 'ah hell' or 'well hell'? It gets REALLY annoying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    Pulled A Bella Swan

    1. REALLY?!? Zoey can't choose a guy yet?! Erik is possessive and a jerk, Stark nearly RAPED a girl and knew you for a DAY, and yet Heath's loved you his whole life! Honestly? And THEN, there's Kalona, who was being 100% honest with her and he's amazingly hot and immortal... yet she doesn't like him.

    2. Okay, we get it, Zoey's awesome and Hight Prietsess. We get it, she's like an X-man on steriods. Do you really need to add it in EVERY chapter with them say, "Yeah, Z, you're our High Priestess."

    3. Zoey has turned into a Bella Swan, just with less stuttering. She's fainted too many times in one series. And she always wakes up near a guy or in his arms.

    4. Boring. The series started off great, but I was dreading opening this book. This one and the last one were let downs. I'm not even sure if I want to buy the next one.

    5.MUST you have the characters speak in supposed "teenage" slang? Come on, who says "bullpoopie"?? Aphrodite- who seems to be the only character I can stand- swears every other word!

    6. Don't even get me started on the "they made the bright choice" crap they used as to why others weren't effected by Kalona. Unbelievable. Come up with a better reason as to why they resisted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Stupid and way too much information

    This series started out pretty well then it started getting dumb. Like seriously who wants to use words like "poopy" in writing its so mediocre. PC Cast and her daughter try to make this book youthful but instead make it stupid. Damon and Jack?? Their relationship is a dumb sterotype of homosexuals and the style is just amature and retarded. There is unnecessary cursing when it doesn't even fit the characterazation. The style is just all wrong and stupid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    come on zoeyy u give me a headache

    okay i started reading this series and it was really good... the first 4 books were good, but after that the story starts draggin... i mean each book represents like 2 or 3 days of her life... with full details... i mean come on... half the book is about how much she doesnt cuss and fashion.... okay so i started reading this book and 2 pages into my head started hurtin... i mean are you serious.. shes so confused herself.... is she that challenged that she cant pick a guy.... basicly what i thougt was that these books are basicly about a girl whos a vampire and has millions of boyfriends and she cant choose from them, and how much she hates cussing..i gave up my hopes on this series after the 5th book....the story is going nowhere...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Tempted, tempted never to read another book from this series!

    I loved all the previous books, but this was was HORRIBLE. I couldn't wait for it to be released, and bought it the first day it was available. Unfortunately I read it in one day. Yes, just one day. The book covers only a few days of time and has nothing to captivate you. No depth to the characters, no descriptions to the environments they are in, "chandeliers, chandeliers, chandeliers"? I felt used after reading this book, the authors must have in their contract the number of books needed. Unfortunately nothing in their contract about quality. I will read the next book, but at the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    Tempted

    I loved all the other books but this last book (tempted), leaves you hanging in disbelief. I am very disappointed after waiting for it to come out and then being left hanging in the middle of the battle...... if you like this series I would wait to read this book until the next book is available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    It bears repeating...

    I love P.C. Cast's books and all of them, even the House of Night series, are amazing. But I can't help but feel that she sold out. Her Goddess Summoning and Partholon books were amazing. More amazing than a lot of the other books I've read. It just seems that her HoN series, while wonderfully written and a new take on the vampire genre, is an attempt to cash in on the popularity of the teenage fascination with vampires and other supernatural stories. I just wanted to know if anyone else had noticed...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3