Customer Reviews for

Tempted (House of Night Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2781 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1891)

4 Star

(531)

3 Star

(224)

2 Star

(75)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

House Of Night Lovers

Hey, I love the House of Night. It starts off with a normal popular girl, Zoey, who is "dating" the top of the line guy, Heath. But, when Zoey is Marked, she must return to the House of Night where she learns how to become a vampire. Sadly, in order to do that, she must...
Hey, I love the House of Night. It starts off with a normal popular girl, Zoey, who is "dating" the top of the line guy, Heath. But, when Zoey is Marked, she must return to the House of Night where she learns how to become a vampire. Sadly, in order to do that, she must leave her friends, mother, and possesed step-"loser". (Ok. Let me explain. Zoey's father left them 3 years ago. Now, her mother is remarried to a religious pastor who is really messed up!!! He is totally controling Zoey's mother.) As she enters the House of Night, she soon learns that the reasoning behind her very sudden popularity isn't just because her "mentor" is a High Priestiss, but that she, even as a fledging, has even more power than the rest of the fledgings, and possbibly even more than some of the mentors, that have been there for a while. As Zoey becomes familiar with life at the House of Night, she makes some new friends, who now, and later, help her out, emencially. Zoey also might make something more than a friend. She is soon kicking Miss Popular, who is the leader of the Dark Daughters and Sons, out of her spot. Some think it is for her own popularity and some think it is because the leader, Aphroditie, is all wrong for the job, and is secretly evil, and on the side of either the humans, who think that keeping the fledgings locked up in houses so that they can't escape and get into trouble is just wrong, or on the side of... umm... you don't really find out WHAT they are. But, the one peoson that Zoey was supposed to be able to go to, is on the side of the "new" kind of vampyre. Can you handle to know the rest of what Zoey has to give up in order to save her life, and the lives of those closest to her?

posted by Corbella on August 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I have devoured this series and I waited in anxious anticipation for this book to come out. Sadly, I was very disappointed. This book drags, describing the play by play (not very exciting action) of every one over the course of about two days. Two very unimportant days!...
I have devoured this series and I waited in anxious anticipation for this book to come out. Sadly, I was very disappointed. This book drags, describing the play by play (not very exciting action) of every one over the course of about two days. Two very unimportant days! The story only began to get interesting in the last 10 pages. Clearly we are seeing commercialism at its best. They know they have us hooked to the series so the authors are stringing us along, stretching out the plot to maximize their book sales and hooking us at the end so that we will want to buy the next book. This is a bridge book, a filler for the real action that SHOULD take place in the next book. If I were you I would wait for the next installment to come out and then read the two books together. Otherwise, you will be just as disappointed as I.

posted by RowanJayne on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    I have devoured this series and I waited in anxious anticipation for this book to come out. Sadly, I was very disappointed. This book drags, describing the play by play (not very exciting action) of every one over the course of about two days. Two very unimportant days! The story only began to get interesting in the last 10 pages. Clearly we are seeing commercialism at its best. They know they have us hooked to the series so the authors are stringing us along, stretching out the plot to maximize their book sales and hooking us at the end so that we will want to buy the next book. This is a bridge book, a filler for the real action that SHOULD take place in the next book. If I were you I would wait for the next installment to come out and then read the two books together. Otherwise, you will be just as disappointed as I.

    33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Far from 5 Stars

    The writing needs improvement. The characters are shallow. Just when a character with potential gets introduced the Casts ruin it by their needs to make the characters immature. For those who say this book is realistic, i would have to completely disagree. Never before have i met teens as ditzy as the ones introduced in this series.
    I believe that this series has lots of potential if the Casts could learn not to make their characters sluts and actually have real depth instead of worrying over who the hoe is going to end up with when the freaking WORLD is in danger!

    12 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dragging...

    I completely devoured the first three books in this series: they were fantastic! However, these last few have really begun to drag...I don't know if the Cast duo are trying to capitalize on their fortune or what, but they really need to pick up the pace.

    If you like this series, then I definitely think you will enjoy the "Vampire Academy" series by Mead. Which, incidentally, is getting better and better as the series progresses!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    not worth the time

    I really enjoyed the first 4 books in the House of Night series, but Hunted wasn't very good, and Tempted is the worst book yet. Zoey is an extremely annoying main character, and if she'd stop worrying about her 4 boyfriends and not cursing, she might actually get something accomplished. The whole book strayed from the point of the story with all of Zoey's ridiculous drama. I don't know what the Casts are heading toward in the series, but I would never recommend the books to anyone anymore.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Such a disappointment!!

    This book was horrible in my opinion. It took place over 2 freaking days! I think in some ways they rush this series but they space it out. Zoey has been at the house of night for what only 2 months and her life goes from bad to the worse sooo quickly. I felt there was really no point to this book but the last 2 chapters. Everything was just a blur. I would say you should read this book to see what you think but I hated this book. Hopefully the next one is a zillion times better.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay..

    This book kinda upset me. I think the first three books in the series were amazing now I am just getting a little annoyed with the story hope it is better in the next one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    VERY BAD WAY TO END A BOOK

    I REALLY LIKED ALL THE BOOKS UNTIL THIS ONE! I FEEL IT WAS TO SHORT WITH ALL THE DIFFERENT PEOPLE IN THE BOOKS NOW. THE BOOKS NEED TO BE LONGER SO ITS NOT SO RUSHED. I FELT LIKE IT WAS RUSHED AND THE ENDING WAS TERRIBLE. FOR A SERIES I THINK IT SHOULD HAVE ENDED BETTER. I THINK THEY WILL LOSE ALOT OF READERS BASED ON THE WAY THE AUTHORS WROTE AND ENDED THIS BOOK. THE AUTHORS ARE TRYING TO BE A BIG HIT LIKE THE TWILIGHT SERIES, AND IF THEY KEEP WRITING LIKE THEY DID IN TEMPTED, THEY WILL NEVER COME CLOSE!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay we get it.. Zoey's "Tempted" to be with Kalona. Do we have to stay on this topic forever?

    Wow... Gatta say, Tempted was a BIG disappointment.

    Zoey's still juggling the boys- Erik, Heath, Stark, and as of recently, Kalona. The love triangle is growing very old, annoying, and boooring. Heath and Stark seem to have the same pitiful, obsessed personality towards Zoey, only Stark is a bit more cocky. (Every other paragraph consisted of him saying something "cocky" or smiling "cockily" or just looking "cocky".) It wasn't convincing. Oh, if you're wonderin' Zoey boots Eric halfway through the book for his possessive 'tude.

    The plot was the same as the last book "Haunted". Prove Kalona and Nefret to be liars..Guess what, we barely get any closer to having that problem solved. Zoey just finds herself more in love with Kalona and discovers that her soul yearns for him. Stevie Ray makes a big mistake, but it doesn't really blow up in her face or anything. Aphrodite has more visions about Zoey dieing and about Kalona taking over the world. Can't say much without spoiling it, but that's pretty much the gist of all you learn. Wasn't a very eventful or exciting book to put it lightly. **Snore** (Looking for a Nefret/ Zoey blowout? Yeah.. not ganna happen this book either.)

    Imho, It seems like after book 3, the Cast's have been drawing out the story to make more books and more money.

    Let's hope Burned is better shall we? Only a year or so wait..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It's ok

    This series is great if your looking for another vampire fanfic but that's about as far as the greatness travels for me. The first book was AMAZING! So much could have been done with this storyline, but the plot continues to repeat for every book. I think the authors take too much time recapping on the last book so that there isn't enough time to work on NEW ideas for the one they're writing. It needs a twist. Something new. Heath needs to go, he has no remaining importance besides bugging Zoey. Zoey's lovelife needs a new turn also. The whole 3 boyfriends at once is old. I give it two stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    the same boring thing

    I am kind of excited about Tempted but i mean i already know it is going to be about the same stupid thing. Judging by the title she is probably going to sleep with someone new in this book.It's too predictable. i fell asleep in hunted!! i won't buy it. i might borrow it from somewhere. i read the others so i might as well read this one. who knows the Casts might write something different for once!!

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Book lover

    Dont get me wrong this is a great series but im kinda disappointed with this book. Zoey needs to stick to one guy. Yeah i know stark is her warrior and heath heath is just.... well a go to guy when she needs blood to survive but come on. I agrre with another person on here whats up with almost every chapter ending in ah hell. I honestly think this book ciuld have been better. Love the books leading up to this one though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    i havnt even finished the book

    because.. its boring... she needs to pick a guy already.. i dont even care who anymore.. and i dont know. the story just isnt... intresting anymore..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    DISAPOINTMENT

    Ok, so I LOVED this series in the beginning, but now, I'm just kinda bored with the unrealistic-ness of it. Don't get my wrong, I didn't expect everything that happened to Zoey to happen to me next week, but the guy problems, the trust issues witht he teachers, the whole religion thing... whoa
    The idea for Tempted was a 3 or 4, but then Stevie Rae and Zoey and all the other characters started using these weird sayings, "I lurve you like white bread!" "I heart him!" And I want to know where these sayings come from, cause im not from OK, but do they really say those that much that they were included into a book?
    I absolutely hate how the authors went from making Erik everybodys' favorte character who could do no wrong, to a perv who only wanted to makeout with his girlfriend, to an absolute JERK who couldn't deal with Zoey and her other 2 guys!
    Aphrodite is my new favorite, and the same thing that happended to Erik, I mean I've heard of enemies becoming friends but... ... that was pretty darn quick for her and Zoey to become besties!
    And that brings me to the timeline, didn't the 1st 2 books all happen within a month of each other? And what's book 6, half a year, a year? I've seen 4-book series go from age 10 to age 19. Now 6 books in a year? Didn't book four happen in only a week? 300-some pages for 7 days.
    Another thing is, the point of view switching. It kept getting switched every chapter: Zoey, Stevie Rae, Zoey, Stevie Rae, Zoey, Raphiem?!?!, Zoey, and don't forget the Aphrodite, Stark and Heath point of views too!
    Final recomendation, don't waste your money on the book. If your library's got it, check it out, but if you have to buy it? Ehhh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    Disappointing!!

    I fell in love with this series, i read the first five in about a week and a half! I never liked to read something so much, besides the twilight saga. Tempted however left me very dissapointed, i felt like it dragged on and on. one thing i truly hated was that it seemed like the same thing was being said over and over again. if they figured something out they would have to say it to a few people and then someone else would walk in the room and it was told AGAIN!! i read half the book and skipped to the end! Also after reading this book i became to dislike zoey very much, its always poor her and i'v got so many guys and i just don't understand why erik is so pissed at me all the time i didn't cheat on him, even though heath is my other boyfriend and i kissed another boy, but he was about to die so its okay. i was just over it, hopefully the next book will be better!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay, but a huge letdown

    Honestly, I have been hooked on this series since it came out. However, after reading Untamed, I wasn't sure how this would all come together. I actually waited a while before going and buying these last two. Tempted, as much as I hate to say this, was a BIG let down. My friends even agree with me. When Burned comes out, I'm sure I'll read it but it will be a struggle to do so if it is as poorly written as Tempted. It was long and drawnout about the most boring things. Some people may argue that they get to see the characters grow. But you don't really. Yes, with Stevie Rae (sp?) and Aphrodite (sp?) and Stark you do a bit. However, with Zoey, not really. She is the same old whiney and poor me characteristics with another guy thrown into it. I think this makes it the 5th guy now...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Okay...

    All of the House of Night novels have been rather short, and the whole story has taken place over a relatively short period of time (considering how much has happened to the main characters). Tempted is a short and very easy read. For the first time, the reader gets insight into many different character's internal voice, which I didn't really care for...especially considering the ending. In general, the overall story is imaginative, but I feel like the authors are simply trying to squeeze every last drop of money out of the idea. The time frame in Tempted literally was about a week, at the most. It's silly to me, although I suppose one could explain away the lack of character development simply because the characters haven't had time to develop. Will I read the last book? Sure. Am I on the edge of my seat? NO.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    Big Disappointment

    I feel like nothing happened in this book. I was looking foward to Nefret finally being defeated but instead, the plot just dragged on. The authors kept switching back and forth between people people and there were a few times where they had Zoey talking in third person, when she should have been talking in first person like she has been for the whole series. It just feels like the book was rushed. I can't believe we have to wait another year to find out what's going to happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    Filler

    This book was a huge disappointment. one day didn't even pass and you were half way thru the book. I would say they should have continued with telling what happen in the last book and then started this one with a new build up. there was no climax in this book. it was a run on of the last book. i know it is a series but come on in all series you at least get a beginning middle and end to a story. also this one was way more cheesy than the rest. give the lingo a rest would ya.

    Again Very DISAPPOINTING.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can I get my money back?

    I am a huge fan of PC and Kristen, I'm a huge fan of this series...until this book. I recomended this series to all my friends on my website, myspace, and facebook. Now I find myself hoping that none of them went out and bought this book because of me. The one real event that happens in this 300 pager happens in the last five pages, out of no where and you don't even get to see any of the aftermath. Everytime the pressure gets going something happens (they get interupted, Zoey wakes up, PoV change) The POV changes are a nice detour from the HoS standard because lets face it Zoey is pretty self-involved and her thoughts get very repetative but none of us could have been prepared for the fact that Stevie-rae thinks the same way about the same thing just different names and with an Okie accent also they are horribly placed and seem to only be used when the emotion of a character is at peak and the writing may have become more difficult or when the reader is on the verge of learning something about the person. This 6th book in a very loved series reads like a 13 year olds diary on downers. The little bit of plot that takes place in this instalment does nothing to answer questions from Hunted, and it's milked for every little detail (not in a good way)seemingly just to fill pages. My only hope is that this is the first and last of the series where PC and Kristen didn't have anything to write about. And I have to say I'm pretty sick of Zoeys boytoy troubles just like I'm sure many people are...this was not the way to try and fix that Ladies. Sources say that there will be nine books total in this series...lets hope the last three are as good as the first three...and (hint, hint, wink, wink)that none of the animals die!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Also Disappointed

    I waited and looked forward for the next book, I liked the Eric Night character and was hoping for Zoey and Eric to patch it up. I hated the ending of this one. It was a rapid ending that left you feeling like Professor Dumbledore just died.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4