Customer Reviews for

Tempted All Night

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An exhilarating early nineteenth century amateur sleuth romantic suspense thriller

    In 1830 London Lady Phaedra Northampton's quest to locate a missing woman Millie abruptly halts when Gorsky the Russian she sought to obtain information from is dead with a knife in his back. Rake Viscount Tristan Talbot also searched for the same dead Russian as a death bed wish he gave to his estranged father who begged him to complete his last Foreign Intelligent Office mission.<BR/><BR/>When Phaedra and Tristan meet, the attraction has both shocked though she denies the feelings having given up on attraction following a scandal. Tristan fears his reaction because he is the son of a failed marriage between his dying dad and a mom his father refuses to speak about. They have a common goal to solve the murder of the Russian, but differing hidden agendas; hers is to find the missing female from her village and his to please his father. Love is a hindrance to each.<BR/><BR/>This exhilarating early nineteenth century amateur sleuth romantic suspense thriller grips the audience due to the baggage both lead characters carry as they investigate their connected cases and fall in love. Phaedra has a past that makes it difficult for her to trust while Tristan wants to reconcile with his dad. Fans will enjoy their antics as both are used to hanging out with their servants rather than the Ton. Love is a pain in the butt for this pair, but the desire is overwhelming.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    A Romantic Adventure!

    I am an avid historical romance reader, and I adore Liz Carlyle's books. You may remember Phaedra and Mr. Kemble from her earlier books. Phaedra is the half sister of Stefan, who married Xanthia at the beginning of the series. The plot is exciting and keeps moving at a rapid pace - no huge twists and turns here, but adventurous all the same. A great read that you will thoroughly enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good!

    I really enjoyed this book, I liked the characters very much, they were fun. I didn't want to put this book down, I just wanted to keep reading. It was easy to read and fun. This is the second book of the series, try to read them in order.
    I give this book 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Classic HR

    Liz is an easy read. These books are quick and fun and predictable...you get exactly that in this book but I am a sucker for good ole historical romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "Like all good stories, Tempted All Night delivers."

    I like that Phaedra is what Tristan needs in a turbulent time of his life, and that Tristan is what Phaedra needs to understand and accept herself for what she is. I like that Tristan feels regret for his wicked past as it relates to Phaedra, which we don't see a lot of heroes doing. I like that Phaedra also meets and strikes up a friendship with Zoe Armstrong, a woman as lively and bad as Phaedra is quiet and good, yet Zoe is exactly what Phaedra needs in her life to draw her out of her shell, to live life, so to speak. Most of all, I like a good story, and Tempted All Night certainly delivers. Reviewed by Silver for The Raving Readers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Tempted not to put it down

    Great read - keeps you interested the whole way through. Great book to read anytime. You don't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tristan and Phaedra: A Sweet And Spicy Action Packed Love Story

    I love Liz Carlyle's writing, her books are almost always excellent, top notch reads. She tackles some darker issues in Tempted All Night with storytelling skill that comes from a real understanding of what makes people tick. She reveals Tristan and Phae's weaknesses and soft spots, their strengths, their pasts and secrets, and shows us how these two off-beat characters are meant for one another, right down to a mutual desire (though it is a revelation to the heroine) for adventurous "bed play", (as the hero calls it), which is very tenderly handled by Carlyle.

    The current trend in romance novels of introducing characters for the "next book in the series", bringing in people from past romance's, and done so clumsily by other authors, is one of the best parts of Liz Carlyle's books. In Tempted All Night perennial secondary character, antiques proprietor and man-of-many-skills George Kemble reappears, as well as dark and handsome Max de Rohan (hero from No True Gentleman), and Zoe Armstrong (secondary character from Carlyle's very first book) charmingly reappearing here, poised and ready for her turn for a passionate happily ever after in the near future, a story I would love to see and gladly read. I hope this little community of characters never ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tempted All Night by Liz Carlyle

    Liz Carlyle is one my must-buy historical authors. She writes strong characters and interesting plots and her brand new release "Tempted All Night" is another good read for me.<BR/><BR/>Phaedra should be married. She's pretty, she's got a great dowry, and her brother is a Lord. But Phaedra also suffered an almost unspeakable loss when she was very young. That experience, and its repercussions, have resulted in her determination to never marry. She spends her time trying to be unobtrusive and unnoticed. Until the younger sister of her maid disappears, leaving behind a young child. Phaedra reluctantly journeys to London with her family, but not for ton entertainments. Her mission is to find the missing mother...but what Phaedra finds isn't just a missing woman, but a case of murder and espionage. And the man who's trying to help her may be the one to change her mind about marriage.<BR/><BR/>Tristan's father is the Earl of Talbot and his mother was a beautiful Mediterranean peasant his father fell in love with, giving up his chances for high office with the marriage. The result was Tristan, too dark to look entirely English, but undoubtedly the Earl's heir. With little acceptance from his family and his mother gone, Tristan went off to serve as a mercenary and spy-for-hire...something that (intentionally) irritates his father who runs the Foreign Office at Whitehall. But his father is on his deathbed and Tristan can't refuse what may be his last request...to investigate the death of a Russian who may be mixed up with a spy. It doesn't take Tristan long to meet Phaedra, and he is drawn to her almost in spite of himself. Events around Tristan and Phaedra become more and more dangerous, and so does their desire.<BR/><BR/>Two complex and intriguing characters, with messy pasts and dubious futures struggle to understand and recognize love. Each is afraid to care but can't seem to resist the traits of the other. The mystery wasn't too bad either, even though we're told right off who the bad guys are, it still plays out well. The real focus is always the growing closeness and caring between the hero and heroine. There are brief appearances by characters from previous books, but this novel stands on its own. "Tempted All Night" is another solid historical from Liz Carlyle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2