Customer Reviews for

Tempted by Fate (Guardians of Destiny Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You are drawn in to read and can't stop this book is that good.

    When you are a police officer life is seen in only the black and white that is worn with straight lines drawn and rules followed. Very little mystic is involved or faith for that matter. But when you step out of the box to see the full color palate the one color that stands out is gray and even that can wash out into a White Witch.

    Willow Tarata is such a woman that colors the entire world with her beauty and the magic she creates. As a Guardian she has known that it is her duty to protect The Book of Wood part of the Scrolls of Destiny and she takes this job seriously as the parchment controls destinies and impact lives. What Willow also knows is the Bad Man is coming to get her and has been in pursuit she he murdered her mother. Willow does not know who he is or why he wants to harm her but everything in her life has surrounded staying one step ahead of him. She has done a good job of it until the Bad Man sets her up for one murder after another and while on the run she stumbles and falls right into the arms of Homicide Detective Rick Ramirez. Rick is an all business police officer for some reason has decided to use a new interrogation method and he intends to kiss the truth right out of Willow. He doesn't know why he is protecting her or even why he believes she is innocent but it is all physical not mystical that is drawing him to her, or is it?

    Things go from complicated to intense with a side order of high drama as Willow and Rick become more entangled emotionally and physically. Willow and Rick call in friends, co-workers and even a few potential criminals to help them solve the crimes, figure out who the Bad Man is and protect the scrolls. Rick never thought despite his grandmother's predictions to the contrary that he could trust his emotions to run an investigation but who can argue with your grandma they always know best.

    This book continues the series fresh, interesting and with a mystery that is as creepy as it is scary. The characters are fun, diverse and just sassy enough to make you wish you knew them so you could watch this interaction play out in real life. You don't need to read them in order but I always feel you are missing some piece that helps everything make sense if you don't so buy all three.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent Guardians of Destiny urban romantic fantasy

    Willow Tarata's fate was settled when she was ten years old when the beast she called "The Bad Man" killed her mom. Her quest ever since she saw her mom viciously murdered has been to kill this man. Like her mom before her, she is a Guardian of Wood, who for twenty years has followed the blood trail of the evil Bad Man.

    Willow learns of a strange homicide in San Francisco. She rushes to the City by the Bay, but not only is she too late, the evidence points to her as a serial killer as two other similar homicides have occurred. Known for adhering rigidly to standard operating procedures, SFPD homicide detective Rick Ramirez is reasonably sure she is the predator hunting his city, but his heart refuses to accept what he sees so he delays what he knows he must do. Still even blinded by his feelings, Rick believes that somehow Willow is the root to solving the murders.

    This excellent Guardians of Destiny urban romantic fantasy (see marked by Passion and Chosen by Desire) is made fresh by the heroine whose psychological acceptance of wandering, living and dying alone is her essence until Rick shakes her soul. Opposites in personality, Rick and Willow make a strong yin and yang team though each has trust issues when it comes to love having your back. Kate Perry provides a strong entry with this pairing as the duet prepares to fight a malevolent serial killing predator; both wonder if their partner truly has their back since they already have their heart.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Kate has done it once again! I was in a Guardian trance and couldn't put this book down. I love that Willow is a do-it-yourself woman who can stand on her own two feet but also knows how important it can be to allow someone to have your back. Tempted by Fate is every romance lovers dream book. It's fun, fresh and most of all, it's hot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great way to get back into reading romance.

    This was a really good story. I'd kind of gotten burn out on historical romance so I'd left romance alone altogether for a little while. This is the first romance I've read in a few months and it was refreshing to get back into the genre with such a well written specimen.

    Willow was a great main character. She was spunky, witty, independent, and everything else you could want from a heroine. I liked her. Ramirez was nice... I used the model on the cover as a basis for what Ramirez looked like, and he is very nice :-) But my favorite character was Morgan and Lita was a close second. But Morgan is a computer genius. While I'm far from a computer genius I am a bit of a nerd so I was able to connect with her. She also plays as Willow's better judgment, as Willow doesn't always use her own good judgment... And Lita was such a sweet character. She was so knowing (beyond just the knowing the comes with being a grandmother) and was able to see what the future was going to hold for Ramirez and Willow.

    I haven't read the first two in this series and I didn't feel lost in this one. While I do want to go back and read the first two I didn't feel like I was missing a piece of the puzzle.

    The story itself was a good one. Willow, a guardian of the wood scroll, is trying to find the bad man who killed her mother when she was a young girl. The search has lead her to San Fransisco where she meets Ramirez. The chemistry between them is great, even though they both try to fight it.

    I liked the story and I loved the characters. I really do want to get the first two in the series and get the background of the guardians and then I want to see where the next book is going to go, as this one set the stage for something really big. I can't wait to see what it is!

    A review copy of this book was provided by Hachette Book Group.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hot

    Author Kate Perry's book, Tempted by Fate, is listed as part of The Guardians of Destiny Series, with Marked by Passion and Chosen by Desire released first. She has other titles in contemporary romance; Project Date and Project Daddy. Kate Perry is a 7th degree black belt Kung Foo San Soo and collects swords. She resides in San Francisco, California.

    Willow Tarata is one of the Guardians over the mystical Scrolls of Destiny, complete with the powers to do so. Though she hunts those that prey on the weak and vulnerable, she trusts no one, as her sordid past had never allowed her to take that step. Her whole life she's been driven by one goal-- to find the man who murdered her mother and make him pay. But three bizarre murders have brought Inspector Rick Ramirez to her door, and worse yet, he thinks she's involved. And someone wants her powers, someone willing to do anything to gain them. Now San Francisco's hottest detective and a determined Guardian must work together to protect one another from a relentless evil capable of claiming unimaginable powers and killing them all. But believing in each other and trusting each other's instincts may be the toughest challenge yet, especially when a heated passion threatens their professional cool and makes for some interesting setbacks.

    I was privileged to review the first two books in this "Guardians of Destiny" series, "Marked by Passion" and "Chosen by Desire." The first book was told in first-person, the second in third-person, and this book followed suit in third-person. These books gained momentum and steam, making this third book the best of them all. I'm not sure if there are more books coming, but judging by the closure this book gave, I'd say not. Readers who have followed this series will be happy to see Rhys, Gabe, Carrie, and Max from previous books. And did I mention how exciting it is that detective Rick Ramirez is the hero for this book? I adored him in the other books. Though listed as a paranormal romance, this series also has an urban fantasy edge to it.

    I love Kate Perry's writing style. Sexy humor, well-crafted characters, and fast-paced plots make for a thoroughly enjoyable read. Favorite moment: Rick reading Willow the Miranda rights while trying not to kiss her. Hot! Recommended!

    Kelly Moran
    Author and Reviewer
    Bookpleasures

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    ACTION PACKED PARANORMAL ROMANCE! TEMPTED BY FATE BY KATE PERRY

    TEMPTED BY FATE by Kate Perry is a action packed urban paranormal romance set in present day San Francisco. It is well written with details,depth,page turning,and fast paced. It is the third in "Guardians of Destiny"series,but can be read as a stand alone. Book One "Marked By Passion, Book Two "Chosen By Desire".It has romance, sensuality, sexy humor, sassy women,strong men,secrets, destiny, fate, magic, murder, passion, love, the Scrolls of Destiny(Book of Wood), magic, ancient Chinese scrolls(earth,fire,wood,metal,water)and falling in love. You have a sexy,hot,policeman, passionate male hero, Rick and a sassy,vulnerable,tough, assassin,and guardian of the Book of Wood, Willow. Together they must battle a very "Bad Man", who is after Willow's power and murderer. Secrets will be revealed,(of other Guardians,earth,fire,& metal),trust will be tested and love will shine through.Can Willow and Rick overcome the powerful "Bad Man" in order to save them and Willow's extraordinary powers?This is a fast paced,action paced urban paranormal with lots of heated atmosphere,mystery, and sexual tension. I would highly recommend this book and the others in the "Guardians of Destiny" series especially if you enjoy sexy,hot characters with sas and wit.This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Forever, an imprint of Grand Central Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1