Customer Reviews for

Tempting (Buchanans Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Family and finding ones self

Tempting was just that from the moment Dani Buchanan entered the Senator's office to find out if he was her biological father. What she didn't expect was to run head on into the handsome and sexy Alex Canfield, the Senator's adoptive son. Dani's luck with men during the...
Tempting was just that from the moment Dani Buchanan entered the Senator's office to find out if he was her biological father. What she didn't expect was to run head on into the handsome and sexy Alex Canfield, the Senator's adoptive son. Dani's luck with men during the past few years was a disaster......a failed marriage, a cheating and lying married man; she was his victim, and then meeting an ex-priest, what a mess. So Dani decided she would swear off men and would concentrate on her new job and finding out if Senator Canfield was her biological father.

The only way to describe this book was an emotional one for me and the end of Susan Mallery's incredible Buchanan family series. The past books sum up my thoughts, Delicious, Irresistible and Sizzling. In each former book you meet Dani's strong and callous Grandmother Gloria and her three brothers, Cal, Walker and Reid all of whom are involved in Buchanan Enterprises and run a chain of restaurants, a coffee company and a sports bar.

Dani you'll learn is the only family member other than her sister-in-law Penny in having a career with Buchanan Enterprises. The others are blackmailed by their "nasty" grandmother Gloria into helping save the business and when Gloria becomes seriously ill, they all rise to the cause and pitch in to help out Cal takes over the Waterfront Restaurant, Walker runs the corporation, Reid moves into to the mansion to help out with Gloria and her recovery. However, Dani is hurt that all of her years trying to impress her Grandmother have been for nothing. In the end when Gloria strikes out and tells Dani, she's not really a Buchanan and that her mother had an affair and she was the product of it, she's plain and simply devastated.

Of course, she takes stalk in her life, swears off men, begins a new job in a new restaurant and sets out to find out who she is with her brothers and sister-in-laws giving her the love and support she needs. During this "discovery" time, her Grandmother realizes with the help of her nurse that she needs to appreciate her family and Gloria rises to the cause, by making amends with her grandsons, their wives and makes strides to mend her relationship with her granddaughter, Dani. The bond these two women form will make you weep!

Tempting is about family, trust, temptation, healing and the power of love. But most of all about family and discovery! I applaud Susan Mallery on her very powerful series, one I will long remember!



It's family, finding one's self, family dynamics and Susan ties everything together in only the way she, this talented author does with every book she writes.-------------------Reviewed by: Marilyn's Romance Reviews

posted by The-Ladies-Room on August 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

just ok

i read all the books in this series..this was the most slow going for me..it really didnt grab me and keep me..so i was disappointed in this book. but if u have read all the others..might as well read this..if not..then i would not run out to get this one..

posted by 9659246 on March 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Family and finding ones self

    Tempting was just that from the moment Dani Buchanan entered the Senator's office to find out if he was her biological father. What she didn't expect was to run head on into the handsome and sexy Alex Canfield, the Senator's adoptive son. Dani's luck with men during the past few years was a disaster......a failed marriage, a cheating and lying married man; she was his victim, and then meeting an ex-priest, what a mess. So Dani decided she would swear off men and would concentrate on her new job and finding out if Senator Canfield was her biological father.

    The only way to describe this book was an emotional one for me and the end of Susan Mallery's incredible Buchanan family series. The past books sum up my thoughts, Delicious, Irresistible and Sizzling. In each former book you meet Dani's strong and callous Grandmother Gloria and her three brothers, Cal, Walker and Reid all of whom are involved in Buchanan Enterprises and run a chain of restaurants, a coffee company and a sports bar.

    Dani you'll learn is the only family member other than her sister-in-law Penny in having a career with Buchanan Enterprises. The others are blackmailed by their "nasty" grandmother Gloria into helping save the business and when Gloria becomes seriously ill, they all rise to the cause and pitch in to help out Cal takes over the Waterfront Restaurant, Walker runs the corporation, Reid moves into to the mansion to help out with Gloria and her recovery. However, Dani is hurt that all of her years trying to impress her Grandmother have been for nothing. In the end when Gloria strikes out and tells Dani, she's not really a Buchanan and that her mother had an affair and she was the product of it, she's plain and simply devastated.

    Of course, she takes stalk in her life, swears off men, begins a new job in a new restaurant and sets out to find out who she is with her brothers and sister-in-laws giving her the love and support she needs. During this "discovery" time, her Grandmother realizes with the help of her nurse that she needs to appreciate her family and Gloria rises to the cause, by making amends with her grandsons, their wives and makes strides to mend her relationship with her granddaughter, Dani. The bond these two women form will make you weep!

    Tempting is about family, trust, temptation, healing and the power of love. But most of all about family and discovery! I applaud Susan Mallery on her very powerful series, one I will long remember!



    It's family, finding one's self, family dynamics and Susan ties everything together in only the way she, this talented author does with every book she writes.-------------------Reviewed by: Marilyn's Romance Reviews

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    just ok

    i read all the books in this series..this was the most slow going for me..it really didnt grab me and keep me..so i was disappointed in this book. but if u have read all the others..might as well read this..if not..then i would not run out to get this one..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Love the Buchanans!

    This series just gets better and better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    A Series To Read And Reread

    I have read many other books by Susan Mallery and really love her style. I liked this series more than the " Fools Gold" series. The characters in all these books are so realistic and lifelike. You feel like you are standing right there because the dialogue is so great. There were many times in the books when I laughed out loud, the conversation was so funny! I enjoyed the matriarch of the family, Gloria. What an interesting person. The guys are hunks and the women gorgeous so attractions going on are intense! I would really like to see this series continued!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    THE BEST!!!!

    I love all the Buchanans.......Give me more!!!! Don't stop the series Please !!!!11111

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Recommend

    Tempting is a nice easy read. I would recommend it. It is typical Susan Mallery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    +

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    THE 3 BOOKS NEED TO BE READ IN ORDER CONCERNING THIS FAMILY

    THE FAMILY COMPONENTS ARE VER COMPLEX, BUT VERY GOOD READ, ALSO THE WILL TAKE UP A GOOD SUMMER VACATION WEEK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    Good...Not Great

    Dani's story was the one I was looking forward to the most of the four. I think my expectations were too high because while the book was excellently written, like the others were, and tied up all the plot lines really well, it was slightly less exciting then I was expecting. I didn't feel like it went as far into the characters as the other three books did - rather just scratched the surface. I found the book interesting and well-written, but not as interesting as I was hoping for. Overall, the series is a good one and one I would like to reread in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    execellent

    must read all series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Fun

    Susan Mallery is fun and romantic... Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is the last of the series and I have to say I was very sorry to see it end. I enjoyed this one however I was a little disappointed in the characters. I have read through the previous 3 books about Dani's struggle and I was hoping for a little more. Her father seemed like a jerk and really did not redeem himself fully in the end to me. I felt like the love between the two main characters was not developed and nurtured as in the other books. It just kind of happened. All in all I liked how the story wrapped up all the loose ends of the previous books and made me laugh out loud. Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    On top of three failed romances in a year, her pompous grandmother Gloria Buchanan informs Dani that she is not genetically related to her. Stunned she has a need to know who her biological father is. To Dani's shock, she learns her dad is presidential candidate Senator Mark Canfield.-------------------- Dani tries to meet Mark, but one of his eight adopted children (with wife Katherine) Alex refuses to allow her access. However, Dani becomes part of the media frenzy as someone leaks her connection to Mark. As she tries to hide from making the headlines, she and Alex begin to fall in love. He being the adopted son and she the biological daughter of the candidate complicates their relationship, which if they take a chance may torpedo Mark¿s run for the White House.---------------------- The Buchanan family saga is an IRRESISTIBLE miniseries as the SIZZLING key players mature and change in a reasonable manner while keeping their DELICIOUS basic essence. Dani is a delight as she tries to meet her father while his stepson Alex intercedes. To their chagrin, the couple falls in love complicating the complex. Fans will enjoy Susan Mallery¿s fine finish starring two people who have always felt like outsiders inside the respective families that raised them.-------------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    Don't want series to end!!!

    Loved reading about the entire family... can we have more?? Only sad moment was when I finished reading it too quickly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2007

    Tempting is Delicous Hit in this Buchanan Restaurant Series

    Ms. Mallery has another wonderful hit on her hands. The only bad thing about the book was that it was the final book in the series of 4 Buchanan stories. Each book got better than the previous and that is saying a lot. There is a lot going on in this book and the characters are very strong and warm. Even the thirddary 'like secondary' characters of Bailey and Ian are wonderful. Bailey just pulled at my heartstrings and Ian uses humor in handling his handicap. Dani has had several bad romantic relationships and Alex had a bad childhood til this adoptive parents came along as well as having had a bad marriage - so each has trust issues are not not looking for romance. Dani finally gets to meet her father who just happens to be Alex's adoptive father. Alex is very protective of his family and loyalty is really important to him. Ms. Mallery really has a gift of evoking varied emotions from the reader. The scene with Bailey, Dani and the 2 teenagers was very powerful and I wanted to kill the boys myself. Won't say anymore as I don't want to be a spoiler. It was great to see the reformed wicked Gloria again and to see her relationship with Dani grow. Anyway, what are you waiting for? Go out and get and copy - you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7