Customer Reviews for

Tempting Bella

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    A definite keeper! *Book source ~ Many thanks to Entangled for

    A definite keeper!

    *Book source ~ Many thanks to Entangled for providing a review copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Mirabella Wentworth is the daughter of a Duke and when she’s 13 he marries her off to the 3rd son of Cyrus Stanhope, 19-yr-old Sebastian in payment for a gambling debt. After the wedding Sebastian goes back to school and it’s six years before he and Bella meet again. Can this gloomy unlikely start of a marriage become something great? Or was it doomed from the beginning?

    I have to say that this book is delightful from beginning to end. The characters come to life and the writing is fantastic. The plot is a bit more unique than I’ve ever seen in an historical romance, but it works wonderfully. During the entire reading I was empathetic with Sebastian and Bella. Even when they did something that was a bit stupid I understood why they were screwing up. It was because they are so well-written I could tell why they were acting they way they were. It was torture to sit there and go ‘Oh, no. That’s a really bad idea. Don’t do that!’ and know I had to let it play out in order for the relationship between Sebastian and Bella to advance. Torture, I tell you! Wonderful torture. All-in-all this is an awesome historical romance that will make you laugh, sympathize and fan yourself over the shared chemistry. This one is a definite keeper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    I loved this book and the characters. Sebastian is a beta male,

    I loved this book and the characters. Sebastian is a beta male, nicknamed "The Saint" by friends. He is patient and honorable as well as kind. But wait the man can box and win. He can also make his point in a crude manner which he did apologize for (saint). Through out the story little bites of information are revealed by people who know him. Each reveal brought a smile to my face. 
    Bella is headstrong and stubborn. She also knows when to start forgiving. Yes he did keep his identity from her and he did leave her on her own for years. Instead of holding onto the grudge she learns about him. It makes her a heroine one would want to get to know. She has class with her dealing with Orford - another reason she is good enough for the beta male. Yes you fall for Sebastian that much that this story would not work if you didn't like Bella. Which I promise you will. 
    Ms. Quincy's Tempting Bella is one of my top five of 2013. And we know I've read some really great books. It is a book you will want to read more than once. I know I do

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    This is the sequel to Seducing Charlotte, and it did not disappo

    This is the sequel to Seducing Charlotte, and it did not disappoint. Sebastian is a well-written beta hero who truly is the perfect saint
    Ms. Quincy portrays him to be. Every time Bella tried to find something wrong with him, he proved her wrong. Forced into an
    arranged marriage to satisfy a bet between their fathers, Sebastian accepts his ducal responsibilities despite his youth and marriage
    to a child. Years later, he's drawn to his no-longer-a-child bride and seeks out to make his marriage real. I felt the attraction and heat
    between Sebastian and Bella along with their conflicted feelings toward each other. 

    I look forward to reading more from this talented author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    As some of you know I've found a new love for historical romance

    As some of you know I've found a new love for historical romance books. Tempting Bella is one of those wonderful books that has made me so glad I have rediscovered this genre! I loved Tempting Bella, I just plain adored Bella. This woman is strong, independent, has a wonderful flair for dressing to get attention, but yet has a little problem with her confidence because of her father. 




    Diana Quincy has written a delightful story full of fascinating characters and a great storyline. I was completely captivated by the storyline. Bella was married to Sebastian at a very young age. They met for the first time at their wedding that was arranged by their fathers and then go their separate ways. What I loved is that when they meet again they feel an instant attraction without knowing who the other is. They have a wonderful chemistry that leads to some interesting sparks. 




    Sebastian is a true gentleman and takes the time to get to know his wife and make sure she is comfortable. Sebastian is a smart, charming, handsome, honorable fellow that I just could not help but falling in love with. There is of course tremendous tension with all the unknown things between these two. It was a lot of fun watching their relationship build as the story went on. There is also some mystery and a few unsuspected surprises. 




    On the whole this is one wonderfully written book. It contains all my favorites things, some humor, a little mystery, some nice steamy romance scenes, and charming characters. When you mix that all together Diana Quincy has created an ideal book for me. This book is part of the Accidental Peers series. I have not had a chance to read the first book in the series but I did not feel I was at any disadvantage. I think you could read this as a stand alone with no problem. However after reading Tempting Bella I know I sure would not mind reading the first book in the series and I will certainly be looking for more work by Diana Quincy.




    I don't know if there is a story in the works for Bella's friend Tabby, but I hope there is. I really enjoyed her friendship with Bella and think she has a story to tell. 




    I was given the chance to read this fabulous story in exchange for sharing my thoughts with you. As always it has been my pleasure to share my thoughts. If you get a chance to read Tempting Bella, I would love it if you stopped by my blog to let me know what your thoughts are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    You just fell in love with Sebastian after the first few pages!

    You just fell in love with Sebastian after the first few pages! It took almost the whole book to like Bella. Even after you understood her story you just wanted to tell her to get over herself.
    This is about two ppl being thrown into an impossible situation and one of them making the best of it and one looking for revenge. 

    It's such a fast past story your done before you know it. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    A maelstrom of misunderstanding, distrust, and deceit culminati

    A maelstrom of misunderstanding, distrust, and deceit culminating in a love that forgives all. The heroine, Bella, is contrary, opinionated and headstrong, desiring only to control her own life, and the hero Sebastian, a dashing, honorable man who's life epitomizes control are thrust into a marriage of convenience and with Mrs. Quincy's flair for dialogue and unerring ability to write a story that readers feel while reading is a journey no one should miss! A really great and entertaining read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    ***ARC received from Entangled Publishing for an honest review**

    ***ARC received from Entangled Publishing for an honest review***

    Mr. Sebastian Stanhope and Duchess Mirabella Wentworth. They were strangers on their wedding day six years ago, and they are still strangers now. Married young, he was nineteen and she was thirteen, they've lived apart, never coming together as man and wife even after Mirabella came of age. She grew up resenting her husband, fuming over preconceived notions about him, then spent two years adventuring on the Continent after she turned seventeen. He finished his studies then managed his father-in-law's affairs, using his sharp mind to save the estate from financial ruin and turn it into an inheritance worthy of wife's title. Now it's time for Sebastian to claim his wife, to make her his in more than name only. But how can he possibly do that when Bella has no interest in him or the marriage bed?

    This is a getting to know you historical romance, where the hero and heroine are married but are virtual strangers. The story is rich with everything newlyweds in an arranged marriage might encounter--suspicion, caution, defiance, distrust. But it also shows a couple who tries to work past those issues to build not only a strong friendship but also a strong marriage built on trust and love. Oh, there's plenty of mishaps along the way but there are a great many pleasant discoveries they make about each other that compensate for those mistakes.

    Maybe it was the storyline, or the memorable characters, or the ups and downs Sebastian and Bella experienced that made this type of historical romance an enjoyable read for me. Perhaps it was all three. While it's difficult to decide the most appealing aspect of this story, I can say with certainty that I look forward to reading more of Ms.Quincy's work, and hope to enjoy each of her stories as much as I did this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I believe I have a brand new book boyfriend. World meet the lo



    I believe I have a brand new book boyfriend. World meet the love of my life Sebastian, who just might very well be a saint. This man is a definite dream come true and I was a little put off by the fact that Bella did not fall immediately in love with her husband. But then my brain took over and I realized poor Bella had been put in an awful situation and she actually handled it much better than most people would. I loved the wit and dialogue of this story. I enjoyed meeting all of the secondary characters and would love to see a few of them make reappearances in their very own adventures. I’m looking forward to reading more from this author and I’m not sure if I’m wary or not of her replacing Sebastian with a new book boyfriend but I can’t wait to find out.







    Mirabella can hardly remember the man she married as a girl to settle a gaming debt between their fathers. And it's just as well. She feels nothing but contempt for the man who wed her for her fortune and promptly forgot she existed. The ton may call him "The Saint" but Bella knows better.



    Forced to marry as a teen to rescue his family from certain ruin, Sebastian has been apart from his child bride since their wedding day. When he encounters an enchanting impish beauty at the opera, he's is thrilled to find she is none other than his long-ago bride and he is more than ready to make her his wife in truth.


    Too bad the beguiling beauty has no intention of coming meekly to the marriage bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely loved the first book in this series, Seducing Charl

    I absolutely loved the first book in this series, Seducing Charlotte, so I was hoping to like this book just as much. And Tempting Bella didn't disappoint! This book was a lovely, wonderful historical romance. I really enjoyed reading this book and I thought it was brilliant.

    Mirabella was a strong heroine. She may have been forced into this marriage with Sebastian, but she has no intention of becoming a meek wife. After years apart, she returns to her estate, determined to do her duty as the owner and take care of her lands. And that includes finding out where the money from her estate account has been disappearing. I really liked Bella. I thought she was a lovely character. My only complaint is that she was so stubborn in holding on to her suspicion of Sebastian. At first, I understood it. She didn't really know him at all, other than she married him and didn't see him again for years. But, after she got to know him and found that he was an honorable man and even fell in love with him, she was still suspicious. That irritated me because, not only did it throw a wrench in their relationship, but it was also unfair to Sebastian, who had only proved himself trustworthy. Other than that, I thought Bella was a likable character.

    Sebastian was wonderful. I don't think anyone can claim the title of gentleman quite like he can. He is the epitome of the term. Noble, honorable, trustworthy. It's no wonder he earned the nickname "The Saint." He really was one. Just the fact that he was never unfaithful to Bella, even when they were apart, as soon as they were married, was a million points in his favor. That doesn't happen much in historical romance, where the hero is celibate and I really appreciated that he never cheated on Bella, despite how long they were apart. And he was so sweet and wonderful and generous and basically perfect. I absolutely adored him.

    The romance was wonderful. It was a perfect mix of sweet and spicy. Bella and Sebastian were adorable together. And the sparks between them were definitely hot. I thought they were a lovely couple. 

    The plot was fast paced. I was hooked the entire way through. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was brilliant. I can't wait to read to read the next book in the series because the Accidental Peers series is fast becoming one of my favorites. 

    Tempting Bella was a fantastic historical romance. I really enjoyed this book. It was lovely, wonderful, and just a great read. Lovers of historical romance, this is a book you'll want to read.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1