Customer Reviews for

Tempting Danger (Lupi Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Terrific paranormal romance

San Diego Police Detective Lily Yu sees the mangled corpse of a big victim who seemed to know how to defend himself, but was ripped apart anyway. She realizes that this is no ordinary killer. Evidence points towards the Nokolai werewolf clan's Prince Rule Turner.........
San Diego Police Detective Lily Yu sees the mangled corpse of a big victim who seemed to know how to defend himself, but was ripped apart anyway. She realizes that this is no ordinary killer. Evidence points towards the Nokolai werewolf clan's Prince Rule Turner.......................... When someone viciously assaults his father, the clan leader, Rule concludes he can no longer let the officials investigate the murders that make him the prime suspect. He is fortunate that the lead police investigator is not only open-minded, but smells a frame. Lily and Rule team up to try to stop a Lupi serial killer from murdering more innocent people, but neither realized that their partner is their lifemate though both feel the attraction from the start....................... Talk about living dangerously, Eileen Wilks takes her novella ┬┐Only Human┬┐ from the terrific paranormal romance anthology LOVER BEWARE and lengthens it into a fantastic full length novel. The story line contains all the excitement and more as readers gain a greater understanding of the werewolf species and insight into the lead couple. Lily and Rule are a fabulous pairing who must first weed out a rogue killer before they can explore their feelings. Ms. Wilks takes a chance and readers are the winners..................... Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Ify start to the series

Lily Yu is a homicide detective that is sensitive to different types of energies. She arives on the scene of a human murder and senses that a werewolf was the attacker. Near by is Club Hell were werewolves frequent and the prince, Rule Turner, of the local clan is hangi...
Lily Yu is a homicide detective that is sensitive to different types of energies. She arives on the scene of a human murder and senses that a werewolf was the attacker. Near by is Club Hell were werewolves frequent and the prince, Rule Turner, of the local clan is hanging out with the murdered victim wife. At first it looks like Rule did it, but after further investigation, it looks like a setup. Then the only witness that can verify that the victim was seen after Rule got to Club Hell turns up dead.

Rule is facing an attack to his clan. The leader was severely attacked and it looks like who ever did it is trying to tear the clan apart. But besides trying to protect his family, Rule is attracted to Lily. They are Chosen, those destined mates that are drawn together. Besides trying to solve this puzzle, he also has to find a way to tell Lily that they are destined mates when she is clearly trying to stay professional around him.

It was a good story. If the next couple books concentrated on Lily and Rule I would say that it has the potential of being a great series. (I looked what the other books are about and learned that they don't follow this one that close) Although it was a good read, it is one that I didn't have to keep reading to find out where it was going. It was more of a could take it or leave it.

posted by JBronder on April 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific paranormal romance

    San Diego Police Detective Lily Yu sees the mangled corpse of a big victim who seemed to know how to defend himself, but was ripped apart anyway. She realizes that this is no ordinary killer. Evidence points towards the Nokolai werewolf clan's Prince Rule Turner.......................... When someone viciously assaults his father, the clan leader, Rule concludes he can no longer let the officials investigate the murders that make him the prime suspect. He is fortunate that the lead police investigator is not only open-minded, but smells a frame. Lily and Rule team up to try to stop a Lupi serial killer from murdering more innocent people, but neither realized that their partner is their lifemate though both feel the attraction from the start....................... Talk about living dangerously, Eileen Wilks takes her novella ¿Only Human¿ from the terrific paranormal romance anthology LOVER BEWARE and lengthens it into a fantastic full length novel. The story line contains all the excitement and more as readers gain a greater understanding of the werewolf species and insight into the lead couple. Lily and Rule are a fabulous pairing who must first weed out a rogue killer before they can explore their feelings. Ms. Wilks takes a chance and readers are the winners..................... Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Excellent Series

    I put off reading this series as the descriptions didn't really grab me. Now that I am on the seventh book in the series I can say the descriptions do them no justice! One of the best series I have read. A whole cast of interesting and engaging characters, excellent story lines and a variety of relationships that develop and grow throughout the story (friendships, family and yes, romantic relationships). Read them in order as the characters and plot build on one another. Great read!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    Awesome and Funny Read

    Lily and Rule are fantanstic! You have romance and intrigue and the element of the unknown and most of all humor! Especially with the FBI!! Great! Grandmother is AWESOME and can be a Tiger, literally! Dirty Harry the cat! I wish he was mine! I hope he's in the next book as well!! I could NOT put this book down and now I am so NOT patiently waiting for the next adventure!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Great Start to the Series

    I loved this book for it's easy prose and interesting characters. I look forward to the next installment to the series. Fans of Patricia Briggs and Rachel Vincent may also like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a find!

    I am so happy that I saw this on another review as a recommended read. I read this in one day, it was so captivating. I love the characters, and rushed out and bought the rest of the series. I highly recommend the Lupi series, I love Lily and Rule and Cullen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tempting Indeed. . .

    As a scifi(yes, I mean scifi and not science fiction for those of you who know the difference)/fantasy fan, who has a guilty little paranormal romance secret, I'm always pleasantly surprised when a paranormal romance author keeps true to well-established tenants of scifi/fantasy. I was pleasantly surprised by "Tempting Danger," but then I guess I should have expected that from a RITA award nominee.

    Usually, I have a difficult time relating to heroines who are extremely well developed - and very different than me. This time, I didn't mind so much. Lily is a stand alone favorite whether or not we have anything in common. Lily Yu is a young asian american woman who has to deal with horrors in her past, a strict asian heritage, and being a small asian woman on the police force. At first you think, "oh right, just what she needs is another thing to worry about," but surprisingly Rule brings with him a grounding presence once she quits fighting.

    This one made it to the permanent collection, which doesn't happen very often. I hope you enjoy it too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Dangerously entertaining

    This book gets right into the story, doesn't have any whining at all and has a good amount of action. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2006

    Amazing Characters

    The characters in this book were amazingly real. Each with their own personalities and flaws. It left a lot of questions in my mind about where they were going and then I realized that she wrote another. Yea for me :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    Fantastic Read!

    Wow, this was a FANTASTIC read. It actually has a wonderfully written story line, unlike some of the romance novels I've recently read. The way that Dective Lily & Rule, the Lokolai Prince, find each other and fall for one another w/ danger & suspense whiling about was wonderful. And Lily doesn't turn into a dominated, obedient wimp after falling in love. This werewolf story is so chocked full of mystery & suspense it made me want to miss work to stay at home reading it to the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2004

    Characters you'll love

    Eileen's book Tempting Danger is hard to put down once you pick it up. The characters come alive off of the page, and make you hungry to know more about them. (Luckily there is a second book coming out next year!) The chemistry between Lily and Rule is wonderfully played, and I'm so glad she kept grandma in the story. The original world she creates is one I wish I lived in where magic is everywhere and friends can run around on four paws. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    Excellent read

    I originally read the short story 'Only Human' and loved the concept. I emailed the author and told her I had loved her story and was hoping that she would expand her short story to a novel. It was well worth the wait. Its interesting to note that the subgendre of 'paranormal' has taken off and I hope to see much more of Lily and Rule and of course Lily's grandmother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4