Customer Reviews for

Tempting Fate

Average Rating 3.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A Winner! Loved it!

Jane Green is at the TOP of her game with “Tempting Fate” and so deserving of 5 stars- loved it!

It was divine, delicious, and absolutely difficult to put down. It was well worth the time, putting off work to curl up for the weekend to finish this incredible book. I...
Jane Green is at the TOP of her game with “Tempting Fate” and so deserving of 5 stars- loved it!

It was divine, delicious, and absolutely difficult to put down. It was well worth the time, putting off work to curl up for the weekend to finish this incredible book. It grabbed me from the first page, holding the suspense through the ending!

Wow! This was one of the best books I have read by Jane, and if you are a fan of Jennifer Weiner, Emily Giffin, Amy Hatvany, and Sarah Pekkanen, I highly recommend. This is an emotional read, about temptation, family, betrayal, and love - packed with twists, turns, surprises, and explores raw feelings from different perspectives of the man and the woman.

What an engaging story, well written, with great character development. This is a book for single or married women of any age (especially middle age). You will become mesmerized by this thought-provoking story; one which will leave you thinking long after the epilogue. Oh, so loved the intense banter of tasteful but sexy emails and flirting!

Some parts are just too funny and so realistic; even though am single, recall these intense feelings you get when you are in your mid to late forties (the last big kick of hormones turning you into a 25 yr. old); attracting and dating a younger man with all the intensity before the big menopause change of life (leaving you with wanting NO part of any man or sex) thereafter. The storm before the calm, in other words.

You will smile, laugh, and cry and oh . . . surprised as in true love, there is always room for forgiveness, strong family bonds, and second chances! Movie worthy – can envision the cast now!

A special thank you to St. Martin’s Press, via NetGalley for this ARC in exchange for an unbiased honest review.

posted by quaintinns on March 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good book to read when you have lots of time!

This is an entertaining book as far as romance novels go. It is a book that you want to keep reading. The ending could go in several directions and the author does a good job of holding your interest.
I would definitely read and have read other books by this author. Th...
This is an entertaining book as far as romance novels go. It is a book that you want to keep reading. The ending could go in several directions and the author does a good job of holding your interest.
I would definitely read and have read other books by this author. They are all romance with different plots. Good book for book club who likes light romance.

posted by tw73 on April 22, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Winner! Loved it!

    Jane Green is at the TOP of her game with “Tempting Fate” and so deserving of 5 stars- loved it!

    It was divine, delicious, and absolutely difficult to put down. It was well worth the time, putting off work to curl up for the weekend to finish this incredible book. It grabbed me from the first page, holding the suspense through the ending!

    Wow! This was one of the best books I have read by Jane, and if you are a fan of Jennifer Weiner, Emily Giffin, Amy Hatvany, and Sarah Pekkanen, I highly recommend. This is an emotional read, about temptation, family, betrayal, and love - packed with twists, turns, surprises, and explores raw feelings from different perspectives of the man and the woman.

    What an engaging story, well written, with great character development. This is a book for single or married women of any age (especially middle age). You will become mesmerized by this thought-provoking story; one which will leave you thinking long after the epilogue. Oh, so loved the intense banter of tasteful but sexy emails and flirting!

    Some parts are just too funny and so realistic; even though am single, recall these intense feelings you get when you are in your mid to late forties (the last big kick of hormones turning you into a 25 yr. old); attracting and dating a younger man with all the intensity before the big menopause change of life (leaving you with wanting NO part of any man or sex) thereafter. The storm before the calm, in other words.

    You will smile, laugh, and cry and oh . . . surprised as in true love, there is always room for forgiveness, strong family bonds, and second chances! Movie worthy – can envision the cast now!

    A special thank you to St. Martin’s Press, via NetGalley for this ARC in exchange for an unbiased honest review.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    One mistake, one bad decision can change everything.  Gabby &

    One mistake, one bad decision can change everything.  Gabby & Elliot have been married for 18 years and have 2 teenage daughters.  Gabby always wanted one more child, but Elliot had a vasectomy, making his stance on the matter very clear.  If you were to ask Gabby or Elliot, they both would say they were happy, that they were still in love. But sometimes things happen which mess with reality, and change the course of the future.  The characters are so real you feel as if you know them, and you will get caught up in the storyline and be eager to see how it plays out.  This is defnitely a must-read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Doesn't everyone sometime or another in their life feel like a l

    Doesn't everyone sometime or another in their life feel like a little attention from a newcomer would be most welcome. Be careful what you wish for.
    I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Jane Greens new book and found myself immediately sucked into it. Gabby is the main character and at 43 she seems to have the perfect life...perfect husband, two beautiful children, great friends...however, when a younger man shows some interest in her she spins out of control and her life is turned upside down. Great book to spend reading with a cup of tea by the fireplace or this summer at the beach. Don't miss this one!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    First book i have read by this author, Very well written ,  good

    First book i have read by this author, Very well written ,  good story depth, good story development

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Incredible

    As a woman in her forties, this situation hit home. Beautifully written, touching many emotions within. I would love to see a follow up book from Matts perspective. Why was he drawn to Gabby, was it loneliness, mostly fantasy, or true feelings?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2014

    I loved this book. There were numerous emotions felt while read

    I loved this book. There were numerous emotions felt while reading it....Excitement, sadness, happiness. I can definitely relate to how Gabby felt. Just going through the day to do motions and not appreciating what is right in front of you until it is gone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2014

    great read

    Great book! I think that most women would be able to relate to how the main character feels. Loved how it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    Hydro

    The catboy hybrid was too shy to approach Chimer, so he hid in a tree and watched with curious eyes.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    Spade

    *Turns to Chimer.* Nevermind that. Do you know how to operate a firearm?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    Reyna

    The girl jumpe out from the shadows with a dagger, glaring at Spade. "Who are you?"

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    Chimer

    His eyes widened as he watched Spade, feeling a bit of uncertain security; the first in a while, "Why have you come?" He inquired to the leather clad man

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Tempting Fate! I think this is the best book yet from Jane Gree

    Tempting Fate! I think this is the best book yet from Jane Green! Couldn't put it down! Felt like I really knew all the characters and thoroughly identified with all the characters. Read this book as soon as you get a chance, you won't be soory!!! Can't wait till the next book from Jane!!!! If I could give more than 5 stars - it would warrant at least 10 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Great book!

    I've read many of Jane Green's books and love this story. It's genuine and something people can relate to, I believe. I'm giving it to a friend to read next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Great book,,,,Loved it !

    Great book,,,,Loved it !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    great

    Great story... i could totally relate to Gabby. A little repetitive here and there, but completely real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2