BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tempting a Devil

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

In Samantha Kane's Tempting a Devil, her heroine Harriet Mercer

In Samantha Kane's Tempting a Devil, her heroine Harriet Mercer is on a mission to show the Ton she is a "ruined woman." She sets her eyes on Roger Templeton, an old childhood friend and a notorious rake to accomplish this undertaking. Throughout the book we s...
In Samantha Kane's Tempting a Devil, her heroine Harriet Mercer is on a mission to show the Ton she is a "ruined woman." She sets her eyes on Roger Templeton, an old childhood friend and a notorious rake to accomplish this undertaking. Throughout the book we see the results of Harriet's pursuit of Roger, and we find out the reason behind her desire to be ruined.

Samantha Kane was able to successfully create a storyline that was fast paced and had some twists and turns along the way, yet was also able to remain light and witty in many spots. The romance itself, was a mix of sweet and innocence and hot and sexy. The author mixed into the story a compelling cast of characters, that had me laughing out loud with some of their interactions! Her heroine, Harriet was strong, feisty, witty, spunky and independent. Her hero Roger was loyal, stubborn, humorous and gorgeous!

This is the first book that I have read by Samantha Kane, but it will not be my last -- in fact, I enjoyed her writing so much that as soon as I am done writing this I am going to buy (and read!) the first book in this series, The Devil's Thief. I definitely recommend Tempting a Devil!


I received an ARC from Loveswept via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

posted by Jill_S on July 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I'd never read anything by Ms. Kane, so decided to give this a t

I'd never read anything by Ms. Kane, so decided to give this a try, since it fell in one of my favorite genres (historical romances). Overall, I have to say it was a decent book. Harriet (Harry) has a plan to avoid getting forced into marriage with a man who could ruin ...
I'd never read anything by Ms. Kane, so decided to give this a try, since it fell in one of my favorite genres (historical romances). Overall, I have to say it was a decent book. Harriet (Harry) has a plan to avoid getting forced into marriage with a man who could ruin her with the town (it's not a spoiler to admit that the villain fathered Harry's child because Harry's husband, Lord Mercer, was incapable since it comes out in the first few chapters). The villain wants Harry because she's got Lord Mercer's entire fortune and his family is demanding he find a well-bred and well-reputationed woman to settle down with. Harry, in an effort to avoid that, wants to ruin herself by having an affair despite a distaste for the bedroom thanks to said villain's sex.




When she tries to lure a man, distaste for her potential lover maeks her change her mind, which the man doesn't like and she runs into Roger, who she promptly tries to seduce and he willingly goes along...until they discover they're old childhood friends.




As time passes, Roger resists temptation, at first because it would be a come down in the world since it would be abhorent for a man to marry for money (because he'd be a fortune hunter), and then for a very brief time, because he thinks she married for money/status, and that doesn't sit well either.




This had a very unusual ending to my mind, because of the choice Roger makes in order to make himself feel worthy/acceptable as a mate for Harry, and as part of his attempt to woo her once she realizes she's afraid of being married again. That's probably why I end up liking it more than simply dismissing it as a meh, mediocre book.




They deal with the villain in a most satisfactory way, though I thought the actual "dealing with" was a bit overdramatic with what nearly happens (two things) to Harry in the process, buuuut the villain definitely got what was coming to him. So yay Harry and Roger!




There was a nice secondary cast of characters, some of whom I sincerely hope get their own books later on.




So - new author to me, Samantha Kane, will definitely go on my list of "check out her books" list, but not at the top. A 3-star read for me.

posted by ToryMichaels on July 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    In Samantha Kane's Tempting a Devil, her heroine Harriet Mercer

    In Samantha Kane's Tempting a Devil, her heroine Harriet Mercer is on a mission to show the Ton she is a "ruined woman." She sets her eyes on Roger Templeton, an old childhood friend and a notorious rake to accomplish this undertaking. Throughout the book we see the results of Harriet's pursuit of Roger, and we find out the reason behind her desire to be ruined.

    Samantha Kane was able to successfully create a storyline that was fast paced and had some twists and turns along the way, yet was also able to remain light and witty in many spots. The romance itself, was a mix of sweet and innocence and hot and sexy. The author mixed into the story a compelling cast of characters, that had me laughing out loud with some of their interactions! Her heroine, Harriet was strong, feisty, witty, spunky and independent. Her hero Roger was loyal, stubborn, humorous and gorgeous!

    This is the first book that I have read by Samantha Kane, but it will not be my last -- in fact, I enjoyed her writing so much that as soon as I am done writing this I am going to buy (and read!) the first book in this series, The Devil's Thief. I definitely recommend Tempting a Devil!


    I received an ARC from Loveswept via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Roger Templeton has not seen Harriet (Harry) Stanley for fifteen

    Roger Templeton has not seen Harriet (Harry) Stanley for fifteen years and when he does meet her again she is far different from the little girl of his memory. Harriet is a voluptuous beauty who idolized Roger when she was a young girl because he was always rescuing her from her misadventures. She needs Roger to rescue her one more time as she is a wealthy widow with a small son and seeks escape from a nasty villain who is trying to blackmail her into marriage. These characters were well written and had a nicely rounded out background story. A devilish tale.


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Second in good trilogy (LVR)

    Witty, fun Regency romance!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Meh - Not Worth the Money

    This, in my opinion, should be on the 99cent shelf. Good Lord, this story RAMBLED on and on and on and on... And not a very satisfying conclusion. Sure, happy ending, but not satisfying for the avid reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Too much like robinhoodd

    not happy with this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed this book. It was a fast read because I couldn't put i

    I enjoyed this book. It was a fast read because I couldn't put it down. Samantha did a lot of creativity to write this plot line and develop her characters. Harriet, or Harry as she liked to be called was a great damsel in distress. Roger so wanted to be a true rake but couldn't when he was near Harry his favorite childhood friend. Then there was Sir Hillary who tried to keep everyone on the right path. She also developed a truly demonic villain in Faircloth. I don't give spoilers so you will need to read this story to love it as much as I do. It will go straight into my re-read pile.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Kimberly & posted at Under the Co

    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Kimberly & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Having read Samantha Kane’s THE DEVIL’S THIEF at the end of 2012, I was so eager to to read the second book in her series TEMPTING A DEVIL. This series is not your ordinary Regency Romance, these books are sizzling and provocative.

    In TEMPTING A DEVIL, we meet Harriet Mercer, who after marrying up, but to an older and uncaring man, contentedly becomes a widow several years later. Harriet has a beautiful son from her disastrous marriage albeit not in the traditional way, and will do anything to protect him. Since her arrival in London, she has been plagued by the unlikable Mr. Faircloth, who wants to marry Harriet in order to possess who wealth. Harriet decides on a plan to thwart Faircloth efforts. Since Faircloth’s father would only accept a bride with a stellar reputation, Harriet has concocted a scheme to diminish hers. She wants a lover to ruin her reputation, but also to learn from because Harriet’s marriage was a desolate misadventure that left her wanting.

    Enter indomitable Rogue, Roger Templeton, a man with a less than stellar reputation. He lives day to day and by the kindness of friends and the generosity of his conquests. Roger and Harriet were childhood friends, long separated by the time he spies her attempting to seduce a man at a party. Before he realizes that it is his childhood friend, he is attracted to the beauty and desires her for his extracurricular activities. When Harriet sees Roger as the perfect Rogue for her purposes, Roger is uncertain he wants to fulfill her needs. As tempting as Harriet is to Roger, and vice-versa, they are not meant to be. Roger is the ultimate rogue with no means to live and Harriet wants never to be tied down in an unhappy marriage again.

    When Roger thwarts a would-be kidnapping of Harriet’s son, he finds a few reasons to have Harriet in his sights and those luscious curves and her sultry beauty have him falling. He harbors some animosity that Harriet marry for money, not knowing the circumstances, nor did he know that Lord Mercer could not father his own child so he had Mr. Faircloth do the deed. Getting Faircloth out of her life without forever damaging those around her part of the charm of this great story.

    TEMPTING A DEVIL by Samantha Kane is a great follow-up in the Saint’s Devils series. Ms Kane’s interesting cast of characters add to the allure of the story. Roger Templeton, although the rogue, shows a side to him that no one expects, especially where his childhood friend is concerned. Harriet has overcome great adversity in her short life, become a loving mother and a force to be reckoned with. I hope you all give Samantha Kane’s, Saint’s Devils series a go. TEMPTING A DEVIL is a compelling read.

    *Review provided by publisher.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    I'd never read anything by Ms. Kane, so decided to give this a t

    I'd never read anything by Ms. Kane, so decided to give this a try, since it fell in one of my favorite genres (historical romances). Overall, I have to say it was a decent book. Harriet (Harry) has a plan to avoid getting forced into marriage with a man who could ruin her with the town (it's not a spoiler to admit that the villain fathered Harry's child because Harry's husband, Lord Mercer, was incapable since it comes out in the first few chapters). The villain wants Harry because she's got Lord Mercer's entire fortune and his family is demanding he find a well-bred and well-reputationed woman to settle down with. Harry, in an effort to avoid that, wants to ruin herself by having an affair despite a distaste for the bedroom thanks to said villain's sex.




    When she tries to lure a man, distaste for her potential lover maeks her change her mind, which the man doesn't like and she runs into Roger, who she promptly tries to seduce and he willingly goes along...until they discover they're old childhood friends.




    As time passes, Roger resists temptation, at first because it would be a come down in the world since it would be abhorent for a man to marry for money (because he'd be a fortune hunter), and then for a very brief time, because he thinks she married for money/status, and that doesn't sit well either.




    This had a very unusual ending to my mind, because of the choice Roger makes in order to make himself feel worthy/acceptable as a mate for Harry, and as part of his attempt to woo her once she realizes she's afraid of being married again. That's probably why I end up liking it more than simply dismissing it as a meh, mediocre book.




    They deal with the villain in a most satisfactory way, though I thought the actual "dealing with" was a bit overdramatic with what nearly happens (two things) to Harry in the process, buuuut the villain definitely got what was coming to him. So yay Harry and Roger!




    There was a nice secondary cast of characters, some of whom I sincerely hope get their own books later on.




    So - new author to me, Samantha Kane, will definitely go on my list of "check out her books" list, but not at the top. A 3-star read for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Sweet read

    Book 2 of the devils series is just as good as the first. Lots of sexual tension and turmoil. Well done. 284 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Interesting story line!

    Hoping to ruin her reputation, now that's a twist! good story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2