BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tempting the Beast (Breeds Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(168)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Tempting my beast

Lora Leigh is a master of romance. Her romances are emotional, moving and very sincere as well as being hotter than a blazing inferno.
Her characters are unforgettable and always striving for more and better in their worlds.
Callan Lyons is a Feline Breed; a g...
Lora Leigh is a master of romance. Her romances are emotional, moving and very sincere as well as being hotter than a blazing inferno.
Her characters are unforgettable and always striving for more and better in their worlds.
Callan Lyons is a Feline Breed; a genetically altered human whose DNA was grafted with that of a lion. Along with the other Feline Breeds with whom he escaped from the Labs of the Genetics Council, he is doing what he can to protect the few remaining members of the Pride. He is willing to risk everything to keep them safe; physically, mentally and emotionally.
Merinus Tyler is determined to meet with Lyons so that, through her father's newspaper, the Breeds are able to come forth and receive society's protection.
Neither one is prepared for the immediate, and extreme, attraction that takes control, but now that this connection has been forged there are no other options; especially with the Genetics Council determined to eradicate the Breeds and anyone that gets in their way.
You won't soon forget Callan, Merinus or any of the others that populate Lora Leigh's outstanding first Breeds story. If you haven't read FELINE BREEDS 1: TEMPTING THE BEAST and are not averse to scorching romance, then I strongly suggest you give it a try. Both, highly recommended reads.

posted by 148253 on November 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I can not contiune with this series

I first started with "magans mark" , me not knowing the series yet. Then I purchesed the first one. I finished the book, but I will not contiune with the series. Lora Leigh's writing is graphic for my taste. I was rolling my eyes during this book in places. Not good eno...
I first started with "magans mark" , me not knowing the series yet. Then I purchesed the first one. I finished the book, but I will not contiune with the series. Lora Leigh's writing is graphic for my taste. I was rolling my eyes during this book in places. Not good enough for me for the money.

posted by topspin on June 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    I can not contiune with this series

    I first started with "magans mark" , me not knowing the series yet. Then I purchesed the first one. I finished the book, but I will not contiune with the series. Lora Leigh's writing is graphic for my taste. I was rolling my eyes during this book in places. Not good enough for me for the money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Hot

    Lots of explicit sex, so decide before you buy what you are comfortablle with in that regard. Otherwise, good characters and plot. Planning to read more because i want to see what happens to some of the secondary characters as well as the primary ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Great start to a great series!

    Loved it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hmmm... How many times can a book say the C word... I am not a p

    Hmmm... How many times can a book say the C word... I am not a prude but using the C word over 10 times in a chapter is just...different. 
    I thought that the basic consept of this novel was interesting. This was a quick read. The characters were interesting yet unrealistic. The main girl character made me want to scream half the time. The sex was a little too much, most of the time I had to just turn my brain off and try not to think that it was sexually assault. I understand that at the moments of passion the brain turns off and they are animalistic but seriously, it read like a woman's wet dream and not like a thought out novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Was Not Impressed With Callan

    The book was a good read. It touched all the basics of how the breeds came about. I was intrigued with the plot and very impressed by Lora Leigh's imagination. I loved the way she described Callan physically, but it stopped there. I wanted to see more romance between Callan and Merinus. Don't get me wrong, there was plenty of erotic moments and passion between them physically, but I wanted to see Callan express his love for Merinus somewhere in the middle of the book instead of waiting to the end. Merinus was very vocal about her feelings for him, but the only thing Callan did was say she was his and that he would never let her go and how much she turned him on. Okay, I get that, but that could have easily been mistaken for just his instincts or DNA talking since they tend to make him naturally possessive and demanding. It wasn't a true feeling from the heart, but a natural need and physical need to be around her. It seemed to me he wasn't willing to admit anything to her until he almost lost her and poor Merinus was pouring out her heart to him throughout the book.
    Another thing that sort of irritated me about Callan was his refusal to accept Merinus help. Actually, the man seemed to be in denial of everything that was happening around him even Merinus herself. To me, he wasn't generally the Alpha type because most of the time he sat around brooding about his life and constantly thinking of running away and hiding until the Council found him. There was more than one moment that he mentioned he was waiting for his death. I kept wanting to hit him upside the head and yell. "Get a grip man!" Be an Alpha male and stand up for yourself and take a chance in Merinus helping you. The only time he was an Alpha was in his dominating ways with Merinus and his instincts to kill anyone that caused her harm.

    I suppose Callan's entire character just irritated me some way. I think it started with the little masturbation stunt he pulled on Merinus when she was spying on him. Perhaps if I had known he hadn't done it on purpose, then my reaction to that scene would have been different, but knowing he did it on purpose was a turn off. The only thing I could think of was pervert! Why would you masturbate in front of woman you hardly knew? He didn't act like a lion breed, at least not my version of a lion breed. I expected him to be a little more courageous and confident in himself.

    In general, despite Callan's character, I really enjoyed reading the book and I look forward to her next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    More like a 3.5 rating

    Tempting The Beast is the first in the Breed series. The first three quarters of the book I was very disappointed by the story. The plot seemed thin. I personally don't mind a far-fetched plot line (this is the fantasy genre) when it's well and strongly done. That was missing at the beginning of the book. It seemed that this book was over-edited. There were times when passages seemed to be missing that would have added to the flow and continuity of the story and conversations between the characters. There were times I turned back a page because the conversation seemed to jump ahead with out real warning. A little more detail could have made this smoother.

    Merinus was also one of the most annoying leading ladies I have ever had to suffer through. It seemed both she and the author were confused as to who she really was. I honestly get tired of authors creating great alpha males and then trying to come up with an equally strong counterpart for them who comes off as a strubborn, irrational, screaming shrew an is no where near the males equal in anyway. Stubbornnes is not a writing shortcut for strength and a woman's smart-aleck response does not necessrily put them on equal footing or put the man in his place.

    There is the attempt to portray Merinua as a hard-as-nails chick. A strong woman more than equal to Callan (an alpha male), but the only sign of that inner strength was her foul mouth. When she attempted to stand up for herself it was not on her own two feet but her brother's brawn. I lost count of how much time she spent crying. She did not seem smart enough or mature enough to handle the assignment of reaching out to Callan on behalf of the family news business. For the first three quarters of the book she was more like a spoiled princess threatening to have her brothers beat Callan up. She was almost enough to put the book down...

    Except there was Callan, strong alpha male that he was. He made the first three quarters of the book readable for me. He on the other hand was smart and it was easy to understand where he was coming from.

    The book really starts to pick up in the last 60 pages with the action and Merinus suddenly joins adulthood in her maturity level (although when that finally happened I wondered what was the point of all the complaining in the first half of the book?) The plot pulls together for a strong ending that makes you want to pick up the other books. This book could probably have stood for another 50 or more pages to firm up the plot through the beginning of the book.

    Overall becuase of a great alpha male and a strong ending I would rate this book as a 3.5 and I'll acutally put the next book on my to read list.

    Warning: This book is more than steamy, it's graphic if you are prone to blush at all, you may want to skip it as there are a lot of sex scene's.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2