Customer Reviews for

Tempting the Billionaire

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tempting The Billionaire is a fun and sexy escape read that will

Tempting The Billionaire is a fun and sexy escape read that will hook you from beginning to end.

After the end of her almost ten year marriage, Crickitt Day had the lowest self-esteem imaginable. She quit her high paying job and doubted her every decision. Now after us...
Tempting The Billionaire is a fun and sexy escape read that will hook you from beginning to end.

After the end of her almost ten year marriage, Crickitt Day had the lowest self-esteem imaginable. She quit her high paying job and doubted her every decision. Now after using most of her savings she needs to find another job, but with what she believes to be little to no useful skills she is having a hard time finding one that pays well.
Shane August is looking for a PA, but after he was featured on a magazine all he gets are women with no skills looking to fill another type of position in his life, not the PA position. Now he is in a nightclub with his recently divorced cousin trying to help him get out of his depressed state. But in this case his cousin ends up helping him, for when he tells Shane to show him how to start flirting with a woman on the club, Shane sees Crickitt and is immediately attracted towards her. So much, that he hooks up his cousin to Crickitt’s friend so he can talk to her. 
At first it may seem like Shane is just trying to, oddly enough, hit on her, but Crickitt doesn’t believe that he is really interested. So when he offers her a job interview as his PA, after hearing some of her story and what she can do, Crickitt first decides to decline. That is until she researches the company she believes Shane works for. According to Shane she is the perfect fit for the position as PA, she has the organizational skills and enough management knowledge to help him balance his work life.
Shane and Crickitt will not have an easy courtship, but their love sure is fun to see develop. First they do not want to cross the boundaries between business and personal relationships, but they cannot deny the attraction or chemistry between them. Life may have some surprises for them, but if they are willing to open up and be honest about their feelings and thoughts they will have a chance at having their own HEA regardless of what they consider their past mistakes.

posted by yazmin593 on March 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Grrrr. Frustrating

## This book is frustrating as hell. This hero is beyond nuts. His yo-yo routine got old after the first 200 pages. I want her, I don't want her, I want her, I don't want her.....geez, bi-polar much? Then another hundred pages? Are you freaking kidding me? This book sta...
## This book is frustrating as hell. This hero is beyond nuts. His yo-yo routine got old after the first 200 pages. I want her, I don't want her, I want her, I don't want her.....geez, bi-polar much? Then another hundred pages? Are you freaking kidding me? This book started off so good. Charming and funny, then BAM...stupidity took over. I had such high hopes for this heroine. But once again I was disappointed by her needy character. He says horrible things to her out of the blue, breaks it off with her repeatedly, is rude and condescending and he says "forgive me?" And she says okay. Every. Single. Time. She lets him walk all over her! Ugh. Worst kind of heroine. The only reason I upped my rating to 3 stars was because I had a hard time putting this book down. Of course finally I realized that it was just going to repeat itself. Again. This story had so much potential, if the author had shortened this book by about 100 pages so I wouldn't have been so frustrated about the back and forth. Sorry but I can't recommend.

posted by 9394860 on April 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    Tempting The Billionaire is a fun and sexy escape read that will

    Tempting The Billionaire is a fun and sexy escape read that will hook you from beginning to end.

    After the end of her almost ten year marriage, Crickitt Day had the lowest self-esteem imaginable. She quit her high paying job and doubted her every decision. Now after using most of her savings she needs to find another job, but with what she believes to be little to no useful skills she is having a hard time finding one that pays well.
    Shane August is looking for a PA, but after he was featured on a magazine all he gets are women with no skills looking to fill another type of position in his life, not the PA position. Now he is in a nightclub with his recently divorced cousin trying to help him get out of his depressed state. But in this case his cousin ends up helping him, for when he tells Shane to show him how to start flirting with a woman on the club, Shane sees Crickitt and is immediately attracted towards her. So much, that he hooks up his cousin to Crickitt’s friend so he can talk to her. 
    At first it may seem like Shane is just trying to, oddly enough, hit on her, but Crickitt doesn’t believe that he is really interested. So when he offers her a job interview as his PA, after hearing some of her story and what she can do, Crickitt first decides to decline. That is until she researches the company she believes Shane works for. According to Shane she is the perfect fit for the position as PA, she has the organizational skills and enough management knowledge to help him balance his work life.
    Shane and Crickitt will not have an easy courtship, but their love sure is fun to see develop. First they do not want to cross the boundaries between business and personal relationships, but they cannot deny the attraction or chemistry between them. Life may have some surprises for them, but if they are willing to open up and be honest about their feelings and thoughts they will have a chance at having their own HEA regardless of what they consider their past mistakes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Very Good Read

    I really enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down. You laugh, you cry and hope they both can overcome their fears. A very good read, looking forward to the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Awesome read

    Honestly was a great book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    This was riveting. Showing all emotions in a relationship, humor

    This was riveting. Showing all emotions in a relationship, humor , and a wonderful ending. The story flowed with the characters. I am an hoping a sequel comes out for the other characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Must read!

    Put all other books aside, pick this one up... A MUST read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    I really enjoyed reading this book! It was easy to be drawn into

    I really enjoyed reading this book! It was easy to be drawn into the characters lives. I found myself wondering about what was going to happen next...needless to say, I did not put it down for long. I carried the book with me and snuck a few pages every chance I got. Cannot wait for Jessica's next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    Didn't think I could enjoy this story any more than I did the

    Didn't think I could enjoy this story any more than I did the first time I read it but I did!! Shane August is a hard working guy that has built his business one step at a time. His one steadfast rule - never date an employee. Crickett Day desperately needs a job so when Shane offers her the position of his personal assistant she grabs the opportunity. Now all they have to do is fight the burning attraction between them!

    I absolutely adore the writings of Jessica Lemmon and this is the book that got it started! Great plots, great characters, and laugh out loud humor makes this series one of my favorites. Recommend it to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Anonymous

    Great read! Looking forward to continuing on with Aiden and Sadie in Hard To Handle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    I thought this was a great read. Relatable, realistic character

    I thought this was a great read. Relatable, realistic characters and a compelling story with a few unexpected twists. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    I read a lot of romance, and this is the first one all season th

    I read a lot of romance, and this is the first one all season that I couldn't put down. This is a great twist on the secretary-boss scenario. Crickett is super-smart/independent and Shane is the billionnaire with a heart. The sexual tension through the first half of the book was incredible...and they did no more than kiss.. and the second half was emotionally satisfying. This book is a great example of why I love contemporary romance. I look forward to reading Ms. Lemmon's next novel!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    MUST READ!! This book is a must read...it leaves you wanting mo

    MUST READ!!

    This book is a must read...it leaves you wanting more and more. The only regret I have is reading this before the next was available! And...that it is a little much to share with my middle school students. I love when I read a good book to pass it along to my school kiddos, but I had to settle for sharing this one with my Facebook friends!! You won't be disappointed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    I love when I can just get totally absorbed in a story and the c

    I love when I can just get totally absorbed in a story and the characters, and this book did it for me!  
    The humor in this book makes it much more than your typical romance. I am looking forward to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    Fantastic debut from Jessica! Shane isn't your typical billionai

    Fantastic debut from Jessica! Shane isn't your typical billionaire, and Crickett isn't your every day assistant. This was sexy and fun. Absolutely worth the read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    Tempting the Billionaire was such a fun read.  Jessica Lemmon gi

    Tempting the Billionaire was such a fun read.  Jessica Lemmon gives you characters that are relatable and real, making them easy to love and root for.  Just the right amount of conflict and romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    Loved this book! So drawn in by the characters. Not your typical

    Loved this book! So drawn in by the characters. Not your typical billionaire playboy hero and the heroine was relatable and I enjoyed seeing these two come together. Not overly steamy, but romantic. Fabulous debut! Cannot wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    Loved escaping in this book! Can't wait to read Jessica's next o

    Loved escaping in this book! Can't wait to read Jessica's next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    I loved this book......and what a great start Jessica Lemmon is

    I loved this book......and what a great start Jessica Lemmon is off to! Keep them coming Jess!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    In a world overloaded with jaded billionaires (okay, a Romance w

    In a world overloaded with jaded billionaires (okay, a Romance world. I don't know that many real billionaires. Or any.), Shane is a breath of fresh air, and Crickitt was a heroine I wanted to cheer for, not smack in the head...I highly reccommend this book, ya'll!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    I loved this book, and can't wait for her next one to come out!!

    I loved this book, and can't wait for her next one to come out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    The romance genre is oversaturated with billionaire plots and ev

    The romance genre is oversaturated with billionaire plots and even though I had my doubts, Jessica Lemmon's Tempting the Billionaire was a pleasant surprise.

    Crickitt Day is down on her luck and needs a job. Hoping to chase the blues away she agrees to a night out with her best friend Sadie. While at the bar Crickitt breaks down into tears as she takes stock of her life and what she's lost. Across from Crickitt is Shane August and his cousin Aiden. Shane reluctantly agrees to go out with Aiden to help him get back into the dating scene. Aiden quickly zeroes in on Crickitt and seeing her tears assumes she'll be easy to seduce; however, Shane takes one look at Crickitt and his heart stops. He's interested in her and convinces Aiden that Crickitt's friend is where his interest lies. When Shane begins to talk to Crickitt, she confesses she needs a job and acting on impulse he hands her his business card. She's hesitant about the job interview and in fact turns down his offer, but reconsiders when he interviews her a second time. Both are clearly attracted to each other and Shane tries to set up guidelines of how to go about their relationship, but Crickitt doesn't want what he's offering. Realizing he can't give her what she wants, they both agree to maintain a professional relationship. When Crickitt's ex-husband calls her, Shane believes she's gone back to him and what ensues is a beautiful story about a man and a woman realizing what true love is.

    What I really liked about Tempting the Billionaire is the fact Shane is normal. He wears cargo pants and isn't flashing his cash telling the whole world "oh look at me! I'm filthy rich!" When he does, it's to help people who need it. He's also not going around showing up where Crickitt is or demanding to know her whereabouts. Nor is he showering her with endless gifts. He's not interested in buying her love, but rather he's more interested in getting to know her. Shane does have some issues that are rooted in his past as a child. It's easy to understand his reluctance at falling in love because he witnessed firsthand what it did to his father and he wants to spare his children the heartache he experienced. The scene in which he realizes he can't live without Crickitt was the best. It's also refreshing to read a book where the two protagonists are aware of their sexual attraction and have an adult conversation about what to do about it.

    Some people think Crickitt is a doormat but I disagree. You have to take into account her past. Most people enter relationships with some baggage and what she has is normal for a woman who is divorced. Remember she's only known one man and spent the past eleven years catering to him. Besides she's perfectly able to stand up for herself and knows what she wants. When Shane takes off to distance himself from her, she had one of two of options. The first was to continue to work for him as his personal assistant or quit and leave him hanging. Instead she took the initiative and became the face of August Industries when Shane didn't care.

    Lemmon's characters are believable and flawed. Her writing is engaging and witty. If I had been reading this book out in public, everyone would have seen the HUGE grin on my face. I had so much fun reading this and adore it immensely.

    Some of my favorite quotes:

    Women may throw themselves at you like live grenades, but the rest of us commoners have to come out of the trenches and hunt.

    She looked at it a beat before taking it. "Crickitt."
    "Like the bug?" He flinched. Smooth.

    Her mother pulled her to one side. "You stay as long as he needs you, you hear?"
    Pimped out by my own parents. "Yes, Mother."

    I'm not ashamed to say I read this book in a day. I kept insisting I would only read one more chapter and just kept going. If you're looking for a book with lots of sexual tension that will make your heart beat, this is the book for you. Heck if you're just looking for a good fleshed out romance this is your book. There's a side romance between Sadie and Aiden and I'm looking forward to seeing what happens in book 2, Hard to Handle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2