BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tempting the Cowboy (Entangled Indulgence)

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    This book had it all. The book had great characters, real intera

    This book had it all. The book had great characters, real interactions, chemistry, drama, heartbreak, loss, and romance/sex. I will forever want a wishing tree of my own. These two characters needed each other to heal from their sad, broken, and tortured past. I am looking forward to reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Liked it A Lot!

    When you laugh and cry it's a good book... Loved the characters who turned a lot of heartache into a happy ending... Cole and Rylan were very believable and the romance was hot and well handled by the author... Birdie and Mauve added a sympathetic touch, while also real... Tucker (the brother of Cole) has his story coming next and is entitled One Night With A Cowboy... Pre-order now... The third brother Levi is currently in the Marines in Afghanistan and I hope we get to meet him in a book to come... Story was well set on a ranch that caters to celebrity events in addition to being a working ranch... Just love those sexy cowboys!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    I received and ARC copy in exchange for an honest review.  I

    I received and ARC copy in exchange for an honest review. 




    I really liked this book. Is was a true testament that even though you have been majorly hurt in the past, you can still find happiness in the future. 




    Cole and Rylan have both had rough pasts that they don't like to look back on. Rylan is trying to take her friends advice and start to actually live her life after everything she has gone through. What better way to do this, then to be a house keeper at Paint River Ranch in Montana? When she gets to the ranch, the first things she notices is the beauty of the place, and then of course Cole Haywood. 




    Cole had a messy divorce and isn't ever interested in letting himself fall for another woman again. The only woman he needs in his life is his daughter Birdie, who is the sweetest little girl you've ever met. But when Rylan comes to the ranch, he is starting to see that he may be doing the one thing he swore never to do again, fall in love with another woman. 








    Rylan has started to fall for Cole, but she doesn't know if she will be able to be the woman she needs him to be. Cole doesn't know if he can take another chance of falling for someone and then being left in the dust again. He has his daughter to think about, and she always come first. 




    While Cole and Rylan dance around their feelings for each other, there is a incident with Birdie. When Birdie gets hurt, this may either bring them together or totally rip them apart. 




    I really liked this book! There were a couple of really steamy scenes, but nothing that took away from the story. I loved going on this journey with Cole, Rylan and even Birdie to their road of happily ever after!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.75 stars TEMPTING THE COWBOY is the first storyline in Elizab

    3.75 stars

    TEMPTING THE COWBOY is the first storyline in Elizabeth Otto’s new Paint River Ranch contemporary adult series focusing on the Haywood Brothers and the women they love. This is Cole and Rylan’s story-a story of forbidden love and second chances.
    The storyline follows Rylan as she begins working at the Haywood family ranch as a housekeeper and assistant for the Haywood matriarch who is having some difficulties caring for the household duties, feeding the ranch hands and looking after her granddaughter on a daily basis. Rylan is a strong female presence but one that is scarred down to her very soul. But Rylan has a few secrets and one in particular that will tear at her heart every time she looks at Cole’s four year old daughter Birdy.
    Cole is a single father and works hard keeping the ranch profitable. But Cole made a mistake years before and he has made a promise to himself as well as his brothers that he would never put himself in that position again. But something about Rylan calls to Cole’s inner soul and the sparks fly from the moment they met. As difficult as it is to be in the same room with Rylan, it is more difficult to be separated for any length of time.
    The relationship between Rylan and Cole begins under dubious circumstances when Rylan discovers that the drunken cowboy at the local bar is her new boss and owner at Haywood Ranch. Their subsequent encounters mask a building sexual attraction between each other and one that is not missed by Cole’s brother and ailing mother. Both Rylan and Cole must overcome painful pasts that continue to affect their current situations and until one or both is able to forgive and forget, our couple are caught in a never ending loop of heartbreak and failure.
    The secondary characters are colorful but play only minor roles in this particular instalment. We are introduced to Cole’s brother Tucker and there is mention of a brother who is serving in Afghanistan at the time.
    Elizabeth Otto pulls the reader into a storyline of forbidden love and a second chance at love. Cole is a man who has been burned by his past and Rylan is a woman whose life was sent spiraling out of control by a loss so devastating that she does not know if she will ever recover.
    Tempting the Cowboy is a wonderful story about struggling to move forward when all you want to do is runaway and hide. Elizabeth Otto has written a sweet storyline of second chances and letting go; loss and recovery; friendship and love. If you like a romantic storyline with a happily ever after, Tempting the Cowboy is the perfect Sunday afternoon read.
    Copy supplied by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rylan Frederickson is an ex-cop who is running from her past and

    Rylan Frederickson is an ex-cop who is running from her past and the demons that haunt her. She runs to the Montana Paint River Ranch and works for Cole Haywood and his family...including his four year-old daughter Birdie. The longer she stays at the ranch the more she wants her new Boss Cole, but she can't find the room in her heart for his daughter and fights her feelings for Cole.

    It took me a bit to get into this book...because in the beginning you didn't really understand all that was going on. You just knew something horrid happened and it broke Rylan. The further I read the more and more I fell into the story and was gripped but what would happen next. Elizabeth Otto doesn't give it all away in one blow and that is what keeps the reader longing for more. She doesn't make things too obvious and that is what I liked most about this story. Once you get settled and comfortable with the characters thinking everything will be ok...BAM! Elizabeth pulls the rug from under you and I liked it. I hope there will be more and I cannot wait till the next story appears from the Paint River Ranch!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Have you ever started a book and thought "this is going to

    Have you ever started a book and thought "this is going to be a gut wrenching read." It doesn't to often to me, but every now and again I get that feeling. I definitely got that feeling when I started Tempting the Cowboy by Elizabeth Otto.

    In Tempting the Cowboy, both Rylan and Cole are dealing with their own emotional baggage. Each of them has been burn by someone they thought loved them. So, when they meet each other they are both leery about the attraction they feel towards one another. Rylan who was burned by a husband who wanted to keep a clean image while he was whoring around with prostitutes. In the long run costing his life and the life of their daughter. So, we have Rylan basically picking up the pieces of her life.

    Now Cole was burn by an ex-wife who was pretty much a gold-digger. Once their child was born decided to pack up and leave and never looking back. Yeah, Cole has a trust issue when it comes to women. Also he has to lookout for the best interest of his daughter.

    You can say it's a bit emotionally charge story. I like how Cole and Rylan are both afraid to let anyone close to them for fear of getting burned again. Yet, they are slowly able to break-down the barriers. Of course, we have a few bumps in the road. Rylan's fear of forgetting her daughter if she lets another child into her life. Completely understandable. Cole's issue is his daughter. Overall, a really good read. It might cause a bit of a punch to the gut, but still worth the read. So, if you like having both hero and heroine bringing emotional baggage to the table, you might enjoy Tempting the Cowboy.

    Copy provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4 solid stars from me!! I really enjoyed reading this book. Thi

    4 solid stars from me!!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. This is one of those that once you start, you can't stop until the whole darn book is over. I love Rylan. Thank God I have never experienced the loss of a child, but I can only begin to imagine the pain a mother must go through. I felt my heart breaking over and over with every interaction with Birdie. Poor thing.

    Cole. Um, yum. What is not to love about a sexy, broody, did I mention sexy cowboy. He doesn't want another woman. He is too dang busy and has been too burned to even thing about going there, but there is something about Rylan that he can't let go of.

    Birdie, oh goodness. I heart her. She is just beautiful!

    Man oh man, is this a good book! Towards the end, with the incident with Birdie and Rylan, I cried my eyes out. I mean hiccuping, ugly splotchy face, tears. The way Rylan handled it, ugh. What a man! I wanted to punch him so badly.

    Such a good book!! I got my eye on you Elizabeth Otto ;)

    *Copy kindly provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 4.5 Stars For being close to only thirty years old, for

    Rating: 4.5 Stars

    For being close to only thirty years old, former police officer, wife and mother, Rylan Frederikson has experienced a lifetime. She grew up happily on a ranch in Wisconsin and eventually migrated to the city of Madison, became a police officer and married a judge. Her husband was a user, and exploited her heroic actions to better himself politically. He was also a philanderer, blackmailer, and drunkard, which naturally caused Rylan's life to be miserable, heartbreaking and tragic. She needed a new life and a new occupation, where people did not know about her past. Rylan was able to find a job as an executive housekeeper with the Paint River Ranch in the town of Greenbrook, Montana.

    After his caustic father died, Cole Haywood and his brother Tuck, took over the Paint River Ranch full-time. Cole is a single, manly cowboy with a loving and sensitive side. His four year old daughter Birdie is the highlight of his life. Maeve, Cole and Tuck's mom, is a nurturing grandmother that looks after Birdie most days. Her poor health is a major concern for her sons.

    Rylan's arrival brings a new dynamic to the ranch. She is well liked and does a good job. Her love of the ranch is contagious and brings new life into her soul and the Haywood household. She and Cole share a scorching chemistry, unlike anything else they have experienced before. For Rylan, loving Cole is a non-issue, but sharing her heart with his daughter is an impossibility, due to the recent tragedy in her life. Cole's ex-wife did a number on him, so he is extremely skeptical about forming a new relationship for himself as well as for Birdie.

    Overtime a short period of time, Rylan and Cole become more than friends, however an accident at the ranch pulls them a part temporarily. The combination of Birdie's acceptance, Maeve's kindness, and Cole's love creates the family Ryan so desperately seeks.

    Wow, this is an amazingly heartfelt read. While devouring this story in less than a day, I experienced every emotion known to woman; I laughed, cried, got angry and even panted from the steam created by Rylan and Cole. Their magnetism was over the top and the heat they were able to create while on a horse was imaginative and sizzling. I loved all the characters and their connection to each other was real and undeniable. Ms. Otto's attention to detail made me feel like I was watching a play on Broadway, absorbing everything going on in my field of vision. This is a well-written, emotional romance that should not be missed!




     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Prepare to fall in love

    Reviewed by Kim
    for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    Tempting the Cowboy was so much more than I was expecting. Rylan Frederickson is a former cop who has been hiding out in her Wisconsin home for over a year, dealing with her own personal hell and heartbreak. Cole Haywood is a single dad who has a hard time trusting women after getting his heartbroken and losing a large amount of money in a divorce.

    This is the story of two people who are drawn to each other, but do their best to keep their distance because they don’t want to cross the employer/employee line. They soon realize when they let their guards down, that the other is just what they want, need and is truly looking for.

    Rylan is tough, brash and isn’t afraid to throw a punch when the time calls for it. She also doesn’t give a second thought to laying her life on the line to save someone else. Cole is a family man through and through. He will do anything to keep and protect his family. Even if it means blinding himself to what’s right in front of him and possibly losing it all.

    Tempting the Cowboy is touching, heartwarming, and heartbreaking. Prepare yourself to fall in love with Rylan and the whole Haywood family. You should also prepare yourself to cry and read through tears.

    Source: Publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received an early copy of this book in exchange for an honest

    I received an early copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I really liked this book. There were funny moments, but at times it was absolutely heart wrenching.

    The story is about Rylan, who's moved to a working ranch in Montana to escape her life. She's gone through something traumatic and has spent some time dwelling in her depression. The move is supposed to be the beginning of her new life.

    Cole took over the duties of the ranch when his father passed. He's a single dad, who doesn't like outsiders. The employee handbook has one really big rule. Hands off the employees.

    The story follows the preconceived notions they have about one another as well as how they deal with their pasts. I loved the teaser at the back of the book and can't wait to continue the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1