Customer Reviews for

Tempting the Player (A Gamble Brothers Novel)

Average Rating 4.5
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - I LOVE Chad Gamble!!!

The sequel to Tempting the Best Man does not disappoint. There is so much to love about this book it's hard to really pin-point where to begin.

The premise of this book is so fun. In the public eye, Chad is this bad boy player, but in reality, most of that is fiction...
The sequel to Tempting the Best Man does not disappoint. There is so much to love about this book it's hard to really pin-point where to begin.

The premise of this book is so fun. In the public eye, Chad is this bad boy player, but in reality, most of that is fiction. He's told he needs to clean up his image to get the contract extension he wants. The way this goes down is comical, but I don't want to say too much because I don't want to spoil anything.

Here's what you need to know...Chad is a hottie! As a professional baseball player, he can have any girl he wants. He's confident and successful with lots of wit to spare. Bridget is fun to cheer for. She's a few pounds overweight, but not winey or annoying about it. Oh, and I love that the fact that she isn't stick-thin is part of Chad's attraction.

The sexy scenes in this book are off-the-charts-HOT! J. Lynn is a master at the sexual tension! I cannot wait for the next Gamble Brothers book. Bottom line, go buy this book immediately. You will stay up all night reading it and all the next day talking about it! Highly recommend!!!

posted by StaceyONeale on October 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Boo

To bn....you can thank another lost sale to these plot spoiling reviewers who feel they must reveal every detail of a book. Why buy a book when these so called reviewers tell everything?????? Maybe one day bn will realize just how much money they are losing to these ppl...
To bn....you can thank another lost sale to these plot spoiling reviewers who feel they must reveal every detail of a book. Why buy a book when these so called reviewers tell everything?????? Maybe one day bn will realize just how much money they are losing to these ppl.

posted by 8888649 on October 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended - I LOVE Chad Gamble!!!

    The sequel to Tempting the Best Man does not disappoint. There is so much to love about this book it's hard to really pin-point where to begin.

    The premise of this book is so fun. In the public eye, Chad is this bad boy player, but in reality, most of that is fiction. He's told he needs to clean up his image to get the contract extension he wants. The way this goes down is comical, but I don't want to say too much because I don't want to spoil anything.

    Here's what you need to know...Chad is a hottie! As a professional baseball player, he can have any girl he wants. He's confident and successful with lots of wit to spare. Bridget is fun to cheer for. She's a few pounds overweight, but not winey or annoying about it. Oh, and I love that the fact that she isn't stick-thin is part of Chad's attraction.

    The sexy scenes in this book are off-the-charts-HOT! J. Lynn is a master at the sexual tension! I cannot wait for the next Gamble Brothers book. Bottom line, go buy this book immediately. You will stay up all night reading it and all the next day talking about it! Highly recommend!!!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Can you say Scorching Hawt!! Thanks to Entangled Publishing for

    Can you say Scorching Hawt!!

    Thanks to Entangled Publishing for providing a copy in exchage of an honest review.

    Tempting the player (Gamble #2) is fantastic. A book that will leave you aching for more while fulffiling all your wicked fantasies!!!
    Here is a little background on why I'm completely crazy about this release.

    When I read Tempting the Best Man (Gamble #1) I loved the story and fell in love with the characters, Chase and Maddie where amazing and sweet and sexy as hell and I loved them but I also went crazy over Chad and Chandler. Even though I didn't know them I was intrigued and I wanted to know so much more.

    Obviously, the first thing I did once I finished that book, was to contact the author and almost begged for a second book and I wasn't the only one, lots and lots of fans wanted that too. So once the author announced that Entangled's Brazen imprint was going to release Tempting the Player I was ecstatic. It was like an early Christmas present.

    I crossed fingers and prayed to get an ARC of this book, yeah I'm crazy like that =D, one day I opened up my email and there it was SUBJECT: Tempting the Player ARC the best morning I've had in long time. I squealed, jumped and called a couple of friends(happiness needs to be shared) anyway once I settle down enough, opened up my ARC and the first thing I though was...

    What if I don't like it? I've been dying to get this title and waiting for it so much that, I was scared. But then I read the first chapter and I was a goner.

    Chad is my kind of guy, bad boy, with a sinful body, totally sexy and he knows it and owns it. He's also the super star pitcher for Nationals; he just have one problem, he doesn't know how to play by the rules, ohh and he's a self-centered arss... did I say one problem??? .. I meant two LOL!!!

    Bridget is one of a kind; she has a weird fashion sense, the most heart stopping green eyes that completely match her beautiful red hair, she's completely loyal, witty and trust worthy, but she has one problem she doesn't see herself as the beautiful curvier woman she is.

    One Night chance or fate decided to play games with this two and OMG!!!! This couple is perfect; they both have the perfect amount of snark and wit, they call it as they see it, and to make things more interesting they have a smashing chemistry.

    As the plot thickens, Chad and Bridget get caught up on a charade that could end up costing a lot more than their works it could cost them their hearts.

    This book is flawless, J. Lynn is the Queen of Sexual tension, and the buildup on this one was so magnificent that when the time came I was drooling my way through it. I love Alpha males and she has the male persona nailed (yes Nic I stole your phrase LOL), I have yet to read one of her books where I don't fall head over heels for the male character.

    Chad and Bridget are such a sweet couple but they have this strenght when they are together... well and Chad ohhh Chad. Where can I place an order for one like him? *drools a bit*

    Cant wait to read Chandler's story and for what I saw here, his book is going to be pretty interesting. God have Mercy on him LOL!!!!

    I adored that we get to see a bit more about Chase and Maddie and how the brothers interact.

    So, if you guys are looking for a sizzling hot romance that promise to keep you up at the wee hours of the night;with amazing characters and a beautifulled weebed story, search no more Tempting the Player is what you are looking for.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    I loved Tempting the Player. I loved how we got to see glimps

    I loved Tempting the Player.

    I loved how we got to see glimpses of Maddie and Chase and the rest of the Gamble/Daniel brothers. I loved how the chemistry and the wit between Bridget and Chad.

    I loved how the plot moved along and the problems that each character faced. The reactions to the conflicts was predictable, as was the ending, but it didn't make this book any less enjoyable to read. I highly recommend to anyone who likes hot, smart contemporary romance.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Yes yes yes!

    GREAT BOOK! Perfect length, awesome lead characters, steamy loves scenes, great storyline. Very excited for the next Gamble brothers story, you did it again J. Lynn!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Love

    Love love love it ! I need #3 now!!!! DOES ANYONE KNOW WHEN #3 IS COMING OUT?????

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    <3

    In love ith this book.!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    It is nice to see a player fall in love.

    This story shows a guy who has a bad reputation and needs a new image. A sweet woman enters his world, gets stuck in a compromising position and then a fake relationship happens. The fact that it ends in a HEA is so cool

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ever since reading Tempting the Best Man, I've been dying to rea

    Ever since reading Tempting the Best Man, I've been dying to read this book, to know Chad's story. I wondered what girl would make him actually settle down. Now, after reading Tempting the Player, I can say that I love Chad and Bridget so very much! They have such amazing chemistry together, right from the beginning. I loved they way they slowly fell in love over the course of the novel.

    Chad is a pro baseball player, and he's a player on and off the field. However, he is forced into a fake relationship with Bridget so that the contract with his baseball club doesn't fall through. I loved Chad immediately. He's funny, smart, and of course very hot! He can literally have anyone he wants, anytime he wants. I loved how Bridget made him show his emotional side, and he was so incredibly sweet to her when he got her the dress and the necklace, and when he did other stuff for her too. No, I'm not talking about what you think I am ;)

    Bridget was a really likeable character, and I loved how she was so eccentric. She's also nothing like the other women Chad has been with, and I think that was what drew him to her in the first place. I liked that she was different. The fact that Chad went straight to her even though she's not as thin and flawless as the supermodels he's been with, shows that Chad really saw something there. Something that would grow between them and hopefully blossom into something completely new.

    And of course that's what happened! Chad and Bridget slowly fell in love, with a lot of hot- no, smoldering scenes between them. Seriously, it showed me exactly why this book isn't meant for younger eyes! The sparks flying between them were white-hot and explosive, but the scenes were fun at the same time. I think I like Chad and Bridget even more than Chase and Maddie, though they're only ahead by a bit. Chad has an easy smile and personality that you can't help but love, and Bridget is just so awesome that you can't help loving her too.

    I was incredibly happy to see Chase and Maddie in this novel, and it was great to see that they're still totally infatuated with each other. I'd have loved to read more scenes of the four of them together, double-dating or something.
    There was a new character in this book, Miss Alana Gore, whom I did not like at all in the beginning. She blackmails Bridget into agreeing to pretend to go out with Chad, and I didn't like her strict, no-nonsense, nanny-like attitude. I was actually surprised to see something there between her and Chandler, the oldest Gamble brother. I can't wait to see how their relationship comes about in Tempting the Bodyguard! Anyway, though I didn't like her at the start and throughout most of the book, I loved her in the end. Essentially, she was the one who brought Chad and Bridget together permanently, and they probably wouldn't be together if she hadn't done what she'd done. So, Miss Gore, kudos for that.

    The ending was simply amazing. And perfect. It was a fit-for-Hollywood kind of ending! Chad is the sweetest guy ever, for all the things he's done for Bridget, and all he's given up for her. Bridget in turn has had to make sacrifices for him, so I was ecstatic when everything turned out great in the end.

    J. Lynn (or Jennifer Armentrout) is an amazing author, and I love every book by her. If you haven't yet read this series, start now! It's amazing, I promise you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    This book was amazing.

    Jennifer Armentrout is the best <3 I love everything she writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Tempting the Player is the story of Chad and Bridget, who me met

    Tempting the Player is the story of Chad and Bridget, who me met briefly in Tempting the Best Man. This story is awesome! So far I've loved everything Jennifer L. Armentrout (J. Lynn) has written, but her adult fiction is my favorite. This book is one you don't want to miss. Especially if you loved Chase and Maddie's story as much as I did!! Chad is such a fun character, and Bridget is his perfect counterpart. Their story is so fun!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must read right away!

    I can't tell you enough how much I loved this book! I actually think I like Chad better than I did his brother Chase (he was in Tempting the Best Man, which by the way you should check out also). Chad is this very confident, very hot baseball player that has the typical bad boy image. Le sigh. He drinks, he parties, and normally is photographed with numerous girls. Then there is Bridget, she's this nice, curvaceous, girl that loves color.
    Their first 'meeting' didn't go as planned so when they meet a month later, Chad had to prove a point. Well that point ended up in the papers. In order for him to stay with the Nationals he must pretend that Bridget is his girlfriend. Man, the chemistry between the two makes you want to fan yourself or go take a cold shower.
    I loved everything about this book, but the only bad thing (very, very small detail) that a few times Chase's name was there instead of Chad's (not a very big deal though).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Absolutely fabulous. You have to read this book. Amazingly hot

    Absolutely fabulous. You have to read this book. Amazingly hot story by an amazing author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    I loved Tempting the Best Man, and Tempting the Player was even

    I loved Tempting the Best Man, and Tempting the Player was even better!

    I think Chad is even better than Chase. Love how he knows what he wants, and doesn't care what anyone else thinks about how he runs his life. Though when he has to put up with Ms. Gore, I laughed my butt off. She is the perfect publicist for a player like Chad.

    This book was unbelievably hot! And done in a great way! Love the sexual tension the J. Lynn can create between her characters! If you have not read this book or Tempting the Best Man you are missing out! The only way to rectify the situation is to read both immediately!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Tempting the player

    Loved this book! The characters were great! Chad is cocky but so sweet! Bridget is great....perfect combination! Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Loved it

    A great re-read. Wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Like this better...

    The first one was ok, but this one was way better. Loved Chad and Bridget together, you won't regret this choice!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Love it!

    Oh the Gamble brothers! Such a great set of books! A definate must read!!! New one comes out very soon!!! Excited!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    It's no secret I am a huge JLA/J.Lynn fangirl. The woman is jus

    It's no secret I am a huge JLA/J.Lynn fangirl. The woman is just freaking incredible. Whether it's writing YA, NA, or Adult- I can pretty much guarantee I'm going to love whatever she writes. I actually bought Tempting The Player quite some time ago, but never got around to it until recently! I'm so glad I decided to read it!


    As I said above, I love the fake dating trope. It's so much fun to watch two characters start off pretending and then slowly realize there's something more between them. It's even more humorous here, as Bridget and Chad have already met each other and had some sexy times together before embarking on a fake relationship.

    I really liked Chad's character. Number one- he's a baseball player and I do have a thing for them! Number two, he's been made out to be this big player (which he is, but is actually not as big of a one as the world thinks). Chad definitely likes and appreciates women and ends up getting himself into a bit of a pickle. His career as a ballplayer is in real danger if he doesn't simmer down and start acting more responsible and staying out of the tabloids. He now has a publicist in charge of toning down his reputation and while she is a mixture of crazy and brilliant, she does not take crap and gets the job done. Where Chad is confident and oozes sexuality, Bridget is quite the opposite. While confident, we do see her insecurities come into play a few times during the novel.

    I really liked her as our female lead. She is curvy, dresses a bit differently, and really holds her own in this book. I like that J.Lynn created a heroine that dared to be unique. The minute Chad lays eyes on her he knows she's going home with him and no one else.

    As the two get swept up in a fake romance, the lines of course begin to blur between them. Chad is upset with Bridget for a while after she left him high and dry at his apartment due to her insecurities. To save Chad's career, his publicist Miss Gore must do whatever necessary to salvage his image (and her own job!) After Chad and Bridget are caught kissing publicly, Bridget becomes Miss Gore's target of opportunity. Bridget is NOT happy about the development, but reluctantly goes along with it.

    We caught a glimpse of these two's serious chemistry early on in the novel, so we know that they are going to have a hell of a time keeping things strictly platonic between them. They definitely do the back and forth dance with one another and while it was mostly hesitation on Bridget's end, I was ready to scream in frustration at these two to quit being ridiculous and just GO FOR IT already!

    Watching Chad break down Bridget's defenses and realize that maybe he does want someone in his life after all is definitely my favorite part of the book. I also liked seeing the small interactions with his brothers Chad and Chandler- I am definitely excited to go back and read Tempting The Best Man!
    Overall, if you are a fan of J.Lynn's work, I think you'll really enjoy this one! Sexy, steamy, fun- Tempting The Player will definitely leave you satisfied and happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Rachel Book provided by the publisher for review Rev

    Reviewed by Rachel
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book


    Holy Hotdogs!

    Okay, let it just be said that I had no idea what to expect with this book. I’d read some of Miss Armentrout’s YA books and wasn’t so sure how I would like her contemporary romances.

    At this moment I’m thanking my lucky stars that I’m a book reviewer for Romancing the Book. This romance had everything: Great dialogue, strong plot, feisty characters, and steamy scenes that make a girl sweat.

    Bridget is a semi-overweight girl. She isn’t the most confident thing on the planet but at the same time, she’s comfortable in her own skin. She meets Chad, famous baseball pitcher who plays for the Nationals and immediately her life goes off kilter. She knows him by association and knows his whore-like reputation like the back of her hand, I mean everyone does. He’s beautiful and she can’t help but be attracted to him. When her livelihood is threatened she has no choice but to go along with a scheme and pretend to be his girlfriend. Though, she isn’t really pretending. He brings out both the best and the worst in her. I found her character heartbreaking! She sounded gorgeous but she just couldn’t see how a curvy woman like herself could be attractive to someone so famous. I kept wanting to bang her on the side of the head. But it’s such a testament to Jennifer’s writing and how she was really able to capture a woman’s insecurities.

    Chad was…wow holy hotness… he was a cocky piece of work that’s for sure. It was a tie between wanting to strangle him and having to scold myself for lusting. He was such a well written character. I love my men cocky and Jennifer did a great job with this without pushing it too far. He thinks the world is his, because basically, let’s be honest, it is. But, he wants Bridget. She’s different than the girls he’s usually dated but he has no idea she’s been dating him out of a bribe. He thinks it really is the fact that he’s hot. I loved watching his character change and develop over the course of the book.

    All in all, the book was incredible. Such a fantastic weekend read. I’m so impressed with Jennifer’s writing and will totally be buying the first book in this series.

    The bad: I’m a bit of a prude, I’ll admit. I don’t mind cursing at all, but the f-bomb repeatedly dropped kind of wears on me, as well as graphic sex scenes. I mean, they were hot, don’t get me wrong. I think Jennifer does a great job keeping it from turning into an erotica romance, but just slightly.

    The amazing: Character development. Hands down, one of the hardest things for authors to nail, and she soared right through it. Round of applause for Jennifer, she has proved she can basically write anything. Well, well, done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Loved it

    Can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8