Customer Reviews for

The Temptress

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2004

    Loved It!

    I remember starting the book late Sunday evening and the whole time at work, my fingers were just itchin' to finish it. This was definitely a page-turner and was thoroughly enjoyable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    This Jude Deveraux novel is not worth your time

    Let me preface this review with; I love Jude Deveraux. She is one of my favorite authors and I never pass up a chance to read her books. I love that they are historical mysteries while being romance novels too. However, this book was TERRIBLE. I couldn't get past the first 20 pages. It was so far-fetched, un-realistic, would-never-happen, cheesy romantic that I couldn't even read it. And I usually never turn down a cheesy "smut" novel. Don't take this as me trashing Jude Deveraux, please read OTHER books of hers; just not this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Ok weekend read

    I didn't like this as much as her Gentle Liar but then I wasn't searching for the meaning of life in this. I just wanted some fluff to read that wouldn't require much thinking or leave me with emotional baggage.

    The characters are flawed ... and don't change much. I would not say that character development is Jude Deveraux's strength. What you see in chapter one is what you get in the last chapter. In the meantime, characters seem to fall in love despite constant sniping, teasing, or bossing. I did find a few scenes funny enough to laugh out loud but not many.

    I give it 3 out of 5 because it delivered what I wanted (fluff with no emotional baggage) but didn't wow me with character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Awful

    Waste of time to read. Disconnected and poorly written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Good summer read

    This was a fast moving story, I liked Ty, he was a lovable cowboy! Good weekend read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Fun Read

    This is a fun read but not one of the Deveraux's best novels. I would recommend reading Mountain Laurel first.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Eh

    Predictable despite the heroine proclaiming her forward thinking

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Eh

    I love Jude Deveraux. I was a LITTLE disapointed in The Temptress. It is a very fast paced story but I felt it could have used a little more emotion. It had a great storyline though so I couldn't put it down.

    If this is your first Jude Deveraux book. Don't give up on her!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    Similar to Deveraux's "The Heiress"- That one had a lot more action. This one was more chatty. Still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just fun

    I love all of her romance novels. They're just funny and light and sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2007

    Loved It!!

    I thought the book was really enjoyable. I read it in one day'i just couldnt put it down'...I loved the characters and though its not my favorite book it still deserves 5 stars. I dont know how anyone could be dissapointed in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    WOW

    I believe this was the one book ive finished the fastest in my life, it was NEVER boring and it had an unexpected twist and ends wonderfully

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2004

    A Jude Deveraux disappointment

    I didn't even go all the way to the end of this one. I must admit it's the first Jude Deveraux I didn't like. I found it unbelievable and confusing. Definitely not her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2