Customer Reviews for

Ten

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the best mysteries I have ever read. Reminds me of the ol

One of the best mysteries I have ever read. Reminds me of the old black and white movie "And Then There Were None". Very entertaining. Needs to be a movie.

posted by SpeedyReadSA on November 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Creeptastically Fun and Suspenseful

I'm a big horror movie fan and I love my horror campy and over the top...is Ten campy and over the top? YES and YES, but in the best, most fun possible way ever! I started this book late at night and finished it even later at night because I couldn't put it down; I was ...
I'm a big horror movie fan and I love my horror campy and over the top...is Ten campy and over the top? YES and YES, but in the best, most fun possible way ever! I started this book late at night and finished it even later at night because I couldn't put it down; I was so engrossed and had to know how it ended.

Gretchen McNeil is a fabulous and engaging storyteller and weaves a creepy fun and suspenseful story that had me furiously turning pages, checking over my shoulder for crazy killers the whole time. McNeil sets a wonderfully eerie and cinematic scene. I love how palpable the feeling of isolation and being trapped feels and how well it permeates through the whole book. Every moment of reading this story was filled with spine-tingly and heart-racing excitement.

The story McNeil lays out is captivating with its twists and turns, but not entirely unexpected. I wouldn't say the story is predictable, just smartly crafted and planned, from the way each person is ironically killed to the way the whole story comes together. For me, part of the fun of a good horror mystery is collecting the clues, analyzing the red herrings and figuring things out. And the red herrings dropped throughout the story are never too blantant or in your face; they're cleverly subtle. By about page 150 I had figured out the connection between the seemingly unconnected ten teens and by 3/4 of the way in I had a strong inkling of the killer's identity...and I was totally spot on! But again, I don't consider this predictability and it no way ruined the suspense for me. I mean, don't we want that "Aha moment" when the killer is revealed, the story comes together and we scream "Yes! I knew it! I totally knew it!"?!

The story is told in the third perspective, but I'd call Meg the MC. I really liked Meg and connected with her; she's smart, witty and adorkably awkward. The other nine characters each had a distinct personality, from the bossy bitch to the jocks to the douche canoe to the hot nice guy and more. Some were really likable, some not so much, but I think that was intentional. There were those characters that I dreaded getting killed and those that I couldn't wait to see get offed!

Meg and T.J. (the hot, nice guy) have a flirty romance thang going on and I could have done with less of this. Not that I didn't like the idea of the two of them together, I just felt like some of their flirtiness was out of place amongst all the horror and death. Then there's Meg and Minnie's odd-couple BFFness which was equal parts complexly layered and annoyingly frustrating.

The last quarter of the book is furiously paced and gripping! There's a thrilling climax between the finally revealed killer and the surviving characters and a fiery, explosive ending. I really like how the book ends with a wrapped up, but easily open-ended conclusion that leaves room for more.

MY FINAL THOUGHTS: Ten kept me thoroughly entertained and enthralled from beginning to end with its smartly crafted creeptastic and cinematic story. A scarily awesome MUST read!

posted by WordSpelunking on October 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    One of the best mysteries I have ever read. Reminds me of the ol

    One of the best mysteries I have ever read. Reminds me of the old black and white movie "And Then There Were None". Very entertaining. Needs to be a movie.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Once Upon a Twilight.com

    Yes this gets 5 trees that should stand for Outfreaklingstanding! Its no surprise either that it would be that awesome. Gretchen captured my interest in her writing when I read Possess by her last year and she has just seal the deal and can count on me as a long time reader of her work now. Ten is Gretchen's MO, she writes horror/mystery/suspense/thriller like no one else does. Forget biting your nails while reading, you are checking your doors and locking all windows and hiding under covers when you have one of Gretchen's books in your hands. Gretchen can give horror films a run for their money.

    First I'm going to give you TEN reason why this book is Badass:
    The suspense level is out of this world
    The scenery of where it takes place is perfect
    The characters do DIE
    Its Bloody
    Believe it or not, it has some LOL moments
    The story is VIVID
    You wont be able to predict the ending
    One swoon-worthy guy
    Excellent cover
    Gretchen McNeil wrote it!!!

    Ten is the story of 10 teens headed off to a party on Henry Island for 3 days. Meg is the main protagonist we follow along, she has her best friend with her when they jump on the ferry to head to this island. At this party they know will be T.J., the swoon-worthy hottie from school. Meg has been crazy for him, but has kept it under wraps since Minnie her BFF likes him too. No one knows that these teens are going to spend 3 days all alone. So when they all finally get there and see everyone staying the weekend, its a really random group of people. Not everyone even goes to the same school. Well that doesn't stop the party from starting, which includes a DVD they find that says play me. Hmm not sure about you but I personally would not have touched that DVD. The tape gets played and the message is: "Vengeance IS MINE" and well if this doesn't scare the crap out of you then you might be crazy. The countdown has begun! One by one the teens start to die pretty horrifically. There is no way off the island and a really bad storm has knock power and communications off. Who will survive this weekend? Is the killer amongst them or someone lurking on the island?

    When you pick up a copy of TEN, grab a really comfy blanket, a really bright light and your detective hat and immerse yourself in this thriller. I recommend it to everyone, even if horror isn't your thing. Enjoy!!! - Yara

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    AMAZING

    This book has had me on th edge of my seat the entire time. It was soooo good!! I didn't really want to read it at first but I just fell in love with it... I recommend this to eeevvvveeerrryyyooonnnneeee!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2012

    YA Whodunit

    It was Mrs. Peacock in the Living Room with the rope. No wait, it was Mr. Green in the Conservatory with the candle stick. Or was it the pipe?!


    Ten is a quick read that turned out to be a masterful YA whodunit meets Clue. It kept me guessing until the end of the book. The guess I did make proved to be W R O N G **sounds loud, obnoxious FAIL buzzer** but a big kudos to Gretchen for stumping me!


    Although I wasn't shaking in my boots scared I'm still hoping Ten will encourage more ya authors to join the growing trend that's bringing thriller plots to ya novels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2014

    This was an extremely entertaining book. It keeps you on the edg

    This was an extremely entertaining book. It keeps you on the edge of your seat wanting more from the beginning. It was scary and exciting with some romance too and I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Creepy

    Crazy and unexpected endin. It does have some swearing/cursing in it. Shallow character development. Overall creepy but good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Not my tast

    It had f-words in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Relation

    Did I tell you that ii am related to gretchen mcneil? She is my moms cousins wife. She is so awesome in person. I also love her writing. She played air hockey in my basement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    peepole meet me at christmas res 5 on new yrs at 10:30

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I luv luv luv this book sooooooo much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ten teenagers are invited to White Rock House, stately mannor o

    Ten teenagers are invited to White Rock House, stately mannor on a private island. Meg and her best friend Minnie just wanted to have a fun weekend and enjoy the party, but someone on the island has different plans for them. When they find a DVD with a vengeful message, people start disappearing and getting killed. Of course the killer is after the two girls as well.
    TEN is a mix of all the teen slasher movies that you've watched, turned into a book. The setting for TEN is very glum and isolated, a tiny island with only two mansions and a storm brewing. These factors are expected to make our characters' quest for survival harder and even though they often say they shouldn't separate they do exactly that. They were just as infuriating as teens in horror movies. Admittedly both setting and characters are a bit clichéd and the plot felt too generic. It could've been more extensive in explanations and allowed some more time to work on a stressed-out reader instead of rattling through the murders in a row, offing people like ticking off a check list. TEN comes along with a story of friendship, a small love story for Meg and one of the boys on the island and its grand killing spree. The story of our teens is supplemented with diary entries of an unknown person, whose past and entries are the key to finding out who's behind the murders.


    3,5/5 ***/* TEN - A mainstream YA horror slasher story, with creepy occurrences and gruesome murders according to schedule.

    I read TEN during my summer vacation, in a lonely cottage on the Danish coast, while rainy and windy weather broke through the quiet of the night. So you can imagine a portion of the story's intended tension and creep-factor were definitly delivered to this reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    its heart pounding its to die for its romantic also

    I recomind this book to every one and any one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    NURSERY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    I've heard so many bad things about this book but this book blew

    I've heard so many bad things about this book but this book blew me away. I didn't want to stop reading. Its an amazing book that kept me with it through the whole book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Bookworm

    Verrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrry very awesome action packed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    Suspenseful and action packed. I enjoyed Agatha Christie¿s And

    Suspenseful and action packed.

    I enjoyed Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None, so Ten was recommended to me as a readalike. Ten was a quick, suspenseful, and action-packed read that kept me on the edge of my seat. It explored themes of revenge, friendship, and loyalty. I didn’t really connect with the main character, but that’s probably because this novel is more plot-driven than character-driven. Nowadays I tend to prefer character-driven stories, but back when I was a teen I’m sure I would have LOVED this book. I was really into Fear Street and Nightmare Hall books and watched a ton of horror movies with my friends (Scream was my favorite!). If you’re a fan of mystery and horror, give this one a try. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    farfetched

    It didnt spenf enough time on getting to let ud kno the characters before the violence begins-at the end I still had questions

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Great book

    I thought this was a great book that i finished in a day. It was suspensful and kept you on the edge of your toes. If you like And There Were None by Agatha Cristie, then get this book... it was like a modernized version of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    I looooove a good spooky story. Action-packed, semi-predictable-

    I looooove a good spooky story. Action-packed, semi-predictable-yet-still-surprising thrillers? TOTALLY my thing. I would positively LOVE to see more books just like this filling up the YA genre, and Ten was an excellent addition to that!




    This is one book I've recommended to a NUMBER of friends (there's actually a LINE UP of people waiting to borrow my copy). Pick this one up if you're looking for spine-tingling chills and a plot that will keep you guessing.




    Reasons to Read: 




    1. Solid writing for creepy scenes:




    Gretchen McNeil's writing totally sets up the creepy atmosphere for the whole book; it's solid and the feeling it gives off is just perfect for the reader. Like, all I want to do with this book is curl up with it and a blanket and tea on a dark and stormy night = PERFECTION. Scary books rely so much on strong writing, and I was so pleased that Gretchen absolutely nailed this part.




    2. Predictable - yet still thrilling:




    Here's the thing: Ten is a retelling of Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None. So anyone familiar with that story won't be completely surprised by Ten's plot. And it isn't the most surprising, mysterious book I've ever read - but that doesn't take away from its enjoyment and it still isn't entirely predictable or formulaic either. It seemed like every time I felt I had finally figured it out, I was wrong about something.




    3. Character dynamics:




    One of the best aspects of And Then There Were None is how it highlights the relationships between different characters, and Ten does a fantastic job including this in the story. It's a driving factor between the plot, trying to figure out how this group of (mostly) strangers are all connected to one another - and then watching how they interact with each other. It's a great look into the dynamics of relationships and how people interact with others. 




    Yet there were a couple of relationships that felt a tad too weak for me - Meg and Minnie were interesting and their story wrapped up well for the most part, but I had a harder time buying into it at first.




    But mostly, I wasn't impressed with how emotionless Meg felt at times. Especially at the end, when she figures out exactly what has been going on this whole time, she feels somewhat cold and callous towards all the deaths which have taken place. I know that it isn't particularly crucial to a book like this one, but it still felt a little too distant for me, personally. Honestly, except for this one thing I think this book would have been 5 stars. It just rubbed me the wrong way when I finished reading it. 




    Overall, Ten was en extraordinary new YA read - it was perfect for the mood I was in when I wanted a scary read, and this one definitely kept me on my toes and glancing over my shoulder!




    ARC won in Pitch Dark Books giveaway. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3