BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ten

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Once Upon a Twilight.com

Yes this gets 5 trees that should stand for Outfreaklingstanding! Its no surprise either that it would be that awesome. Gretchen captured my interest in her writing when I read Possess by her last year and she has just seal the deal and can count on me as a long time re...
Yes this gets 5 trees that should stand for Outfreaklingstanding! Its no surprise either that it would be that awesome. Gretchen captured my interest in her writing when I read Possess by her last year and she has just seal the deal and can count on me as a long time reader of her work now. Ten is Gretchen's MO, she writes horror/mystery/suspense/thriller like no one else does. Forget biting your nails while reading, you are checking your doors and locking all windows and hiding under covers when you have one of Gretchen's books in your hands. Gretchen can give horror films a run for their money.

First I'm going to give you TEN reason why this book is Badass:
The suspense level is out of this world
The scenery of where it takes place is perfect
The characters do DIE
Its Bloody
Believe it or not, it has some LOL moments
The story is VIVID
You wont be able to predict the ending
One swoon-worthy guy
Excellent cover
Gretchen McNeil wrote it!!!

Ten is the story of 10 teens headed off to a party on Henry Island for 3 days. Meg is the main protagonist we follow along, she has her best friend with her when they jump on the ferry to head to this island. At this party they know will be T.J., the swoon-worthy hottie from school. Meg has been crazy for him, but has kept it under wraps since Minnie her BFF likes him too. No one knows that these teens are going to spend 3 days all alone. So when they all finally get there and see everyone staying the weekend, its a really random group of people. Not everyone even goes to the same school. Well that doesn't stop the party from starting, which includes a DVD they find that says play me. Hmm not sure about you but I personally would not have touched that DVD. The tape gets played and the message is: "Vengeance IS MINE" and well if this doesn't scare the crap out of you then you might be crazy. The countdown has begun! One by one the teens start to die pretty horrifically. There is no way off the island and a really bad storm has knock power and communications off. Who will survive this weekend? Is the killer amongst them or someone lurking on the island?

When you pick up a copy of TEN, grab a really comfy blanket, a really bright light and your detective hat and immerse yourself in this thriller. I recommend it to everyone, even if horror isn't your thing. Enjoy!!! - Yara

posted by Twilightsdance on September 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Creeptastically Fun and Suspenseful

I'm a big horror movie fan and I love my horror campy and over the top...is Ten campy and over the top? YES and YES, but in the best, most fun possible way ever! I started this book late at night and finished it even later at night because I couldn't put it down; I was ...
I'm a big horror movie fan and I love my horror campy and over the top...is Ten campy and over the top? YES and YES, but in the best, most fun possible way ever! I started this book late at night and finished it even later at night because I couldn't put it down; I was so engrossed and had to know how it ended.

Gretchen McNeil is a fabulous and engaging storyteller and weaves a creepy fun and suspenseful story that had me furiously turning pages, checking over my shoulder for crazy killers the whole time. McNeil sets a wonderfully eerie and cinematic scene. I love how palpable the feeling of isolation and being trapped feels and how well it permeates through the whole book. Every moment of reading this story was filled with spine-tingly and heart-racing excitement.

The story McNeil lays out is captivating with its twists and turns, but not entirely unexpected. I wouldn't say the story is predictable, just smartly crafted and planned, from the way each person is ironically killed to the way the whole story comes together. For me, part of the fun of a good horror mystery is collecting the clues, analyzing the red herrings and figuring things out. And the red herrings dropped throughout the story are never too blantant or in your face; they're cleverly subtle. By about page 150 I had figured out the connection between the seemingly unconnected ten teens and by 3/4 of the way in I had a strong inkling of the killer's identity...and I was totally spot on! But again, I don't consider this predictability and it no way ruined the suspense for me. I mean, don't we want that "Aha moment" when the killer is revealed, the story comes together and we scream "Yes! I knew it! I totally knew it!"?!

The story is told in the third perspective, but I'd call Meg the MC. I really liked Meg and connected with her; she's smart, witty and adorkably awkward. The other nine characters each had a distinct personality, from the bossy bitch to the jocks to the douche canoe to the hot nice guy and more. Some were really likable, some not so much, but I think that was intentional. There were those characters that I dreaded getting killed and those that I couldn't wait to see get offed!

Meg and T.J. (the hot, nice guy) have a flirty romance thang going on and I could have done with less of this. Not that I didn't like the idea of the two of them together, I just felt like some of their flirtiness was out of place amongst all the horror and death. Then there's Meg and Minnie's odd-couple BFFness which was equal parts complexly layered and annoyingly frustrating.

The last quarter of the book is furiously paced and gripping! There's a thrilling climax between the finally revealed killer and the surviving characters and a fiery, explosive ending. I really like how the book ends with a wrapped up, but easily open-ended conclusion that leaves room for more.

MY FINAL THOUGHTS: Ten kept me thoroughly entertained and enthralled from beginning to end with its smartly crafted creeptastic and cinematic story. A scarily awesome MUST read!

posted by WordSpelunking on October 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Once Upon a Twilight.com

    Yes this gets 5 trees that should stand for Outfreaklingstanding! Its no surprise either that it would be that awesome. Gretchen captured my interest in her writing when I read Possess by her last year and she has just seal the deal and can count on me as a long time reader of her work now. Ten is Gretchen's MO, she writes horror/mystery/suspense/thriller like no one else does. Forget biting your nails while reading, you are checking your doors and locking all windows and hiding under covers when you have one of Gretchen's books in your hands. Gretchen can give horror films a run for their money.

    First I'm going to give you TEN reason why this book is Badass:
    The suspense level is out of this world
    The scenery of where it takes place is perfect
    The characters do DIE
    Its Bloody
    Believe it or not, it has some LOL moments
    The story is VIVID
    You wont be able to predict the ending
    One swoon-worthy guy
    Excellent cover
    Gretchen McNeil wrote it!!!

    Ten is the story of 10 teens headed off to a party on Henry Island for 3 days. Meg is the main protagonist we follow along, she has her best friend with her when they jump on the ferry to head to this island. At this party they know will be T.J., the swoon-worthy hottie from school. Meg has been crazy for him, but has kept it under wraps since Minnie her BFF likes him too. No one knows that these teens are going to spend 3 days all alone. So when they all finally get there and see everyone staying the weekend, its a really random group of people. Not everyone even goes to the same school. Well that doesn't stop the party from starting, which includes a DVD they find that says play me. Hmm not sure about you but I personally would not have touched that DVD. The tape gets played and the message is: "Vengeance IS MINE" and well if this doesn't scare the crap out of you then you might be crazy. The countdown has begun! One by one the teens start to die pretty horrifically. There is no way off the island and a really bad storm has knock power and communications off. Who will survive this weekend? Is the killer amongst them or someone lurking on the island?

    When you pick up a copy of TEN, grab a really comfy blanket, a really bright light and your detective hat and immerse yourself in this thriller. I recommend it to everyone, even if horror isn't your thing. Enjoy!!! - Yara

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    One of the best mysteries I have ever read. Reminds me of the ol

    One of the best mysteries I have ever read. Reminds me of the old black and white movie "And Then There Were None". Very entertaining. Needs to be a movie.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Nice quick scary read.

    Teenage slasher movie meets agatha christie. Enjoyed it more than I thought I would. If you want and nice little scary tale with a basic who done it premiss, this book is for you. A bit gory but not overboard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Not my tast

    It had f-words in it.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    peepole meet me at christmas res 5 on new yrs at 10:30

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I luv luv luv this book sooooooo much

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ten teenagers are invited to White Rock House, stately mannor o

    Ten teenagers are invited to White Rock House, stately mannor on a private island. Meg and her best friend Minnie just wanted to have a fun weekend and enjoy the party, but someone on the island has different plans for them. When they find a DVD with a vengeful message, people start disappearing and getting killed. Of course the killer is after the two girls as well.
    TEN is a mix of all the teen slasher movies that you've watched, turned into a book. The setting for TEN is very glum and isolated, a tiny island with only two mansions and a storm brewing. These factors are expected to make our characters' quest for survival harder and even though they often say they shouldn't separate they do exactly that. They were just as infuriating as teens in horror movies. Admittedly both setting and characters are a bit clichéd and the plot felt too generic. It could've been more extensive in explanations and allowed some more time to work on a stressed-out reader instead of rattling through the murders in a row, offing people like ticking off a check list. TEN comes along with a story of friendship, a small love story for Meg and one of the boys on the island and its grand killing spree. The story of our teens is supplemented with diary entries of an unknown person, whose past and entries are the key to finding out who's behind the murders.


    3,5/5 ***/* TEN - A mainstream YA horror slasher story, with creepy occurrences and gruesome murders according to schedule.

    I read TEN during my summer vacation, in a lonely cottage on the Danish coast, while rainy and windy weather broke through the quiet of the night. So you can imagine a portion of the story's intended tension and creep-factor were definitly delivered to this reader.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    AMAZING

    This book has had me on th edge of my seat the entire time. It was soooo good!! I didn't really want to read it at first but I just fell in love with it... I recommend this to eeevvvveeerrryyyooonnnneeee!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    I've heard so many bad things about this book but this book blew

    I've heard so many bad things about this book but this book blew me away. I didn't want to stop reading. Its an amazing book that kept me with it through the whole book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2012

    YA Whodunit

    It was Mrs. Peacock in the Living Room with the rope. No wait, it was Mr. Green in the Conservatory with the candle stick. Or was it the pipe?!


    Ten is a quick read that turned out to be a masterful YA whodunit meets Clue. It kept me guessing until the end of the book. The guess I did make proved to be W R O N G **sounds loud, obnoxious FAIL buzzer** but a big kudos to Gretchen for stumping me!


    Although I wasn't shaking in my boots scared I'm still hoping Ten will encourage more ya authors to join the growing trend that's bringing thriller plots to ya novels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    Rick

    I lower your pants and shirt an slide my lips down your back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    Spring

    Ya. Sure we can fuq

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    I enjoyed but...

    I was annoyed by the stupidity of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Ten teenagers are invited to a three day party a White Rock Hous

    Ten teenagers are invited to a three day party a White Rock House on Henry Island.   A big storm hits and everything starts to go wrong. Their host is now not coming until the following day and in trying to find something to occupy their time they come across a homemade DVD, a DVD that changes everything.  Strange things start to happen as well as events that no one can explain. Then one by one the groups number dwindles as some start to turn up dead.  With no way to contact off the island until the ferry comes at the end of the weekend ,panic rises and the blaming starts   However there is a reason they were brought to this island and the DVD is the key.  Can the group figure it out before any one else dies or is the island the last place anyone will ever be.


    "Ten" by Gretchen McNeil was a entertaining read.  It was kind of like a combination of " I know what you did last summer" and "The Ring"". For the most part the plot has been done many of times, however, the author did a wonderful job of keeping it fresh.  Throughout the book, there were twist and turns that  made the reader believe they knew who was behind everything and then another twist would come and the reader realizes that they were wrong that it has to be someone else. What really made this book enjoyable for me was the end, I truly did not expect its little twist.  The ending had me gasping and even yelling at the characters of the book out loud. When I finished this book I was a little sad.  I has really enjoyed the characters and the thrill that came with them.  I will definitely look into more works by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    One of the best!

    Great book with a great ending. Short and sweet so you dont get bored half way through. Keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time. A must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Absolutely amazing!Loved!

    Perfect thriller, literally couldnt put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Anoynomous

    Wasnt sure what i was getting myself into this time. Just like to read stories about things that are (unfortunately) about real life. People out there really do stuff like this everyday around the world. The author did a great job of making me want to keep turning the pages its a real cliff hanger of a story. Worth readingfor sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Fast action. Fun read

    I couldnt really care about the characters very much, but i enjoed this take on the classic agatha christie plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    Great quick read!

    I'm usually good at guessing the killer in these type of books but the plot twist definitely got me in this one! Fast, entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Quick read

    The story was a little predictable but the ending was not. Good read but quick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    LOVE

    Keeps you guessing the whole time. i thought I knew and then it completely suprised me. Definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4