Customer Reviews for

Ten Beach Road

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The Money Pit Meets The Desperate Housewives!

What would you do if one day you were looking forward to your empty nest and finally starting a life for yourself after kids. Yet on that day, you get a phone call from the hospital notifying you that your mother-in-law has been taken to the hospital due to a fire in he...
What would you do if one day you were looking forward to your empty nest and finally starting a life for yourself after kids. Yet on that day, you get a phone call from the hospital notifying you that your mother-in-law has been taken to the hospital due to a fire in her kitchen. She's OK, but needs to have someone come pick her up. In the process of calling your husband of twenty-five years, you reach his office and find out he no longer works there. In fact, he hasn't worked there in six months. When you confront him, he tells you as an investment banker he has lost all your money due to some bad investments and now you are flat broke. Oh and by the way, can his mom move in forever?

What if you found yourself a successful matchmaker for millionaires and one day you find out when you call your office that your number has been disconnected and your offices have been cleared out. That all your accounts have been liquidated and the only money you have left is the check you have in your hand from your latest client who is asking you to set him up on a date. What would you do?

How about being a successful partner in a home improvement series that was inspired by your idea to create a video showcasing your home remodel from start to finish, only to find out that your husband is divorcing you and the show isn't interested in having you be a part of the show any longer?

Meet the women who are about to be drawn together in an extraordinary way through their linked circumstances that leave them all virtually penniless, yet neither of them are quite willing to admit to one another that they are broke. Keeping their facade up, they all find out they are joint owners of a property on Ten Beach Road. Each is hoping for a quick sale will get them out of their financial jam, until they learn the property is protected as a historical landmark and they can't level it. They also can't sell it in the condition it's in. If they are all willing to put in some sweat equity, they may make more than they dreamed possible and along the way may find more than they ever hoped for.

I received Ten Beach Road by Wendy Wax compliments of TLC book Tours for my honest review and LOVED it! Couldn't put it down til I knew how it would all turn out. This in my opinion is another great summer read and as my hubby calls it a Chick Lit book!! This one rates a true 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to share it with you. This is available in paperback and eBook formats.

posted by Heart2Heart on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

260 pages of story, out of 300 pages. The rest is nonpertinent information and an excerpt

This 260 page stoey is slow reading. It is a formula book, and very predictable. I paid $3.99 for it. The efiting is not perfect, but it is not annoying either. Three of the main characters are unlikable. There is way too much arguing and details about the house. About ...
This 260 page stoey is slow reading. It is a formula book, and very predictable. I paid $3.99 for it. The efiting is not perfect, but it is not annoying either. Three of the main characters are unlikable. There is way too much arguing and details about the house. About half way through the book, there is cursing and a lot of it, from this point to the end of the book. It is stand alone. The last forty pages are acknowledgements, book questions, author remarks and an excerpt of next book. This chick lit book was boring. There is some violence. No sex or religion. I wish I had skipped this one.

AD

posted by 19189092 on April 20, 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Money Pit Meets The Desperate Housewives!

    What would you do if one day you were looking forward to your empty nest and finally starting a life for yourself after kids. Yet on that day, you get a phone call from the hospital notifying you that your mother-in-law has been taken to the hospital due to a fire in her kitchen. She's OK, but needs to have someone come pick her up. In the process of calling your husband of twenty-five years, you reach his office and find out he no longer works there. In fact, he hasn't worked there in six months. When you confront him, he tells you as an investment banker he has lost all your money due to some bad investments and now you are flat broke. Oh and by the way, can his mom move in forever?

    What if you found yourself a successful matchmaker for millionaires and one day you find out when you call your office that your number has been disconnected and your offices have been cleared out. That all your accounts have been liquidated and the only money you have left is the check you have in your hand from your latest client who is asking you to set him up on a date. What would you do?

    How about being a successful partner in a home improvement series that was inspired by your idea to create a video showcasing your home remodel from start to finish, only to find out that your husband is divorcing you and the show isn't interested in having you be a part of the show any longer?

    Meet the women who are about to be drawn together in an extraordinary way through their linked circumstances that leave them all virtually penniless, yet neither of them are quite willing to admit to one another that they are broke. Keeping their facade up, they all find out they are joint owners of a property on Ten Beach Road. Each is hoping for a quick sale will get them out of their financial jam, until they learn the property is protected as a historical landmark and they can't level it. They also can't sell it in the condition it's in. If they are all willing to put in some sweat equity, they may make more than they dreamed possible and along the way may find more than they ever hoped for.

    I received Ten Beach Road by Wendy Wax compliments of TLC book Tours for my honest review and LOVED it! Couldn't put it down til I knew how it would all turn out. This in my opinion is another great summer read and as my hubby calls it a Chick Lit book!! This one rates a true 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to share it with you. This is available in paperback and eBook formats.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Every Challenge is an Opportunity!

    Three families' lives are shattered upon discovering that the money they thought was wisely invested is gone via Matthew Dyer's Ponzi scam. Maddie Singer's husband, Steve, loses his job because he has invested his client's money in Dyer's scam, and Steve simply quits mentally and spends his days wielding the remote control on the living room couch. Maggie is determined to find out if the mysterious "mansion" in Florida on the Gulf side has any potential as their last hope for financial survival.

    Avery Lawford is a co-host on the popular TV home and garden show, "Hammer and Nails." Little by little, her role in that show is reduced to smiling and looking pretty, until the day comes when she is sacked and without any help from her ex-husband host, Trent. She also is absolutely stunned on realizing that what she thought was her nestegg is gone into Matthew Dyer's illegal financial dealings. All she has left, as well, is a share of ownership in this Florida "mansion."

    Nikki Grant, a professional matchmaker, discovers that the brother she herself raised has turned out to be the man who has duped not only individuals but also charities and other needy institutions out of their principal funds as well as interest. In fact, he has even left his own sister nothing to grasp for living on a day to day basis except for a third of a share this unknown Florida residence, Bella Flora.

    These three woman, plus Avery's mother and Maddie's daughter, slowly arrive to discover their seaside Florida home is nowhere near sellable status. The story begins as they begin the grind of restoring this architectural masterpiece, disguised as a broken-down shack, with the hopes of thus recouping at least a small portion for their financial survival.

    The story evolves with wonderful descriptions of restoring and decorating this beautiful home, with the assistance of many unexpected sources and experts. We share the strengths and weaknesses of these women, who carry unique stories of betrayals and secrets but manage to transcend them to complete the task at hand and forge friendships that are both priceless and eternal.

    The Chinese call every challenge an opportunity, refusing to be daunted by the ferocity or formidable quality of any problem. That attitude becomes the lodestone guiding these women, as well as a sense of thankfulness. When the task is finally very near total completion, more dark revelations and storms threaten it all. That is when we see and come to love the feisty, caring characters of these women forging new lives and refusing to surrender to anything or anyone.

    Funny, heart-breaking, romantic, and so much more, Ten Beach Road is a superb read that depicts all facets of women in distress and woman who exponentially grow as they learn to trust one another and reinvent the rest of their lives. This story about recovery and restoration on so many levels is just delightful!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    A great read!

    Loved Ten Beach Road in so many ways!!! Wow, where do I begin. First and foremost the characters were divine! Loved the rags to riches and back to being homeless; struggles and challenges…can relate is so many ways, as have been involved with corporate America in whistleblowing and other SEC investment firm scams with companies I have worked for in Atlanta and Florida. Have been defrauded by Atlanta company, and lost everything at one point, so there is always a tough climb back! Story was so realistic and loved the humor, and the good times – dynamite strong women!

    In addition, being a former interior designer have been involved with many showcase designer homes and all the work which it entails and the highs and low; the Mediterranean Revival and Art Deco periods – involved with properties in West Palm Beach from 1920s-1948 in restoring these in downtown historic area for luxury inn and cottages and marketing them, so enjoyed this part.

    Loved the Palm Beach, FL parts since I live in the area, as well as spent many vacations in St Pete, Clearwater, Indian Rock Beach, Johns Pass, Treasure Island, Don Ce Sars, office in Tampa, and have cycled up and down Gulf Blvd…quaint area and lots of memories with some great beach cottages like Colonial Court Inn. Lots of good laughs with this read and looking forward to reading Ocean Beach (setting in South Beach), which I love!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Perfect for the beach!

    Three strangers are united in the most unlikely of ways. Madeline, a wife and stay at home mother, doesn't really have a life of her own and just when she thinks she might follow her own dreams, everything comes crashing down when she finds her financial-planner husband has been laid off after investing all of his clients' money in a Madoff-like fund. He even invested their own money there and lost everything. Avery has lost her job as the host of a cable home renovation show when she divorces her husband after being reduced to a sidekick and being outmaneuvered by her boss with her ex's help. Her father left her an inheritance which was invested in the same Ponzi scheme. Nikki, a matchmaker, also lost all of her money to her brother, the mastermind behind the fraud fund.

    The three are thrown together when they learn that they are co-owners of a historical mansion in Florida. Each of them make their way and with Avery's connections and knowledge of home and design, they decide to spend the summer there renovating the house in order to make a larger profit. Not only do they rebuild the house, but themselves both emotionally and financially although there are plenty of twist and turns to get to that point. Kyra, Maddie's daughter comes to help out as well, when she finds herself pregnant by a movie star while she is working on one of his films. I think Kyra, even though she is a minor character, became one of my favorite people in the group with her quiet prodding to get the best out of each woman and frame their developing friendship on film. Even though these women start out on shaky ground, they quickly become true friends and learn the value of themselves and friendship.

    I just adored this book and the writing. It is the perfect book for sitting on the beach with something cold to drink and never wanting to get up until you are finished. It is the perfect length to last all day. Each woman offers a different perspective on betrayal. Maddie realizes that she can stand on her own two feet and is much stronger than she thinks. Avery learns that she has more than good looks and can take care of herself as well as that a relationship should be a partnership. Nicole just does the right thing, but I won't tell you what that is, you will have to read the book to find that out. This would also make a wonderful book club selection since there are many dynamics that can be explored. I received this book from the author at no expense in exchange for my honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    So happy to have discovered Wendy Wax!!

    Loved While We Were Watching Downton Abbey so thought I would try another of her books. Was NOT disappointed! Loved this one as well. She is now one of my favorite authors!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Engaging and enjoyable.

    Loved the characters and the setting.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Great read

    Enjoyed this book quite a bit! It makes you laugh and cry, characters were real and story line made you woder what you woud do in sme situation-good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Summer Fun and Fantastic Friends....This is a MUST read!

    Wow! Wendy Wax has earned herself a spot at the top of my awesome authors list! She is a fantabulous author with terrific writing skills. She really blew me away with her characters, her wit, and her plot line. It is wonderful book to get lost in to past a beautiful summer day with!

    Imagine this: life is great. Life is everything you wished it to be, with a few minor bumps along the way. Then you get a phone call. A devastating call that tells you you have absolutely no money left, save for a summer mansion in a remote little Florida town. I could feel myself so totally engrossed in this awesome read, that I felt like I was one of the 3 women who's lives were forever changed by this phone call.

    Maddie, Avery and Nikki all get a terrible phone call saying they have no money, save for this summer mansion I mentioned. What in the world will they do with it?! They meet for the first time at the viewing of this said mansion, and immediately, all are thinking that if they just sell it out right, they'll each make 1/3 of the sales and gain their monies back. But, what happens when, through the forged friendship, they decide to keep it and renovate it???

    As much as I would love to tell you the answer to that, I will not. I want you to grab a copy of this 5 star, humorous, yet fulfilling story of hope and friendship, and become friends with these ladies on your own. You'll lose yourself amongst the pages, and sadly, before you know it, it will be over with and you will be anxious for another fantastic summer beach read from Wendy Wax! Awesome job, Wendy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2015

    Thoroughly enjoyable

    Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    This Is a Great Book.I am new to Wendy Wax but i now have three

    This Is a Great Book.I am new to Wendy Wax but i now have three of her books and plan to have them all.Does anyone know if Christmas At The Beach will be in paperback? I do not have Nook and have to know how it ends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Great read

    Imaginative and interesting. Filled with great architectural details and well developed characters. Love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    One of my favotites

    I love this book. I have read it 3 times. Loved the 2nd book and have preordered the 3rd.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Great

    Loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Great story! A must read..

    Loved the story. Three women with very different issues and yet, one common goal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Best book I've read this summer!

    Great story with such diverse and interesting characters. Loved the story so much I took the book on a 12 day cruise to France, Italy and Croatia. Just couldn't leave it home for the duration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Best One Yet

    Was going to save this book for summer reading, but couldn't wait. Have read all Wendy Wax's books and this is the best one yet.These women meet due to financial setbacks, their friendships grow and are tested while they rebuild an old house in Florida. Love, faithfulness, trust are woven throughout the story. Surprise ending which fits beautifully with the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2