Customer Reviews for

The Ten Best Days of My Life

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Great story, but...

    This was a real page turner about life and death. It even prompted me to wonder what my own 10 best days are (so far). However...there were a lot of grammar mistakes and capitalization errors that bugged me and distracted me from the story. They made me wonder if Halpern really proofread her work before submitting it to the presses. Anyways, it was a great story nevertheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    WOW! amazing read

    Was a really great read ! Once i started to read i had a hard time putting it down . Aa great book, well eritten with lots of heart, laughs and meaning <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    A sweet read with a dark subject - death and the afterlife. Stepping back and taking a look at the book and the subject matter, I realized that this was a cute way to approach the subject of does your life matter and what are you doing to better the world around you. In a twisted way, I was inspired to evaluate where I spend my time, money and emotions - do they help those around me or am I wasting it all away?

    Before I dive into a deep though provoking, off topic tangent - the book. A girl just my age is walking her pup and is hit by a car and they both die - tragic, but she ends up in heaven and what a heaven it is! She is surrounded by all the things she wished and coveted while on earth plus more. BUT she has to write an essay about her ten best days and prove that she deserves to stay where she is. This is where the meat of the story unravels and you learn about her from her childhood to the day she dies.

    I absolutely adored the way the story was told. I loved learning about her life through her account of her best days and the stories that evolved. I think women should pack this in their beach bags and take a few hours to soak up the sun and read this one this summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    I had a hard time with this book. The narrative drove me crazy. Alex is suppose to be 29, but she comes out sounding like she's 15. And a very spoiled, annoying 15 at that. I also don't think I connected with her because her idea of heaven was a closest full of designer clothes and the perfect guy next door, because in Seventh Heaven you get exactly what you dreamed of. I did like the idea of earning her right to stay in Seventh Heaven, but not much of her story made me feel like she did deserve to be there. I did enjoy her reflections of when she realized she couldn't rely on her daddy to bail her out of trouble anymore. And I was impressed with her desire to move to the other side of the country to make something of herself. Overall, it was really just the main characters voice that I couldn't handle. Not sure if I will seek out something else by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    a heavenly read!! loved it!

    i loved this book! i loved how it was about death and heaven but in a good funny read way it wasnt to deep but it had a nice message in it. i really enjoyed this book it is like my new favorite book i have been telling everyone about it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Great summer read!

    I randomly purchased this book and from the very beginning the book grabbed my attention and I had a hard time ever putting it down. This book has good laughs and makes you appreciate the 'little things' in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wise and whimsical

    Four AM in Los Angeles, twenty-nine years old Alex Dorenfield was walking Peaches her Miniature Beagle whose bowel obstruction became unobstructed when a Mini Cooper ran them over. Doritos and Ambien aside, Alex finds herself in perfect Seventh Heaven with her beloved poop dog Peaches at her side. Her grandparents lovingly greet her and she can eat all the delightfully fatty carbos she wants with no weight gain or bad cholesterol issues. She has her choice of a designer wardrobe and a wonderful home. Finally Alex also feels she has met her soul mate after a decade plus of wondering where the hell (make that heaven) is he.---------------------- Of course like the way she died in which Peaches need to crap had a hidden celestial agenda inside it she learns for her to remain in Seventh Heaven, she must defend her life in essay form sheesh she feels she graduated years ago and never though she would ever write an essay again. However failure means demotion to the fourth floor where she would have a condo not a house, wear last year's off the wrack clothing, no loving grandparents to spoil her, no soulmate hunk next door, and most critical having her beloved Peaches with her as dogs by their unrequited loving nature always go to Seventh Heaven. Alex must defend her life as being worthy of seventh heaven.------------------- Any moment one would expect Albert Brooks to appear to mentor Alex on Defending your Life, as the heroine struggles to make a case that she is worthy and not clueless. Readers will enjoy Alex¿s whimsical chick lit asides as she ponders why she deserves seventh heaven and writes the essay on THE TEN BEST DAYS OF MY LIFE. While working on it she realizes she must not just prove to the angels her worthiness, she must prove to herself she earned ¿Heaven On The Seventh Floor¿ (without Paul Nichols¿ help). Amusing and poignant, Adena Halpern provides a fascinating look at a young woman defending her former existence to herself.------------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1